❤ LYN Proton INSPIRA: Owners/Fan Thread V5 ❤, SMART GUYS GET IT! | Got yours yet?

shouxx
post Apr 14 2011, 03:47 AM

Hi everyone, been frequenting this thread for quite some time, congrats on v5!

Urgently need to ask inspira owners opinion, as I was almost set on getting the 1.8M, until a recent turn of events made the 2.0CVT 'kind of' accessible to me.. This is a long term purchase so I want to make sure I do it right first time around =] and kinda in a hurry, so no time to test drive either one, hope you guys can help me make up my mind by the end of this week

1) better go for 2.0 with everything, or more worth it to get a 1.8M and use the spare change to mod similar to 2.0 extras, like leather seats, skirting etc.. (haven't bought yet but reading all this poison here & there, get excited already hahah)

2) can you match the 1.8MT acceleration & topspeed with the 2.0CVT? really curious how driving a cvt feels, manual driver myself so prefer that 'oomph' feeling of driving manual, but the proton salesperson was pushing cvt, stating that it can match the manual (pushing 1.8cvt summore, which kinda made me suspicious, after reading various performance reviews). does the 'manual' gear change part of the cvt (dunno what they call it, the bottom partwhere you can change gears by just pushing up or down instead of leaving at D/1/2 like a normal auto) feel as good as a proper manual gearbox (responsive or some lag between gear change)?

and since the past few posts are talking about problems/funny feel to the manual gear, making me worried about that too..

3) lari topik sikit, is the tweeter casing really empty??? i went to the same proton edar twice, and talked to two different salespersons, both time say got tweeter inside, but on POIC ppl are complaining there's no stock tweeter? if really no then can use this as ammo next time i go there hehe

As for my own opinion, the things i like (+) and dislike (-) about 1.8MT compare to the 2.0

1.8MT
+ manual shift!
+ best accel & top speed (on paper)
+ over 10k cheaper than 2.0 (to cover potential medical cost for poison!)
- no auto climate control
- no leather interior
- no body kit (minus the spoiler)
- no paddle shift (which will probably be forgotten to be used after a few months anyway)

hmm anything else?
shouxx
post Apr 14 2011, 07:14 PM

thanks for the answers guys.. although still uncertain :/

the 2.0 engine itself is the main draw for me (if there was a manual version then i wouldn't have this dilemma in the first place tongue.gif)... extras are nice but i only really want the auto air-con, body kit & leather trim, which will take time to do myself with the 1.8, but still worth the time since you can save quite an amount..

thing is, i prefer manual to conventional auto. i guess that is my main concern since with my schedule atm i probably wont have time to test drive n feel the cvt for myself.. so worry that i might regret with something i'm not used to driving..

just moments ago my officemate said the manual gear is very short/quick to change.. alamak, sounds really nice.. confuse lagiii.. hopefully later get to try when her hubby comes to pick up..

then again there's that pic of the 227kmph 2.0 on POIC @_@

maybe should sabar a week more & better join TT first hmm.gif

This post has been edited by shouxx: Apr 14 2011, 07:15 PM
shouxx
post Apr 14 2011, 08:45 PM

to shouxx : get 2.0 terus if budget allows smile.gif

[/quote]

haha so you're evohahn rupanye.. thanx for the ride!hmm.. kena solat iztikarah kot lepas ni hehehe
shouxx
post Apr 16 2011, 03:47 PM

by the way, any comparison available for service & maintenance cost of 1.8MT & 2.0CVT? so far only serviced manual before, don't know what is the norm for auto regular service rclxub.gif
shouxx
post Apr 17 2011, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(zizheng @ Apr 17 2011, 01:44 PM)
wow, test drove the 1.8cvt yesterday, completely fell in love with it! ;D !
how many gears are there anyways? its not stated anywhere!
and i saw at some forum that the 1.8 are plague with problems? is it true?
haha same! test drived it yesterday too, u-turn at rasta ttdi then sports mode accelerate uphill & gear up every 6.5k, very stabil too when cilok2 between cars, how to explain it, a very reassuring feeling of control, none of that gliding feeling when changing lanes at high speed.. but too many cars towards the end so couldnt fully test up to 5/6 gear.. only thing i noticed when taking out the car from their place was that when driving slow on bumpy roads can notice the suspension feel very soft & a bit too bouncy..

went to coe & PE mutiara dsara looking for a 1.8MT testdrive car, but found out they only have 1.8CVT for all outlets.. aiya bikin penat je sweat.gif

i think somewhere here i read that inspira 2.0 using different box(EX) that the LGT due to it being problematic? is that true? even the sales rep at CoE said proton has already fixed this issue (which wouldn't be impossible since they did fix that overheating CVT issue right?).. is the 2.0 inspira affected in any way?

This post has been edited by shouxx: Apr 17 2011, 10:31 PM
shouxx
post Apr 17 2011, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 17 2011, 10:40 PM)
not different gearbox..different cooling method.

if u notice, the inspira's left foglamp cover has air vents to channel air to the CVT cooler for optimum cooling

The Lancer's initially dont have this, but was later on included as stock.

the main difference is the airflow.

so that means the only problem was overheating and not the cvt itself right?
shouxx
post Apr 18 2011, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:27 PM)
ya..it is the same CVT that is used by the taena, slyphy, sportback, asx, all made by JATCO
icic.. that's a relief.. cos someone asked me about that problem not too long after i read about it..
shouxx
post Apr 18 2011, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 18 2011, 07:24 AM)
Got lar...go to the dealer in Taman Megah...loads of Inspira...i test drive both 1.8 and 2.0 there...even drove to their store yard to change cars...drive 2.0 from showroom to store yard, then change to 1.8 at store yard and test drive, then change back to 2.0 and drive back to showroom...haha

Added on April 18, 2011, 9:22 amGuys, wanna ask...if i buy a 1.8 CVT...is it possible to install an auto-cruise function mod like the 2.0 CVT? This is the only function i like in the 2.0 CVT other than the more powerful engine. Wonder if it's worth to pay additional 7K for this!!
Sure it's test drive car not customer unit? I went to SUbang CoE , Platinum Mutiara Dsara & Taman Sea all dun have.. but got one of the places say if they get customer unit 1.8MT then can come test in their compound.. err kinda not nice la liddat, imagine how many unknown ppl fondle ur car before u get to ride her (salesman/mechanic tak kira la).. so now i know where NOT to buy for manual LoL (but still, suspect all shop also same le...)

IMO, you gotta remember, the additional 7k is also paying for the diff cc that u cant mod urself.. when you count in the cost for the nappa leather, plus the autocruise(which looks like expensive to do? not sure) , the rest of the premium accessories can consider freebies already.

1.8CVT is already very good, so if you like it then additional power of 2.0 is definitely worth it.. paddlshift/autocruise is just luxury item so shouldn't be decision turning point

shouxx
post Apr 18 2011, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 18 2011, 11:54 AM)
the 2.0's FC not much different than the 1.8..at least u'll have the additional power when u need it(overtaking lorries)

the paddleshift/autocruise, in 10k km of usage, i only used it twice..auto mode much better FC and smooth.

the autoheadlights and autowiper on the other hand, so convenient...2.0 all the way. tongue.gif
this is the type of feedback i want to read more.. helps push me in one direction instead of balancing on the fence hahaha..

but..

the price difference with MT can use to buy many types of poison here.. too itchy everytime want to click the 'show spoiler' button then keep seeing new blingbling @_@

Added on April 18, 2011, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 18 2011, 12:25 PM)
I dunno wor...the sales woman never says anything...so i just test lar, since the car is in the showroom (Pratically drive it out of the showroom! Some people was looking at the car......but because i want to test drive, the other people cannot look at the car liao....a bit paiseh....haha). Maybe i have molested someone's else new car liao...sweat.gif...hmm...maybe i shouldn't take my car fro this branch either.... biggrin.gif
which branch is this may i ask?

This post has been edited by shouxx: Apr 18 2011, 01:59 PM
shouxx
post Apr 19 2011, 05:43 PM

after much delay & consideration (with a lot of help from this thread biggrin.gif ).. i decided to go with 2.0.. but still, deep down, still fear i will regret and miss the feel of manual.. hmm.. and have to sabar for a while as no more cash to do any modification sad.gif and so many mods also coming out for 1.8 (hint2 speedworks) .. adusss, sempat tukar order lagi ni..... rclxub.gif

btw, anyone has experience on spraying rim diff colour? saw someone do it near my office and looks pretty good & even.. just not sure how long it can last? blink.gif

shouxx
post Apr 19 2011, 07:13 PM

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 19 2011, 06:22 PM)
u bukan drive manual meh!  sweat.gif
tu la pasal... perli niii cry.gif
shouxx
post Apr 20 2011, 04:47 AM

QUOTE(Poadster @ Apr 19 2011, 09:50 PM)
Bro, he is NOT perli or mocking you... he has personal experience....

He tried drag/chase us 2.0 (2 diff cars, both stock 16 rims compared opposed to his 18 - his and the other 2.0 with KNN filter, mine with standard paper filter)

We play paddle shift while he play his stick....

Gears 1 -3 he can keep up, but lose a little each time he sift gears (paddle shifters can shift at 6K rpm and it drops only to 5K before it picks up again)...

Gears 4 onwards, we pull away.....

End of story.... Let Jack confirm this...
haha.. just joking about the perli part, but thanks poadster, after read this can sleep better hehe.. cos all my cars before this are manual, so just happy to hear the comparable performance between both transmission (still have nightmares driving my cousins old 1st batch auto gen2.. before the iafm/campro fix.. remember it also makes me tension)

saw the painted rims.. wow very nice!!! i've seen this pic before, but didn't know it was stock! well after looking at the rims, i feel that it's a pretty interesting design, just that being all silver doesn't compliment it well cos look abit cluttered.

rm400... *gulp*
shouxx
post Apr 20 2011, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Apr 20 2011, 10:12 AM)
Automatic? Are you an uncle, sissy, or even a pussi?
No, Luke, I am your father.

ZING! cool2.gif

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Apr 20 2011, 09:40 AM)
congrats  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thanks bro.. walaupun masih ada keraguan di lubuk hati.. haha

QUOTE(XCInspire @ Apr 20 2011, 10:06 AM)
Rm400 is nothing compared to the urge to change to 17" or 18" rims c/w low profile tires.. which in the end will cost a bomb maintaining them. Not forgetting you have to be very gentle with them on Msian pot hole riddled roads... 18" looks darn nice but.. like high heels lor.. can only walk on smooth or carpet surfaces. Unfortunately we are not driving on smooth track like roads daily. Your $$ ur call lor...
Haha very true.. rims is one thing, the price of one tyre is the dealbreaker for me.. don't think i can afford that type of recurring cost atm.. and don't have to worry waking up to brick tyres tongue.gif reading ppl can trade in early can get up to rm1500 ... also tempting >.<

QUOTE(JackNg1985 @ Apr 20 2011, 11:06 AM)
Is true for tailgate gear/speed changing .
Let us update again when we try side by side speeding. Then 1.8M might lead front until gear4 for sure 2.0 will overtake by that time.

And now I m thinking to change back to painted stock or 17" for better power .
Anyone interested my 18" replica SSR ? hmm.gif  used 13k mileage.
hehe but your car already do up nicely, scared downgrade to stock later you will have that feeling of something tak kena when you look at your ride... so the only solution is... wait for speedworks good news drool.gif

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Apr 20 2011, 11:15 AM)
1.8 CVT jugak yang low profile follow slow2.. hahahaha
1.8CVT pon terbaek bro... personally for me kalau takde paddle shift pon aku dah puas hati dgn sport mode... sendiri tolak tarik gear tu still the best feeling brows.gif

This post has been edited by shouxx: Apr 20 2011, 02:19 PM
shouxx
post Apr 20 2011, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Apr 20 2011, 03:42 PM)
i love the initial burst of the manual transmission smile.gif
QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 20 2011, 03:45 PM)
ya...the CVT sorta blunts the 4b11.

btw, bro, come join us at www.protoninspiraclub.com
ahhh... tak cakap awal2... vmad.gif biggrin.gif
shouxx
post Apr 21 2011, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(deric_chong35 @ Apr 21 2011, 11:25 AM)
Very nice experience drag race. Few questions to justify the results of 2.0CVT vs 1.8MT

You say 2.0CVT win 1.8MT from Gear 4 onwards? What is the speed you are running on Gear 4?
If running above 120KM 2.0CVT is pulling away, I would say 1.8MT is better in city driving. I prefer 1.8MT 0-100 faster than 2.0CVT.

What is the mileage for both cars? Engine run-in yet?

And is the 1.8MT driver skill enough to change gear? Are you guys running on straight road or with corners?

And finally 1.8MT can drop in a bolt-on turbo anytime to pawn 2.0CVT.

2.0CVT is for girls.
bro, lu emo tetiba apehal.. ppl talking about standard mau bawak masuk turbo story pulak.. if can drop in BOT anytime then GO AHEAD DROP IT IN.. then come back and brag about it.. question is, perlu ke? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by shouxx: Apr 21 2011, 12:25 PM
shouxx
post Apr 21 2011, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 21 2011, 12:58 PM)
Guys...i got news....my dealer say got 4k to 5k discount for 1.8...memo going to be out in evening. Dunno true or not lar. But now my plans changes a bit liao...wife says wanna get MPV...so maybe i wait for Exora Turbo.
WTF 4-5k???? Arghhhhhhhhhhh~~~

if you do go for exora, make sure you inspect their interior properly, my company has 2units, and some of the plastic parts fitting is very bad (human error, not by design).. maybe it's the lower spec so they cincai assemble.. get the premium version should be ok.. but really sad to see this kind of workmanship in this day and age..

between alza n exora.. alza looks nicer IMHO because of it being smaller and sportier looking.. but seeing the type of accidents alzas have been in (got one the alza length was reduced to a kancil! like the cabin also become the crumple zone..) i wouldn't consider it anymore IF i was looking into mpv (its too small anyway).. the exora, with the right makeup looks very cool & fierce due to its size.. if no make up... meh.
shouxx
post Apr 21 2011, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 21 2011, 01:56 PM)
You book yours oready ar??? tongue.gif How much booking paid liao? Maybe you gasak your SA for discount...

Thanks for the tip...the only problem with Exora now is the underpowered engine....once they fix the power problem, this will be a perfect MPV at unbeatable price...spacious, great handling for an MPV, sturdy (definitely >> Alza) and a decent engine. For some strange reason (lucky for me), my wife don't like Alza's look...(but she likes Myvi!!! doh.gif)...haha...i don't like anything Perodua. Hopefully, the new Exora has at least 5 speed auto-tranny + the Campro CPS/CPE. I heard it'll be CVT...dunno true or not though....
waiting for loan approval.. hmm but the discount is for 1.8 only right?

haha yeah women especially love myvi.. my mom wanted me to get one.. haha it's nice but i'd rather hang on to my beat-up wira aeroback thanks.

the exora prime concept looked really nice.. maybe the turbo version will look like that? biggrin.gif

shouxx
post Apr 21 2011, 04:45 PM

oh crap.. latest news from another sa.. just called me a few mins ago and told me tomorrow till sunday got some proton promo.. loan 2.33% for inspira only!! rclxm9.gif asked him how many years and which model affected, but he's not sure yet since he got update by sms, waiting for memo.. but he thinks might be no restriction on model or loan years..

alamak.. have to check back my booking shocking.gif
shouxx
post Apr 21 2011, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 21 2011, 04:50 PM)
Update us bro....smile.gif ...maybe that's why my SA says 4-5k reduce? Interest rates goes down??
how to calculate just the loan interest? for 70k loan 7 years for example?

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 21 2011, 04:57 PM)
Currently 5 year they give me 3.3% leh!!!
offer starting tomorrow till sunday, the way he said it sounds like having some event for the promo at the proton edars also..

shouxx
post Apr 22 2011, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Apr 22 2011, 03:29 PM)
so m'sia mistubishi kerb weight is not exactly 1385kg? only US model. then the m'sia mistubishi weight is??
what are you looking for? you want spec on paper = google or go to the proton site got spec sheet mar
or you want ppl to manually weigh their car, just incase proton cheat you of 1-2kg curb weight? laugh.gif

0.0643sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:57 AM