22 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 23 2011, 12:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xtreem0405 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:05 AM)
hi , need recommendations for lappies that cost around 1500-1800..if possible , can i have both the spec and warranty details listed out here ? thx
Usage? Preferred laptop size?
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 23 2011, 01:19 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xtreem0405 @ Apr 23 2011, 01:10 AM)
mainly for surf +movie...some photoshop+illustrator.........13.3/14 , weighted around 2.0-2.2kg, free dos preferred ..thx
There:

Try to top up abit if possible and get and i5-2410M, the additional CPU performance will be worth the money nod.gif
You should be able to bargain abit off the price listed, so its possible to get the ones underlined

Not sure about the weight.. but shouldn't exceed 2.4kg nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 23 2011, 01:20 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 23 2011, 01:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mbq88 @ Apr 23 2011, 01:48 PM)
bos, which one better?
RM1999
http://www.pbbemall.com/mall/mch_product.j...l_living_lenovo
• Intel Core i5 Processor i5-480M (2.66GHz up to 2.93GHz/ 1066MHz/ 3MB L3 Cache)
• Microsoft Windows 7HP
• 2GB DDR3 SDRAM
• 500GB Hard Disk Drive
• DVD Super Multiburner
• 14" WXGA Display
• Nvidia GeForce 310M DDR3 1024MBGraphics
• 6-cell Li-ion Battery
• Integrated Camera, Speaker, Bluetooth, Wireless, 5-in-1 Card Reader
• One Key Rescue System, Veriface, Dolby Advance Audio
• 1 Year Carry-in (Regional) Warranty
• Weight: 2.2Kg

or

Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999

how to compare hd3000 with 310m?
If strictly these 2 models, the 4750 will definitely be better (by alot) laugh.gif
There are other options for the RM1999 price o, might want to consider them as well nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 23 2011, 01:52 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 23 2011, 01:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mbq88 @ Apr 23 2011, 01:53 PM)
yeah, whats ur opinion for less rm2000 laptop?
Already put in my reply above rclxms.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 02:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 25 2011, 02:44 PM)
I saw the 4830TG and played with it during PC Fair and damn that thing is good
Also the 14R doesn't have switchable graphics no?
The new Inspiron 14R should have switchable graphics nod.gif
The AMD HD6630 has overclocking potential nod.gif
Other than that, the only good thing about the Inspiron 14R would be the warranty... its too glossy compared to the Acer 4830Tg sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 03:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 25 2011, 03:31 PM)
I agree in terms of the warranty :|
4830TG feels and looks great, certainly exceeded my expectations
And earlier mentioned HP Pavilion G4... I can't find it
HP Pavilion G4, i5-2410M + AMD HD6470@RM2349, is not comparable with the Acer 4830Tg, A43Sv and Inspiron 14R laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 04:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 25 2011, 04:00 PM)
I overlooked at what ASUS offers :|
What the spec and price for N43SL and A43SV?
Also, VRAM for HP G4's AMD HD6470?
I don't want Dell LOL
Asus
A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2399, [6-cell 4400mAH]
A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(2GB)@RM2599, [6-cell 5200mAH]
A43Sv, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT540M@RM2899
N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[Bang & Olufsen]

Do take note that A43Sv doesn't have Nvidia Optimus sad.gif
VRAM doesn't tell much about the performance
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 04:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 25 2011, 04:09 PM)
nVidia Optimus bring the convenience, but sometime inconvenience too. wink.gif like the N53SV, the Optimus cannot detect old games like warcraft III, so it still using HD3000 sweat.gif but they will fix this problem.. tongue.gif
Intel HD3000 can probably handle Warcraft 3? laugh.gif
Yeah, there are pros and cons of having Nvidia Optimus, but the pros outweighs the cons... so its still worth it nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 04:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 25 2011, 04:33 PM)
Hmmm..guys, can you open Facebook? icon_question.gif I can't load facebook and my internet connection is ok(if not i also can't post here laugh.gif ) what is the problem? cry.gif
No problems here...
Try restarting your browser/ Computer?
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 05:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mikaperfumes @ Apr 25 2011, 04:51 PM)
Hi guys,

I need some help regarding purchasing a subnetbook. Currently I am thinking about two options:

a. ASUS UL30A-QX380V/SU7300 2GB 320GB 13.3" W7HP/8cell batt

b. ASUS U31F-RX130V/Intel Core i3 380M 2.53GHz 13.3"/HD/380M/4GB 
   /500GB/BT/W7HP64/8cell batt/

Do (b) have significantly higher performance compared to (a)? I just one to use it for Microsoft Office, SPSS, casual web browsing and maybe sometimes using Photoshop.

Please give some opinions. Thanks!
These are all very old laptops? shocking.gif
Never seen the U31f in Malaysia summore lol laugh.gif
If strictly this 2 models, then yes, (b) is better than (a); SU7300 is ULV processor, its weaker but offers much greater battery life...
if not strictly this 2 models, then there's ALOT that are better than these 2 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 25 2011, 05:02 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 05:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mikaperfumes @ Apr 25 2011, 05:12 PM)
Thanks PF T.J. Yeah a bit old. But that's what I have within my budget since I need something lightweight. By the way currently I am residing in Finland and they have some new choices but the price is too much for me. smile.gif

Added on April 25, 2011, 5:15 pm

Thanks JYong. I am considering a right now because (b) will need another $450 top-up. smile.gif
The specs are way too old...
Err... how much is your budget? hmm.gif
Perhaps we can recommend something for you smile.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 06:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mikaperfumes @ Apr 25 2011, 06:13 PM)
Thanks. I am considering to spend less than RM1600. First DM1 with E350 came in my mind but the screen too small.
No worries there, there's always E350 with a 14" "husk" around (there are also 15" version around as well) laugh.gif
Acer Aspire 4253, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1549
Asus K43U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1199, FreeDOS
Lenovo G475, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1349, FreeDOS
Toshiba Satellite C640D-1034U, E350 + AMD HD 6310@RM1399, FreeDOS

If these are not good enough, you can always consider those running on Intel P6100/6200, those are cheap yet powerful rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 25 2011, 06:15 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 06:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mikaperfumes @ Apr 25 2011, 06:24 PM)
Thanks sifu. I will consider your recommendations.  biggrin.gif
Do take note that some are FreeDOS (no Windows)...
But you can always pay the shop people to help you install one (genuine) and still within budget nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 08:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Apr 25 2011, 08:30 PM)
Hi all Sifus!

Looking for a lappy for my work, fun and entertainment biggrin.gif

1. Brand: As long as it's reputable; solid build quality
2. Budget: 2.5K (Maybe can stretch to 3.5K)
3. Specs: I play games like COD MW2, multitask a alot too. (i5 or i7?)
4. Size: 13" ~ 14" Weight does matter, as i travel alot and walk alot with my lappy (Any light 15"? Don't mind if there is tongue.gif)

Thanks in advance!
HP Dv4 would be the best option at the moment if you prioritize gaming~
HP Pavilion Dv4, i5-2410M + AMD HD6750@RM2899
HP Pavilion Dv4, i7-2620M + AMD HD6750@RM3599
You can even find some people selling the one with i7 for RM2899 in Garage Sales: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1850120&hl=
Well, the thing with 15" laptops is not the weight, rather the size.... its rather bulky and not very convenient to carry around...

Apart from the Dv4, there's the Acer 4830Tg, Asus A43Sv, Asus N43SL, Asus U41Sv...

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 25 2011, 08:34 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 08:39 PM

24,193 posts

^
Based on the available 1 review, the temperature seems okay for the HP...
Perhaps it'll be better to decide when more reviews are out... So far the cons of the HP is the looks & touchpad laugh.gif
Or you could just stick to the other laptops I've mentioned, they're not as powerful as the HP, but they're cheaper, and some looks really great nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 25 2011, 08:40 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 08:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Apr 25 2011, 08:42 PM)
^
Thanks man! Agree on the HP's look and touchpad, the old ones look more solid and the older touchpad seems to be better than the new ones, especially the placements!

Anyway, I see that i7 can fetch over 3.6K!
If I were to fix my budget below 3K, what kind of deal should I expect?
Do take note that the i7-2620M here is dual-core instead of quad core nod.gif
So its basically not as powerful as the quads..
Well, someone is selling at RM2899, its quite a sweet deal I would say haha~
If fixed below RM3k, you should take the HP Dv4 as the "benchmark" since it has the most powerful GPU among the other 14" laugh.gif
The others:
Acer TimelineX 4830TG, i5-2410M + GT540M@RM2499
Asus A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2399, [6-cell 4400mAH]
Asus A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(2GB)@RM2599, [6-cell 5200mAH]
Asus A43Sv, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT540M@RM2899
Asus N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[Bang & Olufsen]
Asus U41Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2899
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2349, 2 years in-Home warranty:Expires 28th April
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 08:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Apr 25 2011, 08:52 PM)
You meant: AMD HD6750 better than Nvidia GT540M better than Nvidia AMD HD6630
How about the processors?
i7 2620QM -> i7 2630 -> i5 2410?

Please advise smile.gif

Yeap nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 11:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zhenkang87 @ Apr 25 2011, 11:42 PM)
hey guys, need help to choose a budget gaming laptop, around rm2000+-, mostly i will use it to play starcraft 2. no specific brand require, but i hope is not too heavy and battery last long, im gonna bring it to oversea study use biggrin.gif
Asus A43Sj, i3-2310M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999
Battery life is not so good.... But the 2 years international warranty will come in handy

Or perhaps you can consider the Acer 3820Tg/Toshiba Satellite L645 if you don't mind the slightly older technology and no international warranty hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 25 2011, 11:46 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 25 2011, 11:58 PM

24,193 posts

I think Asus would be a better pick because of the International warranty? hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 26 2011, 09:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Apr 26 2011, 05:35 PM)
Now have to choose between 4820 and 3820.. hmm.gif
4820 come with 2gb ram?
The TimelineX 4820Tg is old-tech... are you sure you want to pay more for less? hmm.gif
If you don't mind getting a 15", perhaps you can consider the Acer 5750g [i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (2gb)]?

22 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:45 PM