Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 02:42 AM

43 posts

I need recommendations on laptop..(or is it better to get a desktop?)
brand: -
budget: -

im a designer, i owned a compaq laptop n its now 3 years old.. i plan to save up to get a better 1 ...

Usage: autocad 2009/2011, 3dmax 2009/2011, photoshop / illustrator, social networking, internet browsing, microsoft office, video, music..good graphic is a must must... basically.. hmm.gif

the main concern is about the 3dmax rendering.. picking up hours.. n sometimes unable to render despite the memory/etc... therefore i need some suggestion on laptops...

how's alienware(what's so good about it? is the spec is better than other brands?)? how much is it cost ? or any other brands..? can someone please give me the specification/etc... im a tech newb.. sad.gif pardon me.. thanks in advance.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by Yennie22: Mar 27 2011, 02:59 AM
Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 10:07 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 27 2011, 06:34 AM)
If you can choose desktop, it would always be the better choice...
Alienware for now, only the new Alienware M17x R3 has the new specs, the rest still using the old gen.
Cheaper solution, can consider the Asus N53Sn, i7 2630QM + nVidia GT550M@RM3499, it got 4 slot ram.
Unless you want to get better CPU than the N53Sn offer, you would need to go other brand like Alienware, Sager, etc..
how much it cost for Alienware M17x R3?
Asus N53Sn, i7 2630QM + nVidia GT550M@RM3499 looks good! (is it possible if i add 6g-8g ram?)
it enable me to make a high quality rendering ? will it lag/stop my rendering ?

This post has been edited by Yennie22: Mar 27 2011, 10:14 AM
Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 10:19 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 27 2011, 10:11 AM)
Starting RM 7499...
Pretty much any recent notebook can support up to 8GB (2x4GB)...

No, it just mean it could have higher temp...
okay, noted~ better start saving...

hmmm, if i leave my lappie to render... will it get heat up... for both models ? blink.gif ( i heard from friends that, they advice me not to do 3dmax render using a laptop as it could burn up the motherboard inside.. )
Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 10:25 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 27 2011, 10:22 AM)
Definitely will get heat up, just make sure the temp in normal range then it should be fine..
ah okay~!! noted! Thankss so muchh!!! blush.gif
Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 10:41 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 27 2011, 10:32 AM)
hi ho, juz to let u know im in the built environment too, GIS user. I hav frends who use 2 years back alienware mx17 to render (3dmax, autocad 2007, archicad) loads of stuff and it didnt break a sweat! oh playing crysis is also a can!
itz a good choise to upgrage to the max processor 2870QM something and 8 gb ram, the other are optional.. built overall will reach 9k ringgit..
if u do intense color shadders then u can upgrade the screen or plug it to an external<cheaper> (upgraded screen is 1k ringgit)

what do u mean by intense color shadders?

QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 27 2011, 10:32 AM)
unless u wan save money like me.. i guess the n53 sn is juz as great, juz throw 2 more 2gb ram in the dimm and u get ample power,
heat will be bearable my aust pple using it are a-okie withe it, add a cooler and itz fine
note- the n53sn is juz hard to find... no one wants to reply me where 2 get it in malaysia.. as im currently in sydney..
2 more 2gb ram = 8g ram?
aiks... thats hard..
Yennie22
post Mar 27 2011, 10:57 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 27 2011, 10:48 AM)
like if u like to colour ur drawings in th pshop in full HD n nice rgb levels then the screen will be a nice upgrade
( the alienware mx17 i mention was a 2009 model and didnt heatup to hotttt levels- soo the new processors will be much cooler comparatively)

the N53sn has 4 dimm slots for ram-remove the under rubber feets to expose the screws. open the lid, sud c 2 ram modules n 2 free ram modules. buy 2 ddr3 1333 mhz 2gb ram modules and add into it.. or juz buy the lappie n ask shopkeeper add 4 u..
oo, okay~ thanks you very muchie~ biggrin.gif

0.0414sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:04 PM