Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Credit Cards, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

Human Nature
post Mar 28 2011, 06:42 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 28 2011, 06:27 PM)
Wondering why Petronas boycott Amex leh? Any issue, anyone know?
The respond i received is Petronas officially accepts Amex but not at the pump. Can you provide some specific location of petronas stations that do not accept Amex? Thanks
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41080817
ak1977
post Mar 28 2011, 06:59 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 28 2011, 06:42 PM)
The respond i received is Petronas officially accepts Amex but not at the pump. Can you provide some specific location of petronas stations that do not accept Amex? Thanks
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41080817
Why not at the pump ah, i dont used AMEX card anymore cancel already. Just merely wanna know what happen?
Human Nature
post Mar 28 2011, 07:17 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

The thing is, majority do not accept even at the counter too. No idea what happen..
MilesAndMore
post Mar 28 2011, 09:14 PM

9,301 posts

Just switch to SHELL, ESSO/Mobil etc. Problem solved smile.gif
winghong
post Mar 28 2011, 10:01 PM

60 posts

What is the credit limit for platinum??
ak1977
post Mar 29 2011, 10:47 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 28 2011, 07:17 PM)
The thing is, majority do not accept even at the counter too. No idea what happen..
I think there is an issue between AMEX n Petronas not that the pump can support it. What I assume is the merchant fee or chargeback (dispute/fraud cases), may be only not sure.

chemistry
post Mar 29 2011, 10:55 AM

3,065 posts

If MBB really want to boost the revenue of Amex (we can see the intention from the launching of Maybankard 2), hopefully MBB can utilize its influence to help Amex offer even better merchant program than Visa/MC. I don't really understand how this merchant program works, but this is just my wish.

Should Amex continue to sacrifice revenue due to high merchant fee? I think this will require discussion in Amex (USA)? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 29 2011, 11:03 AM
ak1977
post Mar 29 2011, 11:13 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 29 2011, 10:55 AM)
If MBB really want to boost the revenue of Amex (we can see the intention from the launching of Maybankard 2), hopefully MBB can utilize its influence to help Amex offer even better merchant program than Visa/MC. I don't really understand how this merchant program works, but this is just my wish.

Should Amex continue to sacrifice revenue due to high merchant fee? I think this will require discussion in Amex (USA)? hmm.gif
How i wish also, but i can tell you it a Branding Image issue, if they lower the fee they cant hold their prestiges image, beside AMEX card is known as up market card. so it a chicken and egg thingy, where you want $$$ = lower the fee. Keep the Brand image = lower $$$ but give better customer experience.

Dont forget AMEX have platinum & centurion charge card customer also. you know what i mean.
janson_kaniaz
post Mar 29 2011, 11:18 AM

6,955 posts

dont u guys think they should actually implement the rebate system such tat we r allowed to get rm600 of rebate a yr rather than capping it at rm50 a month.
by allowing rm600 a yr of rebate, tat would encourage ppl to spend more rather than limiting to just getting rm50 a mth.
chemistry
post Mar 29 2011, 11:25 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 29 2011, 11:18 AM)
dont u guys think they should actually implement the rebate system such tat we r allowed to get rm600 of rebate a yr rather than capping it at rm50 a month.
by allowing rm600 a yr of rebate, tat would encourage ppl to spend more rather than limiting to just getting rm50 a mth.
I think this is no good to the bank's cash flow.
Imagine 100,000 M2Amex cardmembers spend RM12,000 in first month, MBB will need to pay out RM60,000,000 in one shot sweat.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Mar 29 2011, 11:38 AM

6,955 posts

well allowing rm600 rebate a yr doesnt mean they have to pay everything one shot.
wat i mean is we r not tied to spending due to the rebate policy but they can always pay the rebate rm50 monthly.
chemistry
post Mar 29 2011, 11:57 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 29 2011, 11:38 AM)
well allowing rm600 rebate a yr doesnt mean they have to pay everything one shot.
wat i mean is we r not tied to spending due to the rebate policy but they can always pay the rebate rm50 monthly.
this is a good idea.
but it sounds like cardmembers will need to remember how much rebate has been accumulated and credited. sweat.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Mar 29 2011, 12:30 PM

6,955 posts

i dun mind tat compared to having to plan every month on wat to buy and wat not.
one can also easily get few months worth of rebate in a single purchase like buying a laptop, an iphone or any electronic stuff for tat matter.
ronnie
post Mar 29 2011, 01:06 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Bank gives out CC rebates to entice you to spend more and hopefully, fall into debt....

Only smart shoppers will think on how much spending to reach the cap.
I keep an Excel to track each card's usage in order not to overspend or or exceed the monthly rebate cap.
This makes us more discipline in using CC.
janson_kaniaz
post Mar 29 2011, 01:19 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 29 2011, 01:06 PM)
Bank gives out CC rebates to entice you to spend more and hopefully,  fall into debt....

Only smart shoppers will think on how much spending to reach the cap.
I keep an Excel to track each card's usage in order not to overspend or or exceed the monthly rebate cap.
This makes us more discipline in using CC.
bcoz of tat reason, bank should give out yearly rebate at one go, rather than capping it at rm50 a month rite... wink.gif
ronnie
post Mar 29 2011, 02:02 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

RM600 was what SCB JustOne Titanium gave out... see how it turns out. STOP APPLICATION !!!
gerrardling
post Mar 29 2011, 02:19 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

how about OCBC ? how can they survive so long until now ?
ronnie
post Mar 29 2011, 02:32 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 29 2011, 02:19 PM)
how about OCBC ? how can they survive so long until now ?
They pay RM50 a month only.
100,000 Customers x RM50 = RM5 million only per month....
gerrardling
post Mar 29 2011, 03:51 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

but did OCBC Titanium collect that much money from their merchant fee ? i know OCBC didnt send printed statement in order to cut cost and no brochure to redeem anything coz Titanium dont offer bonus point
ak1977
post Mar 29 2011, 03:52 PM

77 posts

100,000 customer x RM 1000 spending = RM 100,000,000 x 3% merchant fee + Daily Interest + Late Payment - RM 5mil Cash rebate, so what u think?

126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0667sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:10 AM