171 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

girugaga86
post May 15 2012, 11:17 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 15 2012, 10:25 PM)
not that hard. it's an interview. mostly based on works that u have done before during ur part 1. the hard part is, what is done is done. if they dont think the works u did during part 1 is not at par, then there's no way for u to change it, is there?

but not all is lost. u can always compensate the shortcomings with work experience, usually between 1-2 years. if u failed ur part 1 and dont wanna work, u could just sit for 2nd degree in any IPTS, and then sit for parts 1 and 2 together afterwards.
MUET is a general requirement for IPTA entry. it doesnt have anything to do with doing architecture, going for 2nd degree or anything. if u wanna join IPTA for the 1st time, u're gonna need MUET. that's the ministry policy.
as long as u have obtained ur part 1, u should have no problem going for part 2. however, the lack of MQA might be an issue for IPTAs. i'm not absolutely clear about this. furthermore, i cant say if LAM would be willing to accredit u with part 1 with a non-MQA accredited local degree.
I see, I was a little bit lost about MUET and MQA accreditation. Thanks for clearing that up for me!

Another thing is, I have decided to join UCSI. Dont think i'll be going to KLIUC or LKW. Taylors is out of the question, mostly because of their fees and i'm not even sure if they can retain their Part 1 after 2013. Since what they have now is just a conditional accreditation for 2years. If i am to join taylors, it'd be for their Part 1. Pretty big risk to spend so much and not knowing whether they can retain it hmm.gif but im sure they can retain it somehow.

But anyways, I cant seem to find UCSI's Bsc Architecture in MQA list of recognized courses. But i remember a friend of mine did tell me that UCSI has a provisional accreditation by MQA for their Bsc architecture. And most of his friends have no trouble passing the Part 1 exam. Although he failed the interview (portfolio tak cukup bagus) tongue.gif and was given an assignment to complete then sit for the exam again laugh.gif so is it safe to assume that UCSI architecture is recognized MQA? or should i just clarify this with MQA. Abit worried here. Maybe i just think too much sweat.gif

SUSSummerSunshine
post May 15 2012, 11:38 PM

97 posts

Hello! I am doing A Level now. Actually before SPM, I was interested in architecture and I was thinking to take Foundation in Natural and Built Environments (FNBE) and then proceed to Architecture degree...but my parents told me that architecture is a very tough job (less pay, many works etc) So I decided not to take it. sad.gif so if I finished my a level can I still go for architecture? Because last time I attended one event the lecturer said:" I wonder why do you even do a level when you want to do architecture." I was like speechless Lol.
TSazarimy
post May 16 2012, 12:09 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(girugaga86 @ May 15 2012, 03:17 PM)
I see, I was a little bit lost about MUET and MQA accreditation. Thanks for clearing that up for me!

Another thing is, I have decided to join UCSI. Dont think i'll be going to KLIUC or LKW. Taylors is out of the question, mostly because of their fees and i'm not even sure if they can retain their Part 1 after 2013. Since what they have now is just a conditional accreditation for 2years. If i am to join taylors, it'd be for their Part 1. Pretty big risk to spend so much and not knowing whether they can retain it  hmm.gif but im sure they can retain it somehow.

But anyways, I cant seem to find UCSI's Bsc Architecture in MQA list of recognized courses. But i remember a friend of mine did tell me that UCSI has a provisional accreditation by MQA for their Bsc architecture. And most of his friends have no trouble passing the Part 1 exam. Although he failed the interview (portfolio tak cukup bagus) tongue.gif and was given an assignment to complete then sit for the exam again laugh.gif so is it safe to assume that UCSI architecture is recognized MQA? or should i just clarify this with MQA. Abit worried here. Maybe i just think too much sweat.gif
i cant speak for MQA apart from what i've already told u. i think it's best u take it up to them directly for further clarification wink.gif.

QUOTE(SummerSunshine @ May 15 2012, 03:38 PM)
Hello! I am doing A Level now. Actually before SPM, I was interested in architecture and I was thinking to take Foundation in Natural and Built Environments (FNBE) and then proceed to Architecture degree...but my parents told me that architecture is a very tough job (less pay, many works etc) So I decided not to take it. sad.gif so if I finished my a level can I still go for architecture? Because last time I attended one event the lecturer said:" I wonder why do you even do a level when you want to do architecture." I was like speechless Lol.
indeed, why did u take a-levels? tongue.gif

but to answer ur question, yes, but ur options are limited to USM, UIAM and all IPTSs.
MiloAisLOLO
post May 16 2012, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(girugaga86 @ May 15 2012, 10:01 PM)
Ahh, but if include the living expenses in Aussie. It should be way out of my parents budget then. Hmmm.. Guess i'd just continue searching within Malaysia first.

and i havent obtained my Part 1 yet smile.gif i was asking what if I've already obtained my Part 1. Do i still need MUET and my course to be recognized by MQA in order to apply for my part 2 in an IPTA. Cause if possible, i'd like to join IPTA for my second degree.. But i'm curious though, how hard will the Part 1 examination be? Mr. Aza..?  hmm.gif
I see, so even if i have obtained my Part 1, i still need MUET.

And what i meant was, lets say i am to pursue my first degree in IPTS, and that IPTS has yet to be accredited by MQA/LAN. For example, UTAR or KLIUC. And after my first degree, given that i've already passed the Part 1 examination and obtained my Part 1. Do i still need my course to be recognized by MQA in order to enter IPTA even if I already have my Part 1?

As far as i concern, a Diploma holder from an IPTS who want to enter IPTA for their first degree. Their course should at least be recognized by MQA. IPTA wouldnt even bother about your application if your course is not accredited by LAN/MQA. Wonder if its the same for an IPTS' first degree graduate, who already obtained their Part 1 through external examination. Is MQA still important then? I remember when i was working as a trainee in my firm. An architect told me that once you've obtained your Part 1, the IPTA could care less about anything else. How true is this?
The tuition fees is around 8000AUD and around 3000AUD approximately per semester. That is without the international student scholarship which is -25% off that 8000 AUD.
gomes.
post May 16 2012, 04:52 AM

361 posts

Read a pattern language, a must. Im not even an architect but I read it!

http://www.amazon.com/Pattern-Language-Bui.../ref=pd_sim_b_1
girugaga86
post May 16 2012, 11:59 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 16 2012, 12:09 AM)
i cant speak for MQA apart from what i've already told u. i think it's best u take it up to them directly for further clarification wink.gif.
Yep, i guess i will just do that. Thanks again, azarimy laugh.gif

QUOTE(MiloAisLOLO @ May 16 2012, 12:45 AM)
The tuition fees is around 8000AUD and around 3000AUD approximately per semester. That is without the international student scholarship which is -25% off that 8000 AUD.
pretty good deal honestly. Are you applying there though?

QUOTE(gomes. @ May 16 2012, 04:52 AM)

how much would it cost to ship in here to Malaysia? seems like a good book to read.
MiloAisLOLO
post May 16 2012, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(girugaga86 @ May 16 2012, 11:59 AM)
Yep, i guess i will just do that. Thanks again, azarimy  laugh.gif
pretty good deal honestly. Are you applying there though?
how much would it cost to ship in here to Malaysia? seems like a good book to read.
Im studying there actually. 2nd year smile.gif feel free to ask questions about UTAS

Added on May 16, 2012, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(gomes. @ May 16 2012, 04:52 AM)

That book is actually really good. Im actually designing now based on that book.

This post has been edited by MiloAisLOLO: May 16 2012, 08:15 PM
gomes.
post May 16 2012, 09:55 PM

361 posts

Not sure, I got it when I was overseas last time. U can try browsing on amazon and see if any seller can ship it to msia, or go to MPH etc. and ask if they have the book/order for you.

QUOTE(MiloAisLOLO @ May 16 2012, 08:12 PM)
That book is actually really good. Im actually designing now based on that book.
Yeah it is, Im not even in architecture/arts (im into finance/business) and yet I read that book and found it interesting and very applicable and relevant to daily life and many other fields! Alexander actually wrote another book, The Timeless Way of Building, I havent read that book yet but I want too. But they said The Timeless Way of Building is more 'philosophical' than the pattern language haha.

This post has been edited by gomes.: May 17 2012, 12:46 AM
Stamp
post May 16 2012, 10:20 PM

4,864 posts

I checked at amazon.com, cheapest shipping is about USD10. book costs about USD38; total is USD48, about RM160.

Kinokuniya selling close to RM250, so cheaper to buy from amazon.com. http://www.kinokuniya.com/my/index.php/fbs...m=9780195019193

Im going to recommend to my niece this book.

This post has been edited by Stamp: May 16 2012, 10:23 PM
Mr.Apple
post May 16 2012, 10:24 PM

55 posts

I really2 want to study bsc in architecture but i didn't get any interview from IPTAs. I have a diploma in graphic design from SEGi with current cgpa 3.34 but i haven't finished my study yet. This is my final semester, it will end this july 2012. Is it because i haven't completed my study yet or is it because I dont have a muet?I don't know which part that Ive missed.Either the online upu application or documents that i have sent to the IPTAs. I'm so down :'(

This post has been edited by Mr.Apple: May 16 2012, 10:29 PM
TSazarimy
post May 16 2012, 10:26 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Apple @ May 16 2012, 02:24 PM)
I really2 want to study bsc in architecture but i didn't get any interview from IPTAs. I have a diploma in graphic design from SEGi with current cgpa 3.34 but i haven't finished my study yet. This is my final semester, it will end in july 2012. Is it because i haven't completed my study yet or is it because i dont have a muet? I'm so down :'(
definitely bcoz u havent finished yet. for diploma holders who havent taken MUET, they can opt to take later. i have a few students who're still taking MUET at final year.

here's the thing. u're not a diploma HOLDER. u're a diploma STUDENT from a DIFFERENT COURSE. so i'm gonna put my money on that, not MUET.
Mr.Apple
post May 16 2012, 10:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 16 2012, 10:26 PM)
definitely bcoz u havent finished yet. for diploma holders who havent taken MUET, they can opt to take later. i have a few students who're still taking MUET at final year.

here's the thing. u're not a diploma HOLDER. u're a diploma STUDENT from a DIFFERENT COURSE. so i'm gonna put my money on that, not MUET.
So, i need to finish my study first, becoming a diploma holder & apply again?
Different course? So, does that mean i cannot further in bsc archi?
Or should i go for ipts?
I need your advice.

tq mr azarimy

This post has been edited by Mr.Apple: May 16 2012, 10:35 PM
TSazarimy
post May 16 2012, 10:50 PM

10,672 posts

diploma in graphic design will be an uphill climb to compete with other diplomas that is more in-line, like interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning and so on. it's not to say that u wont be able to do it, though. i'm saying in context of competition.

u may have better luck at IPTS.
lynn0610
post May 17 2012, 08:18 PM

hi .
need some help to solve my problems here .
i am spm batch year 2010 and now currently in upper 6 bio class .
and i now have set my mind to continue my study in architecture
i just want to ask
is it alright if i continue study form 6 in BIOLOGY class .
can i get into degree in architecture right after my stpm ?
or is it better i just stop now and straight away go for diploma or foundation .
can i still apply for it using my spm result .
i do take pendidikan seni for spm .
and which route is better
diploma - degree
foundation - degree

thanks .
TSazarimy
post May 17 2012, 08:31 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(lynn0610 @ May 17 2012, 12:18 PM)
hi .
need some help to solve my problems here .
i am spm batch year 2010 and now currently in upper 6 bio class .
and i now have set my mind to continue my study in architecture
i just want to ask
is it alright if i continue study form 6 in BIOLOGY class .
can i get into degree in architecture right after my stpm ?
or is it better i just stop now and straight away go for diploma or foundation .
can i still apply for it using my spm result .
i do take pendidikan seni for spm .
and which route is better
diploma - degree
foundation - degree

thanks .
i. yes, it's perfectly alright for u to continue with bio.
ii. yes, u can continue for degree in architecture straight after STPM.
iii. now that u're already in STPM, diploma might not be a good option for u. diploma holders are finding themselves hard to get a place in reputable IPTAs, and opt to go IPTS instead.
iv. if u're opting for diploma, u can use ur SPM results.
v. degree straight away is better. u have more options, and have better prospect after u graduate. the main issue about diplomas is finding a good place for degree.
lynn0610
post May 17 2012, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 17 2012, 08:31 PM)
i. yes, it's perfectly alright for u to continue with bio.
ii. yes, u can continue for degree in architecture straight after STPM.
iii. now that u're already in STPM, diploma might not be a good option for u. diploma holders are finding themselves hard to get a place in reputable IPTAs, and opt to go IPTS instead.
iv. if u're opting for diploma, u can use ur SPM results.
v. degree straight away is better. u have more options, and have better prospect after u graduate. the main issue about diplomas is finding a good place for degree.
thanks a lot .
few more question
what if i get bad result in stpm .
what is the minimum result or CGPA i should get for stpm as i want go for architecture in the future .
which IPTA or IPTS is better
ans is it alright i stop stpm now and go for foundation ?

TSazarimy
post May 17 2012, 08:53 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(lynn0610 @ May 17 2012, 12:43 PM)
thanks a lot .
few more question
what if i get bad result in stpm .
what is the minimum result or CGPA i should get for stpm as i want go for architecture in the future .
which IPTA or IPTS is better
ans is it alright i stop stpm now and go for foundation ?
the absolute minimum to qualify is 2.00.

however, for IPTAs, mostly require at least 3.00 to stand a good chance. for example, UTM this year we're taking 3.16 the lowest. this highly depends on ur performance during interviews, though.

better or not, u should just focus on accredited schools and put that as a priority. only pick unaccredited schools as a fall back. if u can go overseas, do so by all means.

i really recommend u to finish STPM. ur options are wider after that. foundations are only available for certain schools only. and u can only continue in the same school only. for example, if u take foundation in UTAR, u can only continue in UTAR. whereas with STPM, u have the option for all IPT in malaysia as well as abroad.
cend
post May 17 2012, 09:03 PM

116 posts

So I just want to share about my findings on scholarship for UiTM Sarjana Sains Senibina, whether I should take PTPTN or getting the JPA PIDN as a 2011 SPM leaver. I called JPA, and they said:

WPP (Wang Pinjaman Pendahuluan) PTPTN can be taken. 2011 SPM leavers CAN apply for PIDN (Program Ijazah Dalam Negara) for the mentioned course if acedemic qualifications are met. PIDN application will be open FOR A WEEK, between June and August. The WPP PTPTN is advised to be taken, because in some cases, the PIDN Scholaship money may be recieved a bit later maybe like 1 January 2013 (UiTM architecture degree students register on 1 September 2012). So you can use the WPP money for the fee first. After that, the loan can be closed upon recieving the JPA's scholarship and pay it back to PTPTN.

This post has been edited by cend: May 17 2012, 09:46 PM
Stamp
post May 17 2012, 09:33 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(cend @ May 17 2012, 09:03 PM)
So I just want to share about my findings on scholarship for UiTM Sarjana Sains Senibina, whether I should take PTPTN or getting the JPA PIDN as a 2011 SPM leaver. I called JPA, and they said:

WPP (Wang Pinjaman Pendahuluan) PTPTN can be taken. 2011 SPM leavers CAN apply for PIDN (Program Ijazah Dalam Negara) for the mentioned course if acedemic qualifications are met. PIDN application will be open FOR A WEEK, between June and August. The WPP PTPTN is advised to be taken, because in some cases, the PIDN Scholaship money may be recieved a bit later maybe like 1 January 2013 (UiTM architecture degree students register on 1 November 2012). So you can use the WPP money for the fee first. After that, the loan can be closed upon recieving the JPA's scholarship and pay it back to PTPTN.
The date should be 1 SEPTEMBER 2012, not in November. You need to check. nod.gif

cend
post May 17 2012, 09:46 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ May 17 2012, 09:33 PM)
The date should be 1 SEPTEMBER 2012, not in November. You need to check.  nod.gif
Sorry, I always silap between those two months. blush.gif
edited.

171 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:34 AM