Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V7, Nikon announcement on Mar/Apr ?!

ifer
post Mar 19 2011, 01:48 AM

4,637 posts

anyone going to the CIMB SQUASH KL OPEN 2011?
berjaya times square
saturday is semi final
sunday is final
ifer
post Mar 19 2011, 05:14 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 19 2011, 09:14 AM)
i wanted to go friday to shoot from the front.
in the end started raining, and delia arnold also got knocked out earlier tongue.gif
eh i was there on friday (yesterday)
i go talk to the astro video guy and he let me in to the photographers/videographers section. lol
ifer
post Mar 21 2011, 09:26 AM

4,637 posts

might want to update it on the first page

Nikon Malaysia 10th Anniversary
Date: 31/3 to 3/4 2011
Venue: Hall 3, Mid Valley Exhibition Centre, Level 3
Opening Hour: 31/3 2pm to 9pm
1/4 to 3/4 11am to 9pm

event highlights
featuring full range of DSLR, coolpixs and accessories
exhibition of iconic nikon cameras (NASA cameras will be here too)
NPS section
photography talks
model shooting photography contest
launch of nikon club
photo exhibition
complimentary sensor cleaning
special 10th anniversary premiums

see you guys there ya
ifer
post Mar 21 2011, 10:44 PM

4,637 posts

Something for you guys here.
Nikon Malaysia 10th Anniversary

Program of events:

Thursday (31st March 2011):

2.00pm - 9.00pm: Exhibition Hall Open to Public

7:00pm - 9:00pm: Photography Talk by Manny Librodo (Philippines)

Friday (1st April 2011):

11:00:00 AM: Exhibition Hall Open to Public

6.30pm - 7.00pm: Model Photo Shooting Contest

7:00pm - 9:00pm: Photography Talk by Cede Prudente (Malaysia)

Saturday (2nd April 2011):

11:00am - 1:00pm: Photography Talk by MizzStudio - Ming Tze & Michelle (Malaysia)

2:00pm - 4:00pm: Photography Talk by Stefen Chow (Singapore)

4.00pm - 4.30pm: Model Photo Shooting Contest

4:30pm - 6:30pm: Photography Talk by Khaled Hasan (Bangladesh)

6.15pm - 6.30pm: Winner Announcement for Nikon Annual Photo Award

7:00pm - 9:00pm: Photography Talk by Ahmad Zamroni (Indonesia)

Sunday (3rd April 2011):

11:00am - 1:00pm: Photography Talk by Dr. Teh Ban Hup (Malaysia)

2:00pm - 4:00pm: Photography Talk by Jim Liaw (Malaysia)

4.00pm - 4.30pm: Model Photo Shooting Contest

4:30pm - 6:30pm: Photography Talk by Deanna Ng (Singapore)

8.00pm: Winner Announcement for Model Photo Shooting Contest

7:00pm - 9:00pm: Photography Talk by Khalid Redza (Malaysia)

+

Other exciting all-day events:

1. Featuring full range of Nikon DSLR, Coolpix and accessories.

2. Showcase of iconic Nikon cameras from past to present.

3. Learn about the Nikon Professional Services for professional photographers.

4. Launch of Nikon Club Malaysia.

5. Complimentary Sensor Cleaning for Nikon cameras (Friday to Sunday)

6. Be Creative with Nikon contest. 5 Coolpix S3100 to be won.

7. "Beauty Beyond Words" Model Photo Shooting Contest. 3 best photographers to walk away with Coolpix P7000.

8. Surprise Contests.

9. Exclusive 10th anniversary goodies to give away and more!

Might want to update it on the first page
ifer
post Mar 21 2011, 11:36 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Mar 21 2011, 11:28 PM)
mid valley.

guys. mind share what bag u guys using? and the equipments u guys put in?

wanna get a bag but donno which to get
lowepro?
i like the fabric and the durability of the bag.
no matter how to trash it... it's still good

i basically put everything in.
ifer
post Mar 21 2011, 11:54 PM

4,637 posts

compu rover
yeah

can put laptop but i seldom do it coz it's super heavy after that.
plus, i usually use backpack for my film camera so i don't need a lap top

but i like this bag because it's tough... i mean, i don't really take care of the bag. not to the extend of throwing it but i do a lot of outdoor shooting... no asphalt road type. more like sand, mud etc...
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 10:49 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 22 2011, 10:41 AM)
The software I use, can save JPEG back to NEF. Not as good ? tongue.gif
eh i don't think you can.
jpeg is compressed and NEF is uncompressed.

example:

jpeg = 100ml of concentrated juice to make to 1 litre of drink
NEF = 1 litre of concentrated juice to make to 1 litre of drink

so it's impossible to convert jpeg to NEF. the other way round can.
coz when you took the photo, there is only that much of information, where to create new information?
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 11:07 AM

4,637 posts

KTCY,
how do u think of the NX2?
i havent used it before. previously i was using camera raw (yuck) until i discover capture one (phase one)

omg! that software is awesome. a bit slow and not suitable for event/wedding photographers though. but the conversion of RAW to TIFF is awesome
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 11:13 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 22 2011, 11:08 AM)
I find it very good. Easy to use, one click. But I think capture one should be even better.
For me, I find the color reproduction of RAW much more accurate if compare with LR / camera raw which I used before. That's why I go ask for genuine version tongue.gif

And yes. A bit slow. But can do batch processing also. biggrin.gif
Capture one manage to extract more micro detail from you photo. and of course the colour profile of other cameras thingy.
try to find a copy. you will be amaze what your camera and lens can show (details) that you seemed not to be able to see with NX and camera raw
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 11:34 AM

4,637 posts

KTCY,
might want to post it on first page

If you are a Nikon user, now you can register for a FREE *membership of the Nikon Club Malaysia by logging on to www.nikonclub.com.my (available from 11 April 2011) to enjoy the photo talks, seminars, workshops, photo trips, posting of images in the gallery, exhibitions, critics to save your shots, contests, products news, members feedbacks and comments, technical information and support, advice on repair service, and much more.

This club is open to all Nikon users including any collectors, photo enthusiasts, hobbyists, serious amateurs, and professionals. Members will have the opportunity to exchange ideas, share their passions of photography among the same users who understands and uses Nikon range of products extensively.

*Subject to the terms and conditions with a Nikon (Malaysia) warranty card.

The sole purpose of the formation of Nikon Club Malaysia is to merge all Nikon users (include Coolpix compact) to have a common voice and a common fraternity club in Malaysia. We believe in the Nikon imaging technology and are proud owners of Nikon cameras and its accessories. We are passionate with photography, and as Nikon users, this fraternity club will be another resource centre to provide a friendly, creative and inspiring atmosphere for enthusiastic photographers to share photography interests and to pursue and grow the final skills of the art of photography regardless of their level of proficiency or location at his or her own pace.

This club is open to all Nikon users including any collectors, photo enthusiasts, hobbyists, serious amateurs, and professionals. Members will have the opportunity to exchange ideas, share their passions of photography among the same users who understands and uses Nikon range of products extensively. This Club will work together with the Nikon Malaysia and the Nikon Centre KL to provide a fast and easy access to the latest Nikon products information, updated industry news, share real hands-on experiences, images and data. Among some of the benefits and programs that are tailored for you are; Photo Contest, Workshops, Forums, Up to date discussions, Photo Galleries, Quarterly Snapshot Newsletter, News, Mentoring Programs, Reviews, Exhibitions, Constructive Critics, Photo Excursions and much more.

This Club also wish to acknowledge and provide to the Nikon community in Malaysia, an interactive venue to easy access and informative feed backs for Nikon users through its Nikon Club Malaysia website. We wish to encourage all Coolpix and Nikon SLRs users to communicate openly with a common interest, on photography with Nikon at this virtual arena. We would like to see a strong friendship develop among its members and the Club. We have a panel of passionate photographers, and competent advisory staff from diverse disciplines, who are informative, ever willing to share and very keen to inspire members to enjoy photography, keeping it interesting and fun place to share, learn and be inspired.

Thank You for Choosing Nikon!

This post has been edited by ifer: Mar 22 2011, 11:36 AM
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 04:17 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 22 2011, 01:49 PM)
The best conversion you get from Nikon's NEF is still from Capture NX2 unfortunately.
oh ya?
says who?
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 04:29 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 22 2011, 04:18 PM)
dont know why but i trust Adobe Lightroom ...
QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 22 2011, 04:21 PM)
I bet he never come across capture one ? unsure.gif
each of us have a different type of RAW conversion because each of us take different type of photographs.
event/wedding photographers prefer lightroom 3 because of the new noise reduction that works like a charm.
some professionals perfer the aperture 3.
some will go back to capture NX (the slide thing on image is awesome)
and some prefer the capture one
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 04:34 PM

4,637 posts

oppss i forgot to include camera raw. lol

what i can advice is take one near to perfect shot in terms on sharpness, details and exposure.

process it in various different kind of software. don't do a lot of sharpening or adjustment in the software, just convert it to TIFF only.
open it on photoshop and see the different each image is.
ifer
post Mar 22 2011, 05:32 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 22 2011, 05:18 PM)
For volume and speed, I would use Lightroom. For quality, it's NX2.
but i thought the NX 2 is the best. i am sure one can sacrifice a bit of time for best result which is something permanent. clients don't take excuses like oh i dont have enough time hence i use the 2nd best conversion for you.
ifer
post Mar 23 2011, 04:36 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 22 2011, 06:31 PM)
There's no such thing as best software. Depends on what you are willing to trade off. Speed or quality.
The best conversion you get from Nikon's NEF is still from Capture NX2 unfortunately.

you said that yourself. unless we are not talking about best software for NEF here
ifer
post Mar 24 2011, 12:14 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 23 2011, 09:30 AM)
Yes, he has the experience and background education but that does not mean that he cannot be misinformed?

If somebody tells me I'm wrong, I will go back and find out for myself and see if I'm indeed wrong. I will humbly admit and move on to say that I've learned something new today if indeed what I said earlier was incorrect. Perhaps being at where he is makes it harder to take it from a nobody like me?  biggrin.gif  Being stubborn is clearly not the way the way forward. If he chooses to differ in opinion, I'm perfectly fine with it.
I don't think it's a misunderstanding. If you look at his original post and my reply, it's clear what he was referring to and what I replied.

eh but i didnt actually say capture one is the best RAW conversion. i thought it was jchue73.
hence my explanation on how each photographer has their own preference of RAW conversion and etc...
some want speed, some want micro details, some want noise reduction...

or something was lost in the translation?
ifer
post Mar 24 2011, 08:51 AM

4,637 posts

actually i didnt delete my own post. i just click the quote mark that i think KTCY posted and i thought it's out. i didnt deliberately delete it like what you think. if you think that then i am sorry.

what i meant in the post was capture one manage to get more micro details out of raw better than other softwares. and i am sure some will say light room will process reduction of noise out of raw better than other softwares. and dan lain lain...

i didn't say capture one was the best. best as in overall best. i just said it manage to extract more details better than other softwares.

but it was you who said capture NX2 gives best result for raw (NEF) without saying why and stuffs...
ifer
post Mar 29 2011, 12:12 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:44 AM)
FB makes my pictures look pixelated & grainy ... where else in Flickr its nice & buttery smooth exactly like how the original picture source is ...
you have to resize then unsharp mask it.
then make sure the profile is sRGB

then only your photo will look good
ifer
post Mar 29 2011, 03:04 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:54 PM)
Sien lor.... hate to hear that, my usage can't cover the losses.... cry.gif
sell the camera now and use the money to buy gold
ifer
post Mar 29 2011, 03:12 PM

4,637 posts

hahahaa

remember the nikon 10th anniversary event this thursday onwards at mid valley convention hall.

there are some interesting workshops / talks and according to nikonrumors.com, april 4th is the day nikon will announce the d5100.
so we might get some saucy news. well, for those who are waiting for the d5100 that is.

0.0328sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:16 AM