11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

linkinstreet
post Dec 5 2006, 06:16 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

After downloading and testing some sidebar gadgets, I tweaked a media player sidebar gadget and it works!! you just need to know how the WMP MSDN coding and you can make many cool stuff. The only thing that I need to make now is how to resize my 'folder.jpg' as it will sometimes be bigger than the gadget itself and not crop

If anyone can help me, it's most obliged
linkinstreet
post Dec 5 2006, 10:19 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Nah, edited an existing gadget, edited so that it plays my playlist instead random songs from all the media library in WMP.

Actually, it's easy, as the scripting uses standard HTML + JavaScript. Have a look at the existings file in c:\program files\Windows Sidebar\Gadget
Try looking at the html files of the gadget and you'll get the idea. MSDN knowledge is a must tho
linkinstreet
post Dec 5 2006, 11:38 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

lol, the UXtheme patcher for the RTM is already out
http://www.aeroxp.org/board/index.php?showtopic=6764

No new themes made yet theo
linkinstreet
post Dec 6 2006, 10:27 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

That was already in XP, not many ppl knew about it tho

anyways, the did you know about Vista courtesy of AeroXP forum. Thanx guys

QUOTE(aeroXP)
You can zoom in Explorer windows AND the desktop by holding CTRL and moving the mouse wheel. What's neat is this allows you get the extra large 256x256 icons on the desktop.

Did you know that all quickstart items now have hotkeys (they didn't in XP,right?)
Windows key + 1..9 for the 1st - 9th item in the quickstart menu.

...The slideshow Bill showed off at CES is available in 5270? Start a slideshow, right click, and choose “Voyager” from the menu.

...You can restore the folders pane quickly in my computer by right clicking in the Links pane (on the left) and choosing “Show Classic Folders”?

...You can view the contents of all the subfolders in any folder by right clicking and selecting “Look in Folder”?

...You can display the Reading pane in Windows Mail to the right of the inbox pane like in Outlook 2003? View > Layout > Preview Pane.

...That you can preview videos in the Picture and Fax viewer?

...That mfpmp.exe is the skip-free media service? It works well.

...That TabletPC controls are available and they look awesome if you have glass enabled?

Did you know...

In build 5365+ (and perhaps prior), you can have an application snap to the edges of the screen simply by dragging the window border to the edges. Doesn't seem to work with Explorer windows.

Did you know...

You can temporarily show the classic toolbar in an explorer windows by tapping the 'Alt' key.

Did you Know?
... that you can disable the Desktop Window Manager for certain applications? Follow the target of a shortcut or locate the Executable file of the application manually, right-click it and select Properties. From the Compatibility tab, check 'Disable the Desktop Window Manager' and click OK.

Did you Know?
You can switch from Aero Glass to Aero Metal on the fly if you're using a laptop? Just click the power icon in your notification area and change to "Power Saver".
linkinstreet
post Dec 6 2006, 10:44 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

oh yeah, I forgot. I just use dos command anyways for this tho tongue.gif

want this as your bootscreen?

download the file below and follow the instruction

Mirror 1
Mirror 2

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Dec 6 2006, 10:45 AM
linkinstreet
post Dec 6 2006, 05:12 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

sadly no, I think the maker is working on a version with a moving bar tho
linkinstreet
post Dec 6 2006, 11:47 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Read through the thread. It's definately worth every penny you pay for the pirated disc
linkinstreet
post Dec 6 2006, 11:54 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

fancy a new kind of wallpaper?
As disclosed and confirmed by multiple sources: One of the new UI features being added to Windows Vista during the blackout time leading to RTM is currently known internally as "Motion Desktop" and could very easily retain this title as its final name. It will allow for the end user to run an animated or interactive desktop wallpaper to complement the UI already present in Windows Vista. The Vista SKUs which will contain this new feature along with the degree of customizability the end user will see in creating his own Motion Desktop are as yet unknown. More details as I have them.

Internal discussions seem to suggest that interactive Motion Desktops should be able to integrate with relative ease into various Windows Live services, and one can expect third-party and first-party Motion Desktops to be displayed on a Live gallery similar to what is currently in use for sidebar and live gadgets.

Update (10-24-06): As confirmed by Paul Thurrott, Motion Desktop will be an Ultimate Extras feature only, and it will be rolled out in January 2007, and will not be much different from running a screensaver as a wallpaper (similar to Long's screensaver application) as internally confirmed by Michael.

Source: In-House

linkinstreet
post Dec 7 2006, 08:47 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I use alternative software as Adobe reader was a bit too resorce hunry for me.
@netto hikari
majority of the software can still be used
linkinstreet
post Dec 8 2006, 10:59 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

No such problem for me...
Meh.. I want WinFS!!!!
linkinstreet
post Dec 9 2006, 12:42 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

You need 1GB of ram too for Aero, thus even if you did get a Dx9 card, you will still cannot see the aero effect
linkinstreet
post Dec 12 2006, 12:34 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Dec 11 2006, 11:10 PM)
ehm... seems like the RTM is way better than the beta. rocks
Now you know...
anyways, can't wait for the full retail lowyat version to hit the store...
linkinstreet
post Dec 14 2006, 02:59 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Aero = 1GB of ram and a DX9 supported 3D card
linkinstreet
post Dec 15 2006, 10:59 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

MEh, I really need to get Mod fix up the 1st post

Some info that lazy ppl tend not to read in the prior post

- YOU DON'T ASK FOR LINK IN HERE!!!!
- Starting with RC2, you need 1GB of RAM for Aero to start taking effect
- You CAN install Vista on at least a PIII Machine. It has been done
- The slowness of teh system is not the OS's fault. It's because ppl are too lazy to turn off the effect and such
- Flip 3D and Aero effects does not consume more resources and energy. It uses even less than the 3rd party software that can create the same effect on XP machine. This is due to DWM (Desktop Windows Manager) that renders these effect in the background instead of rendering it on the spot
- The navigation system are designed after years of research on how ppl uses the PC and feedback by the beta testers (which many you can find here in this thread). If you don't like it, don't use it.
- THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A VISTA CERTIFIED MOTHERBOARD!!!!
- The full release is at the end of January. DON'T ASK ANYMORE!!!!

linkinstreet
post Dec 15 2006, 07:33 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

To some beta testers that yet to get their RTM keys (aka me and mengsuan), seems that many more are sharing this fate with us. Some are even active beta testers that have send 10 or more bugs.
linkinstreet
post Dec 16 2006, 02:07 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ Dec 16 2006, 01:44 AM)
1 Which one can use until 1st of June 2007 ? RC1 or RC2 ?
2 If i am using Dx9b can it run Aero and 3d flip ?
3 So compare to RC2 and RTM , can you define the meaning 'RTM is way better than the beta' ? The difference ?
4 If I install vista and want to uninstall , what step do i need to do ?
1. RC1 and RC2 uses the same key.
2. Vista is preloaded with DX10. the keyword here is CARD. DX9 cards are
Nvidia - 6 series above
Ati - X series above
3. Ask RTM users. I'm still using RC2
4. Reformat

linkinstreet
post Dec 16 2006, 04:29 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Vista Ultimate.
And Kapitan dude, are you really sure what you're talking about? the best thing about Vista is that the DWM. XP cannot even do all the effects that Vista can without using at least 2GB or RAM. and ReadyBoot is one of the best thing that I'm using right now. bloated? I beg to differ. And also considering that Vista has 85% of drivers that you need, I don't think the lack of driver can be a problem. You want to use Apple, than that's fine. But looking at the market, M$ should be screwing everyone as all the big vendors are stocking up more Vista PC than other OS (read OSS).
linkinstreet
post Dec 17 2006, 01:27 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Dec 16 2006, 06:08 PM)
I dont use Apple, its just a comparison.

It cant be helped if you feel good about Vista. Everyone has difference perception. I just feel an OS taking up more than 500MB of ram is nothing but bloated. DWM is nothing but a tool to utilise your DX9 card in desktop mode. Although it said offloading the processing to video card, but having to use so much ram means the processor will be doing works too.

Vista has 85% of the drivers but if you got a all-in-one printer, then you will be out of your luck. Not to mention the drivers for Prodigy LT.
I dunno,
with my rig as in my sig right now, I'm surfing, running FM07, Genie FM07, watching video, and it still feels fine. Just lag a bit when WMP loads the codecs, but that's all.
linkinstreet
post Dec 17 2006, 11:23 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

If you want to install a clean version, better burn it. And usually it want to load files during DOS mode, when the emulator is not working
linkinstreet
post Dec 18 2006, 01:53 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(pal33x @ Dec 17 2006, 03:59 PM)
so vista pc cant connect with xp pc?

mozilla cant conect to iternet wit vista......why? ver 2.0 btw

...mangkok 2 vista...XP is beter IMO........WE nEEd FASt FaST...Not CoOlness...
Noob detected

Do you even know what Vista has? Aero is just the exterior, and it's just the OS way of showing what it can do.
1. You can't have DirectX10 on XP
2. It has .NET 3.0
3. DWM renders teh effects on teh background, thus prevents PC slowdown from the heavy graphics. XP with the same specs will LAG doing the same thing
4. ReadyBoost, make use of teh spare thumbdrive to boost the performance

Thus VISTA is faster than XP
thus having problem with FF2 (which is lame anyway) is not a valid reason for your lame post....

AND FOR TEH PEOPLE SAYING THAT VISTA IS SLOW ON THEIR RIG, TRY INSTALLING XP ON A WINDOWS 98 RIG AND TEST HOW FAST IS THAT. DO NOT THROW LOGIC JUST BECAUSE YOU'RE PC IS NOT MEANT FOR THIS

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Dec 18 2006, 01:57 AM

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:41 PM