PROTON SAGA BLM & FL CLUB V12, welcome FL to the family
zeone
May 12 2011, 10:05 PM
Hi! Can some1 with tech knowledge pls kindly explain why BLMs & FLs kenot use Fully-Synthetic engine oils? Fr my limited know-how, any engine can use such good quality oils as long as they comply with approved ratings.
Pls don't juz give opinions unless based on technically-sound reasons. Sincere apologies but not meant to offend anyone. Juz wanna get hard FACTS! TQ.
zeone
May 15 2011, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(rajivshm @ May 15 2011, 11:42 AM) when i went to tint my car, the salesman recommended me a protection lock, he said if put a ruler inside the rubber between the side window n door, can unlock the door. he was asking me to put someting for rm180 to protect that. is this true? is proton really stupid to not look at that hole ?? can anyone advice me? thankss My ole 1992 PS 1.5I Auto oledi got " L-shaped" metal pieces as standard fittings on all 4 door locks to prevent such use of rulers, etc to open them! However, dunno abt new PS FL models tho...can someone, who has opened their door trimmings and had a good look at the locking mechanism, pls comment/confirm if such " L-shaped" metal pieces are still part of the lock area behind the door handles? TQ on behalf of all FL owners & owners 2b!! This post has been edited by zeone: May 15 2011, 12:29 PM
zeone
May 16 2011, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(vseehua @ May 16 2011, 04:33 PM) Always chk specs of car b4 yu buy it lo. Then yu'll kno wat yu're gettin AND also wat yu're NOT getting for yr $$$$!!!
zeone
May 16 2011, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 16 2011, 06:25 PM) lucky got Lotus Handling to bring the car back  Lotus Handling? For the cheapest of the lot under the Proton umbrella? Dun think so...  Feel it's more of LUCK! And probably the Driver's " karma"? Haha! And of course, gracious thanks to the " Guy" upstairs!! This post has been edited by zeone: May 16 2011, 06:41 PM
zeone
May 16 2011, 06:47 PM
Talking abt Abs, are Monroe Sensatrac available for PS BLMs & FLs? I've been using them since 1992 for my ole PS 1.5I Auto and they've performed well & very lasting!! Any1 knows or hv installed them in their BLM or FL? TQ in adv. Added on May 16, 2011, 6:52 pmQUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 16 2011, 06:40 PM) that being said, last sat tak jadi check my abs :/ Added on May 16, 2011, 6:41 pmI've driven it up and down Genting. No complaints. Sure, the stock spring + absorbers may be a bit on the soft side, but handling is still superb Ok, bro...will take yr word for it! Me new owner of PS FL nia...  Hope me not hv 2depend on PS's so-called "Lotus Handling" to save me one day no... I juz kenot help remembering wat our British Auto commenters said abt Lotus features in the Savvy... This post has been edited by zeone: May 16 2011, 06:52 PM
zeone
May 17 2011, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ May 17 2011, 12:15 AM) A few months ago, I also experienced a similar situation. I was talking to my dad when a Kelisa in front suddenly stopped. It was a combination of luck, handling and some skill  that I managed to bring the car to a standstill from 60kph and swerve to avoid the car in front. Slammed on the brake, lock the front wheels and probably wet myself haha. It was terrifying to see the bumper of the car in front getting closer and closer and closer. More testimonies to "Lotus Handling" of our PS BLMs & FLs...Guess those who bought PS & similar can count their blessings!! Cheap BUT Good? And it's there when yu need it?
zeone
May 17 2011, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 08:15 PM) Anyone need Saga BLM car air cond filter...just let me know... RM 21 lowest in LYN Hi! Is filter same for FL & easy to DIY install? Any DIY guide eg step by step instructions? Any stated average lifespan of use? Replace after abt ?? Km use? TQ. This post has been edited by zeone: May 17 2011, 08:22 PM
zeone
May 17 2011, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 17 2011, 08:58 PM) any guide to install it? is it the filter inside the glove If changing filter same as doing so for room air-con filter, then I 'd buy w/o any hesitation wan. However, if I hv 2b a contortionist or need 2modify parts, etc 2b able 2do so, then sorry la. Better 2keep to orig setup liao. True?
zeone
May 17 2011, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 08:15 PM) Anyone need Saga BLM car air cond filter...just let me know... RM 21 lowest in LYN Cabin filter is very important to block all the bad air and odor, so just buy and try it. SAMHOW... Can yu pls ans our questions so that we can decide? Is there a link/sp thread where we can get info & mayb view pics of item? TQ in adv. Added on May 17, 2011, 9:41 pmOh! Yu oledi answered 1 question! How abt a guide to replace it? And if we wanna order? Pls supply details eg payment mode, despatch via PosLaju charges, etc. TQ. This post has been edited by zeone: May 17 2011, 09:44 PM
zeone
May 17 2011, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 17 2011, 09:46 PM) if it is..thn i think i know how is it remove the cap the replace the filter thn place back the cap? "The cap"?? Pics alwaz worth a thousand words wan.  Yu r really FAST la!! Saw pics oledi...yup, looks easy enuf! TQ!  Now can we hv purchase/ payment/ delivery info, pls? This post has been edited by zeone: May 17 2011, 09:55 PM
zeone
May 17 2011, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 09:50 PM) Thanks for further enquirry, my product is actually paper filter, so it filter dust better than the washable one Any pic of yr filter? TQ.
zeone
May 17 2011, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 10:06 PM) I mean the product yu're selling...sorry...  Wat abt payment, etc info?
zeone
May 18 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 10:44 PM) Sorry i try upload several times but still failed. payment: maybank2u this is my maybank acc 114085973879 how pek lean poslaju: rm 5 regis postage: rm 3 for further info, pls do visit this thread:= http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...AIR+COND+FILTERTks a meg 4info. Am outstation now. Seriously considering trying out 1pc as soon as me home agin...  Added on May 18, 2011, 12:00 pmQUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 17 2011, 10:46 PM) So which one is for BLMs? Either one? This post has been edited by zeone: May 18 2011, 12:00 PM
zeone
May 18 2011, 10:06 PM
No Monroe's available for BLMs yet?? Sensatrac? Anyone know?Wld b gud, reliable & long-lastng lo... This post has been edited by zeone: May 18 2011, 10:09 PM
zeone
May 19 2011, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(corallinkz @ May 19 2011, 08:15 PM) guys anyone know how to put the light in BML automatic gear.phew luckly i didnt bang the wall because i accidently pijak on minyak while looking for gear. fffuccker la proton didnt put light on it, or my blm no light at it? anyone can clarify this? Yup, the gear yu're in shown in centre of meter cluster ie between RPM counter & Speedo. Not need 2look at gear shift area wan.
zeone
May 21 2011, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 20 2011, 10:57 PM) I bet MOST of you guys WILL get jealous » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Juz saw same pic in review of S16 Aussie model! Looks like Msians still paying MORE $$$$ for own cars than foreigners pay! And worst of all, we're getting MUCH MUCH LESS!!! What else can Msians think & feel abt such a philosophy? YU tell me!!!!!
zeone
May 23 2011, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(SAMHOW @ May 17 2011, 09:49 PM) Even though, the saga blm comes with washable filter, but it is not a good filteration cause the holes on the filter is too big then a lot of dust cant be filtered out Hi... Me just made FT Online 2yr M2U acct for 1 pc of BLM aircon filter. Am looking forward to getting it, installing it and feeling the difference...ASAP, of course!  Added on May 23, 2011, 6:02 pmQUOTE(R'des @ May 7 2011, 02:50 PM) anyone know how to remove the black plastic 'rulers' sticked at bottom part of blm doors ? got 4... Got meh? Dun see any on my FL tho...mayb only pre-FL? Can anyone confirm? This post has been edited by zeone: May 23 2011, 06:02 PM
zeone
May 23 2011, 10:12 PM
My radio ok...  Usual vol in town/city driving...abt 8 ok liao ie pleasant listening. On PLUS, need to turn up to abt 12, can hear clearly enuf. Bass set to 1 notch below max.  ps. my BLM = 1.3 FL Exec Auto with front & rear speakers. Fader set at 0. This post has been edited by zeone: May 23 2011, 10:14 PM
zeone
May 24 2011, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 24 2011, 02:03 AM) yup...engine oil price go up already but u still can get RM99 in sabah i though west malaysia is always cheaper rear brake leaking? mine no leaking but i give up on the handbrake already that day i change the abs....i tried go spin the tyre after they change left one is locked....right side can freely spin that means it's eating 1 side...right side like the SA said no solution unless change to disc brake so i just give up asking them fixing it Rear brake one side jammed? Juz change new brake cylinder then ok liao...my 2 sen.  Btw if not wrong, Helix Full Syn oil 10w40 only RM139 @Tesco!! This post has been edited by zeone: May 24 2011, 11:09 AM
zeone
May 25 2011, 05:04 PM
In the process of my trying to find out how to change the cabin aircon filter, I was faced with 2 problems :
1. How to disengage the glovebox so that it drops out of the way & exposes the insides where the aircon filter box is located.
Note : For my old Saga 1.5I Megavalve Auto, it was just a simple matter of pushing the glovebox "stop pcs" in the opp direction and they can be removed. This allowed the glovebox to hang down. In the PS FL now, the tabs for the glovebox "stops" are fixed!!
2. How to open the "door"/flap of the filter box to gain access to the filter proper so that the original filter can be removed and the replacement filter can be inserted...
Note : The clip on the right hand side of the filter box to open its front cover is NOT there!
Can anyone with above experience pls help to clarify? BTW fyi the aircon system installed in my PS FL 1.3 Exec Auto is a Sanden system.
TQ very much in adv.
ps. Yup, I also thought BLMs & FLs are the same except fot the external facelift & a few additions. However, as I poke arnd, I've found that there are many details which are now different! Probably maybe becoz of different vendors now supplying the parts? Like previously for the ole Sagas, different vendors were supplying the parts for different level models eg a better quality supplier of power windows were for only the top of the range Sagas at that time! Believe it!!
This post has been edited by zeone: May 25 2011, 05:13 PM