22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 03:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Mar 24 2011, 03:55 PM)
hey guys, any laptop within the price of RM1400 is recommended for normal office usage?  asking for a friend, and i'm not familiar with the territory.
Preferred screen size? hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 04:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Mar 24 2011, 04:00 PM)
13 - 15" also can
14"

13"

15.6"

All these will be more than enough to handle regular office usage... Though the one underlined has the latest specs... but its FreeDOS

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 24 2011, 04:11 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 05:37 PM

24,193 posts

Update:
These are new Vostro units, 13 inch with SB:
Dell (Specs customizable)
Vostro 3350, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM2209
Vostro 3350, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM2469

Not sure whether they can hit the 5 hours mark or not though since they come with 4-cell battery only

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 24 2011, 05:38 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 06:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 24 2011, 06:08 PM)
GPU for me...

u can always add a USB3.0 ExpressCard if u really need it in the future... but u can't change the GPU after u fork out ur money...
+1, usually we game more than we transfer stuffs laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 09:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Mar 24 2011, 08:49 PM)
Got Asus 14" N-series i5 sandy bridge in market now?

...and the upcoming Toshiba Satellite E305 and L700

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 24 2011, 10:02 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 10:02 PM

24,193 posts

Huh? O___O
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2011, 11:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pixser @ Mar 24 2011, 11:24 PM)
sorry, typo...i5 2410M... oops.gif
The article mentioned that the difference in the SB CPU will only have very little effect on gaming performance... and there's no need to fork out additional money to get the SB i7 unless you really need it for something other than gaming nod.gif
I guess they recommended i5-2410M because its in between i3 and i7? More balanced in terms of price and performance
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2011, 01:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Mar 25 2011, 01:18 PM)
acer 5750 and asus sn . the graf card got so much diff? other than that is the same right?
Yes, there's a huge gap of difference between the GT540 and GT550M nod.gif
For reference purposes, you can try here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2011, 02:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pixser @ Mar 25 2011, 02:22 PM)
price also got a huge gap of difference tongue.gif
Rm600..is it really worth it?
For better design, cooling, speakers and 2 years international warranty? I'll say its worth it~ laugh.gif

Added on March 25, 2011, 2:44 pm
QUOTE(DjK @ Mar 25 2011, 01:48 PM)
hi all,

I'm gonna get a budget of RM2.5k++ to get a laptop. my concern right now is the weight and specs of the laptop. currently i know that acer's been good(price and after-sales services) but asus and dell had been good too(reliability). the purpose of this laptop is for my sister and she's going into tertiary educations soon. So basically for now would want a minimum weight and speedy laptop with reliable after-sales services. she occasionally plays games(maplestory or might even go for better games as she's always wanted to play them but our home desktop was limited).

I'm looking for a 14inch laptop with (hopefully) a i5 SB or if possible i7 SB units. I know that asus has a 15inch N53SN at RM2.6k++..but weight wise is not a good 1. also to my knowledge, i haven't came across any 14ich laptop with SB procs so please enlighten me with a few models so i can inspect them for myself. also, it would be great if you guys know any shop in lowyat plaza or seller in LYN market place that are reliable. so far my friend got an acer laptop from hikari and was pleased with the transaction and the laptop had no problems.

Please and thx!!!!!^_^
Not much 14 inch SB-powered laptops at the moment...
The available ones are:

For hassle-free (less troublesome, less waiting) maintenance/repairs, just get a Dell and extend to 3 years warranty thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 25 2011, 02:44 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2011, 03:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 25 2011, 02:58 PM)
DV6 IS OUT!! laugh.gif
Specs? Price? notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2011, 03:16 PM

24,193 posts

Wonder if its this one:
HP
DV6-6001TX, i7-2630QM + AMD HD6770@RM3999 [Beats]
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2011, 04:34 PM

24,193 posts

Don't worry you definitely won't butthurt laugh.gif
GTX460M is out of AMD HD6770's grasp~
Grats on your purchase, a very powerful lappy you have there
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 03:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(redx @ Mar 26 2011, 02:28 PM)
Thanks to aall helping me choose the lappies.
In da end bought
Sony vaio sb series with extending warranty
N sony vaio y series with extennding warranty oso
Sorry troubling others.
LOL, in the end exceeded budget laugh.gif
Anyway, this S model? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1806777
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 04:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Mar 26 2011, 03:25 PM)
Are there any cooling pads for 17" laptops? lol
Cooler Master U3?

Added on March 26, 2011, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(mdlan @ Mar 26 2011, 03:40 PM)
hey guy i need recommendation here about buying new laptop with tight budget...

1. Brand - Any
2. Budget - below RM2000
3. Specs - looking for a laptop that can play game without laggy, no need high setting, can play online games, Steam Games like Team Fortress...

4. Size - any

main purpose is for game only...working thing is number 2
Try to get this one:
Acer
TimelineX 3820TG, i3-380M + AMD HD6550[1.8kg]@RM2199

The slightly higher price is worth the big jump in GPU power (compared to its rivals) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 26 2011, 04:35 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 05:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Nur Amina @ Mar 26 2011, 05:27 PM)
Hi everbody,

Lenovo Y560P, i7 2630QM + ATi HD6570@RM2999..

i want to ask about tiz lappy, is good for gaming? any lappy can beat tiz spec around RM3k, also where can i find tiz dealer to buy thank,  doh.gif
The Y560P doesn't support GPU switching, so its best to avoid that model...
Other alternatives:

Acer
Aspire 5750G, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT540M@RM2899

Asus (2 years free international warranty)
A53Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2799
N53Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2799 [Bang & Olufsen]
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 05:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Nur Amina @ Mar 26 2011, 05:47 PM)
Thank T.J 4 that answer  smile.gif , another question i really confius because my frenz say intel i7 not compatible than i5 for gaming, it say it not support older game it true?  doh.gif
That was only applicable to the previous i7s nod.gif
No problems with the 2nd generation ones, so no worries there laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 05:54 PM

24,193 posts

Budget? Preferred screen size?
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 06:03 PM

24,193 posts

Just checked... the 3830TG has NO optical drive
Seems like wrong info given from websites...

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 26 2011, 06:07 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 06:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Nur Amina @ Mar 26 2011, 06:03 PM)
T.J can u suggest which great, i like Aspire 5750G but when i read asus N53Sv it say bang n olufsen make incredible 2 me hw ur opinion my frenz?  nod.gif
Well, Acer's 5750G has a better processor... but if you're only into gaming it doesn't really bring much improvement to gaming performance..
Asus N53Sv, as you said, offers B&O speakers and 2 years international warranty... but it only runs on SB i5...
Its really up to you, if you don't need the extra processing performance (for work, not game).. then might as well save the money? Don't even need to extend warranty with an Asus haha laugh.gif
If you have more money to spare, go for Acer 5750G, extend the warranty and if you want better speakers, get external ones brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2011, 06:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Nothing Better To Do @ Mar 26 2011, 06:03 PM)
budget - below 2.5k if possible max 3k
screen size - 15"

15.6"

***Iinm, Lenovo Y560P, A53Sv and N53Sv doesn't have USB 3.0. But are still worth checking out, especially the N53Sv nod.gif
If strictly need USB3.0, then Acer 5750G would be a good choice

22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:12 AM