18 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy 5 v4(GT-i5503), A Galaxy series budget model!

alexysc
post Aug 13 2011, 07:52 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 07:48 PM)
thanks smile.gif download the latest ver4.0.1.4 tar?
Yes download the .tar version. The zip version is for those who already have installed the CWM. (CWM uses .zip files while ODIN use .tar)
Since you have not yet install CWM, use the .tar version to flash with ODIN.
alexysc
post Aug 13 2011, 11:36 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 10:27 PM)
Thanks to alexysc and curiouso9 for your guidance.I've successfully flashed to cyanogen 7.1.
some question here:
do i still need to root the phone? if so,which apps should i use? for some reason i already have superuser permission in my droid.(maybe from restoring my backed up files?)
the mad team app2sd is already built in the ROM?
any good apps to recommend? (kinda outdated as i didn't pay much attention on my droid for the past few months)
does this version support multitouch already?

thanks again smile.gif
1. You don't have to root the phone. In CyanogenMod 7.1, it's already rooted.

2. Everytime you want to use the Terminal Emulator, you need to type in " su " (without the quotes) for superuser permission again.

3. Yes, but it's now known as mad2sd. You have to enable it either through and ADB shell in your pc, or through the Terminal Emulator.

Mad2SD command list:

To check mad2sd status:
mad2sd

To activate mad2sd*:
mad2sd on

To deactivate mad2sd*:
mad2sd off

To activate swap:
mad2sd swapon

To deactivate swap:
mad2sd swapoff

* These commands will ask you to reboot in order to finish the process.

4. Some of the apps which I used are :

a. Camera Effects b. Google Plus c. GPS test d. Quick settings e. Smart Keyboard f. AnySoftKeyboard g. Google Translate .... etc. And of course the social networkings apps like FB, Googles, Foursquare...

As for lauchers Zeam is good as it's light and uses less CPU and hence faster. If you like personalizations and nice screens, Go Laucher EX is good, but compare to Zeam, it is slower and sometimes tend to lag.

It just depend on your preferences and uses.

5. G5 cannot support multi-touch.

Glad that it helped you. Enjoy! rclxms.gif tongue.gif
alexysc
post Aug 14 2011, 12:04 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:39 PM)
i see.thanks. i got a problem here..when i lock my phone(eg: close it by pressing the right button),my phone like become hang..i need to take out the battery to restart it.any idea why it happened?
Use these settings :

Go to >Settings > CyanogenMod settings > Performance > (Press OK) --------->

1. CPU settings : Available Governors - SMARTASS / Min CPU - 245MHz / Max CPU - 652MHz (if playing games lags, set to higher settings for Max Only, Min remains)
IMPORTANT : TICK >> Set on boot

2. Compcache RAM Usage :

1. If you are using swap, set to > DISABLED

2. If not using swap, set to 18% (Default)

Don't use both. Just use either one , Swap or Compcache

Note : Sometimes the phone will hang/freezes. You can restart it by pressing at the same time , VOLUME UP + OFF BUTTON for a few seconds. No need to take out the battery.

Added on August 14, 2011, 12:18 pmHi Guys,

Latest Cyanogen 7.1 version :

Latest Release:

Full update package: v1.1
Hotfix package: v1.1 hotfix2

http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/

The problem is with Google's sync feature. It seems to have backed up your old Froyo (or older CyanogenMod) settings, and is now trying to restore the incompatible settings when you sign in, which is causing the problems you're seeing. What you can do is not allow the automatic backup the next time you do a data-wipe.

Additionally, if you're restoring Eclair/Froyo system settings via Titanium Backup, you're just asking for trouble. This is like restoring your Windows 98 settings on a Windows 7 PC. It could work, but it will most likely cause compatibility problems.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 14 2011, 12:18 PM
alexysc
post Aug 14 2011, 02:26 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Aug 14 2011, 02:16 PM)
Alamak just finish install cm1.0+hf1.. my network/3g signal always unstable when enable internet.. any idea y?? Is it bcoz of network o baseband (jp6)..
Get the latest version, v.1.1 + hotfix2. Then install the hotfix3 candidate 1: http://www.multiupload.com/1UK8VM6T2H

This upgrades wpa_supplicant to v6 and replaces the Samsung dhcpcd with the CyanogenMod version.

Please test this hotfix and see if your wifi signal and wifi performance (transfer speed, connect/reconnect) has improved.

Note: if you use Blade Wifi Fix or any other "hack" apps to fix wifi issues, please remove them.

http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2.../?topicseen#new

NOTE : I don't think it's because of the baseband as I'm using the same JP6 and my network/wifi is working great.
alexysc
post Aug 14 2011, 03:35 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Aug 14 2011, 02:48 PM)
Thx Alex, will try it. 1 question? Must I keep downloading the Google Apps package? I mean I already have the previous one. Is it different to each update?
1. If you are upgrading a new version, yes, you need to install google apps again.

2. But if you are upgrading a new hotfix, no, you don't need to re-install google apps.

Added on August 14, 2011, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 14 2011, 02:26 PM)
Get the latest version, v.1.1 + hotfix2. Then install the hotfix3 candidate 1:  http://www.multiupload.com/1UK8VM6T2H

This upgrades wpa_supplicant to v6 and replaces the Samsung dhcpcd with the CyanogenMod version.

Please test this hotfix and see if your wifi signal and wifi performance (transfer speed, connect/reconnect) has improved.

Note: if you use Blade Wifi Fix or any other "hack" apps to fix wifi issues, please remove them.

NOTE : I don't think it's because of the baseband as I'm using the same JP6 and my network/wifi is working great.
Latest : Replace the above hotfix3 candidate with this :-

Hotfix 3 candidate 2: http://www.multiupload.com/YXYK9YMNP0

Downgraded to wpa_supplicant v5, Samsung dhcpcd (newer versions are still buggy)
Backported ar6000 module completely from 2.6.35 kernel.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 14 2011, 07:00 PM
alexysc
post Aug 14 2011, 10:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Aug 14 2011, 08:18 PM)
How 2 uninstall google map.. i install it using cwm..
n how to check what ver im using (setting-about phone-mod version)??
Just go to > settings > applications > manage applications > Select whichever app you want, then select Uninstall.

You can check your build number > settings > about phone. But cannot check your CM version.
alexysc
post Aug 15 2011, 11:22 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(apambalikla @ Aug 15 2011, 08:41 AM)
My phone is froyo and i encounter this prob:
   -my phone when restart the phone stuck at samsung icon (flashing cyan color)
   -
Perform data wipe. If the problem persists, you will have to reflash your rom again.

Added on August 15, 2011, 11:44 am
QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Aug 15 2011, 08:50 AM)
Alex... If we flash back the hotfix from hotfix 3 to hotfix 1.. Will it wipe setting in hotfix 3?
1. If you are downgrading hotfixes, the residue will remain, unless you perform data wipe.

2. But you can try to downgrade from hotfix3 to hotfix1 without performing data wipe first. If there is problem then only do it.

3. Another solution without doing data wipe is re-install the whole package, i.e. the CM rom, hotfix, and google apps.

4. I presume that you encountered some problems with your currently hotfix. If this is the case, why not update to
the latest CM version 1.1 and hotfix2? It's working great ... compass, wifi, bluetooth performance is much better now.

5. It is highly advisable to backup your roms frequently with CMW.
b. When you backup, virtually everything in your phone is being backup
(except your FAT32 partition which holds your personal stuffs like pictures, videos, music...etc).
c. Your rom, data, app, personalizations/customizations like launchers, wallpapers, settings and even your sms and contacts are also
backup.
d. And when you restore back with CWM, everything is being restore exactly the same as when you did your backup.
e. If you don't have enough space in your sdcard, (each backup requires roughly about 750MB - 900MB space), you can temporary
transfer your stuffs in the FAT32 partition to a folder in your pc. Perform a backup, then transfer the backup file to your pc and transfer back your FAT32 partition stuffs to the phone. In this way, you also have a backup of your FAT32 in the pc.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 15 2011, 11:44 AM
alexysc
post Aug 16 2011, 09:49 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Aug 15 2011, 02:29 PM)
Thanks Alex.. I'm currently us CM 7.1 V1.1 HF 3.. So far soo good...

Except for reboot.. My phone don't reboot.. Need to pull out battery n on back..
edit : My phone reboot when i set max. freq to 652mhz.. below than that, it won't reboot..  flex.gif
It sometimes doesn't reboot and that's normal for CM rom in G5 because of the low CPU. You can also reboot the phone
by pressing the VOLUME UP + OFF BUTTON and hold them for a few seconds. The phone will reboot.

Yes, higher freq. will at times cause the phone to reboot because of the CPU. But if you were playing games, higher freq is okay.
But remember to reset to a lower value when you are not playing.
alexysc
post Aug 16 2011, 11:11 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(apambalikla @ Aug 16 2011, 10:59 AM)
How to perform data wipe?
If you are using CM, use CWM. Reboot into Recovery and select data wipe.

If not, select > settings > privacy > factory data reset.

But before you perform data wipe, it's advisable to backup first as everything will be wiped away, except your sdcard contents.
alexysc
post Aug 16 2011, 11:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 16 2011, 09:16 PM)
guys, my sis planning to buy galaxy ace...any1 can tell me the advantageous of galaxy ace over galaxy 5??thanks.
btw, any way to increase my wifi signal? it seems weaker now that i am using cyanogenmod 7?
Galaxy Ace is definitely much better with 3.5 inches screen, support multi touch..etc...

Read more here : http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_ace_s5830-3724.php

Upgrade to the lastest v.1.1 + hotifx2.

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(myms @ Aug 16 2011, 10:43 PM)
hai guys...anyone can teach me how to do a backup using CWM...
sorry for noob question  tongue.gif
Just boot up CWM > Press > OFF Button > Reboot > Recovery....... CWM will boot up. Select > Backup/Restore.
After completed restoring, reboot your phone.
You'll find the backup file in your sdcard > ClockWorkMod Folder.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 16 2011, 11:09 PM
alexysc
post Aug 16 2011, 11:39 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 16 2011, 11:29 PM)
Would you consider phone like Huawei X5? CSL mi-410?

Galaxy Ace using previous generation CPU, has bootloops issue.
Not really a recommended phone if you ask me.
Actually it really depends on preferences. Huawei X5 is also good. As for CSL..I'm not really sure.

For me, the most important is support, officially or unofficially. Officially, I mean from the Company. Unofficially is something like MadTeam
whereby I can get support, learn and playing around with the roms, apps, etc.

And of course, the most important factor is budget. If you can spare a little more (if you are buying Ace), you may want to consider Galaxy S.
It's just a little over RM1k.....
alexysc
post Aug 17 2011, 11:05 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:49 AM)
i see.thanks.i'll tell her that.
can tell me how to upgrade to latest ver 1.1 and hotfix 2?
btw, is there a way to set my installed apps straight to external sd card instead of moving them 1 by1 ?
1. IMPORTANT - Update your CWM to the latest version [CWM Ver. 4.0.1.4] | v0.4 zip , as the previous version (also 4.0.1.4) was buggy.
http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/

2. Download the 3 files : ver. 1.1 , hotfix2 and google apps (20110613)
http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/

3. Copy these 3 files to your sdcard.

4. Using CWM, install them one by one in sequence (this is important), and reboot. No need to perform data wipe.

5. If you need more google apps, you can get them here :
http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-08-15/

b) It's important that you don't install the full package. Select from Option 1b, i.e. individual apps.

6. If you have enabled mad2sd, you don't need to to move your apps to the external sdcard. They are automatically installed in the EXT4.

Quote from MadTeam :

Mad2SD
This ROM uses a custom app2sd script called mad2sd, written by me. Before you can use mad2sd (or any third-party app2sd methods), you must ensure that your SD card is partitioned. If you need to partition your card, use ClockworkMod. Read ClockworkMod's instructions and don't ask me to provide other methods.

The mad2sd script, which is already integrated into this ROM, can reconfigure your system so that most data folders will be placed on the EXT4 partition of your SD card. This will greatly increase the space available for installing applications.

You can run the mad2sd script in two ways: either through an ADB shell on your PC, or via the phone terminal. If you use the phone terminal, you must first change to the superuser before entering any commands: type su and confirm the SuperUser prompt.

Mad2SD command list:

To check mad2sd status:
        mad2sd
    To activate mad2sd*:
        mad2sd on
    To deactivate mad2sd*:
        mad2sd off
    To activate swap:
        mad2sd swapon
    To deactivate swap:
        mad2sd swapoff

* These commands will ask you to reboot in order to finish the process.

Hope the above helps you. Enjoy buddy! tongue.gif
alexysc
post Aug 17 2011, 03:09 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 17 2011, 02:07 PM)
thanks..done all the above...hope i will see better improvement..xD
btw, how do i install additional google apps? (trying to install youtube in it)
is it by downloading the zip then install update from sd card?

btw, after i enable my mad2sd(via terminal emulator),i installed an apps from market,is it automatically transferred to the sd card?
cause when i check at manage application,i select on the particular apps,the option of move to sd card is still there.(does it mean it haven't been transferred to sd card)?
Installing google apps :

1. 1st method : install with CWM.
2. 2nd method : extract the zip file. get the apk and install it as the normal good old way...

Mad2sd :

1. It's automatically install in your EXT4.
2. Don't worry about that (the option to move to sdcard).
3. You can check your space at > settings > storage......
a) SD card - this is your FAT32 partition where your personal stuffs, like pictures, videos, musics, etc., and folders are stored.
b) Internal Storage - this is your EXT4 partition where the apps are automatically stored.

Note : Google apps and System apps are stored in the phone's internal memory. (> settings > about phone > Mem info )
G5 internal storage is only 183MB. That's why we need EXT4 as extra storage space for apps.
And this is also the reason that you cannot install the whole Google Apps package as our phone's storage space is limited.
But if you still want to install the whole package, you'll still be able to, but you'll get corrupted files because of partial installations.
So, it's advisable to install only Google apps which you really use to free some storage space in the phone's internal memory.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 17 2011, 03:10 PM
alexysc
post Aug 17 2011, 04:52 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(chonkit @ Aug 17 2011, 04:17 PM)
hey alex..i got a bit problem..i trying to send an apk from bluetooth folder in my phone, but it keep redirect me to send as email..i try to send other thing in other folder thru bluetooth it worked.. so any solution for my problem?
You just transfer the file(s) from your bluetooth folder to another folder and send from there. Another option is to use Bluetooth file transfer app from the market. But I would prefer the former option.
alexysc
post Aug 17 2011, 05:18 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(chonkit @ Aug 17 2011, 04:55 PM)
hmm..i try to transfer the apk from the ndoo market app folder, but it direct me to the send email, after that i copy it to bluetooth folder and send, it pop out the same message..so i shud try other folder as well ya?
You see.... certain folders which are created automatically, like bluetooth, CyanogenMod, etc. folders are sub-apps which are being used by the main app itself. Hence when you use those files in those folders, they cannot function as their purpose is only for their parent app to use.
Therefore, you'll either copy them to another folder of yours (which is created by you), or copy them to the root of your sdcard.
alexysc
post Aug 17 2011, 10:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:39 PM)
i checked my phone's internal memory and it show 43mb/183mb free space..can i know how to delete the data? (from phone internal memory)
Go to > settings > applications > manage applications > All (on top) ------> the system's apps and your download apps are all listed there.
BUT DO NOT simply delete the system's apps if you are not sure what they are as certain apps are required to function for your phone.

For your case, 43mb free space is okay/normal. It's actually enough for your phone's use.

alexysc
post Aug 18 2011, 06:08 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(charkuoi @ Aug 18 2011, 08:58 AM)
my alarm doesn't ringing after i installed GO launcher EX into my G5.. anyone know how to fix this?? btw, even when i turn it on, still not ringing la... pls help me~
The latest Go Launcher EX have many force closures (FC). I disabled compcache (my swap is all the while disabled) and the FC is reduced.
Does anyone experience the same?

Like Curiouso suggested, you try to uninstall or use another launcher and see what happens for your case, which I don't experience.

BUt with Zeam, there is no FCs. So now I have uninstalled Go Launcher EX and using Zeam.
alexysc
post Aug 19 2011, 12:20 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Aug 19 2011, 12:07 AM)
em. got another go launcher ex beta, 2.52, stable version will release next tuesday.

http://golauncher.goforandroid.com/2011/08...her-v2-52-beta/
Thanks. Will try that out ... as I like Go Launcher EX with its many customizations.
alexysc
post Aug 19 2011, 12:39 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Aug 19 2011, 12:35 AM)
hey alex, can you hide status/notification bar? seem that function is removed.
Haven't download yet. Btw, any FCs for the launcher?

alexysc
post Aug 19 2011, 12:26 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Aug 19 2011, 01:25 AM)
its out couple of hours a go. not fully tested yet. however if got some FC i tell you. just disappoint they removed hide status bar function.
I just installed, so far no FC yet. Still testing. The remove/hide status bar function is still there. >Operations Settings > Glide up/Glide down action.

18 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:59 PM