Music Metal! - 18SX (NO NU METAL/ROCK), Back in Black

JonSpark
post May 21 2008, 05:35 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ May 12 2008, 02:25 AM)
i'm still stuck in my ol skool 80s thrash metal...

hope someone could bring back kreator here!!!
Kreator fan !!!! ME TOO !!!!

My fav. metal subgenres :

Heavy Metal (Black Sabbath, Helmet, RATM, Ozzy, Judas Priest, ACDC, Heaven and Hell, Sinergy, Motorhead etc.)
Black Metal (Mayhem, Burzum, DarkThrone, Bathory etc.)
Thrash Metal (old-skool Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Kreator, Sodom, Shadows Fall etc.)
Groove Metal (Pantera, DamagePlan, Mudvayne, Hellyeah, Exhorder, Machine Head, Sepultura etc.)
Doom Metal and subgenre (Black Sabbath, Saint Vitus, Thergothon, My Dying Bride etc.)
Drone Metal and subgenre (Sunn O))), Earth, Boris, Funeral etc.)
Death Metal and subgenre (Arch Enemy, Deicide, Death, Cannibal Corpse etc.)
Metalcore (Killswitch Engage, Trivium, old A7X, Hatebreed, early UnderOATH etc.)
Power Metal (Children Of Bodom, DragonForce, Hypocrisy, Arthemesia, Dimmu Borgir, Eternal Tears Of Sorrow etc.)
Progressive Metal/Rock (Dream Theater, Liquid Tension Experiment, Opeth, Orphaned Land etc)
Symphonic Metal (Nightwish, Within Temptation, Paradise Lost etc.)
Gothic Metal/Rock (Lacuna Coil (lead female singer very hot) etc.)
Dance/Industrial Metal (Static-X, Ministry, Fear Factory, Divine Heresy, Rammstein, Strapping Young Lads etc.)

JonSpark
post May 21 2008, 10:47 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ May 21 2008, 06:57 PM)
progressive metal - u should really try Everygrey...awesome awesome band...
DL some of their songs sweat.gif , they sound like hippie version of dream theater and porcupine tree
JonSpark
post Jun 1 2008, 03:33 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Its Kirk, not Kurt. For a minute I thought you're refering to Nirvana (hate that band)
JonSpark
post Jul 14 2008, 09:42 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(perverdz @ Jun 22 2008, 02:19 PM)
have you check out Amon Amarth? 
they're awesomeeee...!
kenot tahan them, especially the vocalist (he sounds too excited blink.gif )
JonSpark
post Jul 15 2008, 12:51 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(akustuk @ Jul 15 2008, 11:44 AM)
progressive metal can enter tis room?...hohohoh...moving from ganaz one to progressive...smile.gif....visit my siggy....
*gasp* Liquid Tension Experiment awesome !!! but they're more rock than metal laugh.gif
JonSpark
post Jul 18 2008, 12:37 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jul 17 2008, 02:19 AM)
biggrin.gif well, metalcore is not really metal..but there have been lots of metalcore bands discussed here..i guess all types of metal musics should be allowed here
then Nu Metal should be allowed here, dang ! sad.gif

btw, anyone here heard of ArthemesiA ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arthemesia
JonSpark
post Jul 22 2008, 04:37 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(ristikol @ Jul 22 2008, 10:42 AM)
thanx..
btw,what diff nu metal and metalcore?
Nu metal (sometimes named new metal or nĂ¼ metal) is a musical genre that emerged in the mid 1990s which fuses influences from grunge and alternative metal with funk music, hip hop and various heavy metal genres, such as Thrash metal, groove metal and Industrial metal.

Nu metal music emphasizes mood, rhythm, and texture over melody. Often, nu metal songs use rhythmic, syncopated riffs played on distorted electric guitars with strings detuned to lower pitches to create a dark and thick sound.

Metalcore is a fusion genre that incorporates elements of the hardcore punk and heavy metal genres. The term is a portmanteau of heavy metal and hardcore punk. While the term appears to have taken on its current meaning in the late 1990s (to describe Earth Crisis), the rudiments of the genre were established as early as 1989 in the work of Integrity. Metalcore is distinguished from other punk metal fusions by its emphasis on breakdown slower, intense passages conducive to moshing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nu_Metal
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metalcore

Thank you Wiki icon_rolleyes.gif

JonSpark
post Jul 23 2008, 11:46 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Jul 23 2008, 06:03 AM)
wow, a metal thread in lowyat.net, awesome.

i use to be a fan of morbid angel, death, control denied, impiety, a lil megadeth, tesseract, mesuggah, sikth and a few Malaysian metal bands. but now slowing down already, getting old haha. but still listening to good old stuff from metallica, slayer, dream theater ( this is a must!).

anyone looking forwards to metallica upcoming album? producer rick Rubin, should be good right smile.gif
Looking forward to it ! icon_rolleyes.gif Death Is Not The End = not bad, 'cept for the cheessy solo
JonSpark
post Jul 26 2008, 02:59 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Jul 26 2008, 04:46 AM)
I'm rooting for TOOL. The second best live set I've ever seen. Killswitch currently tops it with their set at Soundwave Festival earlier this year.
Their latest album sux cry.gif
JonSpark
post Jul 29 2008, 06:30 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(pauper @ Jul 29 2008, 02:50 PM)
for latest metal music information, pertama complex and campbell should be the best place.

my fav is Epica, Elis, Midnatsoll !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
got what there ?
JonSpark
post Jul 29 2008, 08:29 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(pauper @ Jul 29 2008, 07:45 PM)
all type of metal band.
original and imported stuff.

band that tower records will not find.
damn, KL is great. sad.gif
JonSpark
post Jul 31 2008, 02:58 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(venzo @ Jul 30 2008, 08:24 PM)
Any Metallica fans here? I'm talking about the old school Metallica. Before the load reload stuffs. The new Metallica kinda suck.  tongue.gif
here here wave.gif Ride The Lightning and Master Of Puppets rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(silbii @ Jul 31 2008, 12:57 AM)
trivium is the what the 'new' metallica should have become...hehe
no no no, Trivium is trying to hard to be a 'Metallica'. Ascendancy is the only Trivium album that I like. wink.gif
JonSpark
post Jul 31 2008, 06:41 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Jul 31 2008, 05:32 PM)
i'm very ol skool (not so young either...30++ already...hehe) and over the last 10 years, i was only stuck to my ol skool thrash roots...but i dunno why, recently i'm beginning to appreciate more of all these new bands like A7x and BMFV and trivium...the seem to have revived the spirit of the ol skool...so hell yeah, they have my vote

and i dont think their that nu metal...their guitar works are quite awesome...but hey, who am i to comment rite?  biggrin.gif
BMFV ? they revive old skool headbangin ? shocking.gif unsure.gif u sure bro ?
JonSpark
post Aug 1 2008, 12:00 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Aug 1 2008, 08:01 AM)
I'm assuming that BFMV is Bullet For My Valentine? If so, then they have no place to be in a metal thread.

The elitist in me screams agony when I see such bands mentioned in the same breath as Slayer, Metallica, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden.

Having nice melodies, nice riffs, nice drumming, nice whatever doesn't make it metal. Metal is so much more than just teenage angst.
thumbup.gif this is sooo true !! BFMV iz zeh emo band
JonSpark
post Aug 1 2008, 06:00 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Aug 1 2008, 02:08 PM)
all hail black sabbath!
need to renew my vows to the satan. need to headbang to 'N.I.B.' later. its been a while...
burzum ftw !! icon_rolleyes.gif
JonSpark
post Aug 4 2008, 03:59 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Aug 3 2008, 09:55 PM)
i know this thread is all about metal, but i beg permission to ask about something else here smile.gif  smile.gif

i am now looking for a nice headphone mainly for music and gaming..i wanna ask here bcoz all people here have music interest like me: METAL rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif so i want fellow metalheads to recommend new headsets for me that is suitable to hear hard rock musics nod.gif  nod.gif

anyone can help?

thx smile.gif
SOMIC CD-2688M.V

its what im using right now

or

LIVe HM054

for my iPod cuz the original one could not tahan metal, rosak laugh.gif
JonSpark
post Aug 5 2008, 04:31 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Aug 5 2008, 04:25 PM)
what mtv is giving is trash

what we're seeking is thrash smile.gif
h for heavy icon_rolleyes.gif
JonSpark
post Aug 7 2008, 02:56 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Aug 6 2008, 03:27 PM)
Oh, you want a challenging listen? Try some Gorguts.
C'mon lah, metal is just music doh.gif

Go listen to some underground funeral doom stuff, challenge yourself not to fall asleep thumbup.gif
JonSpark
post Aug 22 2008, 12:21 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Im lazy to check back my post, but there's one guy who intro'ed to a band called Imperanon.

Bro, thank you. notworthy.gif
JonSpark
post Aug 24 2008, 06:47 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(tang90 @ Aug 23 2008, 11:05 PM)
L.O.G is good, COB too..

i have all L.O.G albums including their Burn the priest(LOG old name).
I used to listened to LOG b4, not my kind of tea now. sweat.gif

0.0518sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:49 PM