★★★★★ LYN Gen2 Club V5 ★★★★★, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

jeff_ckf
post Mar 23 2011, 11:35 AM

857 posts

Guys, my Gen2's fuel gauge meter suddenly dropped to empty after I pumped the car full tank a few days ago sweat.gif Been driving around with the car and no obvious issues except the meter will normally start with something and then end up pointing to empty again. Any idea what's happening and any fixes?
jeff_ckf
post Mar 23 2011, 04:24 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(edi78 @ Mar 23 2011, 04:05 PM)
fuel pump went crazy lor..
So I need to replace the fuel pump is it? How much would that cost me yea roughly? Thx notworthy.gif
jeff_ckf
post Mar 23 2011, 04:59 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(edi78 @ Mar 23 2011, 04:49 PM)
QUOTE(Conroe @ Mar 23 2011, 04:49 PM)
LeonTan - u need PDT first!Go Proton SC!

Jeff - Go check with 2-3 workshops,don't straight away replace unnecessary parts.Be sure before u replace or be ready to dump ur cash for nothing. biggrin.gif
Thx both! Will check the car out with my trusty mechanic this weekend. Cheers!
jeff_ckf
post Mar 24 2011, 01:30 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Mar 23 2011, 05:34 PM)
jeff - happen on rainy day? if yes then the socket got wet...let it dry a bit n it should be ok...which socket i oso forgot...
Normal days also got bro. Actually when it happened first time (while I was pumping fuel) was a sunny day. Until today also still got this problem unsure.gif

This post has been edited by jeff_ckf: Mar 24 2011, 01:36 PM
jeff_ckf
post May 9 2011, 02:08 PM

857 posts

Guys, anyone have changed their air-con compressor before? How much for one ya? Also, what's a good tyre to change for the Gen2 if I want to keep the size as stock 195/55/15? Thanks!
jeff_ckf
post May 9 2011, 03:17 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(edi78 @ May 9 2011, 03:08 PM)
bro..have u check ur aircond filter??n for the tyre i recommend silverstone kruiser NS700...i used it now but need to change it soon...very nice driving,not noisy n comfortable...same size as yours..stendet mendet.. tongue.gif
Yea, I always replace the aircon filter when I do my 10k service. So it's not the filter's problem already hehe. Oh Kruizer NS700 ya.....how's the grip during rain? and how much a piece ya?
jeff_ckf
post May 9 2011, 04:14 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(edi78 @ May 9 2011, 04:00 PM)
Bro check this out..new compressor if interested..
http://www.mudah.my/Compressor+aircond+campro-9100147.htm

about kruiser..try 1st..u will noticed...the price last time i buy is RM175/pcs..maybe another place can get cheaper...during rain ka??aiyaaaaaaa.....i don't know lah bcoz if raining i will drive slowly... tongue.gif ...if u want better grip,search for soft compound lor...
Hmm will check with my mechanic for the pricing and see what he quotes me and thanks for the link bro. 175 is quite cheap. I bought mine duno two years back or so Synergy M5 also around that price if I'm not mistaken. I was actually planning to enquire for the Goodyear Assurance series. Don't know how much for those.
jeff_ckf
post May 20 2011, 04:54 PM

857 posts

Guys, I've decided to give my Gen2 ('04 model) some fixing up since I plan to use it at least till 200k km (hopefully sweat.gif )

So I need you guy's help to help me list down what needs to be replaced apart from the usual service stuff (e.g. air filter, oil filter, fuel filter, spark plugs, engine oil, transmission fluid, coolant etc)

I am planning to change:

- 4 pieces of tyres stock size (please recommend a good value for money (not necessary cheap) brand with good grip and comfort)
- absorbers (need to change these? my car mileage approaching 120k km)
- repaint the car (do I need to inform JPJ or something if change color? how is the process of repainting done, i mean how are they going to paint the internals like those areas near the engine? or those won't be repainted?)
- aircon compressor

Can you guys help to quote roughly how much those changes is going to cost me and for some like the tyres, can you please recommend a brand? If I left out anything that should be replaced for a car of that age and mileage, please also help to suggest. Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by jeff_ckf: May 20 2011, 04:57 PM
jeff_ckf
post May 21 2011, 08:39 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ May 20 2011, 09:02 PM)
4 pieces tyres: i used 195/55/r15; if u want maxxis, good rating from otai gen2 here, u could pm shazmn, around rm185/pc

absorbers, 2004? u should change it. if u want, shazmn oso got

repaint to ori colour no need jpj. if different colour, u could update it later at jpj.

why u need to change air cond compresor if it is not faulty?  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Ok got it. Will definitely consider the Maxxis tyre strongly. I don't mind a bit of noise since normally I drive alone or max with a passenger on board hehe. Important is grip for me smile.gif

Yea, I am feeling the absorbers something wrong already so doing survey now.

But if repaint other color, do they paint the internal parts like inside the engine? Isn't it a little hard to paint those places?

My aircond compressor already almost gone case already tongue.gif Not really cold anymore but still functional la.

Btw, recently I noticed my steering is shaky when driving but my tyres are alright, any idea what causes it?

Thx bros

Added on May 21, 2011, 8:50 ambtw guys, roughly how much to change the absorbers? sorry for dumb question but the absorbers are front and back?

This post has been edited by jeff_ckf: May 21 2011, 08:50 AM
jeff_ckf
post May 22 2011, 10:27 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ May 21 2011, 09:22 AM)
Maxxis go get MA-Z1...if the salesman recommend MAXXIS i-Pro don't take it...they will say its new design etc but performance really sux...insist on MA-Z1...

for paint, if u choose to maintain old color then dont bother about internal...if u change color u would get 2 quotation...spray outside only or inside out...spray outside only is cheaper because don't have to go through all internal parts...for spraying inside out is a lot more expensive depends on the shop...how they do it just don't bother just pay the money n they'll get it done...most of the time they would use brush or they would cover all internal parts with paper and spray etc...most importantly go see their finished product first before deciding on doing it there...

Sapura Pro Ride Standard Spec Absorber Set - RM360
Sapura Pro Ride Sport Performance Absorber Set - RM430Sapura Pro Ride Sport Performance Coil Spring Set - RM230
this price for front and back one set...
K bro, thx for the advice on the painting part. How much is a good price for MA-Z1 bro? As for the absorber set, the coil spring also need to change or optional? Not really sure what's a coil spring blush.gif

QUOTE(Conroe @ May 21 2011, 03:31 PM)
Did u refill the ac gas before?if not i strongly advise u to refill gas and replace ur ac filter first. wink.gif
Ya I always replace the filter and also refilled the gas several times already. Even my mechanic told me the compressor anytime gona KO just see when only sweat.gif
jeff_ckf
post May 23 2011, 10:58 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ May 23 2011, 09:55 AM)
MAxxis Victra MA-Z1 in kapar klang last time price around 180-190...buy 4 units might be cheaper depends on ur negotiating skill...

if u wanna go for falken oso ok...falken ziex 912 price around 180-185 for size 195/55/15...compared to stock a bit better la but dont expect too much...
I'll keep an eye for the MA-Z1 then as I find the thread pattern to be quite good with pretty good reviews overall. But I'm not sure if they sell it below RM 200 in Penang area sad.gif Will ask around and bargain. Btw, how are Michelin PS3? I heard they are more expensive but seemed to be very good tyres. What are your thoughts on this model bro and a reasonable price for them?
jeff_ckf
post May 23 2011, 03:39 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ May 23 2011, 03:09 PM)
dunno about michelin...i oni use tyre with price lower than 200 and perform within expectation laugh.gif
Haha fair enough man. Really appreciate the tips given. Will head out to the workshop / tyreshop this weekend

This post has been edited by jeff_ckf: May 23 2011, 03:44 PM

0.0350sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:30 AM