Any CDMA Carriers on Malaysia ?

TSkhaledrm
post Mar 22 2011, 03:39 AM, updated 15y ago

Hello Forum,

Just moved to Malaysia, So dont really have any Idea bout it.

Is there any Carrier that Supports CDMA network ? I have heard about the Carrier called "YES". Is that CDMA ?

I Also have a Verizon ( CDMA ) iPad. Is there any way to get it connected to the Internet using the CDMA technology.. ? If yes, How ?

Looking forward for some bright answers.

P.s . Mod's if I have posted the thread in the wrong location, please excuse me and Move it to tthe right location for me biggrin.gif

Thanks biggrin.gif

akuadam
post Mar 22 2011, 04:00 PM

455 posts

Hi just some info that I've found out from the net :

http://iphonetuts.com/i-phone/121322/inter...pad-2-wi-fi-3g/

So dont know if it works here in Malaysia as all telco here is using GSM network. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Xploit Machine
post Mar 22 2011, 04:10 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

Maxis and Celcom smile.gif

This post has been edited by Xploit Machine: Mar 22 2011, 04:11 PM
akuadam
post Mar 22 2011, 04:25 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Mar 22 2011, 04:10 PM)
Maxis and Celcom smile.gif
Both telco can use CDMA ?
Xploit Machine
post Mar 22 2011, 04:43 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

QUOTE(akuadam @ Mar 22 2011, 04:25 PM)
Both telco can use CDMA ?
Dont want to confuse him since, if i go into detailed im afraid confusion will take place. Verizon iPAD offers CDMA and also 3G technology where TS can use the device here under 3G, of course la Malaysia dont have CDMA, but can use CDMA devices here.

thats wat i want to mention wink.gif
Xploit Machine
post Mar 22 2011, 04:51 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 22 2011, 03:39 AM)
Hello Forum,

Is there any Carrier that Supports CDMA network ? I have heard about the Carrier called "YES". Is that CDMA ?

I Also have a Verizon ( CDMA ) iPad. Is there any way to get it connected to the Internet using the CDMA technology.. ? If yes, How ?

P.s . Mod's if I have posted the thread in the wrong location, please excuse me and Move it to tthe right location for me biggrin.gif

Thanks biggrin.gif

check Telekom's Narrowband CDMA http://www.tm.com.my/connecting-your-busin...a-benefits.aspx

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkhaledrm
post Mar 22 2011, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Mar 22 2011, 04:43 PM)
Dont want to confuse him since, if i go into detailed im afraid confusion will take place. Verizon iPAD offers CDMA and also 3G technology where TS can use the device here under 3G, of course la Malaysia dont have CDMA, but can use CDMA devices here.

thats wat i want to mention wink.gif
Lol okay honestly i dont care if malaysia has cdma or.not..all i wanna know.is apart frm using wifi, will i be able to connect to the internet using my verizon ipad 2...?

If hopefully the answer is yes, can u plz share with me how biggrin.gif

Xploit Machine
post Mar 22 2011, 08:04 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 22 2011, 07:59 PM)
Lol okay honestly i dont care if malaysia has cdma or.not..all i wanna know.is apart frm using wifi, will i be able to connect to the internet using my verizon ipad 2...?

If hopefully the answer is yes, can u plz share with me how biggrin.gif
Telekom's Narrowband hmm.gif
TSkhaledrm
post Mar 22 2011, 09:24 PM

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Mar 22 2011, 08:04 PM)
Telekom's Narrowband  hmm.gif
Googled it..Found nothing great that wud allow me to access 3G with my verizon ipad :$
Xploit Machine
post Mar 22 2011, 10:07 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 22 2011, 09:24 PM)
Googled it..Found nothing great that wud allow me to access 3G with my verizon ipad :$
thats the best you can get from Bolehland biggrin.gif .. nothing more .. we're still on lowspeed "so" said to be a internet facility laugh.gif
41LY45
post Mar 23 2011, 12:44 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 22 2011, 03:39 AM)
Hello Forum,

Thanks biggrin.gif

Mobikom. tongue.gif tongue.gif (long dead)

All here are on GSM la bro. YES is utilizing WiMAX. (Not CDMA)

TSkhaledrm
post Mar 23 2011, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Mar 23 2011, 12:44 AM)
Mobikom.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  (long dead)

All here are on GSM la bro. YES is utilizing WiMAX. (Not CDMA)
Ahhh that sucks :$
41LY45
post Mar 23 2011, 06:26 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 23 2011, 02:23 PM)
Ahhh that sucks :$
Here's something to read about.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone_numbers_in_Malaysia

Basically explains the carriers here. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkhaledrm
post Mar 23 2011, 09:59 PM

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Mar 23 2011, 06:26 PM)
Here's something to read about.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone_numbers_in_Malaysia

Basically explains the carriers here.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I saw this..

019 Celcom (3G/3.5G/GSM900/GSM1800/Satellite mobile)

Satellite mobile = CDMA ?
Xploit Machine
post Mar 23 2011, 10:30 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,269 posts

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 23 2011, 09:59 PM)
I saw this..

019          Celcom (3G/3.5G/GSM900/GSM1800/Satellite mobile)
Satellite mobile  = CDMA ?
no .. but tat will cost u a BOMB sweat.gif
TSkhaledrm
post Mar 24 2011, 03:55 AM

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Mar 23 2011, 10:30 PM)
no .. but tat will cost u a BOMB  sweat.gif
Hmm sad.gif
myzaimi
post Apr 5 2011, 03:52 PM

only TM (www.tm.com.my) and Electcoms (www.electcoms.com.my) offer CDMA in malaysia. You can go to TM Point and ask them about this. I already use Nokia 2112 CDMA mobile phone with TM fixed line number.
taichi_yagami94
post May 14 2011, 01:16 PM

QUOTE(khaledrm @ Mar 22 2011, 04:39 AM)
Hello Forum,

Thanks biggrin.gif

YES is just a 4G carrier with WiMAX 4G like Sprint in the US... but there are no CDMA network in malaysia....
exentric_nova
post May 14 2011, 01:19 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

if you're looking for CDMA here, you're out of luch. There's a few options but the offer and coverage probably wont do you any good.

Your best choice is to get a 3G enabled device.
sfaridah
post Jan 19 2012, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(myzaimi @ Apr 5 2011, 03:52 PM)
only TM (www.tm.com.my) and Electcoms (www.electcoms.com.my) offer CDMA in malaysia. You can go to TM Point and ask them about this. I already use Nokia 2112 CDMA mobile phone with TM fixed line number.
TM offers CDMA on 450MHz band for fixed numbers (limited roaming within an area code e.g. 03 for KL & Selangor) and mobile numbers 011-18xxxxxx (full roaming nationwide). Problem is the coverage is quite spotty, not as good as 3G UMTS since TM CDMA is primarily used to complement existing fixed services such as PSTN telephony and low-speed Streamyx.

0.0210sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:43 PM