5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Residential vs Commercial Title, Everything about it

1ullaby
post Mar 22 2011, 12:03 AM

What The ...
1,784 posts

I see, I was under the notion of commercial titled will always be able to support a high plot ratio, no?

Hence, when market favors residential dwellings, it makes good sense for developers to go high density residential for their commercial land.

lmchea
post Mar 22 2011, 12:06 AM

still not too understand what the benefit of purchase commercial title property...
michaellee
post Mar 22 2011, 12:31 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(1ullaby @ Mar 22 2011, 12:03 AM)
I see, I was under the notion of commercial titled will always be able to support a high plot ratio, no?

Hence, when market favors residential dwellings, it makes good sense for developers to go high density residential for their commercial land.
Of course this is Malaysia.. there are many reasons to allow higher plot ratios. But somehow I don't think commercial is one of them. Look at Mont Kiara, pretty good plot ratio there. wink.gif
CyrusChang
post Mar 22 2011, 06:11 AM

722 posts

Different target of tenants for different purpose in property investment!

Both complement each other...
TSkelvin_tan
post Mar 22 2011, 08:17 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

I think I have gotten most of the required information I need. Thank you all smile.gif Able to understand better with regards to commercial vs residential.

Let me contribute another part I recently found out (requires some clarification, maybe some other forumers can help?). Downpayment to purchase a property under commercial title is higher than residential ?
michaellee
post Mar 22 2011, 08:23 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 22 2011, 08:17 AM)
I think I have gotten most of the required information I need. Thank you all smile.gif Able to understand better with regards to commercial vs residential.

Let me contribute another part I recently found out (requires some clarification, maybe some other forumers can help?). Downpayment to purchase a property under commercial title is higher than residential ?
Not necessarily true. Mayland had been launching some of its "commercial" service apartment and it has zero downpayment scheme especially for its Johor projects.
TSkelvin_tan
post Mar 22 2011, 10:59 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@michaellee
Sorry maybe I should provide slightly more details.

This is based on market average and it is not necessarily right if we go into specifics.

Normally, down payment is 10/90... but for commercial it is 15/85.. how true is this?

For Mayland, it could be that they are giving 15% discount which is why its 0% down payment. The same is applicable for Suria Jelutong, 15% downpayment and 15% discount given (during the early stages, now its 12%)
1ullaby
post Mar 22 2011, 11:05 AM

What The ...
1,784 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 22 2011, 10:59 AM)
@michaellee

This is based on market average and it is not necessarily right if we go into specifics.

Normally, down payment is 10/90... but for commercial it is 15/85.. how true is this?

For Mayland, it could be that they are giving 15% discount which is why its 0% down payment. The same is applicable for Suria Jelutong, 15% downpayment and 15% discount given (during the early stages, now its 12%)
Hmmm .. commercial - residential use to be full 90% as far as I know as I am vested in some studios / serviced apts,

The recent trend could be due to the 70% LTV effect whereby the projects of these nature became fuzzy.
Anyway, better for someone in the know to comment.
michaellee
post Mar 22 2011, 11:05 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 22 2011, 10:59 AM)
@michaellee

Actually come to think of it, even mah sing does it. So I guess it is no difference if residential or commercial.
hanif444
post Mar 24 2011, 12:23 PM

1,523 posts

Buying Commercial tittle like Soho,Serviced Apartment need to folk out DownPayment 20% ,right?
jebatt
post Oct 5 2011, 07:14 PM

86 posts

Anyone can clarify on this :

Pindaan Nilaian Harta by any majlis bandaraya for commercial land title? Besides diff rate for water supply and elec bill, this nilaian harta also bit higher?
cutejams2004
post Jan 6 2012, 12:01 AM

~Not Who U Think I Am~
941 posts

can a developer build double storey terrace houses on commercial title?
edyek
post Jan 6 2012, 07:11 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Jan 6 2012, 12:01 AM)
can a developer build double storey terrace houses on commercial title?
A double storey house would be consider as dwelling units which falls under residential. Developer would have to convt the land title into residential title unless they are building town house or SOHO or service apartment. If it is for dwelling units, it is much more better to build o residential land than commercial.
katijar
post Jan 6 2012, 08:24 AM

2,294 posts

can we say only malaysia goverment allow commercial title property for permanent residential use?
Kokwm
post Jan 6 2012, 09:13 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Jan 6 2012, 08:24 AM)
can we say only malaysia goverment allow commercial title property for permanent residential use?
Not really. I can see similar mixed developments sprouting up in Singapore where downstairs is a shopping mall and the upper levels are SOHOs, condos etc. These are all built on commercial titled land too.

Imho, buying a "residential dwelling" on a commercial development:

Pros
- Retail shops conveniently located downstairs. Anytime you want to makan, buy stuff, just go downstairs.
- Buzz and activities happening most of the time around your living place. Nice for ppl who like to live in a "happening area".
- More strategic location. Commercial titled areas could be located in a more strategic/convenient location compared to a residential titled area.

Cons
- Less privacy due to increased traffic/buzz/noise/activities spillover from retail shops downstairs.
- "less security"? because public can access the commercial portion of the retail shops and can potentially tailgate any residents heading to their own service apartments upstairs. Not that this can't happen in condos but the tailgating in condos would be more obviously noted.
- Higher quit rent/assessment charges/utility tariffs? (dont have personal experience but heard this before)
- Less number of carparks alloted to residents? Due to a need to reserve lots for retail shop owners too.
- Used to be the standard HDA SPA contract doesnt cover residential units on commercial titles. That should not be the case now, so just need to ensure that the relevant Schedule H or J is used for your SPA when buying from developer.

This post has been edited by Kokwm: Jan 6 2012, 09:25 AM
katijar
post Jan 6 2012, 09:41 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(Kokwm @ Jan 6 2012, 09:13 AM)
Not really. I can see similar mixed developments sprouting up in Singapore where downstairs is a shopping mall and the upper levels are SOHOs, condos etc. These are all built on commercial titled land too.
Imho, buying a "residential dwelling" on a commercial development:

Pros
- Retail shops conveniently located downstairs. Anytime you want to makan, buy stuff, just go downstairs.
- Buzz and activities happening most of the time around your living place. Nice for ppl who like to live in a "happening area".
- More strategic location. Commercial titled areas could be located in a more strategic/convenient location compared to a residential titled area.
Cons
- Less privacy due to increased traffic/buzz/noise/activities spillover from retail shops downstairs.
- "less security"? because public can access the commercial portion of the retail shops and can potentially tailgate any residents heading to their own service apartments upstairs. Not that this can't happen in condos but the tailgating in condos would be more obviously noted.
- Higher quit rent/assessment charges/utility tariffs? (dont have personal experience but heard this before)
- Less number of carparks alloted to residents? Due to a need to reserve lots for retail shop owners too.
- Used to be the standard HDA SPA contract doesnt cover residential units on commercial titles. That should not be the case now, so just need to ensure that the relevant Schedule H or J is used for your SPA when buying from developer.
what if there is no mall?
Kokwm
post Jan 6 2012, 09:48 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Jan 6 2012, 09:41 AM)
what if there is no mall?
Commercial title is meant for retail units etc. The developers work around this by having residential dwellings on top of the retail units and term these SOHO, service apartments etc.

At the end of the day, the developers are supposed to build only commercial units. So I am pretty sure there would be retail units there else the commercial title cannot be used.
katijar
post Jan 6 2012, 10:08 AM

2,294 posts

those shops in apartment/condo, commercial or residential title?
kenji1903
post Jan 6 2012, 10:10 AM

3,785 posts

sorry, tumpang thread... any idea if commercial water tariffs are fixed or it differs depending on location?

i have never stayed in a condo before but i have a serviced apartment and my tenant is curious to know how much the tariff is compared to other locations

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jan 6 2012, 10:25 AM
Kokwm
post Jan 6 2012, 11:12 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Jan 6 2012, 10:08 AM)
those shops in apartment/condo, commercial or residential title?
Residential titled developments have at most one/two shops only, whereas the commercial titled developments have the entire lower levels filled with retail shops.

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:10 AM)
sorry, tumpang thread... any idea if commercial water tariffs are fixed or it differs depending on location?

i have never stayed in a condo before but i have a serviced apartment and my tenant is curious to know how much the tariff is compared to other locations
I found this on TNB website.

http://www.tnb.com.my/business/for-commercial.html

http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/pricing-...riff-rates.html

Personally, I was told by serviced apartment Management Manager (Endah Promenade) that the serviced apartments are charged commercial rates.

This post has been edited by Kokwm: Jan 6 2012, 11:13 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0162sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:22 AM