Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

cybersim2
post Apr 11 2011, 01:07 PM

503 posts

Sorry I'm a newbies here. After reading the front page of tis topic.
I'm still a little bit confused ???
1. Between rooting, installing Kernel using ODIM or upgrading ROM, which one shud come first ?
2. Wat's the different between Kernel and ROMS?
3. Is tat any official Android 2.3 upgrade available for download ?
Hope expert here can explain in details. Thx

cybersim2
post Apr 12 2011, 04:05 PM

503 posts

Can someone recommend me gud case for SGS ?
cybersim2
post Apr 14 2011, 09:00 AM

503 posts

Sorry may I know wat's LAGFIX for ?
cybersim2
post Apr 14 2011, 04:32 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 14 2011, 09:08 AM)
lag = slow, slowpoke, sluggish

fix = medicine, cure,

in layman term...lagfix will make your phone fast..responsive.... icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
If I installed Speedmod Kernel or any custom roms, do I still need to install Lagfix ?
I'm new to Android, so a bit confusing for me.
For iPhone I only need to jailbreak them "AHEM"
But for Android seem like i got to more lot thing to install..duno whr to start

cybersim2
post Apr 15 2011, 08:33 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 14 2011, 04:40 PM)
Basically for Android, you need to Root to gain administrative access of the phone (viewing system folders, accessing system operationes etc.) and access paid market. No need Root to Ahem.

Lagfix is for SGS only coz of Samsung proprietary file system (RFS) which will lag the phone after months of usage or when it reach certain size of storage space (subjective, no specific size).

If you're running Custom ROM of Android version 2.2.1 and above, you can survive without the lagfix. Only applicable for 2.2 and below.

All custom kernel for SGS have lagfix options. Its up to user whether to activate the fix.
OK now i understand wat is lagfix for. So first I root my phone first using SuperOneClick rite.
Then, I flash the Kernel or ROM rclxub.gif ? Can you guy recommend which Kernel or ROMs is the best ( no defect)? thumbup.gif TQ
cybersim2
post Apr 18 2011, 10:26 AM

503 posts

I got a SGS AP set which dun have chinese input in the language selection.
May I know how to add chinese language ?
cybersim2
post Apr 18 2011, 11:27 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:34 AM)
google pinyin, can get from market
Anyone try SGS GT-I9000 official Gingerbread update ? tongue.gif

0.0312sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled