♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V1, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

lee82gx
post Apr 2 2011, 12:30 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Apr 2 2011, 12:15 PM)
Please update your result on this battery. Can last whole day? (joking)
Last month, I purchase the soft case from hongkong. It take more than 2 week to received the item.
My main reason was the external charger..lol...hopefully the batt can last 2 days!
i bought a lot of camera accy from HK in deals like this...2 weeks is considered fast dude.
I got a filter arrived in 31 calendar days. Another time I actually paid USD5 extra for registered and 'expedited' shipping but it arrived in 15 days.
lee82gx
post Apr 2 2011, 07:26 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

how long does it really take to update the FW?my phone is showing "Downloading..." for the last 10 minutes
lee82gx
post Apr 2 2011, 08:18 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 2 2011, 07:32 PM)
Does the percentage increase? Depends on ur connection speed, roughly around 150++MB need to be downloaded.
kies already finished the downloading...i'm quite sure something wrong liao wor..still phone displays :Downloading...
lee82gx
post Apr 2 2011, 08:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 2 2011, 08:26 PM)
You're now on second stage. The phone will show "Downloading...." and your pc will show another dialog box. This is transferring stage, there will be another percentage scale at the dialog box. It takes a while for this dialog box to show up but it should not be more than 30 minutes. Mine around 5 - 10 minutes.
basically the pc portion just stopped.

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Apr 2 2011, 08:27 PM)
No % ?
the % downloading at new kies windows already reach 100% and then it just closes by itself. I have the main windows from the kies thats all...

I rebooted the phone with permanent effect so i decided to skip this round of upgrade till later...now too phobia edi.
lee82gx
post Apr 4 2011, 10:03 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

trust me, give swype a try (especially at the beginning when the dictionary is rather limited) and after 2-3 days it'll be much faster than regular qwerty....its even faster than when i used a full thumb qwerty of e71 type.
lee82gx
post Apr 4 2011, 03:15 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xDragonZ @ Apr 4 2011, 03:00 PM)
same problem here ,  you try go to [C:\Program Files\Samsung\Kies\External\FirmwareUpdate\GT-S5830]
and run 'GT-S5830.exe' you will get an error.
[attachmentid=2134761]
so what did you do in the end?
lee82gx
post Apr 5 2011, 08:16 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I loaded bbc.co.uk mobile website in less than 10s via wifi using dolphin hd browser.don't know if that's considered fast but bbc website is considered quite slow compared with most webs.

update - used my work internet to upgrade the firmware, all done in less than 10 minutes.
(i disabled the anti virus btw).

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Apr 5 2011, 09:39 AM
lee82gx
post Apr 5 2011, 04:53 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

the gps transceiver / chip is very weak for this phone (compared to standalone navi devices) so even if you are near the window there is no satellite reception. You really need to be under an open sky. even standing outside next to a high wall will not do.

anyway this is quite typical of most phones except certain nokias.
lee82gx
post Apr 5 2011, 05:52 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(HateFakers @ Apr 5 2011, 05:03 PM)
Hey lee, have you received your battery which you ordered from Hong Kong? Don't forget to PM me your feedback  rclxm9.gif
will pm you, but don't leave the kettle on, maybe june lol!
lee82gx
post Apr 7 2011, 10:09 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

since bought this phone about 3 weeks ago, I have auto shut down once.
lee82gx
post Apr 8 2011, 11:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

so far after upgrading the firmware i get auto shutdown once in a day almost.
lee82gx
post Apr 10 2011, 02:54 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Apr 10 2011, 07:51 AM)
Sometime shutdown may cause by your application installed.
Can quote an example?
lee82gx
post Apr 11 2011, 02:43 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Did a factory reset on Saturday with was a PITA, but it didn't help against auto shutdowns (once in about 8-16hrs). I had some basic apps like papago, dictionary and Bibles.
Yesterday I took a call from my mom for 15mins and after she hung up the phone switched off..
Just took my Ace to Samsung service center to reflash backwards to original day 1 FW. Hopefully it behaves as before the firmware update...

lee82gx
post Apr 11 2011, 03:31 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Apr 11 2011, 03:17 PM)
why issit my battery widget somehow disappear from the home menu? i've tried 2 battery widget already....mine already rooted
install to phone only. force it or disable the move2sd type application for a while.
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2011, 08:03 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Blackthorn @ Apr 12 2011, 02:18 AM)
here it is.. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1717300&hl=

marcus2015 i bought my 16gb class10 for a rm115 lol..  now already rm150.. huhu thank god.

Added on April 12, 2011, 2:23 am
when u got ur phone rooted.. try installing apps that required root access such as titanium backup.. mybackup root.. root explorer..

Added on April 12, 2011, 2:36 am

SGA is equipped with same gpu Adreno 200 just like SE X10, Desire, Google S, etc..
and it does support OpenGL. My X10i can play smoothly except heavy loaded games such as dungeon defender a bit laggy.

so far i tested my SGA is running fine such games as dungeon hunter, shrek 3d, NFS shift, PES 2011.. no problem.
So there is no rm50 class 10 16gb micro sd right?
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2011, 01:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(kennethbta @ Apr 12 2011, 10:27 AM)
consider acer liquid metal lar...which is way better than SGA...Original RM1k only with 2 yrs warranty smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...er+liquid+metal
no disrespect but I believe there are also some problems with the Acer...I agree the price / feature ratio is extremely good at 1k though.

Just to update you guys that its 24hrs since the downgrade firmware and no shutdowns....praying for 2400 more...
lee82gx
post Apr 13 2011, 12:59 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

for me its been 48hrs since last manual reboot. wifi has never been a problem with the original firmware.

Baseband ver: S5830DXKA9 (previously having lots of problems with DXKC1).

still keeping fingers crossed.

FYI I connect to TLS enterprise level security at work and WEP basic security at home. You guys should know that the Samsung androids come with built in proxy settings that is critical for enterprise internet access. Most androids I encounter don't actually have this built in and its a hassle to enable it.

0.0529sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:10 PM