8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, FULHAM VS LIVERPOOL C812/832 3am

Duke Red
post Apr 18 2011, 08:25 AM

6,112 posts

People looking from the outside in, need to realise that we were nowhere near full strength especially after the injury to Aurelio. We played two very raw 17 year old's at fullback and a newly promoted kid from the reserves in midfield against a strong Arsenal side. Surely we weren't expected to stand toe-to-toe? That would have been foolish. Dogged defending at the end of the day but we did what was necessary.

I am behind the fact that Spearing was MOM. How can one misjudgment erase his contribution throughout the entire game? He battled hard the whole game, harrowing the opposition and did what he was put in to do. Couldn't have asked for more from him. Easy to go unnoticed when you are assigned to do the dirty work, cleaning up rubbish at the back. No wonder why Newcastle want him even though he's only started like 4 games this season.

Kenny Dalglish 'tells Arsene Wenger to p*** off' after touchline bust-up
Kenny Dalglish had a blunt response to Arsene Wenger after Liverpool's last-gasp draw with Arsenal - apparently telling the irate Frenchman to 'p*** off'.

TV cameras appeared to show Dalglish telling Wenger to 'p*** off' as the Arsenal manager reacted furiously after Emmanuel Eboue conceded a dramatic penalty in the 101st minute to give Liverpool a 1 - 1 draw and effectively end Arsenal's title hopes.

But Dalglish sought to play down the bust-up after the match, saying: 'I'd rather not repeat what was said. I don`t know why a conversation between two managers on the bench is relevant after a game like that. It`s not worth the time of day.'

In a post-match interview, Wenger said he felt 'hard done by' after Liverpool were awarded a penalty in the 11th minute of an extended injury time caused mostly by Jamie Carragher's head injury. It came just three minutes after Arsenal looked to have snatched victory with a penalty of their own.

Emmanuel Eboue brought down Lucas, in what most observers felt was a clear penalty, giving Dirk Kuyt the chance to snatch the draw with the final kick of the game.

Wenger said: 'I feel hard done by in the end because the time was over by three minutes. Extra time was eight minutes.'

He also questioned whether it was a penalty at all, saying: 'Lucas played in an intelligent way. He stopped his run and the referee saw penalty, but what can you do about it?'

Arsenal looked to have clinched the victory with eight minutes of injury time elapsed, when Robin van Persie slammed home the game's first spot kick of a after Spearing had tripped Fabregas.

But three minutes later, Eboue brought down Lucas following a Suarez free kick, giving referee Andre Marriner little option but to point to the spot and offer Kuyt the chance to all but end Arsenal's hopes of catching Manchester United.

Read more: http://www.metro.co.uk/sport/football/8610...p#ixzz1JpVeJvC7
They don't come any classier than King Kenny.

Added on April 18, 2011, 8:28 am
QUOTE(Fowl @ Apr 18 2011, 08:02 AM)
spearing is the motm? wtf!!??
that man almost give arsenal a win! retarded assesment hope he goes next season and replaced by suso
Are you kidding me? You're telling me you didn't notice how well he played the entire game, barring that one error. By your reckoning, Reina's a crap keeper because he missed his punch and was fortunate the ball bounced off the crossbar. Spearing was industrious throughout the game, winning the ball and making himself available as we worked our way up the park. Sure, he didn't score a 50 yard screamer or hit a 60 yard pass but he's a big reason why we defended to well. We were clearly watching different games because in the one I watched, he clearly deserved the honour.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2011, 08:28 AM
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2011, 08:49 AM

6,112 posts

Forget the game for awhile. I know it was 3 days ago but the fight for justice continues regardless.

I came across this video. It was made by a member of Johor's Liverbird Supporters Club Malaysia. The term, "hardcore fan" is thrown about too loosely these days. Everyone claims to be one but these guys epitomise every reason why I keep saying I'm a fan of Liverpool fans. These guys drove over 3 hrs to come up for the Masters when some didn't bother to make a 30 min journey. They have my utmost respect. It's a video that's been beautifully edited.

Who says that just because you're thousands of miles away, you can't feel an affinity to the club? Shed a tear watching this video. I urge you all to take 5 minutes of your time to have a look.

To our Southern brethren, nice one lads. Looking forward to seeing you guys when you make the journey up in June.

http://thekop.liverpoolfc.tv/_Justice-For-...624/173471.html
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2011, 09:18 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Fowl @ Apr 18 2011, 09:03 AM)
spearing work hard bla bla.. so the other player were sleeping? spearing sux need to replace him it's no coincidence our performance dropped during rafa reign since xabi and mascherano out of the club
with us relying on lucas as our midfield enforcer ...spearing is lucas clone u'll get nothing much than a player running around the field
again! with the same excuses but he work hard bla2
that's insult to the rest of the players
Right so effort means nothing to you? Everyone else got it wrong except you? I don't know where you came from by at Liverpool, we appreciate players who play with their hearts on their sleeves. You're different i guess? Never asked yourself why you and only you can't see why he was given the honor? He isn't world class but that doesn't mean credit shouldn't be given where it's due.

Incidentally, him working hard isnt an excuse, it's plain fact.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2011, 09:19 AM
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2011, 10:37 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 18 2011, 09:46 AM)
Awesome video, made me into tears. It has always been close to my heart year 96..the video was really touching..good work from the Liverpool family
I agree. It's amazing how the grief can be felt this far away more so by a girl as young as her. Seeing a young Dalglish and Thompson in her montage reminds me of why King Kenny is so revered not just as a player or manager, but as a man. In fact, the entire squad played a huge role by attending as many funerals as they could. They stood by the fans just as the fans have always stood by them. It's important to know about and remember Hillsborough because it highlights the plight of families seeking justice, but also because it exemplifies the solidarity Liverpool Football Club has with it's fans. I watched her video three times and it warms the heart.

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:16 AM)
Jack Robinson got into ESPN soccernet team of the week! What a good week for the youngsters with Flanagan had a good game against Man City, Spearing with MOTM against Arsenal.
Well deserved. No easy task for a young untested rookie to come up against one of the quickest wingers in the Premiership. I'll credit his inclusion on the bench to the foresight of King Kenny. He probably reckoned that Aurelio was an injury risk having been out for so long and take the necessary precaution by having a leftback on the bench, even one as young as Robinson. When Aurelio signaled to the bench, I have expected Kyrgiakos to come on with Carra slotting in at leftback, a position he played a lot at under Houllier.

One more thing. When Robinson's name was announced over the tannoy, the Arsenal fan's took the piss by going, "who?". In the end, an unknown 17-year old played so well, Walcott had to be taken off. Who indeed.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2011, 10:40 AM
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2011, 10:41 AM

6,112 posts

Nothing on the official site so no point in indulging in speculation at this point.

Duke Red
post Apr 19 2011, 01:31 AM

6,112 posts

Let's see now. We went to the Emirates without Stevie G, our most potent threat from midfield, Glenn Johnson, our most potent attacking fullback and Daniel Agger, our most attacking minded centreback and we were expected to attack Arsenal? Our attacking options in midfield is limited and so is our attacking options at fullback especially after Aurelio hobbled off. Well Mr. Wenger, excuse us for being a little defensive.
Duke Red
post Apr 19 2011, 04:11 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Apr 19 2011, 03:33 PM)
There are generally two ways to look good. The first and most obvious is to actually behave in a manner or do things that are generally accepted as being right, good or just.

Unfortunately, nowadays the second method is more popular - trying to make yourself look good by making others look bad. To me, people like this are the lowest of scum, and sadly they are a dime and a dozen, as you have just ironically proven  sad.gif

There used to be a poster here, fyrekat who once posted a lengthy discussion on being 'the best fans', some of you could well read that again. unfortunately me no have the link

Also, lately there seems to be an increase in the amount of 'cross thread' shenanigans. It isn't even trolling, it is kinda like some random readers going around reading other teams' threads and then taking an offense with what rival supporters have wrote! This is ridiculous and yet it seems all the rage doh.gif

For example, just leave the city thread alone will you guys not. We should at least have the decency to respect others - I have met some really hardcore and loyal City supporters and the are just as passionate as any of us. And no, they did not steal the wheels of my bicycle nor rob me of my sneakers laugh.gif

How many of us would honestly still be around if LFC were relegated two divisions?

PS. Lets not say that we are the 'best fans' but instead show them that we are. Let the other supporters taunt and whine all they want all over the board, we'd just concentrate on our own team, ya  wink.gif

It's something I've been saying all along. You'll see posters proclaiming themselves to be the best fans in the world but behaving like anyone else. "Best fans"? Hardly. Those that I saw sing YNWA at half time in Istanbul, digging into their life savings to follow us around Europe when some of us won't spend 30 bucks to watch them here, they're on a different level. You aren't a top fan merely by association, you need to earn it. I therefore urge posters to reconsider dissing our rival fans, claiming to be better than them. Like I've said before, talk is cheap. If you talk the talk, do make sure you walk the walk.

The thing about trolling on this threads is that you have to take the opinions of these trolls with a hugh pinch of salt. Most aren't even familiar with their own club and yet take the piss out of someone elses. When someone insults you, you have to take credibility into account. If a glory hunter for example, makes fun of you, does it really matter. He isn't exactly an expert on the matter is he? I get really annoyed when we draw criticism from someone who doesn't have enough information, and doesn't think before making accusations.

I do sometimes sympathise with City fans on lowyat. Sure, they take the piss out of the mancs at every given opportunity but their posts are at least, articulate and deserving of an equally articulate response. To give credit where it's due, some mancs do reply with substance but then there are those who are defensive, but cannot defend themselves with facts, and instead deflect criticism.

Added on April 19, 2011, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(madmoz @ Apr 19 2011, 03:48 PM)
So back to footie then  icon_rolleyes.gif

Does anyone else think that Dalglish saying "Piss Off!!!" to Wenger (who deserved it, but I really cannot see how anyone can say that Dalglish was behaving in a classy way laugh.gif) might have a deeper meaning?
Don't think anyone's saying Dalglish behaved in a classy manner. It's was his interview after the incident that he handled with class, preferring to avoid questions on the confrontation, and focusing on the result.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 19 2011, 04:14 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 20 2011, 01:38 PM

6,112 posts

You don't need a reputable keeper as backup, since they seldom get injured. In any case we still have Brad Jones who was decent at Middlesbrough. Not sure what the terms of his loan are, but I reckon we can recall him if needed. He and Ross Turnbull were rotated frequently under Gareth Southgate, prior to them getting relegated. He's also been capped by Australia at youth and senior level.

Currently, Peter Gulacsi is second keeper and he's been regular with the Hungarian youth side for quite some time.

Unless Reina leaves, I don't think we need to bring in someone of Lloris' stature.
Duke Red
post Apr 21 2011, 12:22 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Apr 21 2011, 01:16 AM)
if anything, dont buy with any name set first. I learn my lesson with a certain no. 9 .
Yeah I lean towards only having the names of players who have either retired or are living legends. To be honest, I've only got 1 jersey with a players name on it. 5 years ago, I got "Carragher" emblazoned across my back together with the EPL badge when I visited Anfield. Haven't seen anyone else with him name on their kit to my surprise. He's what I would call a living legend for us and he exemplifies what a "Liverpool type player" is. I will always remember Martin Tyler going, "Well if Steven Gerrard is the heart of Liverpool Football Club, Jamie Carragher surely must be it's soul". So rare is it to have his name on a kit, I was walking about the Curve one day when I heard someone from behind go, "Carragher". I turned around and went "yeah"? The guy then went on to say it's so rare for anyone to have his name on their kit and told me how he'd been a fan since Paisley! Had a brief discussion before we went out own ways. I hope to see many more "Carraghers" in future smile.gif
Duke Red
post Apr 21 2011, 02:23 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(DayahKuComeL @ Apr 21 2011, 01:15 PM)
may i ask where did u find this sort of news?
Maybe try our official site, or forums like RAWK? http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/
Duke Red
post Apr 21 2011, 05:18 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Apr 21 2011, 03:00 PM)
yeah. u're absolutely right. Carragher to me is the true Liverpool player and legend. never in his mind and from his mouth i heard he want to leave the club for a better trophy challenging club. Even Gerrard unable to match Carragher in terms of loyalty although he did finally commit to Liverpool. Carragher never fail to impress me with his never-say-die attitude on the pitch and low profile family life off the pitch. only few players are like him such as Giggs, Irwin, Le Tessier and Gary Neville. It is quite hard to spot fans in jersey with defenders name on it. hardly. even the great Paolo Maldini was hard to spot. Same as duke, i only have 1 jersey with player name on it. the rest is plain. and that name is Denis Irwin. Even got a fellow Man Utd fan once asked me, 'Bro, who's Irwin?'. Clearly a defender on a jersey easily forgotten.
Well defenders in particular don't get the same amount of attention midfielders or strikers do. To the casual football fan, it's all about spectacular goals. I've not seen a single Gary Neville jersey which is weird because he is a uber manc. Forget about Dennis Irwin dude. When most fans on your thread started supporting the club, he was already retired. Thing is not many people talk about Carra. Few remember that when Lucas Neill snapped his leg, he refused to come off because he didn't want to let the team down. Probably didn't realise the extent of his injury at the time. Also, people remember the 3 goals we scored in Istanbul but few remember Carra suffering a double cramp whilst clearing our box of danger on two separate occasions. In an interview, he was asked if he would move if a bigger club came along and instantly he replied, "whose bigger than Liverpool?". I just get the feeling that he'll continue to be overlooked because he isn't the most skilled player around and he's the type of defender who hoofs the ball because as far as he's concerned, his job is to ensure we do not concede. He's been overlooked by England numerous times and he'll be overlooked by some at Liverpool simply because he'll be judged purely on his ability and not his attitude or persona. I still cannot believe that he was behind Ledley King and Matthew Upson in England's packing order at the time.

23-Carra-Gold.
Duke Red
post Apr 21 2011, 07:27 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Apr 21 2011, 05:35 PM)
The most rarer among manc Utd fans is Pallister, man..some of my manc friends do not know who is Gary Pallister was. I was brought up during the "Road to Wembley" era, even still recognize the old tune  laugh.gif Dean Saunders was the crop of the Sheffield derby during that time, O'neill was fantastic at Leicester City. I still have my very old Sheffield Dean Saunders jersey,haha!
Saunders was one of Souness' best signings. We got him for a British record back then together with Mark Wright after Derby were relegated and he scored a bunch of goals for us before leaving for Villa. Pallister and Bruce were the lynch pins in the Man Utd defence back when I started watching footy. England had decent centrebacks back then though in the shape of players like Mark Wright, Des Walker, Terry Butcher and Tony Adams which meant Bruce hardly got a look-in. The surprising thing I found was that their former teammate, Neil Webb ended up being a postman and then a forklift driver after retiring! (http://www.footballfancast.com/2009/12/football-blogs/happened-neil-webb). Is what happens when you live the life of fast cars and hot women without investing your money properly unlike a certain Robbie Fowler.
Duke Red
post Apr 22 2011, 11:03 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Apr 21 2011, 09:05 PM)
Seriously though, for someone who has hardly made an impact he's costing us too much. At 120k per week that's nearly 1/2 million per month!
The thing is that many pundits speculated that Cole's signing could prove to be the shrewdest this season. This is of course in spite of the fact that he could no longer hold down a regular places at Stamford Bridge and has hardly played for England despite the scarcity of left sided English players at the time. Heck, even Stevie G was preferred on the left. During the World Cup, England fans welcomed his introduction on the pitch like he was the messiah and unsurprisingly, he failed to impress. The Joe Cole of old has been missing for quite some time now and it doesn't look like we'll ever find him again.

@ Belphogor : Yes I think Joe Cole has been a flop at Anfield. No fault of his. I really do think he's trying his best but it may just be that his best days are behind him now.
Duke Red
post Apr 22 2011, 11:39 AM

6,112 posts

New kit deal with Warrior. Who? Well, they are paying us twice what Adidas is.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...cord-books.html
Duke Red
post Apr 22 2011, 02:07 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Apr 22 2011, 01:37 PM)
It would be my dream fantasy if Joey Barton comes..
Dont get me wrong, i see a number of lob long balls from Joey to Carroll and he made the most of out them, back to Newcastle's days...
Wingers are essential, Dimitri Payet  wub.gif
Yeah... Best money wins the battle..
Joey Barton has a real colourful disciplinary record to say the least. The good thing is he's scouse. I don't see a fit for him though especially since Spearing has earned himself a contract extension. Pretty similar players if you ask me.
Duke Red
post Apr 23 2011, 08:42 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Apr 22 2011, 04:32 PM)
Just got my Carragher 23 this season. I'll never get another player's name on my back ever again. Learnt my lesson from the last no.9. Well, maybe no.8 but then again...you'll never know...
Nice smile.gif

I personally hope that I'll see more in future. I mean if you think of all that Liverpool FC stands for, there is no one current player that exemplifies everything we stand for. After he retires, I hope he gets his coaching license and comes back in the manner Sammy Lee, Roy Evans, Greame Souness, Ian Rush, Phil Thompson and Kenny Dalglish have. Also looking forward to seeing big Sami back. If anything they'll drive it into future players what it means to play for Liverpool.
Duke Red
post Apr 25 2011, 08:29 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kabuto rider kick @ Apr 25 2011, 01:56 AM)
arsengal will never win title again under arsene weng,thank god hes not our manager lol

king kenny is always loved by lfc fans wub.gif
When you make statements like these, you always run the risk of putting your foot in your mouth. While I do agree that Wenger could have potentially done more, he's kept Arsenal in the title fight each season, which is more than we can say for ourselves.

King Kenny will never be hated as far as the Liverpool fans are concerned because of what he's done in the past as player and manager. As far as for posters here however, I fear that should he go on a bad run, the 'lalangs' will turn on him.

Incidentally, why do you not think Arsenal will win the title ever again under Wenger, provided he stays on? Because of his reluctance to sign stars, relying instead on youngsters? If this is the case, then one must always remember how Alan Hansen himself put his foot in his mouth by claiming that you can't win the title with kids. Well a certain Alex Ferguson did

Added on April 25, 2011, 8:38 am
QUOTE(madmoz @ Apr 24 2011, 10:38 PM)
Regardless of how this season ends, I am already pleased. It is hard to imagine that we at one point, we had actually lost 9 out of 20 games, yet here we are, pushing spurs hard for 5th.
Precisely, we have to put things in perspective. I had all but given up on Europe under Hodgson but look at the optimism across all Liverpool fans now.

Watching how we dismantled Birmingham with surgical precision the other might, it's hard to imagine that we've not beaten them in 7 or so games prior. What's more encouraging is we've been playing pretty well without Gerrard and Torres dispelling myths that we are a two man team. To top it off, we've been doing so with local lads like Kelly, Spearing, Flanaghan and Robinson, plus Shelvey. Who would have thought indeed?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 25 2011, 08:38 AM
Duke Red
post Apr 25 2011, 11:23 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Apr 25 2011, 10:29 AM)
@ duke, Also, if I recall correctly, around this time last season we were about to go bankrupt.

As for Arsenal, some of their fans in LYN should take a good hard look at what they are posting. Six seasons without a trophy really that bad meh? They are probably the most financially sound team in the EPL, if not Europe. They have a spanking new gigantic stadium. They play exciting attacking football, probably second only to Barcelona. Their squad is talented and young. The regularly play and reach the later stages of the CL.

I would love us to be in their shoes. And I do believe we are heading in the right direction.
Indeed. This time last season, we were having problems getting the banks to refinance our loans. Now we're virtually debt free and making a late run for Europe.

That's the thing many forget about Arsenal, that they are in a healthy financial state. Surely given the circumstances, one can forgive them for being pipped to the title buy one side who inherited a wealthy owner and another who has dominated the league for the past 20 years and who have accumulated massive debts? If there is an argument to be made, it's whether or not Wenger should spend a little on one or two marquee signings to complement his youth? I think he should.
Duke Red
post Apr 25 2011, 11:52 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Apr 25 2011, 11:28 AM)
tempted to hit the report button but after seeing how the others reply  notworthy.gif

just because your team is hitting the right form at the right moment,doesn't give you the right to name-calling other club or manager.
To be fair it isn't name calling so don't be so sensitive. It's an opinion though it's an unjustified one. I really doubt it worth a ban even if you did push the report button. This is handbags compared to some of the stuff that gets said on this thread each passing day.

Added on April 25, 2011, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(aiyish @ Apr 25 2011, 11:50 AM)
Actually, how bad is MU financial debt. My manc friends told me its getting lower and lower, 200 mill to be precise right now. I dunno if its true or they just want to cover up because they have indeed massive debt  laugh.gif
Madmoz will probably be able to give you a better understanding. From what I know they are almost $600 million in debt as of March 2011, a figure that has continued to rise over the years. Their debts are mostly bond debts which makes selling them now, costly as there will be penalty fees imposed. Even if the current owners sell, the new ones will have to absorb the debt unless they are willing to pay the penalty charges. If they don't refinance, this problem will eventually go away come 2017. So long as the club continues to win trophies and maintain their commercial appeal, there isn't much to worry about. If this should change however, then they'll run into massive financial issues.

Anyone with more insight?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 25 2011, 12:00 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 25 2011, 06:37 PM

6,112 posts

Although some of his posts may be construed to be inflammatory, I do sometimes feel sorry for CBP. Some of his posts are actually pretty well written but instead of having his points addressed, most replies he garners attacks him and not his points. Reminds me of when Anwar took Shabery on in a debate. Whilst the former kept bringing up poignant points, the latter focused on attacking him, repeatedly going on about how in his youth, Anwar would leade street protests, etc. The dad thing is some people actually thought the latter won despite not addressing the points directly!

Similarly, I don't think many posters have enough facts to address his points and hence focus instead on attacking his credibility. I mean let's take our own incident as an example. Many mancs started calling Carragher a dirty player not realising that Paul Scholes has accumulated more yellow and red cards in his career. Did he apologize for his latest bruising challenge on Zabaleta? At least Carra did. What does this make Scholes?

Accusations are easily thrown around because people have short memories, and some don't have facts even. CBP for all his faults does do some reading and he does have some pretty good points which aren't easy to accept because they aren't sugar coated.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1113sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:28 PM