Carpentry contractor Vs KC Specialists

kasey1314
post Mar 14 2011, 11:22 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

You must clarify yourself....you kitchen cabinet is built for what purposes.??

How often you cook in your house?

How often ppl go and visiting your house??

How u judge your money spent??budget for short term?or a bit pricy for long term??
kasey1314
post Mar 15 2011, 12:26 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(lck*G9 @ Mar 15 2011, 10:05 AM)
hi, it sounds to me that its better to go with a kc specialists from your point of view?

anyway, the kitchen is for cooking and it will be used frequently. visitors maybe not many. perhaps less to none.

my point is actually whether anyone tried engaging contractor that just do what most owners have in mind and whether the quality and price is better.

from the forum i read, even kc specialists might not be satisfactory to some extend so why not use a contractor then?
actually..u should go for ID specialist....Interior Decorator.....not interior designer.

so your kitchen is more to durable than impression...

why say so? cause..

some ppl they always work on outside...and eat outside....so not really utilize the kitchen actually....maybe once in a month or week or some even a year....

when they always work on outside...they expectation of design and visualize is more than medium level.....so is more on impression than durable. they wanted to show their level of satisfaction and image to be unique and standard as what ppl said...TASTE....

so like those family oriented..cooked everyday...u make looked so good... but wanted to take a bowl or a fried pan take a long process....they will slowly fed-up
and those surface should be easy to clean.....

so this is wat interior decorator....

1st- absorbs what a client want..\
2nd-based on their experience and professions...
3rd-come out something that between ID and client...
4th-have some modification and changes...
5th-finally come out with something that belongs to CLIENT.....

**you should find some ID with their own factory...why said so?
cause..based on that...they will go on their ability....if can design something nice but not buildable...is also wasted...
and some ppl who design it....but sub to others carpenter...the carpenter will make their work easy by saying"sorry,here cannot do this.,..there cannot do this.."

so end up also bad cases....

***and if u looking for something good.....cannot choose melamine or chipboard or hard board or anti water board la..(so many names to cover it up for those low level materials.).u need to find plywood carpentry to do it...u will satisfy on ur household furniture....worth single penny u spent.....

it wont happen a case whereby u finish ur cabinet or furniture....

ppl come to your house and said "ooo..why here like this de?why there like this de?the carpenter skill is like this?"

den end up u spent money to get frustrated and disappointment....

thanks**
kasey1314
post Mar 15 2011, 03:51 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(Yvonne85 @ Mar 15 2011, 02:24 PM)
just wander why must be Interior Decorator but not Interior Designer? i tot those thing u said is something interior designer are doing also? what the diff actually?
erm, do u know the Erxc Lxxng ? Kaxxm Rasxxd?

you can see the difference between this two person in this fields.

in Designer field...he doesnt not being included....

cause he is using some ppl design and do the space and decorating...

he didnt bring out any new design....

designer is the one who use their own design and concept and idea...to CREATE a new furniture or decoration...

decorator is the one who use others design to decorate the house and spacing .

so...mostly designer is 80 % to inspiration and 20 % innovation

decorator is 80% to innovation and 20 % of inspiration...

designer mostly create something of their concept or style to put in their prospects house.

so that when u enter a designer design house...mostly u can feel the style and the concept of the designer...

decorator mostly is start from prospect needs and wants to CREATE something from the prospects..

but when u enter a decorator house u will feel the prospects more than the designer idea or style or concepts....

cause mostly ppl in this industry...due to the environment ....they changed to satisfy their client...lack creative and inspiration.....

kasey1314
post Mar 15 2011, 04:08 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(papaya2 @ Mar 15 2011, 04:01 PM)
kasey,

as i know polywood is expensive than melamine, right?
r u carpenter/ contractor? i need to do of my new house in bukit tinggi, Klang.
i'm now find good contractor for best quotation. 
pm me for more details. thanks
you got pmed ^.^

kasey1314
post Mar 15 2011, 07:07 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(Yvonne85 @ Mar 15 2011, 05:34 PM)
o ic.. but from what u write...

so this is wat interior decorator....

1st- absorbs what a client want..\
2nd-based on their experience and professions...
3rd-come out something that between ID and client...
4th-have some modification and changes...
5th-finally come out with something that belongs to CLIENT.....

for me what u saying actually is base on client need to create something new to client mah, no meh? if yes, still call decorator o?
ya...designer sources is come from designer....decorator sources is come from client....so u see the different ?
kasey1314
post Mar 16 2011, 12:17 AM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(Yvonne85 @ Mar 15 2011, 11:59 PM)
ic.. but i not very agree loh, like my house, i hire a interior designer, i am the 1 telling him how much i want to spend and what kind of concept i want, then he will creating a 3D drawing with his creation base on my need. So i think he is creating something to suit client need. But if u say designer sources is came from designer, then he dont need to consider about his client need and just simply make over thier condo to a palace? i dont agree at all.

But from what i know about the designer and decorator is, designer creating something which mostly are custom made thing to suit your house only, when u remove the thing from your house, that may not suitable for another house lay-out already. But decorator is using what ever thing at market to decorate your house, just like eric do, he only need to buy a bed, sofa, paint and some decoration item to make over the house, and doing nothing about custom make anything.
okie, so far...which i know... Kaxxm Rasxxd is the designer who design stuff out, www.karimrashid.com this is what we called designer....design his stuff out ....

normally designer design a plans or a space or a furniture, they will allocate their materials them self....

the materials that not easy being found out in market....they design must be unique....so why some of the fees are so expensive...

1-spend is budgeting right? this also being done by decorator or contractor.

2-creating 3D drawing ,is not designing...DRAW and DESIGN is different.
(u able to draw a logo,but u might not able to trademark,cause draw is basic knowledge.to TRADEMARK need be specific and unique)

3-Did he creating some statue to you?and did he created those furniture that u cant able to find in market with other company??

** no offence,just a share of knowledge, cause i always encounter with those designer..they have their own community,and i have doing stuff related to them,and these information is gather from them.

*** one of the lecturer in The O x e Academy in sunway, also not designer but yet he is a decorator...he purpose his plan to client, he hire those DRAW MAN to help him develop out his plan. end up, he did what u said,

1-listen to ur budget, what concept u want.
2-he will ask the DRAW MAN to draw out 3D drawing to you with his creation base on your need.

but i can confirm ,he still teaching now. and he didnt graduate in interior design .and he got an ID FIRM.

This post has been edited by kasey1314: Mar 16 2011, 12:24 AM
kasey1314
post Mar 16 2011, 01:12 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(Yvonne85 @ Mar 16 2011, 12:55 AM)
if base on what u said, none of those ppl are interior designer already. a group of ppl work for IKEA, they so call designer, but they using material that able to get in the market (Malemine), so they are out. and u say karim a creating something that material cant find in the market, but actually those material they use are able to get in market, is just no 1 interested to spend this amount for thier house by this material, and well, if u can, u can just find a china factory to copy for you. I only will say what the diff between normal Interior Designer on the road and Karim is Karim had name, branded, and normal designer dont have, Karim have money to create what he want and normal designer dont have. But doesnt mean no money then can not be deisgner, as they still doing the same work like Karim, they creating something on the drawing and let the factory to build out the thing just for that house (1 pcs only).
do u realize that IKEA using their OWN Hinges?u go there and see,den u get back to me,i prefer u take a photo with it..............

ya,u can find the materials from CHINA or at the market, with same function, but not the same SPEC,this i can confirm you. their have the right to make

law action.

ya,this is also apply to BULTHAUP(mid valley under XTRA) in malaysia...their own accessories for kitchen cabinet. and also their table top....

if let said u able to take a hotel development project that stated to USE BULTHAUP accessories ,den u use china materials.They have the right to REFUSE all your items.

den u know what is the LOST.

if u saying that able to get BULTHAUP at MALAYSIA without XTRA, u are against the LAW.

and china factory able to do ISO? get ISO approval?

a good designer's design will get investor or client appreciate. so that able to make the production.

and u refer to IKEA, their accessories have their own QC(Quality Check).

I give FULLY RESPECT for those who are really put effort on design something new.
kasey1314
post Mar 16 2011, 08:03 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(Yvonne85 @ Mar 16 2011, 02:24 PM)
Ic, so for those ppl in malaysia want to be designer, what they need to do is go to find a factory that can produce thier own hinges, and only supply to them and got ISO, then they already can be designer.
YOU can TRY.

but those who able specific to put their OWN brand hinges in the LAYOUT PLAN of a HOTEL DEVELOPMENT PROJECT.not ah beng ah seng project.

so, from our conversation .u can get is wanted to be a designer is to

" go to find a factory that can produce thier own hinges, and only supply to them and got ISO, then they already can be designer."

and i want to clarify that,from my words.

"a good designer's design will get investor or client appreciate. so that able to make the production."

this statement is mention how to using his/her own design to attract others. "client" and "investor" .

not that he/she produce himself.

did it clear for you now??

from what you write ....u cant even help the thread owner.

but at least i told him, who should he looking for.what materials should looking for. how to differentiate those ppl in this industry...

0.0188sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:46 AM