Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.2, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

terranova
post Mar 11 2011, 06:16 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Mar 11 2011, 12:48 PM)
has there been any firmware update available from panny malaysia for our V series and wonder if HDD recording with the V is possible ?
anyone with any idea ?
QUOTE(PoorMan @ Mar 11 2011, 02:29 PM)
USB HDD recording feature is removed from the Asian version.
Sorry, but just to clarify. The Hong Kong models comes standard with HD tuner and USB HDD recording. Thought I'd point that out.

terranova
post Mar 17 2011, 09:46 PM

1,161 posts

V series' panel made in JP.
terranova
post Mar 19 2011, 11:00 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 19 2011, 07:29 AM)
senq at 2nd floor KB mall. in kota bharu, kelantan.
oooo .... paskal budok kelate?
terranova
post Mar 20 2011, 10:01 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 20 2011, 08:18 PM)
my wife is.
short balik kampung trip in conjuction with the school holidays
biggrin.gif havent been back to KB for way too many years. miss the good food, esp ayam percik, nasi dagang, nasi kerabu with budu etc. thumbup.gif

sorry, OT a little. back on topic. blush.gif
terranova
post Apr 2 2011, 01:15 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 1 2011, 03:18 PM)
vincent,

The true cinema mode has the most accurate colours.

The greyscale however is not perfect. Nor is it in any mode. Its most accurate in true cinema mode. To correct the yellowish tint u would need to go into the service menu and adjust white balance to further improve.

Dynamic mode has a colour temperature of about 10K. This means that the whites are really blue tinted. Cinema (Warm) is close to 6500K, TrueCinema is closest to 6500K

BTW, the 60s was known for green tinted. The True Cinema shd not send the colour to the sixties era as its the most accurate. Anything else has a wide gamut colour that is really not close to reference. Sharpness is a mix bag. If u view only HD material, I would suggest anywhere from 0 - 20. If u watch a  lot of SD stuff, then u would need to bump up the sharpness to above 30 - 50.

There is reference and there is preference.

My comment was that if u want to bring ur display close to reference use TrueCinema, if u do not like it, its ur display, u can select whatever u feel u like.
i like this statement. thumbup.gif tongue.gif
terranova
post Jun 15 2011, 04:45 PM

1,161 posts

@ bighead - waaaa ..... shopping for new telly ar? brows.gif FIFA11 on 50" plasma is thumbup.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 15 2011, 04:53 AM)
Been playing around with the 55VT30 and the 42VT30 and am pretty impressed with it.  Black Levels are great. Calibrates very well. 10 point gamma and greyscale take some getting used to.

Pro modes don't go above 30ft/L for now. Will see if the Asian versions are the same.

The one I'm playing with is the UK version.

Also spent some time with the Samsung plasma 55D8000. Also impressive.

Calibration controls are great on both.

Will post more impressions in the couple of days.
@ anfieldude - great to hear the new VT30 series looks impressive. but i suspect that the asian sets will be a watered down variant .... as with previous years'. i hope i'll be proven wrong though.
terranova
post Jun 15 2011, 08:40 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Jun 15 2011, 07:50 PM)
@ terra - no la...tanya sahaja...
pls invite me when u get it ok? tongue.gif i'm coming back soon. whistling.gif
terranova
post Jun 27 2011, 11:30 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 26 2011, 07:20 PM)
As I wrote last week, I spent some time with this years VT30 that is released in the EU/US regions.

My impressions on the VT30.

The 55VT30 was slightly better in black levels than the 42VT30. The colour accuracy of both was excellent post calibration and it has a 3D CMS for the primary colours, a 10 point greyscale, 10 point gamma.

Post calibration gamma and greyscale was definately a step up from the VT20 series. Greyscale tracks much better (so in essence the whites are more accurate). Colour was similar to last years sets but with the full 3D CMS its slightly easier to hit better results.

Blacks....I believe the VT20 might hv a bery slight edge here. The VT20s were about 0.003-0.004ft/L. Visually the VT30 either look the same or very slightly above (might be the same as I did not take my Klein K-10 for actual measurement).

The 50Hz bug is still there but very very much reduced this year. Very difficult to catch actually. IR is much improved and I did not really see much at all compared to the VT20 that had a quite a bit of IR.

Now during test patterns I found it hard to see floating brightness or floating blacks. However, I did catch that there was flicker which seems the same as the VT20.
Thanks for the heads-up anfieldude.
terranova
post Jul 18 2011, 11:47 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(gdee @ Jul 15 2011, 02:01 PM)
Hi guys, my center channel blocks a good chunk of the bottom border of my vt20. I know there's infrared sensors around the panel borders(not sure where exactly) to sync with the 3d glasses. Just would like to know if it will affect the 3d syncing. I don't want to raise the tv more then I have to. Thanks in advance!
I have the V20 and the IR sensor is located in the center of the bottom bezel. IR is line-of-sight, so signals will be blocked by intervening objects. That's why my TV is positioned slightly above my center speaker.

As for your VT20, check your manual to see where your sensor is (that's what the manual is for!) and make sure it's not obstructed.
terranova
post Jul 21 2011, 05:38 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(LickGuy @ Jul 21 2011, 04:01 PM)
that's for preventing IR issue....
and most game i play always have static energy bar/HUD and I do play for long hours.

read some article that u need to kinda exercise the plasma phosphor during first 100-200hrs. then do calibration for optimal viewing result.
speaking from my own experience, if your games have static bars/hud/etc. for prolonged gaming sessions (e.g. >2 hours per day), you may still end up with IR of those static images even though you break-in past the 100-200 hrs mark. so to prevent IR build-up, snow wash or run the slides at regular intervals.

Added on July 21, 2011, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(Fawkes @ Jul 21 2011, 05:26 PM)
I asked about VT30 from a shop today, they say it's made from Thailand compared to VT20 which is made in Japan, just asking here to make sure if it's true.
I could be wrong, but I seriously doubt the panels are manufactured in Thailand, esp for their higher-end panels. Assembled in Thailand, maybe.

This post has been edited by terranova: Jul 21 2011, 05:40 PM
terranova
post Jul 31 2011, 12:12 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(eRicK89 @ Jul 30 2011, 07:09 PM)
And IR is?
Image retention.

0.0207sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled