178 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v4

shenngau
post Jun 20 2012, 06:01 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jun 20 2012, 04:36 PM)
just out of curiousity, for all those in IT field, how long did it take for you to get out of 2k zone?

means salary RM2000 -> RM2999 (basic only)

asking this because a lot of housing agent advise me "with your salary cant get the loan. bank see basic only as commission is not stable"
If a fresh graduate with degree holder n work in klang valley, then shouldnt get below 2k... unless ur skills very poor..

lovebattery
post Jun 20 2012, 07:09 PM

208 posts

i have a case study for ur evaluation:

field: oil & gas (downstream)
experience: 3 yrs.
salary: RM 4500/mth + contractual bonus 2 mths. (14 mths salary/yr)
allowance: RM 200

how do u rate this salary?

a. underpaid?
b. market rate?
c. overpaid?

ur opinions r much appreciated.
cybermaster98
post Jun 20 2012, 07:26 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lovebattery @ Jun 20 2012, 07:09 PM)

a. underpaid?
b. market rate?
c. overpaid?

Market rate or maybe even above average.
conqu3ror
post Jun 20 2012, 07:46 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(lovebattery @ Jun 20 2012, 07:09 PM)

a. underpaid?
b. market rate?
c. overpaid?

From years of experience & position, definitely is over paid. But sometime also depends on your job load & responsibilities.

Company may paid you higher salary, but require you to do 1.5 or 2 people work then you require to OT everyday & even work during weekend.
Just like some bank, they offer very attractive paid & huge bonuses. But your job are so stress & never ever finish.

All about give and take.

lovebattery
post Jun 20 2012, 08:03 PM

208 posts

thanks cybermaster98 for ur input.

really appreciate it.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:26 PM)
Market rate or maybe even above average.

Added on June 20, 2012, 8:06 pmthanks 4 ur input conqu3ror.

really appreciate it.

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 20 2012, 07:46 PM)
From years of experience & position, definitely is over paid. But sometime also depends on your job load & responsibilities.

Company may paid you higher salary, but require you to do 1.5 or 2 people work then you require to OT everyday & even work during weekend.
Just like some bank, they offer very attractive paid & huge bonuses. But your job are so stress & never ever finish.

All about give and take.
This post has been edited by lovebattery: Jun 20 2012, 08:06 PM
Underhill
post Jun 20 2012, 11:03 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

Scanning through this thread, the salary range is shockingly low. I don't believe it's the reality nor can be taken as a valid comparison. At least gauging from my industry (telecommunication), me and fellow colleagues get paid better. Assuming, LWN has many Chinese posters, aren't you guys 'supposed' to be well after the urban poverty-line (double of it at least)? Something is not right.

This post has been edited by Underhill: Jun 20 2012, 11:07 PM
IBank BeanBag
post Jun 20 2012, 11:14 PM

619 posts

y dun u share ur industry average?
AppleOfMyEye
post Jun 21 2012, 07:52 AM

45 posts

age 26 earning RM3.3k gross, working as IT System Engineer, dealing with onsite support within internal staffs, as well as company server support (mainly IIS, DNS)

is it underpaid or reasonable

my previous job was rm2.9k gross, my total experience since graduation is less than 1.5 years
cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2012, 09:01 AM

4,440 posts

We cannot compare salaries using merely its face value. There are many factors which determine salary even within the same industry. Here are the 10 most common criteria:

1) Location (local, outstation, overseas, remote regions, conflict zones, office based, site based, etc)
2) Work scope and responsibilities
3) Working hours / number of working days
4) Authority limits
5) Size of downline staff team / direct reports (management positions)
6) Travel requirements
7) Job coverage area (local, regional, international, etc)
8) Experience record
9) Records of achievements / results (management positions, financial, etc)
10) Professional certifications / memberships in recognised professional bodies

There are also other criterias which may be taken into consideration according to the company's needs.
AppleOfMyEye
post Jun 21 2012, 10:34 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 21 2012, 09:01 AM)
We cannot compare salaries using merely its face value. There are many factors which determine salary even within the same industry. Here are the 10 most common criteria:

1) Location (local, outstation, overseas, remote regions, conflict zones, office based, site based, etc)
2) Work scope and responsibilities
3) Working hours / number of working days
4) Authority limits
5) Size of downline staff team / direct reports (management positions)
6) Travel requirements
7) Job coverage area (local, regional, international, etc)
8) Experience record
9) Records of achievements / results (management positions, financial, etc)
10) Professional certifications / memberships in recognised professional bodies

There are also other criterias which may be taken into consideration according to the company's needs.
location-local small office, no travelling needed as all servers can use remote access, free parking provided

scope- less than 200 staffs, a few company servers, and several web servers hosted in vendor datacenter

5 working days, 9-6pm, always leave on time, sometimes come in abit late too due to wake up late, jam, etc

due to some servers are hosting the website, so the impact could be significant as the site could be down or perform slowly

I am degree holder in Computer engineering, and MCITP certified. My previous job was a helpdesk.

This post has been edited by AppleOfMyEye: Jun 21 2012, 10:41 AM
iastate
post Jun 21 2012, 11:24 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(iastate @ Jun 12 2012, 11:57 AM)
Job Title : Software Consultant (not SAP)
Job Description : Implement software for clients - get info and data from clients, do programming work, and implement software
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : Local public-listed company
Industry : Software
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Exec
Experience before joining : 2 years in other industry (new field for me)
Salary : RM 3300
Benefits : Just normal medical and insurance coverage (no dental and vision); no bonus unless declared

What do you guys think?
No input from any of you? sad.gif
shenngau
post Jun 21 2012, 12:08 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(iastate @ Jun 21 2012, 11:24 AM)
No input from any of you?  sad.gif
Just share what I know, no offense.

Last year I was Technical Consultant with 3 yrs exp and my job scope was your job scope + develops software.
I only get RM3800. So if you are working a company like me, then I think it is not underpaid. tongue.gif

Some consultant firms offers RM3.8k or above to fresh graduates (mostly 1st class/2nd Upper students). If u think u r better than those consultants in consulting firms. Then u definitely should get higher salary.

karma888
post Jun 21 2012, 01:24 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Jun 20 2012, 03:27 PM)
I wish to get another job now but there are a lot of factors to be considered too. Like time management since im doing a part time studies while working. It's gonna take a hell on me if I shift to another job. Just wanna rant abit here because expenses all up but salary remained frozen  sweat.gif
Yeah, mainly our salary freeze because of securing our job position for the next 4-5 years. It's a global freeze actually so it's fair in the point of a MNC (everyone suffers and have good times together). That's why I wanna do a simple survey of how badly MNC are affected, mainly UK/Europe based.
dun get so stress out. perhaps, i can buy u a drink to cheer u up? smile.gif
stanum
post Jun 21 2012, 01:58 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

QUOTE(AppleOfMyEye @ Jun 21 2012, 10:34 AM)
location-local small office, no travelling needed as all servers can use remote access, free parking provided

scope- less than 200 staffs, a few company servers, and several web servers hosted in vendor datacenter

5 working days,  9-6pm, always leave on time, sometimes come in abit late too due to wake up late, jam, etc

due to some servers are hosting the website, so the impact could be significant as the site could be down or perform slowly

I am degree holder in Computer engineering, and MCITP certified. My previous job was a helpdesk.
I intrigued by the fact you have MCITP Certification, can you share which specialization you for MCITP Cert? I believe that most of MCITP Cert earned very well, have you tried applying another company which you can utilized your MCITP cert to get into a better and well paid job.

p/s: I'm very interested to pursue my professional certification until MCITP because industries will much more preferred candidates who earned Professional cert and along with university degree for better career journey.

Added on June 21, 2012, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(iastate @ Jun 21 2012, 11:24 AM)
No input from any of you?  sad.gif
You are from other field, which mean your current job are relatively new ( how long you in the current company?). Based on my experience, switching to another field and earned RM3300 are quite good. Considered yourself as fresh grad for this kind of field and earned RM3300 as your 1st job. I think you are fairly paid or most probably over paid tongue.gif.

Build you skills and grab as much as knowledge as you can, you are young ( me older 1 year, haha ), get professional certification and be aggressive with your tasks, don't set your mind to just do what you are instruct to do, be wider and people will recognized your hard work and reward your with much better perks. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stanum: Jun 21 2012, 02:09 PM
AppleOfMyEye
post Jun 21 2012, 03:10 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jun 21 2012, 01:58 PM)
I intrigued by the fact you have MCITP Certification, can you share which specialization you for MCITP Cert? I believe that most of MCITP Cert earned very well, have you tried applying another company which you can utilized your MCITP cert to get into a better and well paid job.

p/s: I'm very interested to pursue my professional certification until MCITP because industries will much more preferred candidates who earned Professional cert and along with university degree for better career journey.

my MCITP is in Server Administrator, only need to pass 2 MCTS and one Pro exam, it is not hard at all

still, people will see your experience to determine how much you re worth for

these certs only entitle you an entry ticket into the job field you desired

This post has been edited by AppleOfMyEye: Jun 21 2012, 03:11 PM
Liuism
post Jun 21 2012, 05:12 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:50 PM)
Well not sure about IT salaries but yes banks take your basic salary into consideration. Sometimes they dont even consider fixed allowances.
i believe many company practices this..
iastate
post Jun 21 2012, 07:08 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jun 21 2012, 01:58 PM)
You are from other field, which mean your current job are relatively new ( how long you in the current company?). Based on my experience, switching to another field and earned RM3300 are quite good. Considered yourself as fresh grad for this kind of field and earned RM3300 as your 1st job. I think you are fairly paid or most probably over paid tongue.gif.

Build you skills and grab as much as knowledge as you can, you are young ( me older 1 year, haha ), get professional certification and be aggressive with your tasks, don't set your mind to just do what you are instruct to do, be wider and people will recognized your hard work and reward your with much better perks.  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the advice! I will definitely do my best to acquire the skills necessary to succeed in this field.

Added on June 21, 2012, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(shenngau @ Jun 21 2012, 12:08 PM)
Just share what I know, no offense.

Last year I was Technical Consultant with 3 yrs exp and my job scope was your job scope + develops software.
I only get RM3800. So if you are working a company like me, then I think it is not underpaid.  tongue.gif

Some consultant firms offers RM3.8k or above to fresh graduates (mostly 1st class/2nd Upper students). If u think u r better than those consultants in consulting firms. Then u definitely should get higher salary.
Wow 3.8k for fresh grads? I didn't know consultants get paid that much!

This post has been edited by iastate: Jun 21 2012, 07:08 PM
PurpLe311
post Jun 23 2012, 10:39 AM

Job Title : Trainee Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Deploy and maintain systems
Years spent in company : <1 month
Company : Bank
Industry : Banking
Tenure : permanent
Experience before joining : 0 (Fresh Grad)
salary : RM 2800
ubuntu
post Jun 23 2012, 11:14 AM

620 posts

Job Title : Engineer
Job Desciption : Construction and running project
Years spent in company : 5 years
Company : Local company
Industry : Construction
Experience before joining : 0 (Fresh Grad)
salary : RM 3800 (plus 2 months bonus, highest can up to 6 months performance bonus)

Job Title : IT Programmer
Job Desciption : Developer and support
Years spent in company : 3 and half years
Company : MNC company
Industry : Banking / Telecommunication
Experience before joining : 2 years
salary : RM 3800 (1 month bonus plus other allowance about RM100 per month)

Hi guys, I'm asking on behalf of my siblings, does it underpaid?
shenngau
post Jun 23 2012, 11:25 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jun 23 2012, 11:14 AM)
Job Title : IT Programmer
Job Desciption : Developer and support
Years spent in company : 3 and half years
Company : MNC company
Industry : Banking / Telecommunication
Experience before joining : 2 years
salary : RM 3800 (1 month bonus plus other allowance about RM100 per month)
Hi guys, I'm asking on behalf of my siblings, does it underpaid?
Actually hardly to tell whether underpaid or not. It depends on skills and experience.

I assume ur sibling's skills r above average and experienced in big/good project, then he/she should ask for higher salary.
What I think is at least 5k. Maybe even higher.

178 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:42 PM