Readyboost works on fast memory card & thumbdrive only.
Tested almost 20 thumbdrive and 50 memory cards, only half of them (mostly branded) works.
Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion
Feb 1 2007, 04:37 PM
2,465 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Jalil, migrated to Paldea. |
Readyboost works on fast memory card & thumbdrive only.
Tested almost 20 thumbdrive and 50 memory cards, only half of them (mostly branded) works. |
Feb 1 2007, 05:24 PM
6,413 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong Not For Human Live One.... |
QUOTE(seaotter @ Feb 1 2007, 01:30 PM) question guys: do you think there will be people at lowyat this saturday i can ask about vista? people from microsoft? What i know is there will be ppl frm Ms malaysia as well as temps who are trained in Vista products. So pretty much there will be ppl who knows about vista when u in the launch event.QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 1 2007, 04:37 PM) Readyboost works on fast memory card & thumbdrive only. I pretty assure it works for most USB 2.0 thumb drives.Tested almost 20 thumbdrive and 50 memory cards, only half of them (mostly branded) works. |
Feb 1 2007, 07:23 PM
1,282 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: penang |
QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 1 2007, 04:37 PM) Readyboost works on fast memory card & thumbdrive only. well.. readyboost can boost your vista to be smoother and faster when open a programTested almost 20 thumbdrive and 50 memory cards, only half of them (mostly branded) works. but how smooth and how fast it can boost? open wlm8.1 about 1sec is consider fast? my pc has 2gb ddr400 ram and tried the readyboost, i could not feel any obvious increase in performance i also heard that 2gb and above.. will not show the power of readyboost as 2gb is enough for vista to run smoothly .. i think the readyboost is to help those system with 1gb and below to run smoother in vista?? |
Feb 1 2007, 07:24 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
Meh, new thumbdrive cost less than RM70 for a 2GB drive. can buy bundle nowadays
Feb 1 2007, 07:39 PM
2,465 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Jalil, migrated to Paldea. |
Try turnoff pagefile, let the OS uses only physical RAM as err... RAM, reboot PC, and then test again with ReadyBoost.
U will notice significant performance increase. |
Feb 1 2007, 11:06 PM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
really??
how it work?? my thumb really slow....transfer speed only 12m read 6m write it slower than HDD still can boost up performance for vista |
Feb 2 2007, 01:34 AM
4,840 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Universal |
Wish all Vista user can share which software is working in Vista..List down at the 1st post if possible lor
Microsoft Office 2003 should be working rite? This post has been edited by accs_centre: Feb 2 2007, 01:36 AM |
Feb 2 2007, 01:47 AM
110 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Feb 2 2007, 09:42 AM
3,769 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Perak |
Do they provide free upgrade from windows xp to vista which is newly acquired?
Feb 2 2007, 01:55 PM
865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
how to install display language...i cannot view chinese base program after install it...help me pls
Feb 2 2007, 02:29 PM
1,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klawang stage 1 |
QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 28 2007, 09:06 PM) One word - eWWWWWWWWW ko ngan rahman dua-dua ekor anti window cukai pagar ah? no way , I am paying that much for a crappy OS. I have just tested the POS OS . OSX's Chess still rocks , and its a pure Rip-off of OSX. OMG , Aero hogs up ram like hell and they call that GUI. Take a look at OSX 10's GUI and the ease of use. They still can't get the right. Oh yeah , I can get the cool Aero effects by using Beryl on a X200 [it even works on a Radeon 9200]. There is nothing big deal about Vista . AFAIK , i am pretty happy running OSX on my Dell aka Hack. Seriously , OSX makes use of SSE3 and even VMX [on Core 2 Duo , Core Duo , Pentium D 9xx series]...I dont see Vista making use of that *yet*....We might never know...Oh yeah , lets wait for SP2 Vista .....Then only I'l use Vista. <sarcasm> |
Feb 2 2007, 02:48 PM
863 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 1 2007, 04:19 PM) Hello guys, I've come out with my very own review on Windows Vista Home Premium in Spherebox http://spherebox.com/2007/02/01/review-mic...a-home-premium/ While the review is not as "full on" as others that you could easily find it online, it does give my own neutral and original opinions. Please feel free to give comment. Thanks :-) Good review QUOTE(gstoh @ Feb 1 2007, 07:23 PM) well.. readyboost can boost your vista to be smoother and faster when open a program Yes, that's the main point with readyboost, provide smoother interaction without the need to get more RAM, but with RAM prices as of now, I think upgrading to more RAM is a better choice.but how smooth and how fast it can boost? open wlm8.1 about 1sec is consider fast? my pc has 2gb ddr400 ram and tried the readyboost, i could not feel any obvious increase in performance i also heard that 2gb and above.. will not show the power of readyboost as 2gb is enough for vista to run smoothly .. i think the readyboost is to help those system with 1gb and below to run smoother in vista?? |
Feb 2 2007, 06:38 PM
394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: CITY |
so can anyone confirm with me the price?
thx |
Feb 2 2007, 07:02 PM
314 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Hi guys, this came up from anandtech just now :
http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=2917 salient points below Windows Vista Ram Requirements "We then upgraded the Vista machine to 3GB and ran the test again; thanks to faster application load times and intelligent prefetching, Word started in 1.31 seconds. If you thought that 2GB was the sweet spot for Windows XP, chances are 3GB will be the new minimum for you under Vista." Ready Boost Analysis "ReadyBoost makes a very significant impact on performance here. With 4GB of flash dedicated to ReadyBoost, we saw an increase in performance of over 47%. However for the cost of a 4GB flash drive you could probably upgrade to 1GB of memory which results in an even larger performance gain. That said, if you don't want to open up your system, ReadyBoost does actually work." |
Feb 2 2007, 07:03 PM
218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Georgetown Penang |
vista home basic - rm305
vista home premium - rm395 vista business - rm495 vista ultimate - rm680 all are oem price Added on February 2, 2007, 7:07 pm QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 2 2007, 07:02 PM) Hi guys, this came up from anandtech just now : i use 2gb also slow . no wonder vista required more . 4gb will be execellent to start vista . really suck a** http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=2917 salient points below Windows Vista Ram Requirements "We then upgraded the Vista machine to 3GB and ran the test again; thanks to faster application load times and intelligent prefetching, Word started in 1.31 seconds. If you thought that 2GB was the sweet spot for Windows XP, chances are 3GB will be the new minimum for you under Vista." Ready Boost Analysis "ReadyBoost makes a very significant impact on performance here. With 4GB of flash dedicated to ReadyBoost, we saw an increase in performance of over 47%. However for the cost of a 4GB flash drive you could probably upgrade to 1GB of memory which results in an even larger performance gain. That said, if you don't want to open up your system, ReadyBoost does actually work." This post has been edited by garanzia: Feb 2 2007, 07:07 PM |
Feb 2 2007, 07:10 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
Feb 2 2007, 08:07 PM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(garanzia @ Feb 2 2007, 07:03 PM) vista home basic - rm305 2GB also slow? vista home premium - rm395 vista business - rm495 vista ultimate - rm680 all are oem price Added on February 2, 2007, 7:07 pm i use 2gb also slow . no wonder vista required more . 4gb will be execellent to start vista . really suck a** |
Feb 2 2007, 08:34 PM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
me will be @ lowyat 2morrow
when start?? |
Feb 2 2007, 08:46 PM
10,459 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong |
I'm confused. Must we submit the form through email or can we bring the form and submit before 2 at lowyat or both?
Feb 2 2007, 08:51 PM
1,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Found out the prices for Retail Pack:
Vista Basic RM 670 Vista Home Premium RM 765 Vista Ultimate RM 1270 hope the price comes down in 2 or 3 months later |
| Change to: | 0.0264sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:27 AM |