Pumping Petrol with your Credit Cards, What cards reward you?

Human Nature
post Aug 22 2012, 11:35 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Aug 22 2012, 10:20 AM)
Thank you for the reply.
But I don't really understand on the 1% cash rebate.

If i pump RM30 petrol, RM3 will be deducted directly?

Sorry,  because I don't use credit cards, so I am not familiar with the cash rebates.

I'm currently using Maybank Debit Card, but it seems not to have any benefits.
It doesnt work that way. You dont get the rebate on the spot. Either at the end of the month or the end of the statement period as stated by the bank itself. Why not consider using CC which gives you higher rebate on petrols?
Human Nature
post Aug 22 2012, 12:06 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Aug 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
Because I always swipe my card without calculating, end up I will overspend.
If I use debit card, I can see my balance and control myself tongue.gif
I see. You just use the CC for petrols ONLY then no issue of overspending haha. Some cards are giving 5% rebate. But depends on your petrol consumption, else not worth it to pay the GST too.
Human Nature
post Aug 23 2012, 06:18 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Aug 23 2012, 06:06 PM)
Checking on the benefit on Public Bank debit card whether does it worth for me to get a card or not. smile.gif
For ~RM250 per month, you get about RM30 rebate using esso per year. You decide if this is worth it or not. Could be useful for emergency cases if this gonna be your first card. You will only know the balance if you check from ATM or online.

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 23 2012, 06:12 PM)
get a credit card my dear  blush.gif

more benefits/rebates
You read up there, she already say no to CC, focusing on debit card now.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 23 2012, 06:22 PM
Human Nature
post Aug 23 2012, 06:24 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 23 2012, 06:22 PM)
i know, i'm trying to convince her to get one  blush.gif
Haha, better dont la. We dont want people to get carried away with CC and get into problems.
Human Nature
post Aug 23 2012, 06:32 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 23 2012, 06:26 PM)
nowadays CC is diff, or perhaps the user of CC is more clever now...

we use CC to get more benefits instead of letting them charge us...

i saw ur name quite frequent in this side of the forum, i'm sure u know  brows.gif
Ya but dont forget that CC debt is very high among malaysians too. Thats why Gov imposed GST shakehead.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 28 2012, 02:40 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(katejing @ Aug 28 2012, 02:18 AM)
Now i'm using Petronas Mesra card..wish to know that other petrol station cards will offer better and worthy redemption or not..

Initially, want to try out UOB One card but then 60 swipes per year to waive the annual fee make me hesitate..=/
maybank amex gives 5% rebate capped RM50 per month on weekends + 5x points everydat, not widely accepted in petronas.
ocbc ti mc gives 5% rebate capped RM50 per month.
Human Nature
post Sep 28 2012, 06:04 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(chloe999 @ Sep 28 2012, 05:43 PM)
Maybankard 2 American Express, weekdays also get 5X Treats Points points  ? I thought only 1 TP ?

weekdays I usually use pb-esso cc at esso ... only weekend i pump at esso with amex exp
5x everyday for Mbb2 Amex
Human Nature
post Oct 3 2012, 06:44 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Oct 3 2012, 06:13 PM)
Seems like Maybankard 2 Amex Gold is better in rewarding its customer.
Just to double confirm few things,

1. The cash back of 5% deduct through the statement?
2. I always pump at SHELL, can I still use Bonus Link + Maybankard 2 Amex Gold together to get extra points? Which card should I put first?
Yes to both questions.
Cashback will be reflected in your statement on the 1st or 2nd of the month.
Bonuslink first.
Human Nature
post Jan 13 2013, 12:24 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jan 13 2013, 12:19 AM)
alamak. I think i will stop pumping at Petron Sri Kembangan, opposite South City liao. At first its for the tissue, but now they ran out liao. Start to give free 500ml bottle water oni. Plus that station posting date is slow. 2 days later oni posted. Few time liao miss the weekend cashback on MBB2 Amex
Posting date for the weekend cashback is only important when the last weekend is nearing the end of month. Refer to example by ronnie at #2 post:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2641365

You will still get your weekend cashback based on transaction date.
Human Nature
post Mar 21 2013, 09:31 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Mar 21 2013, 08:18 PM)
still cant understand the credit card points/cashback worth the hassles for moderate spending people.

has anyone 'borrow' your credit card to pump petrol and return back to you without you knowing before?
Not really sure what you mean by 'borrow', but I will not let anyone borrow and use my credit card. It is actually illegal too.
Human Nature
post Aug 5 2013, 05:18 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 5 2013, 05:08 PM)
I often use MBB amex plat weekend 5X points
but nowadays, due to the jam cannot wait until weekend.
fuel finished before weekend.

any other cards that offer better benefit than MBB amex?
to use weekdays?
OCBC Titanium smile.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 20 2013, 11:01 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Aug 20 2013, 10:52 AM)
so we do not have option to actually pump until the tank is full when using credit cards?
must use preset value?
*nice info you provide by the way  rclxms.gif
You still can pump until full lah sweat.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 20 2013, 11:10 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Aug 20 2013, 11:08 AM)
first time credit card holder ma. coz just in case i preset rm50 but tank really full already until RM45, so the extra rm5 will be debit back to our credit card or how?
if i want pump until full, so what is the procedure then? no need tekan the preset value?
I never use preset, so I cant answer your question. I just pump full biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 20 2013, 11:32 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Aug 20 2013, 11:21 AM)
how you pump full ya? just insert credit card then insert bonuslink then can pump dy?
btw, in weekdays u all use amex or visa/mastercard to pump petrol? both give the same treatpoints and no cash back during weekdays right?
For shell, bonuslink > credit card > pump until full

Weekdays, I use OCBC mastercard.

Amex gives 5x treatpoints everyday, no cashback on weekdays
Visa/Mastercard only gives 1x treatpoints.

So, always go with Amex.
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2013, 07:38 PM

26,524 posts

CC need to increase the % cashback sad.gif
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2014, 07:52 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Aug 18 2014, 05:42 PM)
I dont like the fact CCs deduct 200Rm when you swipe. Then only return the balance like almost 2 weeks later...
swipe at the counter.

by the way, 2 week? mine usually 2-3 days
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2014, 09:48 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Aug 18 2014, 09:41 PM)
I think depending. You swipe at counter vs swipe at pump.
Also which CC also?
i mean if you swipe at the counter, they wont keep the rm200 credit.
Human Nature
post Apr 4 2015, 11:35 AM

26,524 posts

See the word 'UP TO'..no mood to read further dy
Human Nature
post Jan 21 2016, 07:58 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(reoz @ Jan 21 2016, 07:30 PM)
I think collect points better than cashback.
until they keep revising the redemption catalogue
Human Nature
post Feb 22 2016, 12:03 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Andicom @ Feb 21 2016, 11:59 PM)
Hi guys,

I just received the Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold and as a first timer, I found many info out there a bit overwhelming...please feel free to answer my questions below. Meanwhile, I'll try to catch up with all these info in LYN. Some questions below are very basic, sorry for that, just need to clear up for sure

1. If I use the card to pay for my petrol, when is the best way for me to pay the bill? Lets say if I use the card today, 21st feb. Should I pay the bill before end of the month (Feb 29th) or end of next month (Mac 31st)? what are the consequences?

2. 5% Cash back on petrols and groceries. How do I claim the cash back? Applicable to all petrol stations/shops or specific ones only?

3. FREE Maybank Touch ‘n Go Zing card. I was informed I'll be getting this card as well but I didn't. Does the cc actually come with this?

Thanks guys, much appreciated.
1. Your monthly statement will show the due date for payment, which is 20 days from your statement date. Always pay the statement balance in full to avoid charges.

2. For this card, the cash back will be credited to your card account on the 1st or 2nd of the month.

You can read up or ask more questions here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3763581

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0572sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:31 AM