Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

C-Fu
post Sep 11 2005, 11:18 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

recently M$ did a student tech ed in gold coast near my house, wah lau siap bagi free bus, meal, and night xbox party somemore!

there they talk about dystopia, the HL2 mod, and some marketing stuff, as well as vista. and this is what the dude said about vista's requirements:

Vista's requirements in summary

"In a 32 bit environment, half a gig of RAM is heaps. It's going to fly. For 64 bit you're going to want 2 gigs of DDR3 RAM.

"If you move from 32 to 64 bit, you basically need to at least double your memory. 2 gigs in 64 bit is the equivalent of a gig of RAM on a 32bit machine. That's because you're dealing with chunks that are twice the size... if you try to make do with what you've got you'll see less performance. But RAM is now so cheap, it's hardly an issue.

"The GPU will need a plenty of room to operate in Vista. The more memory you put on a video card the better really. We want the least dumping back to main memory because that's slower than graphics. If you have 128MB that's good, if you have 256MB that's better, but I expect that video card memory will go up a lot when Longhorn is released.

remember that you can't really judge vista based on beta 1, since it's not really vista and there arent that many programs specifically for it.
C-Fu
post Sep 11 2005, 04:55 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

I think they forgot the Super Windows Vista Ultimate Alpha EX 2 version

0.0184sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:04 PM