Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

Silenced
post Mar 24 2011, 11:28 AM

439 posts

1. Brand. - Any suggestion?good reliability is a must smile.gif
2. Budget. - More or less RM2000
3. Specs. - Must be able to run most basic software smoothly
4. Size. 14' or above

Basically i will be using this laptop for my study in polytechnic,so what is the best choice for me? thx

This post has been edited by Silenced: Mar 24 2011, 11:33 AM
Silenced
post Mar 24 2011, 02:32 PM

439 posts

thx lee_what2004 for your suggestion,

so Dell Vostro 3450 and Acer Aspire 4750G,which one is a better buy?which one has better reliability?
Silenced
post Mar 25 2011, 08:53 PM

439 posts

Hello guys,i just receive some catalog of notebook from my polytechnic.And i don't really know which one fit me best/good for its value,also which brand below has better reliability?Below are some spec.

Fujitsu LIFEBOOK LH531
Intel i7-2620M turboboost 2.0 to 3.4Ghz,4MB L3 cache
4GB RAM
640gb HDD
14" backlight-LED
NVIDEA Geforce 410M with 1gb dedicated VRAM
$1388 SGD

Lenovo IdeaPad Y460P
2nd Gen i7-2630QM,2.9Ghz with turboboost,6MB cache
750GB HDD
4GB RAM
ATI HD 6550 DDR3 1GB
14" LED Display
1282$ SGD

HP ProBook 4421s
i7-640M,2.8Ghz,4MB cache
4GB RAM
640GB HDD
ATI RADEON HD 6370 1GB
14" HD LED Backlit
$1284 SGD

Silenced
post Mar 25 2011, 09:09 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(empire177 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:03 PM)
SP? i recommend ideapad smile.gif
NYP smile.gif
So the Lenovo is a good bang for buck with this price?
Silenced
post Mar 25 2011, 09:34 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(empire177 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:15 PM)
Yup!
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 25 2011, 09:31 PM)
FYI the y460p got no switchable graphics even though the processor has an onboard GPU. So if you dun care bout battery life i say get it
thanks for the feedback,so in terms of graphic performance,which one out of three is the best?
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 09:07 PM

439 posts

Is Lenovo V470 RM2699 a good buy?

i7 2730QM 2.9Ghz
4Gb ram
750GB HDD
Intel HD Graphic 3000
14.1" WXGA LED

i am afraid the graphic performance might dissapoint me but i am not a hardcore gamer hmm.gif
Also how is the reliability of this laptop?
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 09:55 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 1 2011, 09:29 PM)
What games do you play?

It's enough to handle casual games like FIFA and stuffs..

Haven't heard much ppl getting this laptop but it's a business line, so build quality should be good..
actually not playing any computer game now,not sure about future brows.gif
so i suppose this laptop should be able to run some basic software smoothly..is this laptop a bang for buck?or any other better choice? hmm.gif

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 1 2011, 09:45 PM)
it would be perfect if it came with 540m or higher. I mean, why is there no i7 sb for 14" till now?
the catalog state its 2nd gen i7,does that mean sb? icon_question.gif
sorry about my noob question doh.gif
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 09:58 PM

439 posts

but the 1 year warranty of the lenovo made me think twice ... hmm.gif
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 10:05 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 1 2011, 10:00 PM)
increase the warranty? or get asus a43sv/n43sl instead?  thumbup.gif
will take a look at them tomorrow when i go to the pcfair smile.gif

how to increase the warranty? hmm.gif
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 10:21 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 1 2011, 10:11 PM)
A53Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (1GB)@RM2599
A53Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2799
N53Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2799 [Bang & Olufsen]
N53Sn, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM3499 [Bang & Olufsen]
A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599

Added on April 1, 2011, 10:17 pm
i think ask the retailer? usually can increase to a maximum of 3 years.
ok,thanks a lot for your advice!

0.0403sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:33 PM