Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

reevephon
post Mar 31 2011, 03:35 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

Sorry for a noob question here, between nVidia GT550M 1GB version and nVidia GT540M 2GB version, which one has higher speed and performance?
reevephon
post Mar 31 2011, 07:27 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 31 2011, 06:46 PM)
just incase your referring to the GT550M on the Asus N53SN, its not 1gb....its 2GB biggrin.gif
And its better than GT540M nod.gif
Sorry, I was referring to N43SN model which came with GT550M 1GB but not 2GB version, so which mean even though the GT540M has 2GB memory but it's still way weaker than the GT550M 1GB version? Or only little different?

This post has been edited by reevephon: Mar 31 2011, 07:34 PM
reevephon
post Apr 8 2011, 02:57 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

Sorry guys this questions might be out topic from the original topic but I really don't want to open up a new thread for just asking a simple question. Ok, here's my questions, may I know the warranty provided by the manufacturer include dust cleaning service? Btw, my laptop is under Toshiba local warranty.
reevephon
post Apr 8 2011, 03:04 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(ashleighhhh @ Apr 8 2011, 03:00 PM)
hey guys, need a recommendation desperately!! i've been reading so much i kena many types of poison already. cant decide now T.T

1. Brand
Acer, Dell, Asus, Lenovo

2. Budget
RM2.5k MAX

3. Specs
nice stylish design
i5 (preferably) or i3
4GB RAM minimum, preferably more
1GBgraphics card optional (rarely play games) Dont mind settling for Intel HD Graphics
decent speakers
500gb storage minimum
windows home premium 64 bit
chiclet keyboard
USB3.0

4. Size
14"

Narrowed it down to:
Dell Inspiron 14r / Inspiron 14, Acer Aspire 4750G / Acer Aspire TimelineX 4380TG, Lenovo Z460, Asus A53SV. cannot decide la. how la. T.T

thanks in advance!
Personally I would go for 4830TG due to it's value for money or else just go for A43SV instead.
reevephon
post Apr 8 2011, 03:18 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 8 2011, 03:07 PM)
Nope, dust cleaning is not included. But should other components fail and you need to send your lappy back to Toshiba, you could always request them to clean out the dust.
The technicians there charges RM100 to help clean up the dusts sweat.gif
Perhaps you should try vacuum cleaning the vents, or just open the laptop up, should be a lot of videos available on the internet. Or maybe you can ask lee_what2004  sifu laugh.gif

Added on April 8, 2011, 3:09 pm

Budget? Preferred screen size?
Won't be hard choosing the right one, since most of them are very good anyways  laugh.gif
Updated pricelist in the pricelist thread  nod.gif
Usually where the dust will be the most? Vent?
reevephon
post Apr 8 2011, 03:28 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(ashleighhhh @ Apr 8 2011, 03:24 PM)
thanks for the reply! i dont like the blue colour scheme of the 4830TG but i'm still leaning towards it. prefer the dark grey colour of the 4750G...whats the build quality like? need it to last me at least 2 years.... the irreplaceable battery might be a problem too ):
4750G isn't a bad choice, I found the built quality is good enough for it's price tag. Why don't you think about Asus laptop? hassle free to think about the warranty as it comes with 2 years warranty, so no need put on extra money for the warranty purpose.
reevephon
post Apr 10 2011, 01:39 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(bunyani @ Apr 10 2011, 01:35 PM)
can recommend? im searching for:

-long lasting battery
-the lightest the better
-mostly only for internet and movies
-14" screen
-budget=3.5k max
Acer 4830TG, Asus U41 series.

This post has been edited by reevephon: Apr 10 2011, 02:45 PM
reevephon
post Apr 10 2011, 02:44 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 10 2011, 01:39 PM)
Acer 4830TG, Asus U41 series.
Edit.

This post has been edited by reevephon: Apr 10 2011, 02:46 PM
reevephon
post Apr 21 2011, 03:57 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Apr 21 2011, 02:48 PM)
hey [PF] T.J., need your help again, my friend narrowed down to the dell xps and the asus N53Sn, but he want a numpad

the asus have it but he dislike that speaker

so any other 15" under 3.5k have built in numpad? thanks again
What about HP Pavilion DV6 Series? It does come with numpad and has a decent speaker that nicer than the one in Asus. For me I would rather get the Dell XPS and get the external speaker instead as those speaker really can't beat with those external speaker, even a RM100 beat the internal speaker easily.

Added on April 21, 2011, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(mbq88 @ Apr 21 2011, 03:50 PM)
something like this:
http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-a42jy-vx072-...1-04-Sale-P.htm
14"

i think she's suitable for this laptop but this one w/o os
Why do you want the OS? I do like the laptop without the OS so that it can have cheaper price, you can always install the OS by yourself.

Added on April 21, 2011, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(mbq88 @ Apr 21 2011, 03:50 PM)
something like this:
http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-a42jy-vx072-...1-04-Sale-P.htm
14"

i think she's suitable for this laptop but this one w/o os
If I were you I would top up another RM250 so that I could get the Acer 4750G with latest Intel i5 processor plus 3 years warranty for free.

This post has been edited by reevephon: Apr 21 2011, 04:00 PM
reevephon
post Apr 21 2011, 09:23 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(LazyChildren @ Apr 21 2011, 07:50 PM)
so conclusion Dv6-6001tx come with 2 USB3 and 2 Usb 2 isn ?? erm..
compare with N53SN, price same, spec higher, speaker better? lighter?
only issue the warranty.. extend to 3 years add another 350.. end up the final price will be 3500.. ><
dilemma.. ><
Yeah it's with 2 USB 3.0 and 2 USB 2.0. Speaker way better than the Asus N Series, and it's lighter and slimmer. Extend to 3 years local warranty only cost your RM120 not RM350.

Added on April 21, 2011, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(munnie @ Apr 21 2011, 08:45 PM)
what do u all think for my budget around 3.5k .
I just want it to be light , easy carry , video , music , assignment and some light gaming like dota .
If size really not a concern for you, I would suggest you either get Dell XPS 15 or HP DV6, if it does then Asus N43SL/Acer 4830TG would suit your needs.

This post has been edited by reevephon: Apr 21 2011, 09:27 PM
reevephon
post Apr 21 2011, 10:34 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 21 2011, 10:10 PM)
It is aluminium casing or plastic casing?
Metal casing.
reevephon
post Apr 22 2011, 08:41 AM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

No 9 gets my vote.
reevephon
post Apr 22 2011, 09:19 AM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Apr 22 2011, 08:47 AM)
hey sifus here..

just wan to ask around.. i would like to get a lappie which can is ard max 3k. preferable with good graphic card and 2nd Gen intel processors.

can give me some idea? thx
The highest GPU you can get with max 3k is GT540M which can be found with N43SL/N53SV/etc. Or you may top up another RM200 to get a decent GPU with i7 processor in DV6 which come with HD6770M and second generation i7 processor.
reevephon
post Apr 22 2011, 04:34 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Apr 22 2011, 04:29 PM)
Hey, would like to buy macbook, should i ? or should i wait until the release of new macbook but i dunno when the new macbook launch, is that worth to wait?
I thought the new MacBook with 2nd generation of processor just launch months ago, I don't think they would launch any new MacBook model, unless something new has came out.
reevephon
post Apr 22 2011, 04:36 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 22 2011, 04:11 PM)
Hp DV6 is quite hot  sad.gif
Use cooler. rclxms.gif
reevephon
post Apr 25 2011, 08:36 AM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 25 2011, 03:42 AM)
1. Brand : anything would good build quality
2. Budget : 2.5k max
3. Specs : at least on par with a i5-2410 or AMD equivalent, with discrete graphics, 540M or AMD equivalent + switchable graphics
4. Size : 13 or 14 inch
Acer 4830TG, Dell Inspiron 14R or HP Pavilion G4.

0.0421sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:07 PM