Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

noobie1
post Mar 29 2011, 06:42 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 29 2011, 05:59 PM)
wonder if i can st8 flash from cwm for jvk from 2.2.1 from doc..
well, seem nothing goes wrong, except that at 1st before the s logo came out, the screen scared me..lol
still need to test thou..
mengsuan
post Mar 29 2011, 06:42 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 29 2011, 12:53 PM)
Hey there, mengsuan.

How do you extract JVK kernel?
Extract the PDA, get zimage. Then tar the zimage. Done.
gajahwhite
post Mar 29 2011, 07:05 PM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:21 PM)
do i need to uninstall kies?
Currently my SGS running on 2.2...

USB setting > Ask on connection
USB tethering alwasy off....i can only on when plug usb cable...

how to check usb debugging. tx sad.gif  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 29 2011, 06:35 PM)
setting>applications>development
correct.. go to Settings > Applications > Development
there you can see the USB Debugging option.. smile.gif
lch78
post Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Wonder why the rooting guide is removed for XXJVK ROM at XDA??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1009177
ijat91
post Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:21 PM)
do i need to uninstall kies?
Currently my SGS running on 2.2...

USB setting > Ask on connection
USB tethering alwasy off....i can only on when plug usb cable...

how to check usb debugging. tx sad.gif  biggrin.gif
you need to disable the KIES from the icon tray of your pc, KIES should not run although in background.
usb debugging can be enable in setting, applications,development,usb debugging

Harddisk
post Mar 29 2011, 07:24 PM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:19 PM)
weird thou, last i played, the phone lag, ain't like what u have said.. hmm.gif
The owner didn't install many stuff, maybe that's why.
mousepad87
post Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 29 2011, 07:05 PM)
correct.. go to Settings > Applications > Development
there you can see the USB Debugging option.. smile.gif
QUOTE(ijat91 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM)
you need to disable the KIES from the icon tray of your pc, KIES should not run although in background.
usb debugging can be enableĀ  in setting, applications,development,usb debugging
tq mate. i have another question before i give up....

when i tried to connect my phone to Pc in samsung kies or usb debugging mode...Windows tried to find driver for my device(but couldn't find any).... i tried to link to kies folder...but not driver found also.

i would appreciate if u guys let me know where i can download this driver. notworthy.gif

p/s : i sent my device to upgrade to 2.2... and he already root.... currently i tried to upgrade to 2.3.1.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by mousepad87: Mar 29 2011, 07:38 PM
noobie1
post Mar 29 2011, 07:38 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 29 2011, 07:24 PM)
The owner didn't install many stuff, maybe that's why.
the maxis one also not much apps inside.. hmm.gif
gajahwhite
post Mar 29 2011, 07:42 PM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:35 PM)

when i tried to connect my phone to Pc in samsung kies or usb debugging mode...Windows tried to find driver for my device(but couldn't find any).... i tried to link to kies folder...but not driver found also.

i would appreciate if u guys let me know where i can download this driver. notworthy.gif

p/s : i sent my device to upgrade to 2.2... and he already root.... currently i tried to upgrade to 2.3.1.... smile.gif
here link to download samsung driver..
http://download2us.softpedia.com/dl/ac9e91..._Phones_x86.exe
hihihehe
post Mar 29 2011, 07:47 PM

13,785 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 29 2011, 09:19 PM)
weird thou, last i played, the phone lag, ain't like what u have said.. hmm.gif
if u talk about demo unit,then no surprise...imagined thousands of ppl hands on the same phone...u will never know how they abuse it

but if u owned it,is hard for u to get lag
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 07:48 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 29 2011, 08:06 AM)
Bootloader or no bootloader? Hmm.. What is it actually?

Antivirus for Android. Do we need it? Isn't Linux supposed to be really SAFE, because it's open source? I scanned using Lookout: nothing, with AVG Free: OMG!
- linux is inherently safe because of it separates admin from users. and of course, permission stuffs. moreover, installing softwares in linux is usually done through a software repository - can guarantee security.
- in windows, everything is given admin access and you download virus-infected softwares on the internet.
- android, although is built on top of linux, still has its flaws. you can easily get hacked by installing rogue apps because installing android market is not curated. having an android anti-virus should help. although I don't know how high is its efficacy.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 08:14 AM)
Linux was safe because it is not popular last time compare to windows, now that it is popular due to Android, different story lor.  brows.gif
Linux is safe not because it is not popular. It is used in stock exchanges, internet servers, businesses, etc due to its stability, features and security. It is just not popular in desktop market.

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:35 PM)
Jz found out 1 thing in JPJ rom~
the camera sounds when i took a picture although im in silent mode~
ish... cannot capture pretty girls alrdy~ tongue.gif
I can confirm this.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
Was fortunate enough to play with Nexus S on Ginger for a while just now.

Impression: very good.

The response and smoothness was beyond comprehension compared to my Speedmod patched SGS1. Looking forward to Gingerbread. biggrin.gif

BTW, Nexus S' FS is EXT4?

On a 2nd note, it no longer sync FB calendar on Gingerbread. Seems like everyone waiting for the upgrade.
yup, probably google coaxed samsung into using superior ext4 fle system. fb contact sync is actually breaking android terms of usage. thus, it is disabled. not sure about calendar sync.

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 05:05 PM)

See first page for usb driver download
Harddisk
post Mar 29 2011, 08:00 PM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:38 PM)
the maxis one also not much apps inside.. hmm.gif
The unit I tested was "imported" from US. Could be the kernel version difference?

Too bad, I didn't remember the version #. But really feel smooth and responsive. Like how I press the Menu button on homescreen, the menu pops up immediately, while mine sorta lag around 200-300ms.

Added on March 29, 2011, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 29 2011, 07:48 PM)
yup, probably google coaxed samsung into using superior ext4 fle system. fb contact sync is actually breaking android terms of usage. thus, it is disabled. not sure about calendar sync.
So, no more viewing friend's FB activities from the contact list?

Luckily I can still live with that. Just 1 thing less to show off to iOS users. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Mar 29 2011, 08:02 PM
neo0915
post Mar 29 2011, 08:09 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

--off topic---
@gmhafiz
how's ur exam today? biggrin.gif
lch78
post Mar 29 2011, 08:11 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I failed to root with FuguRoot... Now cannot start... The Fugu icons keep coming out, cannot boot...

What you guys use for rooting JVK ROM?
mengsuan
post Mar 29 2011, 08:12 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM)
Wonder why the rooting guide is removed for XXJVK ROM at XDA??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1009177
That is original thread of XXJVK. Samsung is hunting down that person.

Added on March 29, 2011, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 08:11 PM)
I failed to root with FuguRoot... Now cannot start... The Fugu icons keep coming out, cannot boot...

What you guys use for rooting JVK ROM?
You must flash back to original kernel after rooting.

Remember I said, extract zimage then tar the zimage?

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Mar 29 2011, 08:13 PM
lch78
post Mar 29 2011, 08:17 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 29 2011, 09:12 PM)
That is original thread of XXJVK. Samsung is hunting down that person.

Added on March 29, 2011, 8:13 pm
You must flash back to original kernel after rooting.

Remember I said, extract zimage then tar the zimage?
How to tar the zImage? Just rename right?

I extracted the zimage and rename to zImage-new.tar. Then flash after fugu root flash.. But still cannot boot.. sad.gif

I realized that the download bar never start, just straight away go to RESET, maybe that is why the ori zimage is not flashed and I can't reboot.

This post has been edited by lch78: Mar 29 2011, 08:26 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 08:34 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

RC2 is out: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...&postcount=2490

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 29 2011, 08:34 PM
Bugeca
post Mar 29 2011, 08:38 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 08:17 PM)
How to tar the zImage? Just rename right?

I extracted the zimage and rename to zImage-new.tar. Then flash after fugu root flash.. But still cannot boot..  sad.gif

I realized that the download bar never start, just straight away go to RESET, maybe that is why the ori zimage is not flashed and I can't reboot.
Extract the zImage from the stock pda file. Then create a tar file containing the zImage only. Flash thru Odin.

Do not extract the ROM just open it using 7zip and drag n drop.
mousepad87
post Mar 29 2011, 08:54 PM

1,008 posts

edited
find the answer from google biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mousepad87: Mar 29 2011, 08:57 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 08:57 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:24 PM)
guys thanks for the help....

i manage to run odin...

after download mode is done....

appear

"Android system recovery <3e>
reboot system now
apply update from sd card
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition?

which one i should chose ?
that's recovery mode. download mode is using down volume instead of up volume. try again.

127 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:06 PM