4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

CSL MI300 V2, Low budget android with high spec

jasonkhoo87
post Mar 15 2011, 09:12 PM

273 posts

i just post here.. i already partition my sd to fat32 + ext3.
i want convert ext3 to ext4, is it possible using windows xp??
the software that i use quite old. only support till ext3 only.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 15 2011, 11:42 PM

273 posts

helo there... can i flash from the phantom king rev1 to rev2? or i need to flash to original eclair 2.1 1st?

can i use the official rom i backup before to revert back to the 2.1??
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 15 2011, 11:47 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(zyulander @ Mar 15 2011, 11:44 PM)
if from 2.2 to another, always downgrade to 2.1 1st smile.gif
thanks a lot..

how about my 2nd ques?

I have backup my original rom b4. if can restore using the rom manager. its more better than using the SPICE software.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 16 2011, 11:18 AM

273 posts

me too in phantom king rev2.

ok on this..
but, many software removed. smile.gif
its is nice.

jasonkhoo87
post Mar 17 2011, 12:47 AM

273 posts

wanna ask here.. im using phantom king rev2.

i already setting my CONFIG to App2sd+Dalvik2sd+Data2sd.

My sd card total 4gig. 1gig partition to ext3, another 3gig partition to fat32.
fat32 primary, ext3 as logical.

After install certain application, the application still install at phone memory. Then i open the application manager, move certain application to sd card.

My question is, why the ext3 not being used to stord application? I notice this because of my fat32 is reducing while im moving the application to sd. If without moving, the application will remain at phone memory.

i try the app2sd software also...

can i view the ext3 partition to see what files in the partition.?
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 17 2011, 05:01 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 17 2011, 04:29 AM)
I have explained in an earlier post that :
- most old apps if not being develop to be install on card will be install on phone memory. Such apps , you need to " force move" at settings/applications/app
- some apps are not recommended to be installed on card eg system utilities, widgets - by default will install in phone memory. Some cannot be force move , while some can - depend again on developer

How do you know whether your ext3 being used to install apps ?

Use the free app Quick system Pro - see pic below : A2SD storage - I have allocate 1 GB to ext - note about 370 MB being used for apps. Internal storage about 120 MB taken up due to apps not install on ext partition - these include data too, cache etc. System storage reserved for default apps/system apps/core apps - these will reduce if you use eg Titanium Backup to remove

[attachmentid=2099956]

See some pics below where i show you how to know whether your apps are being install on fat or ext3 ?

Settings/Applications - on sd card tab : you see 2 apps - these 2 apps appear here as it is install on FAT partition. If it is install on ext3 - you will not see it here
[attachmentid=2099957]

Look at this app : the "move to sd" is NOT grey - this means this app can force install to card but it will be on the FAT partition NOT on EXT3
[attachmentid=2099958]

Look at this app : the "move to phone" is shown  : this means this app I have force move to card and I can force move it back to phone
[attachmentid=2099959]

Look at these 2 app : move to sd card  it is grey out : this means the apps was installed into the ext3 directly

[attachmentid=2099960][attachmentid=2099961]
So I hope you now understand how apps installation work - there is no blanket rule that all apps can be install only on  FAT or only on EXT3 or phone memory. You need to understand the apps install features
I have said before, if you are using Phantom King rom. NO NEED to use any 3rd party apps to have apps2SD. The rom will auto allocate it accordingly. Those not - then you select force install from settings/applications

I also mentioned ext3 is hidden partition - cannot view the files in it on phone or on windows OS - why still ask same question all over again
thanks bro.. i understand all this.. but, using quick system info. my a2sd storage only 35.66MB. I already partition my sd card. how to solve this? thanks

jasonkhoo87
post Mar 17 2011, 05:49 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 17 2011, 05:25 PM)
You said you partition ext3 1 GB ?? What is the reading on Total ? It should be at least 0.89 GB just as mine

You said 35.66 MB - is this your free figure ?? - which is unlikely as even you install up to 200 apps you wont even use up to 800 MB
yes, i partition my sd card to have 1gig ext3. total is onlu 35.66MB only bro.. thats why i feel weird... im using the"Acronis Disk Director Home" to build my partition.

just now i try to remove my sd card and check again.. I can view my a2sd anymore..

i check the log at config, all notes there disable.. although i already reenable it and then reboot..

can u assist me more.. thanks.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 18 2011, 03:13 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 17 2011, 06:09 PM)
My only conclusion is your SD card is not partition correctly. I never use this Acronis software before - so cannot comment on it. Why don't you take the easy way and use rom manager to do it. Even at 512 MB - you can install more than 100 apps , which unlikely you will fill up as as I said many apps still do not have feature to install to hidden partition yet esp the old apps
its ok bro..
may i know ur configuration of partition? i mean the fat32 as primary, how about the ext3? primary or logical.
i google and some said primary, some said logical.

i try to create fat32, ext3, then swap linux. I run the config. It can detect my a2sd partition and swap partition. but, all the config also disable.. i clear all cache also. Just tell about this. smile.gif
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 18 2011, 09:53 PM

273 posts

I manage to create the ext3 partition. i use the config and check the log. Stated that the filesystem mounted. meaning that it can find my ext3 system right?

but, even i enable my app2sd, dalvik, etc. the log still in disable after i restart.. my quick info also didnt show anything on a2sd.

did i need to flash official 2.1 then back to phantom king rev2 to activate the partition??

sorry to keep asking about this. because i keep trying... of course with different method.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 18 2011, 10:25 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 18 2011, 10:06 PM)
Partition SD card is independent of roms. It is not affected by what type of roms you have
In Quick system Info - what is the total value ?? If you have successfully partition, the total value will be a figure slightly under your partition size

And this time, what tool you use to partition your card
oic, i success partition fat32, ext3 and swap. i try using the ubuntu and also my partition manager. from the CONFIG, it can detect and mount the ext3 and swap partition. but, the settings remain disable.. weird.. the quick info still disable for the a2sd.. nw try to flashing the 2.1 then back to Phantom King rev2. hopefully can work..

edit:
any partition manager can be use as i gone through all this process.. just the important thing are

partition fat32 1st as primary, then ext3 as logical, finally swap linux as primary.. this what i get to make the phone identify all the partition. although the swap linux not important.

This post has been edited by jasonkhoo87: Mar 18 2011, 10:29 PM
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 19 2011, 04:40 PM

273 posts

base on phantom king.

didnt anyone face this.

open bluetooth, then sometime force close.
open browser, then sometime force close.
cannot activate gps, but, after reboot can activate... after that, will sometime occur the same problem.

thanks.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 19 2011, 05:42 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Mar 19 2011, 04:56 PM)
rev 1 or rev 2? even clean (download mode to flash) flash rom also the same problem?

I never faces any such issues on rev 1 or rev 2..
i use the rev2.

this is the 2nd time i flash the rev2.. but, with the prcedure going back to 2.1 1st.

the 1st time im using it is without problem. im not sure what cause this. maybe i try to reflash again.

i already clear all the cache before download clean rom.
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 19 2011, 06:00 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 19 2011, 05:47 PM)
Did you guys clear Dalvik cache, cache partition before flashing the new rom ?
I am on Phantom rev2 and frankly I do not face not even one force closures for past few days
I make it a practice to even clear data/factory reset before flashing new rom - I repeat this step after the new rom is installed
GPS is perfect  - I use Aura

If you are facing FC on certain apps - just go to settings/applications - find the app - clear data. If problem still persists, uninstall it and reinstall
ok bro. already clear all the data and cache.. before upgrading to rev2. never mind. i will try again. hopefully this time should be ok..

wanna ask here.. while im reverting to the foxcon v2.1 original, i get this error after finish..

error code :0x4000

error :task 2 of 2, restore phone fail
error = device_not_configure (0x4000)
init mode = emergency download mode

is this error effect my spice??
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 20 2011, 09:42 AM

273 posts

i found out that the cause of force close on all the application..

it is because of the cache that exist at ext3 partition..

i try the clear cache and dalvik. also didnt solve this, what im trying now is, format the ext3 partition using formatting tool.

i want to ask here. if we use the rom manager recovery. there are 2 menu to select for clearing the cache and data right.. so, which partition did it clear? phone or sd card ext? what i found out is, it only clear the phone. the ext3 files remain there.. I want to share what i face here.

jasonkhoo87
post Mar 20 2011, 10:05 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 20 2011, 09:49 AM)
It only clears phone cache. EXT3 is hidden partition and cannot be access directly. Normal fromat will not remove ext3 partition. You can easily check the disk space after format - it will be less the ext3 partition space you have . Check my HD2 users on  android thread HERE - I have posted a tool in post#1 where it will remove the ext3 partition - this is the best tool to use to format SD card and even revive dead sd cards ( unable to be read/format ). Normal Windows even full format never does a clean job formatting
thanks bro.. understand now. i try it.. smile.gif

i solve my ext partition problem.. i would like to correct you. maybe in the spice system. we need the ext3 as primary so the phone able to use it.. : thanks for your guide through this..
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 20 2011, 10:49 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 20 2011, 10:09 AM)
No not true. You still fail to understand how ext3 partition works. I have been using it since the days of the first Android especiallty its development on Nexus One : it is logical NOT primary. It is working well on the mi300 and it has nothing to do with what phone you used
Really weird... i try many times using logical. It can be mounted but, it cannot be use. I use the quick info to check my a2sd and it is null. I change my type to primary and its work... i oso create swap 64MB as primary.

Bro, wanna ask you. Can i format just ext partition and leave fat32 n swap untouched?

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 20 2011, 10:25 AM)
Yes , it is recommended = at least 64MB . As my card is 16 GB, I choose 256 MB - the more the better
Is it ok if, i have 64MB swap. I feel a bi lagging when using my phone. My sd is class4 4gig capacity.

Add here:

can we navigate to the ext partition, as i try the root explorer,

mnt > sd-ext

This post has been edited by jasonkhoo87: Mar 20 2011, 10:57 AM
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 20 2011, 11:48 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 20 2011, 11:25 AM)
The ext3 partition is a hidden partition - you cannot view or access it using the basic file explorer in windows or in the phone itself. It is meant to be so and you are not supposed to access it. I dunno why you are so interested - you seems obsessed with accessing it. Just let Froyo work auto with it. leave it alone

The only best way I know to format and remove it is using the SD tool I recommended. There could be better ways I am not aware. I do not know of any methods of just formatting the EXT3 partition but I do know it can be done through Linux commands - you can google for such if you are interested

Swap size, just like memory the more the better. 64MB is just the minimum
i not really interest in the ext partition. i success to use my partition as primary. but, as i activate the swap, my phone will always get the force close and desktop widget will stop working.. do you have any idea about this??

i set my fat32 primary and active, ext4 primary, swap linux primary.
i try again with the logical drive..
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 21 2011, 04:44 PM

273 posts

Wanna ask.. we use the ROM Manager to go to recovery mode..

1. Do the SPICE compatible with other recovery mode?? For example: Amon Ra..

2. There is one function that the ROM Manager offer, we can flash any application using the zip format right.. Is it safe to flash zip files content suitable application? (not the rom)

Just want to know more about this.

Added on March 21, 2011, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Mar 21 2011, 04:42 PM)
only backup rom as .zip..
but it wont save ur bootimage..
so when u restore back, if no flash other ROM its okay la..
but once u flash custom ROM like that superb skyfish rev2..
there's no turning back.. (for now)
icon_idea.gif
bro, is it same if we revert back to 2.1 either using

1. our backup zip via rom manager.
2. using the spice nbo file.

if not same, what the different?

i read there post that if we revert back to 2.1 using the zip backup file, we will get error on the line service, etc.

Few days using phantom king rev2:

1. problem, there many force close program.
2. device keep restart itself almost the time..

why? anyone??

This post has been edited by jasonkhoo87: Mar 21 2011, 04:49 PM
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 21 2011, 05:31 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Mar 21 2011, 05:13 PM)
phantom rom is the most stable rom this moment..maybe u flash it wrong, clear all data/cache in recovery
i already clear all before flashing and also after flashing. i also do the factory settings..

the most force close after loading android are

1. google framework
2. bluetooth
3. roadsync

after load. usng it and the rest application will force close also.

is there anything work with my other application installed that may cause this force close?
jasonkhoo87
post Mar 21 2011, 05:56 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(zyulander @ Mar 21 2011, 05:47 PM)
ticked the erase user data at the nb0 selection screen?

or u can try allover again. xcept dont wipe it after flash.see how goes. smile.gif
already done also.. try several time before. smile.gif
used for 4days. then, this afternoo, install some application. after that always reboot sometime and force close.

i uninstall the latest application that i installed. now look ok already. Will try using for a while.. hopefully its work fine.

thanks for helping... smile.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:18 PM