Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

kmrdeva
post Mar 25 2011, 12:26 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 24 2011, 11:20 PM)
Opera is famous nowadays since they launched Opera11 few days ago. give it a try.. very smooth..
Ya, Opera 11 is buttery smooth and it's fitting my requirements so nicely now, superb multi-tabbing plus excellent UI. smile.gif

Posted on FB just to pull the legs of my iPhone friends..

The way Opera Mobile 11 flies on my Galaxy S, I am sorely tempted to try Opera 11 on the PC. Oh yeah Opera, release iPad version quick!!

And I hope Apple doesn't allow Opera Mobile 11 for the iPhone.. let the masses enjoy their Safari, Skyfire and Opera Mini tongue.gif

Added on March 25, 2011, 12:28 am
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Mar 24 2011, 01:28 PM)
maxis
I thought you need to have multiple APNs set up for Maxis, for 3G (unet) and 2G (net)? Sorry ya, memory failing me, it's been a long time since I jumped from Maxis to current telco (Digi)..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 25 2011, 12:28 AM
kmrdeva
post Mar 25 2011, 01:14 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Mar 25 2011, 01:08 PM)
I experienced that with Speedmod not with Damian kernel coz it never reached 50MB  tongue.gif
Same here, I don't game at all, but I do Tweetdeck, Gmail, Gtalk, Whatsapp and browse the web a lot, and so far my phone has not slowed down on me yet after DamianGTO's ultimate kernel.. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 25 2011, 01:35 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Mar 25 2011, 01:17 PM)
I thought speedmod is the best. Duh......
The 'best' is very subjective, depends on your needs..

kmrdeva
post Mar 25 2011, 02:50 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 25 2011, 02:34 PM)
another concern is the speedmod kernel. it is time-tested and reliable kernel (made in Malaysia biggrin.gif). I highly recommend this kernel over other kernel simply because of its reliability. you can of course use other kernel such as damiangto but I'm afraid you guys will mess up with oc/uv feature and fry your battery before educating yourselves.
Agreed, Hardcore errs on the side of caution with his speedmod kernel. He aims for stability first and functionality second, I think. Used it for months, updating to latest versions regularly with no issues at all. Also, I think kernel is made in SG (he works there, no?) but Hardcore himself was made in MY. tongue.gif

DamianGTO's ultimate kernel is for those who like an easy way to do all-ext2 filesystem scheme plus experiment around with CPU undervolting and overclocking via CWM. Have only started using this kernel after moving to Simply ROM Sweethoney, and I am undervolting but not really daring to overclock.

Honestly speaking, with my phone's current snappiness, I don't need any extra performance. My SGS is more than fast (and stable) enough for my needs with ext2-all. Of course, the 2700mAh battery does also help soothe any fears of the phone running out of juice while I am out of the house. smile.gif

Added on March 25, 2011, 2:56 pm
QUOTE(la pulga @ Mar 25 2011, 02:47 PM)
downloaded the market enabler oledi
but can't set fake carrier
it says something like this: 'fakeonboot require donate key....'
Download and install MarketAccess instead. Free.

Also, I hope you have already rooted your phone - MarketEnabler and MarketAccess both can work only on rooted phones.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 25 2011, 02:56 PM
kmrdeva
post Mar 27 2011, 05:14 PM

4,776 posts

Seems that JVK is still beta 2.3.x for SGS, not the final release from Samsung. I spied the tweets below..

gautamkg #XXJVK being a beta is pretty stable! Very gud performance on #sgs. Can't imagine hw gr8 the final stable version will be.. #win
SamFirmware

@gauravh1 Its still beta smile.gif Twitter and Facebook pages of Samsung says wrong things...
This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 27 2011, 05:15 PM
kmrdeva
post Mar 29 2011, 07:34 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 29 2011, 04:30 AM)
I just realized Opera is using proxy.. i think it uses the same concept like Skyfire (Windows Mobile) did 2 years ago when users browse internet on Skyfire's pc .. now i'm worried about our privacy i.e maybank2u , gmail, paypal etc as our keystrokes are logged ... patut la we can browse very fast even flash contents enabled
Opera Mini is on proxied connection, I think. Opera Mobile, not.

Added on March 29, 2011, 7:39 am
QUOTE(janov @ Mar 28 2011, 09:55 PM)
i believe kmrdeva was the first to use it probably 1-2 weeks back, if i recall correctly he's quite happy with the performance, it lasts 2days with his 3G on all the time.
The momax 2700mAh battery doesn't give me 2 days of battery life anymore, but it's because I use my phone even more nowadays.. sad.gif Good thing is not worrying about how much juice I have left everytime.

My phone leaves the charger at 7:30am every weekday and I get back home about 10-11pm with about 30% of juice left (as opposed to 15% or less with my stock battery).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 29 2011, 07:39 AM
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 11:47 AM

4,776 posts

Not sure about you guys, but XXJVK stock ROM + CF-Root kernel + ext4 filesystem is the first stock ROM experience that has been speedy and smooth for me.. smile.gif

Great batt life too, but then again, I have a larger battery in the phone..
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 03:56 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 11:52 AM)
you have any link where can i learn about "ext4 filesystem"??

this matter has been confusing me for quite sometime.

are u using 1500mAh sun-global battery?
Here you go - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext4

Anyway, while I do like ext2 for its speed, I prefer ext4 for safety. It's the same filesystem I use on my home computers (running Ubuntu).

If you checked out my signature, you'd see that I am using a 2700mAh battery with custom back cover..

Added on April 12, 2011, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 03:53 PM)
where is she? leng lui~~~ a noob need help here~ chau meng arrrr~
I think jujx meant that we all 'miss' the TS, not that the TS is a miss as in 'girl'.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Apr 12 2011, 03:57 PM
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 05:11 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 03:59 PM)
u self configure your ext4 mah?
No la, bro. I am using Samsung stock ROM currently, the Gingerbread 2.3.3 one, JVK. So I have installed chainfire's CF-Root kernel which gives not only root access to the phone, but also provides a CWM app, a Tweak app plus the ability to install the EXT4 app to convert my phone's filesystems.

So far my experience has been very smooth, very little lag if any plus apps seem to run pretty stable.

Will stay with stock until SweetHoney is no longer RC and hopefully by then Samsung would've released the source code for 2.3.3 and we'll start seeing more in-depth kernel enhancements from the xda-developers experts. I miss the call recording, the voodoo sound enhancements and also a few other neat things from custom kernels.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 05:28 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 05:16 PM)
ehhH???? stock rom for GB is already released mah???

i know anou CWM, but about that CF-root, i think im new with it. hurm. nid to learn more smile.gif thx ya!

Added on April 12, 2011, 5:20 pmi changed all to ext4 already. i dunno whhther ok or not. about cf-root tweak manager. i dunno if its available for froyo. hurm~
You're welcome. Yes, there are 2 leaked Samsung stock ROMs with GB, 2.3.2 (JV1) and 2.3.3 (JVK). They were not officially announced by Samsung or available via Samsung's app, Kies, as far as I know. Can't be sure since I've never installed or used Kies before.

ROMs (leaked and some official versions) are at http://www.samfirmware.com/WEBPROTECT-i9000.htm

CF-Root ext4 Manager only supports CF-Root kernels and I think only on Gingerbread, not Froyo. However, most of the other Froyo and GB custom kernels normally have their own ext2 or ext4 conversion methods.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Apr 12 2011, 05:29 PM
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 06:01 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 05:50 PM)
GB only euro version boss? @@
Yep.. The only time I had Asian ROM on my phone was when I initially bought it. tongue.gif
kmrdeva
post Apr 12 2011, 06:13 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 12 2011, 06:03 PM)
i see. u bought 2.3??? @@
No la.. When I bought my phone in mid 2010, it was JF4 (Eclair Asia). Since then I've never bothered to use Asian ROMs because they were almost always slower to leak than the European ones..

kmrdeva
post Apr 13 2011, 08:22 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Apr 13 2011, 08:00 PM)
hmmm, izzit risky to flash the JVK of our galaxy s ?
Flashed the JVK with bootloader ('spl') - no issues so far. Anyway, to answer your question, yes, it's always risky to flash any ROM on our SGS.
kmrdeva
post Apr 13 2011, 08:44 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Apr 13 2011, 08:32 PM)
hmmm, i dont understand what is jvk and what is bootloader sad.gif im currently on 2.2 froyo, i wanna try gingerbread rom sad.gif what should i do first ?
You don't know what JVK is and you asked earlier if it was risky to install JVK.. Weird..
kmrdeva
post Apr 13 2011, 09:04 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Apr 13 2011, 09:01 PM)
just wanna ask, where to get jvk with bootloader, is it in sammfirmware?
Not sure, I got my files and procedure from http://www.theandroidsoul.com/how-to-insta...s-instructions/
kmrdeva
post Apr 18 2011, 02:20 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Apr 18 2011, 11:22 AM)
Wahh.. Some parts of the world are already enjoying officially released gingerbread for the galaxy s!
www.t3.com/news/samsung-galaxy-s-android-2-3-update-lands-in-europe?=55517
I am already enjoying officially released gingerbread, albeit the Euro version which is just a good if not better than any Asian ROM.. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Apr 18 2011, 03:50 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 18 2011, 03:39 PM)
so looks like JVB is the official GB for now which have some bugs???meh
Bugs? What bugs have you experienced?
kmrdeva
post Apr 18 2011, 04:14 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 18 2011, 04:11 PM)
not me,just read what the other users posted..at least a bit buggy than JVK?? hmm.gif
JVB feels the same as JVK to me, bugs-wise. About the only bug I sometimes experience is that I am getting the 'unsupported resolution' when I record 720p videos longer than 1 min or so with my phone. Not sure if it's due to the ROM or due to the CF-Root modified kernel that I am using to root and lagfix the phone.

Now that GB source code is out, I hope the kernel champions will start releasing their custom kernels. smile.gif

0.0480sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:18 PM