Stinky Smell from Plywood, How to kick off the smell?

TSmactreouser
post Mar 22 2011, 02:29 PM, updated 15y ago

2,512 posts

Hi guys,

Recently built some decoration (DIY) on room's wall with 3mm Plywood. Completed but the Stinky Smell really can't tahan and will irritating eyes too. Then, I tried to apply or painted a layer on the plywood and hope it c'ld kick off the smell and irritation but seems useless. Yes, when fan's On and Window's open ,No issue. After window closed again, issues appear again!

I'm wondering, Any product in the market like ACE or Jusco c'ld kick of the issues above? Might need your help and appreciate!
vmad.gif beh tahan ah...

quikstep
post Mar 22 2011, 02:39 PM

422 posts

you'd better throw it out. if it irritates you, i'm 1/2 sure it's VOC (volatile-organic-compound) at work. not good for health.
TSmactreouser
post Mar 22 2011, 05:10 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Mar 22 2011, 02:39 PM)
you'd better throw it out. if it irritates you, i'm 1/2 sure it's VOC (volatile-organic-compound) at work. not good for health.
I wish to organic so...but, seems, plywood is the best stuffs for Money and Effect to built it.
Other than throw it away still throw it away? Nothing can do?

I'm wondering how those Reno Guys did it without smell or lesser smell and will just clear off after a month then?!
KirRoyale
post Mar 22 2011, 10:23 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Mar 22 2011, 02:29 PM)
Hi guys,

Recently built some decoration (DIY) on room's wall with 3mm Plywood. Completed but the Stinky Smell really can't tahan and will irritating eyes too. Then, I tried to apply or painted a layer on the plywood and hope it c'ld kick off the smell and irritation but seems useless. Yes, when fan's On and Window's open ,No issue. After window closed again, issues appear again!

I'm wondering, Any product in the market like ACE or Jusco c'ld kick of the issues above? Might need your help and appreciate!
vmad.gif beh tahan ah...
the wood you bought i think its been staying in wet room for long time, if you havent apply any paint, then you can take out and put it under hot sun.
but i m afraid that will not works if you already apply paint. sorry :S
TSmactreouser
post Mar 23 2011, 11:59 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(KirRoyale @ Mar 22 2011, 10:23 PM)
the wood you bought i think its been staying in wet room for long time, if you havent apply any paint, then you can take out and put it under hot sun.
but i m afraid that will not works if you already apply paint. sorry :S
cry.gif Why Why Why...now you only reply my post?! haaaa.. Yup it was on the wall and paint with basic layer for somebody told me paint will kick off the gas...

But now trying to put the Coffee Ground, Soda water around the room and strong fan to blow over the open window..hopefully, it'll be something miracle soon...haaa..

KirRoyale
post Mar 23 2011, 10:38 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Mar 23 2011, 11:59 AM)
cry.gif  Why Why Why...now you only reply my post?! haaaa.. Yup it was on the wall and paint with basic layer for somebody told me paint will kick off the gas...

But now trying to put the Coffee Ground, Soda water around the room and strong fan to blow over the open window..hopefully, it'll be something miracle soon...haaa..
good luck..... thumbup.gif
maybe u still can try to take out and put under the hot sun, see what happen wink.gif
night
post Mar 23 2011, 11:41 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

This is what I do to my room. Always ensure that your room is well ventilated at all times. Turn on the air-cond to allow the air in the room to recycle. Get pandan leaves and placed them at every corner of your room. After few months, I no longer faced such problem. I'm just like you. Too late to notice this problem. Have to live with it and after few months, you'll be alright.
TSmactreouser
post Mar 24 2011, 12:33 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(night @ Mar 23 2011, 11:41 PM)
This is what I do to my room. Always ensure that your room is well ventilated at all times. Turn on the air-cond to allow the air in the room to recycle. Get pandan leaves and placed them at every corner of your room. After few months, I no longer faced such problem. I'm just like you. Too late to notice this problem. Have to live with it and after few months, you'll be alright.
Thank God for meeting you, haaa..

Wow.. it takes a few months, bro?! Terrible smells and irritating issue ha?!
I think of Air-Cond too, but wondering whether the bed gas from plywood will stick in air-cond and release it again and caused health problem?

Confirmation issue, You use those hardware shop plywood as well? Caused the Stinky Smell and Irritating Eyes too?
cwhong
post Mar 24 2011, 05:57 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(night @ Mar 23 2011, 11:41 PM)
batu arang / black coal will solve it too beside bluehyppo or pandan leave......
night
post Mar 24 2011, 06:02 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Mar 24 2011, 12:33 AM)
Thank God for meeting you, haaa..

Wow.. it takes a few months, bro?! Terrible smells and irritating issue ha?!
I think of Air-Cond too, but wondering whether the bed gas from plywood will stick in air-cond and release it again and caused health problem?

Confirmation issue, You use those hardware shop plywood as well? Caused the Stinky Smell and Irritating Eyes too?
Exactly the same problem as yours. Irritating eyes and smells. If the gas is unberable, I'll eventually cry on the spot. My furniture are custom-made. Therefore, the contractor come over to my house and spray all those chemicals on the woods. Always remember to ensure your room windows are open at all times except night time where I switch on the air-cond instead. And beside that, I used lots charcoal and placed them around my room. Charcoal had the capability to absorb unwanted gas.

I don't think the gas will stick at the air-cond. Till today, my air-cond works fine with no funny smell coming out from it.
TSmactreouser
post Mar 24 2011, 09:46 PM

2,512 posts

Thanks Guys!
Seems Charcoal also an good idea har.. will try it out!
So, how's the GAS from the plywood goes to when On the air-cond? Via Compressor? I'm just wanna make my mind clear about this Logical cycle..haaa..Sorry about that tongue.gif

Thanks for your patient to answer! wink.gif Appreciate.

Added on April 24, 2011, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(night @ Mar 24 2011, 06:02 PM)
Exactly the same problem as yours. Irritating eyes and smells. If the gas is unberable, I'll eventually cry on the spot. My furniture are custom-made. Therefore, the contractor come over to my house and spray all those chemicals on the woods. Always remember to ensure your room windows are open at all times except night time where I switch on the air-cond instead. And beside that, I used lots charcoal and placed them around my room. Charcoal had the capability to absorb unwanted gas.

I don't think the gas will stick at the air-cond. Till today, my air-cond works fine with no funny smell coming out from it.
Hey Night,

I Just tried to switch on the air-cond and put some charcoals in the room. Erm..seems, smells of plywood lower down. Happy with that.
But, the gas in the air still irritating my eyes. What s'ld i do on that? will the charcoals help? or...need some air-spray products to kick off the irritating causes issue from ACE?

Need helps...

This post has been edited by mactreouser: Apr 24 2011, 04:35 PM

0.0143sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:37 AM