18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy 5 v4(GT-i5503), A Galaxy series budget model!

alexysc
post May 1 2011, 09:35 PM

60 posts

MadTeam's 2.2.1 is super fast and smooth though some google apps can't be used like Places, Google Maps. I get 1.28 GB as internal memory.

MadTeam's 2.2 is not as fast and smooth as 2.2.1 , but google apps works, and internal memory is ++800MB.

Both roms compass , wifi, etc are all working fine with no need to flash compass fix.

Battery usage : 10 hrs/day with wifi on, social networkings + chats on/ ; about 1hr web surfing/day ; talk time about 10-15 mins/day -

Mota's 2.0.9 Final last longer at 3-4 days.

MadTeams's 2.2 last about 3 days.

2.2.1 > Will update as only just today install.
alexysc
post May 1 2011, 10:15 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ May 1 2011, 09:52 PM)
alexsync.. now seeing you addicted to mad team work. great  flex.gif . but now i dont like DashBlacK rom.. its lagging. i have class4 sdcard. i test speed write 7.1mbps. read 17.5mbps. but still lag. dont know why. DashBlacK approach to rom is experimental  hmm.gif . not all will statisfied.
best work ever its motafoca 2.0.9 final. all works fine and great!  thumbup.gif  fast and everything is perfect.. never encounter any bug yet.
Haha... I have 2 units G5 - one I bought in Dec which I have flashed to the official rom. Another is Europe Version which is known as Galaxy Europa (GT-I5500) given to me as a gift by a UK friend in March - this I played around with flashing the roms available.

I agree with you Mota's 2.0.9 final is stable and fine. But I find that Blackdash's latest 2.2.1 is really super fast and smooth though some google apps cannot be used. I'm still trying it out for a few more days on this version and update you guys my experience on this.

Added on May 1, 2011, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(josenigel @ May 1 2011, 10:07 PM)
ok will probably revert back to that.

i was trying the built in Apps2SD to partition the SD card but it doesn't work. it will say that it will reboot and to format after reboot but it's still the same. it doesn't even load into recovery mode. my files are still in the SD card even after formatting using the Mad Team App2SD.

Added on May 1, 2011, 10:11 pmwhich one should i go for curiouso9?

Motafoca Edition:
Part 1: http://www.multiupload.com/P9XWKL7HS0
Part 2: http://www.multiupload.com/QMQJV7UPR0

Full Edition
Part 1: http://hotfile.com/d...http://hotfile.com/...ULL.tar.7z.html
Part 2: http://hotfile.com/d...http://hotfile.com/...seFiles.7z.html

Lite Edition:
Part 1: http://hotfile.com/d...http://hotfile.com/...ite.tar.7z.html

Dev Edition:
Part 1: http://hotfile.com/d...http://hotfile.com/...dev.tar.7z.html
I don't know why, somehow MadTeam's Apps2SD doesn't work for me when I used it to partition my sdcard. But I use MiniTool Partition Wizard and both App2SD and Link2SD works! So I suggest you use MiniTool to partition.

I prefer the Motafoca Edition.

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 1 2011, 10:21 PM
alexysc
post May 2 2011, 11:52 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(SAWEWA @ May 2 2011, 10:31 AM)
Everyone, askin for expert opinion,..can i partition my sd card by these hopeful steps?
1. i've flashed 2.0.9.final
2. rooted my phone
3. open madteam app2sd
4. insert the sizes
5. reboot
6. done???
can it be done that way? i've not experimented it yet,..

Added on May 2, 2011, 11:14 amBtw, can someone share download link for mad team 2.2.1??
1) madteam app2sd partitioning doesn't works for some, and it doesn't work for me too.
2) i use mini tool partition wizard which you can download here : http://www.partitionwizard.com/download.html
3) blackdash's 2.2.1 download link > http://hotfile.com/dl/116278102/71b2922/I5...2.1_R6.zip.html
4) instructions for flashing > http://forum.g5devteam.com/index.php?/topi...se-mad-rom-221/

Partitioning Steps for 2.0.9 final :
1) if you've previously partitioned your sdcard, you need to delete all your partitions first.
2) create partitions > a) FAT32 ; b) EXT2 or EXT3 - not more than 2GB ; c) Linux Swap - not more than 200MB - ALL PARTITIONS MUST BE PRIMARY.
3) format your sdcard using your computer
4) insert back your sdcard and it's all done.

Partitioning Steps for Blackdash's 2.2.1 :
1) & 2) as above
3) as above except c) Linux Swap which is optional. If you've a slow sdcard, i.e. below class4, it's not necessary to create this partition.

Enjoy! rclxm9.gif
alexysc
post May 2 2011, 02:37 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ May 2 2011, 01:54 PM)
guys, hw 2 install programs directly to SD card without going through phone memory?? App2SD dun think is a good choice..
flash blackdash's 2.2.1 rom.... you'll get 1GB++ as internal memory and auto data2sd which means apps are automatic installed in the sd card. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
alexysc
post May 3 2011, 03:36 PM

60 posts

MadTeam's Roms Comparison :

1) Motafoca's 2.0.9 final

pros : stable ; battery lasts 3-4 days ;

cons : wifi sometimes not stable ; needs proper partitioning for apps2sd to work ; needs to flash compass fix

2) Blackdash's 2.2

pros : stable ; faster and smoother than 2.0.9 final ; wifi very stable ; battery last +3 days ; internal memory ++ 1 GB (depends on your EXT2/3/4 partition size ; apps auto install to sdcard ; compass working fine

cons : sometimes (but seldom) a little lagging

3) Blackdash's 2.2.1

pros : stable ; fastest and smoothiest among these 3 roms ; wifi very stable ; internal memory ++ 1 GB (also depends on your EXT2/3/4 partition size ; apps auto install to sd card ; compass working fine

cons : battery lasts about 1-2 days ; certain google apps not compatible like Maps, Places, Google Search Bar ; sometimes phone will reboot itself

** Battery usage are based on 10 hrs/day continous on with 1) wifi ; 2) online with social networking log-ons ; 3) chats abt 1 hr/day ; 4) talk-time abt 10-15mins/day ; 5) web-surfing abt 1 hr/day ; 6) gaming about 1 hr/day

------------------
Official Froyo Rom :

Pros : It's offical and the users can have peace of mind using it - (haha..just what I feel) but anyway, it's quite stable.

Cons : Compass not working ; Link2SD and/or Apps/SD limited apps only (need rooting) ; battery lasts abt + 1 day with the above usage ;

My Choice : Blackdash's 2.2

The above are based on my very own personal experience and it's up to each individual's own preference. However, if you want the most out of your G5, I would recommend flashing to the same as my choice.

Enjoy!
alexysc
post May 3 2011, 08:53 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(BlueSpark @ May 3 2011, 06:05 PM)
I just updated to official froyo smile.gif
But there's a problem,
I cant auto link my Facebook, Gmail and phone contact. Must do everything manually. Any solution for this?
got to > settings > accounts & sync > check >auto-sync and sync your networkings accounts. this should solve your problem.
alexysc
post May 3 2011, 10:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ May 3 2011, 05:29 PM)
I am using black dash 2.2. everything quite good. But seriously, Once it lag you need to wait quite sometime. sometime need to plug battery cos the screen is black. Kinda pain in the a** sometime. Overall, this rom quite good. but plan to go for black dash 2.2.1 soon. drool.gif
did you do reset after flashing? and also uninstall your apps first from the market before you flash as after flashing, the apps which you've installed earlier from the market will be automatically download and install on your phone too. i suspect this may be the reason for the lagging and black screen.

I've experienced this problem too, but after I did the above, it solved the problem. But it still lags once in awhile..only for a few seconds.
alexysc
post May 4 2011, 04:32 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(hooi_jd @ May 4 2011, 04:22 PM)
did somebody try flashed compass fix "boot-img-test6.tar" to the official 2.2 firmware ?
I've tested it.... the compass is working on the official rom. no need to flash.
alexysc
post May 5 2011, 12:01 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hooi_jd @ May 4 2011, 11:29 PM)
you flashed by using kies or odin?
kies

alexysc
post May 5 2011, 12:34 AM

60 posts

for those who have flashed to Blackdash's 2.2 don't use LauncherPro as it'll result in lags and sometimes unresponsive. Use ADW Launcher and your phone will be as fast and as smooth as 2.2.1 rom.

Uninstall the LauncherPro from you phone.
alexysc
post May 8 2011, 01:45 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(metorrent @ May 7 2011, 11:05 PM)
Hi, I've flash motafoca 2.2.1 rom. Everything running quite good except:

1) The rom doesnt include google apps. I need the Gmail app but unable to install the apk after trying many times.

2) I was unable to root it using Universal androot  and z4root. Since I thought by rooting it will allow me to install Gmail.

Thanks very much for the big help smile.gif
V.2.2.1 - Removed Google Apps to fit in .odex's. So google apps is not supported in this ROM. If you want google apps, flash to Blackdash's 2.2, but I have tested it, it's quite lag.
alexysc
post May 9 2011, 03:41 PM

60 posts

MAD ROM 2.3 Extreme App2SD Edition
http://forum.g5devteam.com/index.php?/topi...app2sd-edition/

Hi guys! I've installed the latest rom (above) :

1) Quadrant Score : 869
2) Internal Memory : 143MB (remains constant and unused/untouched as all apps are AUTOMATICALLY stored and installed in SD card) To test this, I've installed about 80 apps, and the internal memory remains the same !)
3) Rom : Very Stable , if not the most stable of all the roms so far.
4) Performance : Extremely Fast and Smooth, the fastest and smoothest of all the roms.
5) All Google Apps supported (unlike v.2.2.1 which doesn't support )
6) Compass / Wifi / Etc ... - ALL WORKING WELL
7) New Theme : AMAZINGLY NICE AND BEAUTIFUL!
8) Battery usage : To be updated as I've only just installed last nite.

MY CONCLUSION : THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST ROM! RECOMMENDED.

FYI, flashing the roms many times doesn't affect your phone perfomance.

Installations Guide :

1) Follow the above instructions

OR :

2) If you've been using Blackdash's 2.2 or 2.1 or Mota's 2.0.9 final with APPS2SD working fine, you just need to :

a) Use Mini Tool Partition Wizard (update version is now available with EXT4) to ONLY FORMAT THE EXT4 PARTITION. (You DON'T need to touch nor do anything with your FAT32 partition which you store your videos, songs, etc... as this rom only use your EXT4 partition.

b) Flash the rom WITH ONLY YOUR SD CARD INSERTED. (i.e. don't insert your SIM card.

c) After finished flashing, do FACTORY RESET.

d) DONE! ENJOY!

*** DO NOT MANUALLY MOVE YOUR APPS TO SDCARD as this will disable the AUTO Apps2SD and then only certain apps can be move to SD. Don't worry about the apps being shown as installed in your phone.

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 9 2011, 03:46 PM
alexysc
post May 9 2011, 05:46 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ May 9 2011, 04:50 PM)
thumbup.gif  good to hear that from you.. the best tester!.. however the new rom 2.3 r3 released due to framework bug.. i think the changes is he just fix the bug only.

http://hotfile.com/dl/117163171/ac31e37/I5...2SD_R3.zip.html

once again. my favorite question.. smooth means no LAG at all like 2.0.9 final?
Ooops. Sorry I've forgotten to mentioned that I reflashed to the 2.3 r3 rom (with bug fixed)

As to your ques, so far no lag like 2.0.9 final. Perhaps need to test a few more days.

Added on May 9, 2011, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(servant_fox @ May 9 2011, 04:58 PM)
I want it! I want!!!,.. Thnx for ur preview.. So it AUTO install to our SD rite? i think this rom is better than 2.2.1... downloading
Yeah Auto instal. But you need to get your partitions right.

Added on May 9, 2011, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(servant_fox @ May 9 2011, 04:58 PM)
I want it! I want!!!,.. Thnx for ur preview.. So it AUTO install to our SD rite? i think this rom is better than 2.2.1... downloading
Yeah Auto instal. But you need to get your partitions right.

Added on May 9, 2011, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(craze @ May 9 2011, 05:14 PM)
seems like some havin issue on rooting. Would like to know do u face that issue too bro....
No problem.

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 9 2011, 05:48 PM
alexysc
post May 9 2011, 09:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ May 9 2011, 08:12 PM)
alexsync  blush.gif  want to ask something.. can you upload framework from 2.3 R3? tongue.gif  i think DashBlacK keep fixing the rom. so i will not try until its completely bug'less.  nod.gif im sure other will be thanks enough if you upload it.  wub.gif
You can get it from here : http://hotfile.com/dl/117163171/ac31e37/I5...2SD_R3.zip.html
alexysc
post May 9 2011, 09:02 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(servant_fox @ May 9 2011, 08:04 PM)
Rooting is the major problems in 2.3... XD
After you flashed the rom, you use the installed UniversalAntroot to root. Should not be a problem.

Added on May 9, 2011, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(metorrent @ May 9 2011, 09:01 PM)
Yippy! I just flashed to 2.3. Very fast compare to stock eclair and 2.2.1. Havent try to root yet. smile.gif , Will start testing battery life tomorrow.
If you want the Auto Apps2SD, you need to root.

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 9 2011, 09:04 PM
alexysc
post May 10 2011, 01:16 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ May 9 2011, 11:42 PM)
hmm.gif  i just want the framework (theme).. using limited connection here. hehe  brows.gif  can upload the theme only?
Sorry Bro, I dunno how to extract the framework from the rom. Perhaps you can guide me?

Added on May 10, 2011, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(metorrent @ May 10 2011, 06:44 AM)
I see, so at the moment, all the program that I install will be in the phone memory ? So if I root and the Auto Apps2SD working, will the program that I install prior to rooting be transfered to SD?

Yes, the apps will be automatically transfer to your SDcard.

Added on May 10, 2011, 1:25 pm
QUOTE(SAWEWA @ May 10 2011, 12:28 PM)
HI all!!
juz notice the new 2.3 dashblack's
anyone kind enough to give a step by step guide on how to flash it from 2.2.1 dashblack??
if im going to flash this new 2.3, do i have to lose all the data(apps installed,settings made) ???
Thanks in advance great forumers!
1) Use Mini Tool Partition Wizard to FORMAT your ext4 partition. Leave the the other FAT32 partition which you have your videos, songs, pictures, etc. alone (no need to do anything to it unless you want to erase your data).

2) Flash the rom with your SDcard inserted.

3) After finished flashing, do FACTORY RESET.

4) Done. This is a simple process if you're flashing from Dashblack's 2.2 or 2.2.1

Definitely whenever you flashed to a new rom, your settings and apps will also be wiped away. So better backup your data first.

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 10 2011, 01:25 PM
alexysc
post May 10 2011, 07:21 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ May 10 2011, 02:34 PM)
i think you know all the drill n already setup android sdk right?

so here, smile.gif  make a folder name framework on local disk C.

then open command prompt then type

CODE
adb pull system/framework/framework-res.apk C:/framework

then

CODE
adb pull system/framework/twframework-res.apk C:/framework

after that open folder framework on local disk C.  walllaaa!  thumbup.gif

please upload  laugh.gif
Bro, sorry. Though I've set up the android sdk, but I hardly use it...as I'm not sure how to use it..... I've tried to do according to your guide, but can't open it.

Why don't you download the rom and extract it?

From my experience so far, this 2.3 rom is the best and I find it smoother and faster, and stable than any other roms. I would recommend you to flash it.

p.s. I would appreciate if you can do a guide how to use the android sdk.
alexysc
post May 10 2011, 10:37 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ May 9 2011, 03:41 PM)
MAD ROM 2.3 Extreme App2SD Edition
http://forum.g5devteam.com/index.php?/topi...app2sd-edition/

Hi guys! I've installed the latest rom (above) :

1) Quadrant Score : 869
2) Internal Memory : 143MB (remains constant and unused/untouched as all apps are AUTOMATICALLY stored and installed in SD card) To test this, I've installed about 80 apps, and the internal memory remains the same !)
3) Rom : Very Stable , if not the most stable of all the roms so far.
4) Performance : Extremely Fast and Smooth, the fastest and smoothest of all the roms.
5) All Google Apps supported (unlike v.2.2.1 which doesn't support )
6) Compass / Wifi / Etc ... - ALL WORKING WELL
7) New Theme : AMAZINGLY NICE AND BEAUTIFUL!
8) Battery usage : To be updated as I've only just installed last nite.

MY CONCLUSION : THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST ROM! RECOMMENDED.

FYI, flashing the roms many times doesn't affect your phone perfomance.

Installations Guide :

1) Follow the above instructions

OR :

2) If you've been using Blackdash's 2.2 or 2.1 or Mota's 2.0.9 final with APPS2SD working fine, you just need to :

a) Use Mini Tool Partition Wizard (update version is now available with EXT4) to ONLY FORMAT THE EXT4 PARTITION. (You DON'T need to touch nor do anything with your FAT32 partition which you store your videos, songs, etc... as this rom only use your EXT4 partition.

b) Flash the rom WITH ONLY YOUR SD CARD INSERTED. (i.e. don't insert your SIM card.

c) After finished flashing, do FACTORY RESET.

d) DONE! ENJOY!
*** DO NOT MANUALLY MOVE YOUR APPS TO SDCARD as this will disable the AUTO Apps2SD and then only certain apps can be move to SD. Don't worry about the apps being shown as installed in your phone.
BATTERY USAGE UPDATE : Full charged at 7pm yesterday (9/5/11) till now 10.15pm 10/5/11 - about + 27 hours continuous on :

Battery still available : 45

USAGE :
1) Watched video about 1 hour
2) Used Papago : about 40 mins (thru and fro office)
3) Wifi on : continuous about 25 hours
5) Social networkings continous on about 25 hours
6) Chats online : about 1/2 hour
7) Talk time : about 8 - 10 mins

Comment : Wow! This is better than motafoca's 2.0.9 final!

Performance so far : Damn smooth and fast! Like turbo-charged! Very stable with no lagging. Phone is very responsive.

Installed additional 10 apps (total about 100 apps installed so far) - Internal Phone Storage available space : 107MB

My conclusion : Best rom (so far). Strongly recommended.

alexysc
post May 10 2011, 11:21 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(lpy90 @ May 10 2011, 11:11 PM)
could u teach me how to flash from 2.0.9 to 2.3? is there any bugs in 2.3? thx!
Read post #1243

So far, there's no bug.
alexysc
post May 11 2011, 08:30 PM

60 posts

Hi Guys,

I've noticed that many of you doesn't have any idea how to flash. I'm writing this to help, especially for beginners :

1) Go here to following the instructions for flashing : http://www.madteam.co/forum/index.php?/top...galaxy-5-i5500/

a) Download the software under the heading SOFTWARE items No. 1, 2 and 3.

b) If you want Rom V. 2.0.9 then only download Item No. 4 (but I would recommend Rom Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme Apps2SD Edition which you can download and follow the guide here : http://www.madteam.co/forum/index.php?/top...app2sd-edition/

2) You will need Mini Tool Partition Wizard to partition your SD card which you can download here : http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-partition-manager.html

3) To get proper partition follow the steps as follows :

a) Partition your SDcard into three partitions : (for 8GB)

i) FAT32
ii) EXT4 = 1200 MB
iii) Linux Swap = 100 MB

*ALL MUST BE PRIMARY

b) Format your SDcard using your computer.

* DO THIS ITEM NO. 3 FIRST BEFORE FLASHING AS YOU NEED TO INSERT YOUR SD CARD WHEN FLASHING AS MOST OF THE APPS ARE STORED IN YOUR SD CARD.

Hope this helps. Enjoy !

This post has been edited by alexysc: May 11 2011, 08:31 PM

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:32 PM