Do they do it on a ported/sealed box and why?
Also noticed that some people put steel rings in the sub box and cover em up with fibreglass for a 'harder' surface.
Whats the reason behind all this? Kindly enlighten me sifus
thanks!
Insulate Subwoofer Encloure, Necessary?
Mar 8 2011, 12:36 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
158 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Is it necessary to insulate your subwoofer enclosure with 'superlon', dynamat's speaker xorb products, soft materials, polyfills?
Do they do it on a ported/sealed box and why? Also noticed that some people put steel rings in the sub box and cover em up with fibreglass for a 'harder' surface. Whats the reason behind all this? Kindly enlighten me sifus thanks! |
Mar 8 2011, 03:24 PM
3 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Is it necessary to insulate your subwoofer enclosure with 'superlon', dynamat's speaker xorb products, soft materials, polyfills? - superlon is not for sub box, its for sound dampening in other parts of the car - speaker xorb is also for behind the speaker at the door - polyfills is the correct item, but its not a MUST, it is a MUST TRY.....so then u can decide which sounds better for you Do they do it on a ported/sealed box and why? -usually only in sealed boxes. it fools the sub thinkin it is in a smaller box and it will work harder, more efficiently, sounds like you have a larger box Also noticed that some people put steel rings in the sub box and cover em up with fibreglass for a 'harder' surface. - ive never seen that, why put a steel ring on a wooden box, the base is still wood even if the ring is steel... - what i usually see is steel ring behind speakers mounted in the doors, instead of wooden rings, thats for stiffer mounting, as wood will be softer from moisture collected over the years due to rainwater in the door |
Mar 8 2011, 03:57 PM
Cheers zenn
saw some people using the steel rings in a box before. So where to get polyfil? Xorb on the back of the wooden box doesnt work like polyfill? |
Mar 8 2011, 09:33 PM
721 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Malaysia | Singapore |
the easiest source for polyfills is pillows... you can either buy a pillow cut it and get the polyfills inside... or but the polyfills before they make them into pillows...
the dyna xorb... as far as i know... it doesnt fool the sub... polyfills does... |
Mar 8 2011, 11:13 PM
189 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
polyfill should be ur last thing to do.
set up the system 1st. tune it and allow the system to run it in for at least 50hrs-100hrs. then tune it again and again and again. if still not satisfied with the sub-bass then try polyfill. the amount being used will makes a diff too. so weigh the polyfill and increase it bit by bit(tweaking stage) takes time bro.. but its hobby!! have fun... Added on March 8, 2011, 11:18 pmanother alternative to tweaking: - build 5 different enclosure size(sealed/ported) you'll be amaze how ur sub can sound soo... different the results is dramatic difference!! tweaking can takes up a lot of resources + time have fun.. This post has been edited by carcrazy: Mar 8 2011, 11:18 PM |
Mar 9 2011, 12:02 PM
212 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Land of Petaling Jaya |
yea, the way to maximize your subwoofer is by trying different enclosures till you get the right (optimum) one.
stuffing your subwoofer enclosure with the right amount of polyester fiber can make your enclosure behave like the volume is bigger than it really is. this can be useful if the volume of the enclosure you've built turns out to be a hair shy of the cubic feet volume recommended for your subwoofer. however, if your enclosure is much smaller (>30%) than recommended, do not expect the polyfill to do magic. how much stuffing to use depends on experimenting. adding polyester fiber stuffing to any enclosure is a pretty cheap way to clean up your bass by minimizing unwanted box resonances. however, i find that over-stuffing can cause subs to sound a tad lazy because the stuffing actually slows down the waves. if used correctly it should give you slightly lower bass and louder too. the general rule is if you have a really small enclosure, try polyfill but if you enclosure is large you might be better off without it. |
Mar 9 2011, 04:19 PM
3 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
polyfill available at hypermarkets i think, go to pilow section... thay sell the pillow refills, but dont go buy duck feather refill laaa, hehehe... material is polyester or something
Mar 9 2011, 04:44 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Mar 9 2011, 10:18 PM
1,406 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Everywhere |
the steel rings are probably grills. Fiberglass can be use to stiffen all sides of the sub box to make it strong and rigid
Mar 10 2011, 12:12 AM
bafukie : Why would one wanna harden, and one more oppose by putting polyfills? Isnt it contrdicting
Mar 10 2011, 12:21 AM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
sub enclosure are build to solid and rigid to withstand the vibration and keep the pressure inside. A solid wall can make the sub perform better than a flex wall. Maybe u come out with "VVT" sub enclosure which change sizes when play for a smooth freq response. And you will be the genius..
Polyfill is just something u fill inside to trick the sub as it's inside a larger box by slowing down the air movement. it doesn't related to rigidity of the enclosure. |
Mar 10 2011, 12:28 AM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
if put Polyfill inside sub box , when bass didin't make Polyfill suck into woofer coin and make it jam ??
Mar 10 2011, 12:48 AM
it depend on wat type of subwoofer u use..normal sub will have spider to protect from internal dust...which also protected from the polyfill.....if u use sub like peerless, then it is advisable u dun split ur polyfill into small pieces.....or maybe u might use a thin netting to cover the rear of the sub from polyfill. As long as it doesn't block the air press from the sub cone to the enclosure, netting is fine.
at the end of the day, polyfill can only reduce the air movement speed. there's still better material to use with greater result at same price. |
Mar 10 2011, 12:48 PM
VVT =.=! Plus one lol.
So end of the day polyfill would be suitable for people who waits a bigger 'space' with a small box. So, slow the air movement, thus the frequency of the bass reaches the walls at a later rate, hence a bigger box Your explanation is always easy to understand howie |
Mar 10 2011, 01:55 PM
sometimes, layman terms are better for our community...:>
Mar 17 2011, 09:28 PM
164 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: MKZ/MYY |
My friend uses poly fill for his Rockford Fosgate P3 because he uses a sealed box.Don't know what the different.
Mar 20 2011, 11:17 PM
this was what i was referring to in regards to insulating the sub box :
http://www.dynamat.com/products_car_audio_dynaxorb.html |
Mar 21 2011, 09:26 AM
1,406 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Everywhere |
i rather use it for midbass
Mar 21 2011, 09:36 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Mar 21 2011, 04:07 PM
unless u heard the sub sing with echo, then back wave elimination are needed. :>
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:28 AM |