QUOTE(josenigel @ Aug 11 2011, 10:48 PM)
That's great then. Thanks. Samsung Galaxy 5 v4(GT-i5503), A Galaxy series budget model!
Samsung Galaxy 5 v4(GT-i5503), A Galaxy series budget model!
Aug 11 2011, 10:59 PM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Aug 12 2011, 10:42 AM
71 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(josenigel @ Aug 11 2011, 10:48 PM) Have u installed? Try to open Go SMS & check on Theme Shop... After installing Go Launcher EX 2.51 beta, all theme background inside theme shop dissapeared.. Blank theme.. Did u encounter the same problem? |
Aug 12 2011, 02:15 PM
1,679 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Penang |
hi guys, long time didn't come here ...was quite busy..
can anyone tell me what's the latest stable custom firmware for now? I am still using 2.0.9.1. Planning to flash new firmware *i would prefer those beginner friendly flashing as i have near to zero knowledge on flashing thanks in advance |
Aug 12 2011, 06:10 PM
227 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Middle Earth |
QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Aug 12 2011, 10:42 AM) Have u installed? Try to open Go SMS & check on Theme Shop... After installing Go Launcher EX 2.51 beta, all theme background inside theme shop dissapeared.. Blank theme.. Did u encounter the same problem? i dint get a chance to install it yet. will try tonight |
Aug 13 2011, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 12 2011, 02:15 PM) hi guys, long time didn't come here ...was quite busy.. Watch this tutorial : http://youtu.be/3Z8AzbTKHjwcan anyone tell me what's the latest stable custom firmware for now? I am still using 2.0.9.1. Planning to flash new firmware *i would prefer those beginner friendly flashing as i have near to zero knowledge on flashing thanks in advance CM v.1.0 + hotfix1 - Stable, reliable, fast and smooth. Guide/Procedure : Files Required : 1. CWM v.4 tar. (latest) link/instructions : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/ 2. CM v.1.0 , hotfix1 and Google Apps (20110613). http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/ IMPORTANT : These 3 files must be install in sequence. ------------------------------ 1. Download CWM v.4 tar. 2. Flash it with ODIN. 3. During the flashing, CWM will boot up in your phone. Select data wipe/factory reset. (make sure you have already backed up your stuffs). 4. Reboot. 5. Copy the three files (Item No.2 above) to your sdcard. 6. Boot up CWM by pressing the OFF (calls off) button, select reboot > recovery. CWM will boot up. 7. Select (from CWM) > install from zip in sdcard. 8. Install the three files in sequence. 9. Reboot. (Data wipe not require) 10. Done. NOTE : 1. AFTER YOU HAVE COMPLETED INSTALLING, DO NOT USE TITANIUM BACKUP TO RESTORE BACK YOUR DATA/APPS..etc. AS IT WILL GIVE YOU PROBLEMS WITH FORCE CLOSURES AND/OR PROBLEM WITH GOOGLE APPS. 2. INSTALL YOUR APPS BACK ONE BY ONE (THOUGH THIS MAY BE TROUBLESOME, BUT IT'S THE ONLY WAY). 3. If you need more Google Apps, you can download from here : http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-07-29/ a. But don't use the full package as our G5 does not have enough memory to store the full package apps and hence the installation will be corrupted (though you still will be able to install it). b. Select individual apps and install them one by one. c. It's advisable not to install those Google Apps which you are not using in order to free some memory of your phone. Enjoy! |
Aug 13 2011, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 13 2011, 10:18 AM) Watch this tutorial : http://youtu.be/3Z8AzbTKHjw thanks.i will try it out later.CM v.1.0 + hotfix1 - Stable, reliable, fast and smooth. Guide/Procedure : Files Required : 1. CWM v.4 tar. (latest) link/instructions : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/ 2. CM v.1.0 , hotfix1 and Google Apps (20110613). http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/ IMPORTANT : These 3 files must be install in sequence. ------------------------------ 1. Download CWM v.4 tar. 2. Flash it with ODIN. 3. During the flashing, CWM will boot up in your phone. Select data wipe/factory reset. (make sure you have already backed up your stuffs). 4. Reboot. 5. Copy the three files (Item No.2 above) to your sdcard. 6. Boot up CWM by pressing the OFF (calls off) button, select reboot > recovery. CWM will boot up. 7. Select (from CWM) > install from zip in sdcard. 8. Install the three files in sequence. 9. Reboot. (Data wipe not require) 10. Done. NOTE : 1. AFTER YOU HAVE COMPLETED INSTALLING, DO NOT USE TITANIUM BACKUP TO RESTORE BACK YOUR DATA/APPS..etc. AS IT WILL GIVE YOU PROBLEMS WITH FORCE CLOSURES AND/OR PROBLEM WITH GOOGLE APPS. 2. INSTALL YOUR APPS BACK ONE BY ONE (THOUGH THIS MAY BE TROUBLESOME, BUT IT'S THE ONLY WAY). 3. If you need more Google Apps, you can download from here : http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-07-29/ a. But don't use the full package as our G5 does not have enough memory to store the full package apps and hence the installation will be corrupted (though you still will be able to install it). b. Select individual apps and install them one by one. c. It's advisable not to install those Google Apps which you are not using in order to free some memory of your phone. Enjoy! Just a few question, - you said we can't use titanium backup to restore my data/apps etc, so i can only use kies to backup my contacts and messages? how bout other apps on my phone? -i am currently using link2sd, so will flashing to this rom have any alteration to my link2sd etc? |
Aug 13 2011, 06:57 PM
252 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
kies wont work with cm7. use wondershare mobile go,
after flashing cm7, link2sd will be gone for good. great if you make second parition as ext4 first because you can activate mad2sd. better then link2sd. |
Aug 13 2011, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Aug 13 2011, 06:57 PM) kies wont work with cm7. use wondershare mobile go, means i have to reformat my 2nd partition to ext4 in order to use mad2sd? btw, the link given above for cm7 download, i get bad request..the server down?after flashing cm7, link2sd will be gone for good. great if you make second parition as ext4 first because you can activate mad2sd. better then link2sd. as for the wondershare mobilego, can it backup my apps? This post has been edited by starz92: Aug 13 2011, 07:44 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 07:26 PM) means i have to reformat my 2nd partition to ext4 in order to use mad2sd? btw, the link given above for cm7 download, i get bad request..the server down? Sorry, I think the something is wrong with the link.as for the wondershare mobilego, it's a pc apps right? same function as kies? Here are the working links : 1. CWM : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/ 2. CM7.1 : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/ Before you install the new rom version : 1. Advisable to backup your stuffs.... like your personal files, videos, musics, pictures, contacts, sms messages. 2. Once you have installed, you'll find that CWM is easier and better to use. And it is also advisable to backup your roms, apps, personalizations like launchers, settings, wallpapers, and contacts, sms messages with CWM. Just a few simple clicks with CWM will backup all your stuffs. And you can restore them back exactly as when you did your backup. Enjoy! This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 13 2011, 07:49 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 13 2011, 07:43 PM) Sorry, I think the something is wrong with the link. thanks Here are the working links : 1. CWM : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/ 2. CM7.1 : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/ |
Aug 13 2011, 07:52 PM
Aug 13 2011, 10:27 PM
Thanks to alexysc and curiouso9 for your guidance.I've successfully flashed to cyanogen 7.1.
some question here: do i still need to root the phone? if so,which apps should i use? for some reason i already have superuser permission in my droid.(maybe from restoring my backed up files?) the mad team app2sd is already built in the ROM? any good apps to recommend? (kinda outdated as i didn't pay much attention on my droid for the past few months) does this version support multitouch already? thanks again This post has been edited by starz92: Aug 13 2011, 10:40 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 10:27 PM) Thanks to alexysc and curiouso9 for your guidance.I've successfully flashed to cyanogen 7.1. 1. You don't have to root the phone. In CyanogenMod 7.1, it's already rooted.some question here: do i still need to root the phone? if so,which apps should i use? for some reason i already have superuser permission in my droid.(maybe from restoring my backed up files?) the mad team app2sd is already built in the ROM? any good apps to recommend? (kinda outdated as i didn't pay much attention on my droid for the past few months) does this version support multitouch already? thanks again 2. Everytime you want to use the Terminal Emulator, you need to type in " su " (without the quotes) for superuser permission again. 3. Yes, but it's now known as mad2sd. You have to enable it either through and ADB shell in your pc, or through the Terminal Emulator. Mad2SD command list: To check mad2sd status: mad2sd To activate mad2sd*: mad2sd on To deactivate mad2sd*: mad2sd off To activate swap: mad2sd swapon To deactivate swap: mad2sd swapoff * These commands will ask you to reboot in order to finish the process. 4. Some of the apps which I used are : a. Camera Effects b. Google Plus c. GPS test d. Quick settings e. Smart Keyboard f. AnySoftKeyboard g. Google Translate .... etc. And of course the social networkings apps like FB, Googles, Foursquare... As for lauchers Zeam is good as it's light and uses less CPU and hence faster. If you like personalizations and nice screens, Go Laucher EX is good, but compare to Zeam, it is slower and sometimes tend to lag. It just depend on your preferences and uses. 5. G5 cannot support multi-touch. Glad that it helped you. Enjoy! |
Aug 13 2011, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 13 2011, 11:36 PM) 1. You don't have to root the phone. In CyanogenMod 7.1, it's already rooted. i see.thanks. i got a problem here..when i lock my phone(eg: close it by pressing the right button),my phone like become hang..i need to take out the battery to restart it.any idea why it happened?2. Everytime you want to use the Terminal Emulator, you need to type in " su " (without the quotes) for superuser permission again. 3. Yes, but it's now known as mad2sd. You have to enable it either through and ADB shell in your pc, or through the Terminal Emulator. Mad2SD command list: To check mad2sd status: mad2sd To activate mad2sd*: mad2sd on To deactivate mad2sd*: mad2sd off To activate swap: mad2sd swapon To deactivate swap: mad2sd swapoff * These commands will ask you to reboot in order to finish the process. 4. Some of the apps which I used are : a. Camera Effects b. Google Plus c. GPS test d. Quick settings e. Smart Keyboard f. AnySoftKeyboard g. Google Translate .... etc. And of course the social networkings apps like FB, Googles, Foursquare... As for lauchers Zeam is good as it's light and uses less CPU and hence faster. If you like personalizations and nice screens, Go Laucher EX is good, but compare to Zeam, it is slower and sometimes tend to lag. It just depend on your preferences and uses. 5. G5 cannot support multi-touch. Glad that it helped you. Enjoy! |
Aug 14 2011, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:39 PM) i see.thanks. i got a problem here..when i lock my phone(eg: close it by pressing the right button),my phone like become hang..i need to take out the battery to restart it.any idea why it happened? Use these settings : Go to >Settings > CyanogenMod settings > Performance > (Press OK) ---------> 1. CPU settings : Available Governors - SMARTASS / Min CPU - 245MHz / Max CPU - 652MHz (if playing games lags, set to higher settings for Max Only, Min remains) IMPORTANT : TICK >> Set on boot 2. Compcache RAM Usage : 1. If you are using swap, set to > DISABLED 2. If not using swap, set to 18% (Default) Don't use both. Just use either one , Swap or Compcache Note : Sometimes the phone will hang/freezes. You can restart it by pressing at the same time , VOLUME UP + OFF BUTTON for a few seconds. No need to take out the battery. Added on August 14, 2011, 12:18 pmHi Guys, Latest Cyanogen 7.1 version : Latest Release: Full update package: v1.1 Hotfix package: v1.1 hotfix2 http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/ QUOTE The problem is with Google's sync feature. It seems to have backed up your old Froyo (or older CyanogenMod) settings, and is now trying to restore the incompatible settings when you sign in, which is causing the problems you're seeing. What you can do is not allow the automatic backup the next time you do a data-wipe. Additionally, if you're restoring Eclair/Froyo system settings via Titanium Backup, you're just asking for trouble. This is like restoring your Windows 98 settings on a Windows 7 PC. It could work, but it will most likely cause compatibility problems. This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 14 2011, 12:18 PM |
Aug 14 2011, 02:16 PM
155 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Alamak just finish install cm1.0+hf1.. my network/3g signal always unstable when enable internet.. any idea y?? Is it bcoz of network o baseband (jp6)..
Aug 14 2011, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Aug 14 2011, 02:16 PM) Alamak just finish install cm1.0+hf1.. my network/3g signal always unstable when enable internet.. any idea y?? Is it bcoz of network o baseband (jp6).. Get the latest version, v.1.1 + hotfix2. Then install the hotfix3 candidate 1: http://www.multiupload.com/1UK8VM6T2HThis upgrades wpa_supplicant to v6 and replaces the Samsung dhcpcd with the CyanogenMod version. Please test this hotfix and see if your wifi signal and wifi performance (transfer speed, connect/reconnect) has improved. Note: if you use Blade Wifi Fix or any other "hack" apps to fix wifi issues, please remove them. http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2.../?topicseen#new NOTE : I don't think it's because of the baseband as I'm using the same JP6 and my network/wifi is working great. |
Aug 14 2011, 02:48 PM
227 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Middle Earth |
QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 14 2011, 02:26 PM) Get the latest version, v.1.1 + hotfix2. Then install the hotfix3 candidate 1: http://www.multiupload.com/1UK8VM6T2H Thx Alex, will try it. 1 question? Must I keep downloading the Google Apps package? I mean I already have the previous one. Is it different to each update?This upgrades wpa_supplicant to v6 and replaces the Samsung dhcpcd with the CyanogenMod version. Please test this hotfix and see if your wifi signal and wifi performance (transfer speed, connect/reconnect) has improved. Note: if you use Blade Wifi Fix or any other "hack" apps to fix wifi issues, please remove them. http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2.../?topicseen#new NOTE : I don't think it's because of the baseband as I'm using the same JP6 and my network/wifi is working great. |
Aug 14 2011, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(josenigel @ Aug 14 2011, 02:48 PM) Thx Alex, will try it. 1 question? Must I keep downloading the Google Apps package? I mean I already have the previous one. Is it different to each update? 1. If you are upgrading a new version, yes, you need to install google apps again.2. But if you are upgrading a new hotfix, no, you don't need to re-install google apps. Added on August 14, 2011, 7:00 pm QUOTE(alexysc @ Aug 14 2011, 02:26 PM) Get the latest version, v.1.1 + hotfix2. Then install the hotfix3 candidate 1: http://www.multiupload.com/1UK8VM6T2H Latest : Replace the above hotfix3 candidate with this :-This upgrades wpa_supplicant to v6 and replaces the Samsung dhcpcd with the CyanogenMod version. Please test this hotfix and see if your wifi signal and wifi performance (transfer speed, connect/reconnect) has improved. Note: if you use Blade Wifi Fix or any other "hack" apps to fix wifi issues, please remove them. http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2.../?topicseen#new NOTE : I don't think it's because of the baseband as I'm using the same JP6 and my network/wifi is working great. Hotfix 3 candidate 2: http://www.multiupload.com/YXYK9YMNP0 Downgraded to wpa_supplicant v5, Samsung dhcpcd (newer versions are still buggy) Backported ar6000 module completely from 2.6.35 kernel. http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2.../?topicseen#new This post has been edited by alexysc: Aug 14 2011, 07:00 PM |
Aug 14 2011, 08:18 PM
155 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
How 2 uninstall google map.. i install it using cwm..
n how to check what ver im using (setting-about phone-mod version)?? This post has been edited by amedeto8: Aug 14 2011, 09:13 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0322sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:21 PM |