8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, FULHAM VS LIVERPOOL C812/832 3am

Duke Red
post Apr 4 2011, 03:57 PM

6,112 posts

Speaking of players to be shipped out, I understand Philip Degen is still on our payroll.

I've been a fan of Daniel Agger for some time now which is why I was upset to hear that he was considering a move to AC Milan during Rafa's reign. These concerns resurfaced again as Roy Hodgson didn't seem to find any use for him which I found perplexing. We've been crying out for a defender in the mould of Alan Hansen for two decades now and when he finally arrived, we used him sparingly. What? Not many defenders in world football these days who can bring the ball forward like he does. His distribution is sound and he is reluctant to hoof the ball, a risk to many but an educated risk in my opinion. He isn't the biggest or strongest centreback around but he has to be amongst the most elegant. Not many centrebacks have the ability to double up as a defensive midfielder (Marquez anyone?) and has the pace to also play at fullback, and do equally well in all of those positions. In the Premiership, only Phil Jagielka comes to mind. Not seen Jolean Lescott play in the middle. Some may argue that Jamie Carragher could play in all those positions plus centreback but as good as Carra is, we all know he is only really top class at the heart of the defence. I'm sure Kenny Dalglish appreciates what Agger brings to the table having been at the club when Alan Hansen was playing. It's like a breath of fresh air considering we've had hoofers like Skrtel, Carra, Ruddock, Dicks, etc.

Here is an article I came across.

http://www.kopsource.com/the-importance-of-daniel-agger/
Duke Red
post Apr 4 2011, 05:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazuki85 @ Apr 4 2011, 04:12 PM)
Sigh...if we were to buy CB's in the near future, we should consider his injury record as well. Johnson, Gerrard, Agger, Aurelio, Kelly, Joe Cole all spend quite a number of times on the treatment table and we need depth to challenge for Europe next season. And do you realize that 4 of the 6 names i mention are in the defense department. doh.gif

To soon to judge Kelly at the moment. It's only his first season as a regular starter. Don't remember the rest being injury prone throughout their careers. I just think it's bad timing. Each team goes through it. Chelsea did a few years ago and even had to pair Essien at the back with Ferrer. On occasions, either one had to play at the centre. Same with the mancs when they had to play Brown or Neville at the heart of their defense. We aren't in that bad a spot now. About 3 years ago, we were so short in defense we had to play Arbeloa in the middle.
Duke Red
post Apr 5 2011, 03:47 PM

6,112 posts

I'm no fan of Rooney's but can sympathise. I dislike that the element of emotion is slowly being taken out of the game. Players aren't machines and the occasional outburt of emotion should be tolerated. I find it laughable that a player can be booked for celebrating too long or too hard. Fairplay if he's trying to incite the crowd though. Similarly I find it absurd that a player can be booked for saying F*CK, especially when it is directed at no one in particular. It is a reaction, not a threat. I don't buy all this talk about being civil because children are watching on telly or whatever. I think football is the last place they'll learn vulgarities when they can access all sorts of crap via the internet.

On Alonso, I don't fully subscribe to the belief that we became shite all of a sudden when he left. There were many other factors such as low morale amongst players because of the uncertainty surrounding the club, Rafa's row with the owners, the treatment of Alonso, etc. Is morale such a big factor? Well look at how much better we improved immediately after King Kenny took over from Hodgson. There's your answer.
Duke Red
post Apr 6 2011, 10:18 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Apr 6 2011, 09:15 AM)
dont say like that laa...later someone says u are a bitter lot juz like everton fans laugh.gif
Who? Me? Well if any justification I posted prior is flawed, feel free to contest it.
Duke Red
post Apr 6 2011, 02:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Apr 6 2011, 01:48 PM)
I think he was refering to kazuki85.
No. Read it again. It's pretty clear.

Doesn't bother me. We each have our own opinions. It's just that if someone disagrees with my views, I'd appreciate it if they refute each of my points instead of making snide remarks.
Duke Red
post Apr 6 2011, 03:44 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Apr 6 2011, 03:39 PM)
nothing is flawed with ur remarks..just joking only laaa..chill bro biggrin.gif
I am chill dude. Just that I don't use emoticons much.
Duke Red
post Apr 7 2011, 06:43 AM

6,112 posts

Interesting news this morning. Le Bron James now has a stake in Liverpool FC.
Duke Red
post Apr 9 2011, 09:04 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Apr 8 2011, 05:58 PM)
Hey guys, im actually going to London this late April to May. I'll be going to the Newcastle game. Well, my father is bringing me. It was his dream though, he has never been to Anfield since he was an avid Liverpool fan in the 70s, reaching 52 this year. (No richkids hate alright? Im just fortunate and well we're not that rich  laugh.gif and i can't say no to London right ?)
I just wanna brush up on my chants though. Any kind hearted folks can help me with what exactly are some of the chants ? I mean i know a few but there might be some which i don't, so any help is appreciated! Or any landmarks i might miss out on, care to share if you can.
A quick google search will reveal all mate. At the very least you should know the lyrics to YNWA. Depending on where you're seated, you could find yourself singing alone especially if you're at the Anny Road End. Too many foreign fans who don't know the songs.
Duke Red
post Apr 10 2011, 09:42 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 10 2011, 12:37 AM)
We Will and Shall win this encounter, Carroll to score, more passing game like Barca and deploy a 5 man defence
Play like Barca and deploy a 5 man defence?

We should approach this game the same way we approach the game against the Mancs. We need points and we've always played better football when we were positive. It should be no different this time round.
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 01:29 PM

6,112 posts

Darn, first game I missed in a long time and we kicked ass. Too much booze *urgh*. No replay after work either.

I'm glad that Carroll has finally opened his account. It must have been a sigh of relief for him, beginning to justify his hefty price tag. Been a fan of Carroll since the season started and I'm convinced he is a good acquisition despite what we paid for him. When fully fit, he is a handful for any defender. I'm also happy to see more and more lads from the Academy get a start, the latest being John Flanaghan. So far this season, we've given starts to Kelly, Shelvey, Wilson, Flanaghan and Spearing in the Premier League. When was the last time so we gave so many of the young lads the opportunity?

Jose Enrique? I just think that we need more marquee signings if we are to prove that we are seriously thinking of challenging for the title. I don't mean big egos with big reputations but players who have proven themselves on the bigger stage. No disrespect to Enrique but he's hardly made any waves since signing for Newcastle some 4 seasons ago. The fact that we have virtually no competition in our bid to secure him tells me that not many rate the lad. Oh well, let's hope he turns out to be an uncut diamond. At 25, he's still relatively young.

On a totally unrelated note, since when did posters start using the term, "butthurt"? What exactly is it applied? Sounds like someone got sodomised if you ask me. Posters seem to apply it to various scenarios. You give someone a word, and they'll toss it in whenever they like. Just like how still don't understand how to use "The Kop" correctly. Seems to be the word of the day though, since so many are using it.

Added on April 12, 2011, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Apr 12 2011, 01:24 PM)
IMHO as a newcastle fan, 15 mil is worth for jose, AC Milan bid him 13 mil. He can defend and attack at the same time.Good composure and dribbling. If you watch Jose playing, you would know what i'm saying. Maybe you can watch him when NUFC vs Man Utd next week.

he still 25 and has lot of future. He is our best player but as a fan i respect his decision just like carroll. smile.gif
Good to hear that. Thanks for the review. I must admit I don't get to watch him much but I'll start paying attention now. I hear he is a good, strong tackler as well. Nice to see that you aren't anti-Carroll like some of your mates were. I still think it was Mike Ashley's decision to cash in on him. Don't think Carroll would leave unless there was a very strong reason to. He's Geordie through and through just like Shearer was.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 12 2011, 01:31 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 02:25 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 12 2011, 01:53 PM)
If a full back worth 20 mil, Carroll 35 mil seems a bargain now. 

EPL players price tag is becoming higher and higher.
I think the price of players in the big three leagues have escalated dramatically. With the knowledge that big sides now have big backers, clubs will demand a small ransom for players. Case in point, Ian Holloway's $16 million pound valuation of Charlie Adam, a player they signed two seasons earlier for a mere $500,000 pounds. Oil Sheiks, Steel magnates, and other businessmen are so willing to throw money about, they hardly bother to negotiate the fee of a player. "How much you want? Ah ok lah, take and go play far far".

Added on April 12, 2011, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Apr 12 2011, 02:08 PM)
agree. we dont intentionally play to lose as how we were purportedly to the loss last year to chelsea (so that they dont drop points on their path to the title)
Well there are conspiracy theorists everywhere isn't there? We lost intentionally to Chelsea and there were even some serious suggestions that Carra deliberately went in on Nani, hoping that he'd be crocked for the rest of the season, therefore derailing the championship aspirations of them mancs. People will find any reason to blame someone other than themselves.

I have to admit that since we have nothing to play for, I'm tempted to harbour thoughts of doing everything possible to prevent the mancs from winning no.19, even if it means losing to a title contender. In the end though, we should focus on ourselves. We cannot help that our rivals are winning titles. We cannot help that they will surpass our proud achievement but we can improve our own fortunes. It will be a bitter pill to swallow should the mancs win the Premiership this season. Heck, they even looks odds on to do the treble. If it does happen though, a huge weight will be lifted off our shoulders. We don't have to keep looking behind us anymore, waiting for the day them mancs will catch up and eventually overtake us.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 12 2011, 02:32 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 03:22 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Apr 12 2011, 03:03 PM)
Whatever happened to Darby? He's supposed to be the 1st in line for rightback spot. Kelly suppose to be CB while Flanagan just burst into reserves not so long ago.
I'm not that optimistic, as long as there's a couple graduates each year will be great edi.
Last I read, he's out on loan. I'm as surprised as you are. Darby was captain of the ressies and I was hit with initial shock when Kelly was played ahead of him, even though he isn't a conventional fullback. Having said that I can now see why. Kelly is class!

I am really happy to see a few of the local lads breaking through.
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 03:32 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Apr 12 2011, 03:13 PM)
yeah i agree on this. Ive seen that happens a lot for Man utd's youngsters. Players like Nani and Anderson when they first come in, play a lot better than their 2nd season for example. After that it takes time before both of them now gets to a consistent standard. Same happens to Macheda, Johnny Evans as well (who now is on the dip of form). Heck even Ronaldo who amazed ppl in his first few games, have to work a few more season before exploding into the international limelight.

Though im not saying Flanagan will drop off form after this, im just saying if players like Kelly, Spearing and Flanagan seems to drop form after their debut season, its a normal trend and given the right training and patience without fans wanting them out, then they will get back, or even surpass the performance they put in at this moment.
The reason for this "dip in form", if any is probably due to the player being found out. When you're a relative unknown, you can fly under the radar but when you've made waves, opposing managers study you, looking for flaws and weaknesses. Thus the illusion of a dip in form when in actual fact, you're just up against better prepared opposition.

Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 03:36 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(farisq @ Apr 12 2011, 03:24 PM)
man, how did u miss one of the best match of the season. If I were you I will quickly find n download the full match  smile.gif
Mabuk man. Couldn't get up. By the time I managed to pry one eyelid open, it was already 5:30am. Will defo look for a link to download it.

On the issue of getting a leftback, resign Stephen Warnock anyone? He's Scouse, he's hard working and he's a hard tackler. This despite breaking his leg twice. Didn't really manage to break through to the first team here but he's been getting regular football. A useful backup player to have in this position perhaps. He's also been capped for England. Not all that useful going forward but he's a decent option when defending a lead. Cheap cheap.
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 04:10 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Apr 12 2011, 03:52 PM)
Nope,too old for the owners liking.he's well past his best.
Why? Are our new owners pedophiles? smile.gif Warnock is 29, not exactly geriatric. At 5'10", he has decent height for a fullback. He is not a grade A defender no doubt but given that we do not currently have many left footers in that position, a decent backup. Also, he wears his heart on his sleeve and doesn't shy away from a challenge. He impressed Capello enough for the Italian to include him in England's team to the South African World Cup last year. The only stumper is that he's valued at almost $8 million which is a little high for a backup. He is a little limited but I've always been a fan because of his passion.

Not our best option of course but if he's content with a backup role, an option no the less. Insua may be coming back from his loan deal but I've always felt the Argentinian lacked pace, which is almost compulsory for a Premiership fullback.
Duke Red
post Apr 12 2011, 06:59 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lfcreds91 @ Apr 12 2011, 06:35 PM)
we can surely use the speed of insua around the flanks next season.
but could leave it exposed at times, so play with 3 CB's perhaps?
Did you just use "Insua" and "speed" in the same sentence?smile.gif

Dude, "speed" isn't something you'd associate him with. In fact as madmoz just said, it's his bigger weakness. He's easily beaten by pace and you can train him to be quicker. Good backup but hardly first team material in my opinion. Think he's about as quick as Agger.
Duke Red
post Apr 13 2011, 10:50 AM

6,112 posts

Transfer speculation is indeed rife these days with us reportedly having same cash in the coffers. It has also became sort of repetitive. I hear names being thrown around like yesterday's garbage but can anyone provide a little more insight into some of these players we've been linked with. I've not seen many of them play so I have the following questions.

1) Why Eden Hazard? What makes him the right player for us? What are his attributes?

Same questions apply to any player who any poster thinks we must have.

The reason I cited Stephen Warnock's name earlier isn't just because I think he's decent. It's because I've actually seen him play. I'm inclined to believe that Enrique is a better prospect being 25. I've also heard that he's a hard tackler and adept at going forward but has anyone actually watched him play over a few games?

The reason you hear comment indicating that some of you talk about transfers like you're sitting behind your keyboard playing Football Manager is because of the lack of insight. Instead of basing your opinions purely on reputation or what you hear, ever consider his value? His wages? His adaptability? Does he even speak English? Disciplinary record?
Duke Red
post Apr 13 2011, 11:16 AM

6,112 posts

Here's another thing to consider when plucking names from the air. There is a good possibility that we will be out of Europe altogether. Nice to be linked with big names but will they come especially if they have the opportunity to join a club playing Champions League football?
Duke Red
post Apr 13 2011, 11:25 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 13 2011, 11:12 AM)
Why are we looking at Eden?

We should get a LB, I heard rumors bout Jose Enrique didn't see him much but what you guys think bout him?
Well as far as Thommo is concerned, the deal is virtually done. That and we'll have Insua returning and if Aurelio can maintain full fitness, we'll have ample bodies in that department. Even if both aren't fit, Agger provides a decent stop-gap option. Not saying we can't get someone better in but wide players are sort of a priority if you ask me. Cole is out of sorts, Kuyt plays best on the right of a 3-pronged-attack, Maxi doesn't have the pace and like Cole, he's left-footed while being played on the left. Our options our wide are so limited, Mereiles has had to play on the right on occasions. We're a little think in the centre of the park but when Shelvey's fit, we'll be pretty much covered.

Therefore, whether it's Hazard on someone else, I feel the priority is to cover our flanks.
Duke Red
post Apr 13 2011, 11:32 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazuki85 @ Apr 13 2011, 11:22 AM)
I would welcome the signing of Young/Downing, Adam or Jarvis if they want to play with us. Especially Charlie Adam with his 10m rated corner kicks, he can be a real headache to the opposition defenders esp. when Andy Carroll is around. biggrin.gif
It's been a trend that managers from a specific part of the world are inclined to bring in players from the same place. No surprise therefore that King Kenny is so interested in Adam. I'll give you another reason why buying him ahead of a host of other more fanciful names could prove to be shrewed. He is a proven matchwinner. Blackpool have relied on him for some important goals and his influence on the team has been admirable. Last season we had only 3 notable matchwinners in Torres, Gerrard and even Benayoun. What is a matchwinner? Well to me it's someone you can count on to get you a goal when you most need it, especially when the team isn't playing well but he still does. Often you come across players who look good when the whole team plays well but disappears when they don't. Players like Gerrard can carry the team on their own. Adam has done the same for Blackpool.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.5872sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:30 AM