howiechoo
post Mar 24 2011, 01:54 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

sorry tarak...tongue.gif
zennn
post Mar 24 2011, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(erszebeth @ Mar 23 2011, 11:30 PM)
what is the best component for SQ then...? budget, around 600~800...? thx in advance...  smile.gif
u can only get the lowest models of the normal SQ brands like focal, morel, DLS, eton, helix, etc etc
or u can try lesser known brands like boston, maestro, etc etc
Quazacolt
post Mar 24 2011, 12:19 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Mar 24 2011, 12:14 PM)
u can only get the lowest models of the normal SQ brands like focal, morel, DLS, eton, helix, etc etc
or u can try lesser known brands like boston, maestro, etc etc
even the lowest (AFAIK) of boston comps (S60) are like 600 or so already no? unless there are lower models which i've not known of
zennn
post Mar 24 2011, 12:20 PM

im thinkin of his 800 limit, not the 600 haha

but with boston he can get 2-3 models in that price range oledi
Quazacolt
post Mar 24 2011, 02:08 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Mar 24 2011, 12:20 PM)
im thinkin of his 800 limit, not the 600 haha

but with boston he can get 2-3 models in that price range oledi
haha squeezing to max on the 800 XD
howiechoo
post Mar 24 2011, 04:28 PM

1,919 posts

actually for budget below 800, u can get quite some good speaker to start with...as for brands, it doesn't really matter...as long as the speaker got potential to go better, then it will be good speaker
TSerszebeth
post Mar 26 2011, 03:34 PM

259 posts

i see... thx sifu2 for the info... smile.gif

i've done some research regarding the component... there are like passive n active system... it does xplain about it, but it seems i cant understand a word.. for beginner, what is active and passive system...?
zennn
post Mar 28 2011, 03:37 PM

passive is 2ch amp powering a component set via a passive crossover

active is 4ch amp powering component system without passive crossover, but need electronic xover or in built head unit xover

component set = midrange + tweeter
TSerszebeth
post Mar 30 2011, 11:04 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Mar 28 2011, 03:37 PM)
passive is 2ch amp powering a component set via a passive crossover

active is 4ch amp powering component system without passive crossover, but need electronic xover or in built head unit xover

component set = midrange + tweeter
i see.... so, a component set is a active system right...?

is it difficult to install a component set into viva...?

bcoz i found that a lot of dealer here who sell decent ice stuff for nice price...
huhu...

btw, based on u guys experience for clarity, morel or focal is better...? what is the model...? budget +- rm 800... =)

This post has been edited by erszebeth: Mar 30 2011, 11:04 PM
Conroe
post Mar 31 2011, 12:35 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(erszebeth @ Mar 30 2011, 11:04 PM)

bcoz i found that a lot of dealer here who sell decent ice stuff for nice price...
huhu...

btw, based on u guys experience for clarity, morel or focal is better...? what is the model...? budget +- rm 800... =)
component is a set of "midrange speaker + tweeter" where most of 'em comes with passive crossover.
If u use the passive crossover,it means it's passive setup.
If u don't use the passive crossover but run the mid & tweeter directly powered 4ch amp (2channel for midrange speaker,2channel for tweeter) then it's active setup.
ThunderGod_Cid
post Mar 31 2011, 12:44 AM

158 posts

what kinda sound difference with both setups? We'll switch on one of the filters if we do an active setup right?
Conroe
post Mar 31 2011, 01:43 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Mar 31 2011, 12:44 AM)
what kinda sound difference with both setups? We'll switch on one of the filters if we do an active setup right?
Basically we'll have more tuning options.
howiechoo
post Mar 31 2011, 01:14 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(erszebeth @ Mar 30 2011, 11:04 PM)

huhu...

install in viva is quite straightforward and quite easy. Unless u wanna do all those modding
for budget of 800, focal access and morel maximo are the models. Try out both and u will know

Added on March 31, 2011, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Mar 31 2011, 12:44 AM)
basically what you will feel on both system is

Active
more dynamic sound with more punch on mid, more details on hi. Some might think the sound are too direct.

Passive
more warmer sound with less punch but more smother response. Some might think it's too dull.

Active means you can adjust the crossover frequency, slope or gain to match with your car environment and install locations. Customizable to suit personal taste. With the requirement of 1ch of amplification on each driver/speaker.

Passive use the fixed crossover point, slope and gain to match most of the car with identical environment and install locations. 1ch of amplification on 1 side no matter how many way the component is. Customizable only if you build or mod the passive crossover.

Some passive crossover do offer 2 or 3 input for low, mid and hi depend on how many way the component is. This allow you to adjust the gain for each way for better customization. While some offer difference crossover frequency and slope also. Like alpine type-x.

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Mar 31 2011, 01:31 PM
zennn
post Mar 31 2011, 01:46 PM

- actually no, component set comes as passive, coz they inclue a passive crossover, if wanna go active just dont use the passive xover la, that all...

for clarity, morel or focal is better...? what is the model...? budget +- rm 800... =)
- cant go wrong with either one, more vocals pick morel, more instruments pick focal, focal also slightly better bass
models are focal access and morel maximo, both around 800
TSerszebeth
post Mar 31 2011, 03:08 PM

259 posts

thx both howiechoo and zenn for the answer... really appreciate it...

i'll try both of them... but i think from zenn explanation, i prefer focal than focal...

what is the best amp i should get if i want to power up (is this term correct?) my future component focal access (lol) and my sw alpine type-R 1222...?

budget can say around RM 800~1000...? at the moment i use sony xm-gtr4a amp which surely cannot support the system that i will install later...

thx in advance... smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 1 2011, 03:20 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Mar 31 2011, 01:46 PM)
- actually no, component set comes as passive, coz they inclue a passive crossover, if wanna go active just dont use the passive xover la, that all...
for clarity, morel or focal is better...? what is the model...? budget +- rm 800... =)
- cant go wrong with either one, more vocals pick morel, more instruments pick focal, focal also slightly better bass
models are focal access and morel maximo, both around 800
focal giving out more bass? now thats something i never heard.

i thought they're more onto clarity, and going loud with focals can even gg the speakers. maybe you can provide more details on that?
TSerszebeth
post Apr 1 2011, 03:59 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 1 2011, 03:20 PM)

i thought they're more onto clarity, and going loud with focals can even gg the speakers. maybe you can provide more details on that?
yea... me would like to know more... =)

btw bro howiechoo, is there any remote steering for viva to cntrl volume etc...?

like the one install in most standard card now...?
zennn
post Apr 1 2011, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 1 2011, 03:20 PM)

focal have had few mids that were solidly built and gave out good midbass, like the utopia, k2p, 5ws, access, etc... exceptions were the polyglass and polyslim, were made thin with small magnets as a compromise for easier installation
howiechoo
post Apr 1 2011, 05:11 PM

1,919 posts

To be exact, i believe focal are giving good mid bass/ kick bass as some ppl called.

For low bass, it should be neutral unlike most of other speaker which allow you to go lower

kick bass or low bass, personal preference :>
Quazacolt
post Apr 1 2011, 07:35 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 1 2011, 05:11 PM)
To be exact, i believe focal are giving good mid bass/ kick bass as some ppl called.

For low bass, it should be neutral unlike most of other speaker which allow you to go lower

kick bass or low bass, personal preference :>
shouldnt lower freq bass be handled purely by subs? if lower freq bass interfere with mids, that would cause the entire sound quality to be muddy with unwanted bass

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0226sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:46 AM