Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

uan
post Mar 25 2011, 09:31 AM

571 posts

i tot android/linux handle RAM differently, oppose to windows mobile. i dont really bother about RAM for my SGS.

Android Task Killers Explained: What They Do and Why You Shouldn’t Use Them

FAQ: Why You Shouldn’t Be Using a Task Killer with Android

*this exclude for those who concern on app that might use your 2G/3G data
uan
post Mar 25 2011, 06:04 PM

571 posts

my good experience with Titanium Backup:
1. backup all user apps + system data
2. create TB .zip file (to be used on recovery)
3. flash ROM (wipe)
4. install the TB .zip file on recovery
5. restore missing apps + all system data (need to tap those "install" & "done" though)
6. restart, everything back as before, including calendar, contact, APN, settings and everything (i don't sync my contact to google)

naisss...
uan
post Mar 28 2011, 04:50 PM

571 posts

flash to 2.3.3. my 2.2.1 have some sms issue sad.gif
use the no bootloader XXJVK. follow the instruction from theandroidsoul.com.

have minor screen glitch when startup. recovery mode already gone. now got to find how to root.

smooth so far
uan
post Mar 29 2011, 08:53 AM

571 posts

i tried to flash hardcore k13d kernel onto XXJVK (double check, it's XXJVK not XWJVK) but stuck at "galaxy s" screen. anybody can confirm on this?

This post has been edited by uan: Mar 29 2011, 08:54 AM
uan
post Mar 29 2011, 11:57 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 29 2011, 11:25 AM)
How can a Froyo kernel be used in Gingerbread sweat.gif laugh.gif
that was the point. currently the only way to root XXJVK: flash with rooted XWJV1 kernel, then flash back to XXJVK kernel.

anyway, i still can't feel any improvement on power mgmt (with data always on) 4h 38m down to 49%
uan
post Mar 29 2011, 04:46 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Mar 29 2011, 04:37 PM)
so just install the rom using odin?
yes. follow the instruction carefully. unless u know what u r doing.

update: phone dead after 09h 18m on XXJVK. phone, sms, ym, internet, wwf. performance wise, naisss...

uan
post Mar 30 2011, 12:36 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 12:13 PM)
I have tried superoneclick v1.7 to root but it din't work.
Is there any other way, I am running on froyo 2.2.1 zsjpj
superoneclick should be working on froyo. did you enable usb debuging before connecting to superoneclick?
uan
post Apr 2 2011, 09:49 AM

571 posts

wahaha can't believe this thread is at bottom of page 1 android forum. what happen guys? gb not so exciting?

currently on juwe's v3.0 rom 2.3.3. battery seems better. only gps sometimes ok sometimed not. maybe mine is the older batch.
uan
post Apr 3 2011, 12:58 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(larapinpin88 @ Apr 2 2011, 05:16 PM)
Ya. garmin really fast to get the signal...
Perhaps u can try GPS AIDS, can found in market. And oso Faster Fix. Faster Fix set to MY.POOL.NTP.ORG (custom server, then fill it)
Hope that can help u  smile.gif
thank you for sharing this. now can get 8-10 sat signal easily. this info should be at 1st page. or is it already there?
uan
post Apr 4 2011, 10:03 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 4 2011, 09:14 PM)
Since I've posted this in XDA, I think I shall put it here to benefit anyone affected: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1021711

Battery drain fix for 2.2.1 and 2.3 ROM with Software update.
+1 thank you!
uan
post Apr 5 2011, 12:51 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Apr 4 2011, 11:57 PM)
Can someone point me to a site that teaches me how to install the latest leaked gingerbread for galaxy s? Coz I've been to xda but its not there anymore.
here you go link

i recommend you to read and understand TS first page before any flashing attempt (errr... why sound bit lucah one. hehehe)

there are also other ROM flashing instruction at theandroidsoul
uan
post Apr 11 2011, 12:37 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 11 2011, 08:06 AM)
i think i gonna give a try with juwe's 2.3...anyone have tried it?....feedback please...
you mean juwe's 3.2? i'm using v3.0 downgrade from v3.1 cause dont like the framework.
stable ROM, and as mentioned by others in the thread, the most stable gb ROM so far.

offical gb from abg sam should be released this week.

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Apr 11 2011, 10:08 AM)
My SGS Battery life: 73% remaning after 1 day 9 hour....

Running on Criskelo Rom v75 (XWJS8)
no apps running? sweat.gif

uan
post Apr 12 2011, 11:39 PM

571 posts

anybody have stock splash screen that i can install using cwm? the stock one very nice what. got sound sum more.

0.0254sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:50 PM