5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

erymanthus
post Mar 31 2011, 05:57 PM

1,279 posts

Actually the Insanity ROM's creator is a really rude and unfriendly chap...you can see his sarcastic remarks to some forumers in his thread and really unhelpful...UNLIKE our ts who is so helpful

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I guess his Insanity ROM is only for Android sifus and not for an average user...

I still couldn't get the stock video and music player to work.....sigh

erymanthus
post Mar 31 2011, 06:00 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 31 2011, 05:52 PM)
That's odd. I never have that problem. Try clearing dalvik cache from recovery mode. You can always use ezbase for a clean start.

I use moboplayer, tunewiki and mixzing, link at first page.
I tried wiping cache and dalvik cache and rebooted the phone...and then tried installing the apps via Nitrality again...but still cannot...

ezbase?...hmm...not sure what is it...but I will find out....thanks gmhafiz
erymanthus
post Mar 31 2011, 09:52 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Mar 31 2011, 07:07 PM)
If you still having problem. Just download those files from here http://insanity.rollus.net/index.php?dir=apk/

Then copy into /system/app (copy not install). The files are musicplayer, soundplayer and videoplayer.

If having missing character (some character become boxes), install missing fonts from the dev first page. Same goes to sound, if you like to have the stock sounds.
Okay, i'll try your method. I tried installing them, no wonder cannot lah.
erymanthus
post Mar 31 2011, 11:11 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 31 2011, 09:52 PM)
Okay, i'll try your method. I tried installing them, no wonder cannot lah.
Hi Bugeca,

Thanks for your advice. It works. Now I got back the Music and Video player.

Those files are in apk, so I can put in System/App.

However, the files I downloaded from the same Insanity thread for Screen Capture service and Samsung Apps are in .zip.

I tried flashing via CWM but it got stuck. I don't think I can put in System/ App because the format is not in apk...

Any ideas?

erymanthus
post Apr 1 2011, 11:48 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 31 2011, 11:19 PM)
You should just use nitrality to do this. I just did and have no problems. Not sure where you got the files in zip but everything you need should be in http://insanity.rollus.net/. Open up the zip file, extract the apk file and put it inside /system/app
Yup, I downloaded the zip files from the link in Insanity thread...I tried extracting it but cannot see any apk files...can see Meta Inf, etc...

Anyway, I'm planning to try Ezbase method today....hope I don't screw up and brick my phone

sweat.gif
erymanthus
post Apr 1 2011, 11:49 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Apr 1 2011, 11:33 AM)
1 thing i don't like about Opera Mobile is the page loading speed is much slower than stock browser, especially on Edge
Yes, Opera Mobile is slower in opening pages...but once inside it is smooth...

I also don't like it for not having an exit button....
erymanthus
post Apr 1 2011, 01:25 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Apr 1 2011, 11:48 AM)
Yup, I downloaded the zip files from the link in Insanity thread...I tried extracting it but cannot see any apk files...can see Meta Inf, etc...

Anyway, I'm planning to try Ezbase method today....hope I don't screw up and brick my phone

sweat.gif
After using the EzBase method, my Nitrality is working well...manage to install Music Player, Video player, Samsung apps etc....

Thanks gmhafiz for the tips regarding Ezbase method...I have also reformatted my Internal SD card to start afresh..

rclxms.gif
erymanthus
post Apr 1 2011, 11:24 PM

1,279 posts

Hi yuktsi,

Nice case....where did you get it from?

Edit: Okay, saw your post already.

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Apr 1 2011, 11:40 PM
erymanthus
post Apr 1 2011, 11:28 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 1 2011, 03:59 PM)
Lookout Free Acct - Locate and Scream only. Need premium to have the Lock and Wipe.  smile.gif
I tried Lookout MObile before last time....actually I'm a bit sceptical whether it is really useful. I have stopped using it already coz it slow down the phone a bit....always scanning...

If the person who stole my phone switch off the phone and take out the sim card, the app will not be able to locate, wipe or scream, right?

No GPS, no data, no GSM connection....Lookout Mobile also no use.

The person can easily go download mode and wipe phone with a new ROM.......all traces hilang, right?

erymanthus
post Apr 2 2011, 10:07 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Apr 2 2011, 10:02 PM)
@gmhafiz
thanks for both answer.. happy.gif
ermm.. but still can't find the dalvik.. only found cache.. nvm.. will try find it again.. happy.gif
In recovery mode, look for Advance ClockWork mode features. Dalvik cache is inside
erymanthus
post Apr 4 2011, 12:29 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Apr 3 2011, 10:58 PM)
yeah, I saw that before. thanks biggrin.gif  but this suits me better
I'm also hunting around for some nice SGS casing.....a bit bored with the SGP, Casemate, Otterbox, Capdase options...

Are there any nice alternatives out there?
erymanthus
post Apr 4 2011, 09:53 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 4 2011, 12:38 AM)
how about the one in my signature?
I like yours, but your seller has ran out of stock.... cry.gif
erymanthus
post Apr 4 2011, 10:01 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Apr 4 2011, 01:23 AM)
I juz bought a sgs few days ago.B4 that,all the time i am using symbian phone.so i got see u all taking about flashing the rom.actually wat the advantage for flashing rom from stock rom.i think so many things i still blur blur on this phone.juz like a new born baby.using stock rom still ok or not?wat is kernel?
I suggest you stick with stock ROM first, play around with it for a few weeks and explore Android OS. Check out the free apps and games in the Market and have fun first.

In the mean time, slowly learn more from 1st post about rooting, custom ROM etc...in a few weeks time (hopefully they release Gingerbread ROM source code), then you can try to flash to a Custom ROM.....

If you want to go slower, stick to stock ROM, but root your phone, so that you can buy apps from Market...

Enjoy your SGS like most of us do

rclxms.gif
erymanthus
post Apr 4 2011, 11:57 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Last time in Samsung Apps, there was this app called Video Editor. It was quite useful to trim the video and can also insert a MP3 song as the background music...

Currently, I'm on Insanity ROM and my Samsung apps doesn't show this app anymore.

Any of you has this Video Editor apk file? Appreciate if you can share with me...

erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 09:24 AM

1,279 posts

If it is true that they purposely ban Samfirmware website in Malaysia, then it's catastropic if they ban XDA forum too...

Then it wil be "bye bye" to custom ROM....
erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 10:10 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 5 2011, 09:44 AM)
who are "they"?...

i can open samfirmware with ease...
Which broadband provider/ telco you use?

I tried with Streamyx and Maxis...both cannot get in.
erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 10:36 AM

1,279 posts

Has anyone tried Otterbox Commuter Case for our Samsung Galaxy S? See link below.

Does the camera hole cut-out fits properly? The Otterbox website has 1 review that said it doesn't???

Otterbox Commuter Case for SGS

erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 02:09 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:38 AM)
Yup, im using it right now.It fit perfectly to the phone.Loving it so much..:-)
Thanks.....does the soft silicone part attracts dust easily?
erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 05:32 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 5 2011, 12:20 PM)
where and how much you bought it for?
Hi Yuktsi,

How is your Simpsons case?

I'm thinking of buying one...
erymanthus
post Apr 5 2011, 05:34 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Apr 5 2011, 03:49 PM)
From my observation, it does not attract dust easily,but still got some.Since i'm working at cement plant,so yeah..Dust does matter and this otterbox is the best case for me.;-)
Thanks for your feedback

rclxms.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:48 AM