171 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

TSazarimy
post Apr 11 2016, 12:59 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(zackngbs @ Apr 10 2016, 11:25 PM)
Hi Sir ! It's me again.
Since the UPU permohonan has closed already, just wanna know.
If I'm lucky enough and get chosen to the interview, agak when is the interview ?
agak when can I receive the sms ?
and last question.
In these few weeks. The portfolio of mine has only 10 plus drawing/painting in it.
Do you think its ok ? Does the quantity really matters ?
the interviews will be held in may. so expect calls/sms in the next few weeks. different universities will have their specific interview dates, so please verify which is which first.

regarding portfolio, it depends on quality. but based on the people i have interviewed, quality work is extremely rare. if u dont have quality stuff, then u have to fall back to quantity. and 10 is nowhere near enough.
zackngbs
post Apr 11 2016, 07:43 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 11 2016, 12:59 AM)
the interviews will be held in may. so expect calls/sms in the next few weeks. different universities will have their specific interview dates, so please verify which is which first.

regarding portfolio, it depends on quality. but based on the people i have interviewed, quality work is extremely rare. if u dont have quality stuff, then u have to fall back to quantity. and 10 is nowhere near enough.
Okay got it. Thank you sir ! Thanks alot !
girugaga
post Apr 12 2016, 08:37 AM

Hi mr azarimy,

I have graduated from my part 1 and have been working for about a year (this will be my second year in the job)

I'm looking to further my part 2 sometime next year and If possible I'd like to go abroad for that. I'm looking at schools like tu delft (Netherlands) and Bartlett (ucl)

I'm leaning more towards Delft at the moment and I was wondering if anyone in your circle have ever pursued a postgraduate in any of these schools? What are the admission rate like? I do know that these school especially Bartlett are tough to get in but as I am weighing my options right now do you think it's worth it (let's say I am able to go there) to study at these schools? In terms of education quality as well as the experience.
TSazarimy
post Apr 12 2016, 11:52 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(girugaga @ Apr 12 2016, 08:37 AM)
Hi mr azarimy,

I have graduated from my part 1 and have been working for about a year (this will be my second year in the job)

I'm looking to further my part 2 sometime next year and If possible I'd like to go abroad for that. I'm looking at schools like tu delft (Netherlands) and Bartlett (ucl)

I'm leaning more towards Delft at the moment and I was wondering if anyone in your circle have ever pursued a postgraduate in any of these schools? What are the admission rate like? I do know that these school especially Bartlett are tough to get in but as I am weighing my options right now do you think it's worth it (let's say I am able to go there) to study at these schools? In terms of education quality as well as the experience.
hi there. i have several friends who went to delft for their PhD. their undergrad school is very good as well, but i'm not sure about their compatibility with our LAM part 1 and 2. i will ask around.

btw, i'm from UCL and i can say that it's not that hard to get into bartlett. heck, i went there with a 3.00cgpa. it's the scholarship that's very hard to get. and, well, graduating is hard too. simply put, bartlett: easy to get in, hard to get out.

to me, bartlett is worth it IF u can afford it. if u can get a scholarship, by all means go there. if ur parents have like RM500k they could throw away for u, by all means do it. other than those two, i dont really recommend it at our current economy. part time jobs no longer could cover it, unlike during my time back then.

all in all, u cant do no wrong in choosing these two schools. it's just a matter if u can afford it or not.
kazasho
post Apr 12 2016, 02:21 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 8 2016, 10:51 AM)
It is. We are currently on schedule to offer BSc Arch part time for the first time this Sept. We face some problems at the moment, but we are adamant on keeping the deadline.
may I know what is the entry requirement?
TSazarimy
post Apr 12 2016, 03:11 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 12 2016, 02:21 PM)
may I know what is the entry requirement?
for part 1, it would be either STPM, matrics or relevant diploma. minimum pointers usually around 2.80, and it is highly recommended that u plan to move to an architectural office.
girugaga
post Apr 12 2016, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 12 2016, 11:52 AM)
hi there. i have several friends who went to delft for their PhD. their undergrad school is very good as well, but i'm not sure about their compatibility with our LAM part 1 and 2. i will ask around.

btw, i'm from UCL and i can say that it's not that hard to get into bartlett. heck, i went there with a 3.00cgpa. it's the scholarship that's very hard to get. and, well, graduating is hard too. simply put, bartlett: easy to get in, hard to get out.

to me, bartlett is worth it IF u can afford it. if u can get a scholarship, by all means go there. if ur parents have like RM500k they could throw away for u, by all means do it. other than those two, i dont really recommend it at our current economy. part time jobs no longer could cover it, unlike during my time back then.

all in all, u cant do no wrong in choosing these two schools. it's just a matter if u can afford it or not.
Thank you for your reply sir!

Yes, I do realize the tuition fees and the cost of living can be really expensive. I'll look for means to finance myself there if I can.

But if I may ask one more question, why Bartlett for your part 2? People around me have been really discouraging of me trying to apply for Bartlett simply because they think it's an "artsy fartsy" school that doesn't do any real architecture work. In your opinion do you think this is true? Anyway, thank you for your reply again!
TSazarimy
post Apr 12 2016, 07:59 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(girugaga @ Apr 12 2016, 06:51 PM)
Thank you for your reply sir!

Yes, I do realize the tuition fees and the cost of living can be really expensive. I'll look for means to finance myself there if I can.

But if I may ask one more question, why Bartlett for your part 2? People around me have been really discouraging of me trying to apply for Bartlett simply because they think it's an "artsy fartsy" school that doesn't do any real architecture work. In your opinion do you think this is true? Anyway, thank you for your reply again!
I did my masters in UCL after my part 2. Actually most part where people see the artsy fartsy stuffs are the end product. If u r not part of the development process, its very hard to figure out the science and arguments behind the design.

Bartlett grads will usually push the envelop, testings grounds that people have not tested before. And most of the time they're already good at presentation dwgs, which led to stunning visuals. Yet if people take that at fave value and did not appreciate the thought that went through it, they'll judge it superficially.

Coming from UTM, i was very technically biased. Yet my first proper A in design was from bartlett. They have no problem when i push the technical side of the design. In fact we went through an entire programming phase to develop my design using architectural computing. It was heavy stuff, but i was supervised by world leading experts.

And getting an A from them was worth the hundreds of thousands of ringgit spent.
a.h.wan
post Apr 13 2016, 04:47 PM

hi, i just completed my part 1 from IIUM last year, have a work experience since september 2015, and am looking to continue for part 2 in local universities this september. anyone can provide some information on how to apply and when is the closing date? preferably these universities - UM, UTM, UiTM, IIUM. thank you.
TSazarimy
post Apr 13 2016, 04:53 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(a.h.wan @ Apr 13 2016, 04:47 PM)
hi, i just completed my part 1 from IIUM last year, have a work experience since september 2015, and am looking to continue for part 2 in local universities this september. anyone can provide some information on how to apply and when is the closing date? preferably these universities - UM, UTM, UiTM, IIUM. thank you.
most schools have online application now. please visit the respective postgraduate section on their websites.

since UTM is highly competitive, applicants needed to apply early. at the moment, the september intake is full, while feb 2017 is filling up fast. i cant say for the other universities, but i imagine similar competitions all over.
a.h.wan
post Apr 13 2016, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 13 2016, 04:53 PM)
most schools have online application now. please visit the respective postgraduate section on their websites.

since UTM is highly competitive, applicants needed to apply early. at the moment, the september intake is full, while feb 2017 is filling up fast. i cant say for the other universities, but i imagine similar competitions all over.
for UTM, is it closed already?
TSazarimy
post Apr 13 2016, 05:05 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(a.h.wan @ Apr 13 2016, 04:59 PM)
for UTM, is it closed already?
for sept 2016, yes.

please note that we dont usually close applications. UTM normally let the application open all year round. however, this time we had to close it due to an unusually high number of applicants, it's quite impossible to process them all.
a.h.wan
post Apr 13 2016, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 13 2016, 05:05 PM)
for sept 2016, yes.

please note that we dont usually close applications. UTM normally let the application open all year round. however, this time we had to close it due to an unusually high number of applicants, it's quite impossible to process them all.
can i know how to select feb 2017 intake? because there's no option to change the semester at the application form
TSazarimy
post Apr 13 2016, 05:43 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(a.h.wan @ Apr 13 2016, 05:16 PM)
can i know how to select feb 2017 intake? because there's no option to change the semester at the application form
When u apply, we will offer according to available place and semester.
kazasho
post Apr 14 2016, 12:53 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 12 2016, 03:11 PM)
for part 1, it would be either STPM, matrics or relevant diploma. minimum pointers usually around 2.80, and it is highly recommended that u plan to move to an architectural office.
oh sorry. what I meant for part time BArch (Part 2) at UTM Space for degree holders of BSc Arch Part 1. any specific requirements? 2.80 cgpa?
TSazarimy
post Apr 14 2016, 02:30 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 14 2016, 12:53 PM)
oh sorry. what I meant for part time BArch (Part 2) at UTM Space for degree holders of BSc Arch Part 1. any specific requirements? 2.80 cgpa?
we no longer have any intake for B.Arch (SPACE). it is currently being converted to M.Arch. i have no details on it yet. if it's the same with the full time M.Arch, it would be 3.00cgpa.
cloudy-person
post Apr 17 2016, 05:17 PM

101 posts

Hi there sir!

I applied for utm's diploma in architecture and got into the interview round I think. Waiting for the confirmation email/letter to be sent after the 24th

My dilemma is I'm a bit confused on what to do after graduating from the diploma course, I know it's still a long way ahead but I have the habit of calculating what step I'll do next.

After this diploma course, I'll be able to apply to foreign universities for my part 1 degree, right? I'm hoping to apply to UCL or something similar, will that be possible? My family is financially capable and can afford it. Since I really dont want to take alevels or stpm im thinking of this route.

Will I be able to apply to most foreign unis with my diploma or just a select few? I'm really confused about this. Most schools I see onlylist stpm etc as the entry requirement

Also as there is an interview session, I will have to prepare my portfolio as well?

Thank you!
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2016, 06:04 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cloudy-person @ Apr 17 2016, 05:17 PM)
Hi there sir!

I applied for utm's diploma in architecture and got into the interview round I think. Waiting for the confirmation  email/letter to be sent after the 24th

My dilemma is I'm a bit confused on what to do after graduating from the diploma course, I know it's still a long way ahead but I have the habit of calculating what step I'll do next.

After this diploma course, I'll be able to apply to foreign universities for my part 1 degree, right? I'm hoping to apply to UCL or something similar, will that be possible? My family is financially capable and can afford it. Since I really dont want to take alevels or stpm im thinking of this route.

Will I be able to apply to most foreign unis with my diploma or just a select few? I'm really confused about this. Most schools I see onlylist stpm etc as the entry requirement

Also as there is an interview session, I will have to prepare my portfolio as well?

Thank you!
UTM dip arch is quite well known. U can use it to apply to any school that subscribes to RIBA format. Its just the matter of which year will they allow u to start in (be it 1st or 2nd year).

Please be aware that LAM will no longer automatically accredits overseas universities by 2017. Meaning by the time u graduate, there will be a new list of accredited schools provided, and u should stick to that list if u ever wanna practice in malaysia.
cloudy-person
post Apr 17 2016, 06:17 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 17 2016, 06:04 PM)
UTM dip arch is quite well known. U can use it to apply to any school that subscribes to RIBA format. Its just the matter of which year will they allow u to start in (be it 1st or 2nd year).

Please be aware that LAM will no longer automatically accredits overseas universities by 2017. Meaning by the time u graduate, there will be a new list of accredited schools provided, and u should stick to that list if u ever wanna practice in malaysia.
Yes I am fully aware of that, my fallback if I can't do it abroad is to do it in Taylor's uni or a public uni if I can.

Sorry Just realized I wrote utm's diploma
I applied to UTMspace's*** diploma programme. ****
Are we still on the same page ~.~?

TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2016, 06:27 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cloudy-person @ Apr 17 2016, 06:17 PM)
Yes I am fully aware of that, my fallback if I can't do it abroad is to do it in Taylor's uni or a public uni if I can.

Sorry Just realized I wrote utm's diploma
I applied to UTMspace's*** diploma programme. ****
Are we still on the same page ~.~?
it's the same. the entire UTM diploma programme have been moved under UTM SPACE for better management wink.gif. u still graduate with Diploma Senibina from UTM.

171 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:57 PM