10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware [USER REVIEW] Sager/Clevo Horize NP8150 (P150HM), Gaming: i7-2720QM w/ NVIDIA GTX 485m

engmeng
post Mar 17 2011, 09:50 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Mar 16 2011, 09:45 PM)
Are there any other shops than Logical Blue One in Australia?
metabox, from affordable laptops... decent price too

http://www.affordablelaptops.com.au/contents/en-us/d397.html

Added on March 17, 2011, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Mar 17 2011, 09:13 PM)
nice review bro, just bought one off logical blue one!! was close getting a metabox from another reseller but after reading from your reviews with the friendly service from logical blue one. i decided to change my mind and get it from there! woo!

This post has been edited by engmeng: Mar 17 2011, 09:56 PM
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 10:02 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Shit, i love the 4 screws maintenance.

It's so freaking easy to fix this laptop. 38C idle for a 485GTX is INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!! ARE YOU RIGGING YOUR SCREENSHOTS? tongue.gif

Just asking, is there anywhere that you can buy spare parts, like heat sink and so on?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Mar 17 2011, 10:04 PM
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:20 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

shit... kenna poisoned by Metabox... drool.gif
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 10:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:20 PM)
shit... kenna poisoned by Metabox... drool.gif
Me too. sad.gif

Is 1 year warranty enough?
elionli
post Mar 17 2011, 10:24 PM

15 posts

rclxms.gif NICE review!!!!!
i wanna buy np8150 too! drool.gif
which one the shops is worth for me to purchase 8150 sad.gif
my option is almost same vf u.... laugh.gif
hehess...... rolleyes.gif
did mucro or cubehub hv matte screen?? hmm.gif
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:28 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 17 2011, 10:23 PM)
Me too. sad.gif

Is 1 year warranty enough?
well, that's personal preference...

for me since it's Clevo imho 1yr is good enuf...
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 10:30 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:28 PM)
well, that's personal preference...

for me since it's Clevo imho 1yr is good enuf...
So, it's safe to assume that a Clevo would probably run flawlessly till the end of it's life?
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:32 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 17 2011, 10:30 PM)
So, it's safe to assume that a Clevo would probably run flawlessly till the end of it's life?
at least it's true on my mate's Sager NP8690...

besides the slight hiccup with the fingerprint sensor, never hear him complain at all...
Pewufod
post Mar 17 2011, 10:33 PM

1,481 posts

afterall its very hard to determine the lifespan since we're talking about computer chips/die here, i think what astria meant is the build quality of Clevo
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:35 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Mar 17 2011, 10:33 PM)
afterall its very hard to determine the lifespan since we're talking about computer chips/die here, i think what astria meant is the build quality of Clevo
personally i believe any laptop will run fine for 3yrs at least... provided u take good care and there's no freak events like GeForce 8M or 6 series chipset...

i can foresee my current 23mths old laptop will serve me for at least 1 more yr, both in terms of performance and reliability, even though the hardware is outdated and i tortured it pretty badly in the past...

This post has been edited by astria: Mar 17 2011, 10:38 PM
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 10:38 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:32 PM)
at least it's true on my mate's Sager NP8690...

besides the slight hiccup with the fingerprint sensor, never hear him complain at all...
Well, i mean at least a Clevo have a low likelihood of having some silly issues like the thermal paste died off after 3 months or some heat issues.

I dont expect it to be 100% flawless, but at least it play games pretty well.
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:39 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 17 2011, 10:38 PM)
Well, i mean at least a Clevo have a low likelihood of having some silly issues like the thermal paste died off after 3 months or some heat issues.

I dont expect it to be 100% flawless, but at least it play games pretty well.
lol, with such a DIY-friendly chasis i dun think it's even a problem right? laugh.gif
Eugene91
post Mar 17 2011, 10:46 PM

6,092 posts

drool nice rig biggrin.gif
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 10:49 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:39 PM)
lol, with such a DIY-friendly chasis i dun think it's even a problem right? laugh.gif
Well, i really like it for the DIY friendliness of this laptop.

G73 is so difficult to take apart.
astria
post Mar 17 2011, 10:58 PM

22,158 posts

damn... i can't stop going back to metabox website again and again...

AU$1.9k for GTX 485M is juz too cheap...
engmeng
post Mar 17 2011, 11:39 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:58 PM)

hehehehe get one!!!! i can try to help u to ship it back to msia u want lol
Cheesenium
post Mar 17 2011, 11:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 17 2011, 10:58 PM)

Me too. sad.gif
TSThis is a Lamp
post Mar 18 2011, 06:51 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 18 2011, 12:02 AM)
Shit, i love the 4 screws maintenance.

It's so freaking easy to fix this laptop. 38C idle for a 485GTX is INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!! ARE YOU RIGGING YOUR SCREENSHOTS? tongue.gif

Just asking, is there anywhere that you can buy spare parts, like heat sink and so on?
Haha, I didn't rig my screenshots tongue.gif !
Usually spare parts can come from your reseller.

There are other shops that specifically sell these things like:

http://mxm-upgrade.com/ - for GPU heatsinks and GPU cards.

http://rjtech.com/shop/index.php - A USA Clevo reseller, sells pretty much many modules to be fitted in Clevo models.

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 18 2011, 12:30 AM)
Generally a Clevo would have a lower rate of failure than other laptops. It's still an electronic item though and like any other electronic things, there is a chance during manufacture that there is defects and/or failures. But I don't doubt Clevo's build design and quality though. Defects usually go through your reseller (their job to provide quality and assurance).

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Mar 18 2011, 06:52 AM
ballsofsteel
post Mar 18 2011, 09:20 AM

158 posts

Hey...

Whats the battery life on this when Wifi is on, Brightness at medium and with some MS office running.??

I just placed my Order for the NP5160.

However i am having second thoughts on this as the GT 540M is far too weak to handle anything at FHD.

I can cancel it before it gets built ( in 1 or 2 weeks )

Really eager to change to at least the NP8130 but apparently the GTX285 Saves more power on idle.

astria
post Mar 18 2011, 10:39 AM

22,158 posts

on my mate's NP8690 (GTX 280M), lasted 1.5hr, wifi on, min brightness, Adobe Reader...

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:36 PM