♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V1, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

HateFakers
post Apr 7 2011, 01:18 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 7 2011, 12:56 PM)
1 more thing, i'm still afraid to root so how to move app or game to sd? i know somebody already posted but i forgot which page,can somebody help pls
Settings>Applications>Manage Applications and select any apps and press ''move to sd card''..but most apps will be in the SD card already..widgets CANNOT be installed to Sd card..
HateFakers
post Apr 7 2011, 04:30 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Apr 7 2011, 04:10 PM)
guys, have you guys face any issue with the unusual responsiveness of the touch screen when usb is plugged to PC?

Everytime I tried to press anything, the homescreen edit appears or when typing message, keyboard has no response.

But after unplugged, everything is back to normal...
Its normal la..when usb is pugged the current flowing in it is unstable. Hence the unresponsiveness. Read somewhere before..cant remember sweat.gif
HateFakers
post Apr 7 2011, 05:26 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Apr 7 2011, 05:22 PM)
Does it use LED as lighting source or the screen? Cos most I've seen is using the screen brightness
It uses the LED located behind..there's an option to choose the screen too..
HateFakers
post Apr 7 2011, 06:30 PM

82 posts

Guys, my Tiny Flashlight+LED app will blink continuously like S.O.S. Is it normal?
HateFakers
post Apr 7 2011, 10:52 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Divine_angels @ Apr 7 2011, 09:13 PM)
Got my Ace finally! biggrin.gif
7.4.2011! <3

Hello family! smile.gif

Oh btw I just seem to realize, does Samsung phones come with warranty cards like how Sony Ericsson does?
And how do I settle the e-warranty thing?
Haha..managed to erase your doubts? tongue.gif ..erm go samsung malaysia's website and register it there..they'll need your IMEI number which can be found under ''phone information'' in settings.
HateFakers
post Apr 8 2011, 01:05 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Divine_angels @ Apr 7 2011, 11:17 PM)
LOL! Still goooot but decided to just take the risk and jumped on the bandwagon xD
Hopefully everything works out smoothly for this phone  laugh.gif

Ooh I see, but can I get a warranty card just in case?
Cause my friend also wants to buy the phone as a gift and warranty cards are crucial if anything happens  sweat.gif
Plus, I'd feel safer with warranty cards too! XD
The warranty card is in the box sweat.gif ..gotta mail em' to SME

Added on April 8, 2011, 1:06 am
QUOTE(lowyj @ Apr 8 2011, 12:40 AM)
Any nice game intro? o.o
Tank hero thumbup.gif

Added on April 8, 2011, 1:07 am
QUOTE(sany1424 @ Apr 8 2011, 12:34 AM)
how to actually check whether SGA fully charged or not?

the batt charging indicator stop running but if u press "clock" menu, its still not optimized 100% charged??
Download a widget called ''Battery widget'' from the marlet. It tells you when to unplug when its fully charged.

Added on April 8, 2011, 1:09 am
QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 8 2011, 12:03 AM)
sorry if its already mentioned, but i couldnt find where to check my firmware version..
Settings>About phone>Baseband version

This post has been edited by HateFakers: Apr 8 2011, 01:09 AM
HateFakers
post Apr 8 2011, 01:56 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(cherylds @ Apr 8 2011, 01:44 AM)
i had  the same experience too.. The phone autoshut down itself...    cry.gif
In my case the memory available is 1.7GB out of 2gb 

Is it a common issue with SGA ?  icon_question.gif
Hmm...update firmware d?

This post has been edited by HateFakers: Apr 8 2011, 01:57 AM
HateFakers
post Apr 8 2011, 11:08 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(panand @ Apr 8 2011, 10:04 AM)
i hv not experience auto shutdown...but only prob is battery life..it drain very fast...last night was 83% when i see today morning is 72% !! i have not used it, no wifi but sill drain 10% ... I also installed juice defender..
Try Advanced Task Killer? Mine 100% yesterday. Now still 100% when I woke up brows.gif
HateFakers
post Apr 8 2011, 11:50 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(HateFakers @ Apr 8 2011, 11:08 AM)
Try Advanced Task Killer? Mine 100% yesterday. Now still 100% when I woke up  brows.gif
Try uninstall that juice defender..and clear RAM too..and did you off packet data and data roaming? Enable 2g only..

This post has been edited by HateFakers: Apr 8 2011, 11:52 AM
HateFakers
post Apr 9 2011, 01:17 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Apr 9 2011, 05:43 AM)
Switched from K700i for 6-7 years, bought this phone using for 2 days and it's superb  laugh.gif

Could anyone recommend me a good screen protector and leather case for SGA from any shops at Kepong/KL or Lowyat forum.
No leather case at the moment but there's Epikcase+screen protector from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1438160 thumbup.gif
HateFakers
post Apr 9 2011, 06:39 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Apr 9 2011, 04:53 PM)
Will be getting perforated case for Ace next week..
U all suka apa colour? tongue.gif
Price and colours available? drool.gif

This post has been edited by HateFakers: Apr 9 2011, 06:42 PM
HateFakers
post Apr 9 2011, 11:04 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Hysteridull @ Apr 9 2011, 10:35 PM)
I actually saw this phone in a Samsung outlet in Ipoh. but they were selling it for 1299. I really like the phone and wanna buy it but 1299 seems too high :|  Should I look around more?
Try Courts in Ipoh Garden. Selling for RM999 only
HateFakers
post Apr 11 2011, 09:46 PM

82 posts

Hey JinLeon, did you buy your 8gb mem card bought from this forum? Any links?
HateFakers
post Apr 12 2011, 05:12 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Blackthorn @ Apr 12 2011, 03:16 PM)
I bought ace for my wife last weeken seems to be ok. Did not occurs any reboots or sudden sleep.. atm she is using latest version.

However any1 know how to change dockbar icon? I want to remove standard messaging icon.
You can do this by downloading LauncherPro from the market. But you need HomeSmack to use LauncherPro.
HateFakers
post Apr 12 2011, 05:23 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(jass80 @ Apr 12 2011, 02:47 AM)
what are the common problem for this phone now?

many user's complaint of "SOD" or a sudden shutdown of their ACE..(tat is wat i can see here)

how's the battery life for an average user like me ? (FB,Twtr, games & browsing once in a while)

i oredi find a good bargain (rm899) in subang area for this SGA, just wanna find out its performance (i am an android 2.1 user myself)

tks for sharing info wink.gif
Wow..RM899 is one hell of a bargain! shocking.gif . Actually the SOD is based on luck. Mine has been working like magic rclxm9.gif ..and about battery life..it was average but improved after firmware update laugh.gif

This post has been edited by HateFakers: Apr 12 2011, 05:26 PM
HateFakers
post Apr 12 2011, 09:49 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(myafdal1989 @ Apr 12 2011, 09:38 PM)
How to firmware update? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif
Just install the CD that came with the phone. Then connect your phone to the pc. If the firmware is old it will ask to update. If its updated when you bought the phone nothing will appear. Latest firmware code is DXKC1
HateFakers
post Apr 13 2011, 04:01 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 13 2011, 12:59 PM)
for me its been 48hrs since last manual reboot. wifi has never been a problem with the original firmware.

Baseband ver: S5830DXKA9 (previously having lots of problems with DXKC1).

still keeping fingers crossed.

FYI I connect  to TLS enterprise level security at work and WEP basic security at home. You guys should know that the Samsung androids come with built in proxy settings that is critical for enterprise internet access. Most androids I encounter don't actually have this built in and its a hassle to enable it.
Your battery from Hong Kong reach d? brows.gif
HateFakers
post Apr 14 2011, 05:19 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 14 2011, 04:15 PM)
hi guys,what do u use for battery widget?that doesnt drain batt la
Battery widget lor tongue.gif ..seriously..it's called Battery Widget in the market developed by geekyoup if im not mistaken smile.gif
HateFakers
post Apr 14 2011, 06:53 PM

82 posts

Battery widget doesn't drain the battery duh..
HateFakers
post Apr 14 2011, 07:14 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(yoyoman @ Apr 14 2011, 06:58 PM)
Guys,now the AP price how much?
No AP set yet la..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0214sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled