Travel South Korea V2

tulip3
post May 14 2011, 11:09 AM

51 posts

Hi guys! such a great info here! i'll be heading to Seoul next week for about a week..weather ranges from 10c-23c...not too cold during the day right? or if anyone is at seoul right now can kindly tell me how's the weather there and wat kind of clothings should i bring? i have the following itinerary for the 1st 2 days..appreciate if someone can provide some comments:

Day 1:
-arrival morning
-check in guesthouse
-walk around Bukchon area
-visit Changdeokgung and Gyeogbokgung
-Insadong
-Cheonggyecheon Stream
-Namsan park, N Seoul Tower and cable car

Day 2:
-DMZ tour in the morning
-After lunch Shopping at Myeongdong, Itaewon etc

I feel that the itinerary for Day 1 is a bit too packed...so not sure whether i should shift Namsan Park to the second day..rnough time to stroll around Namsan park for 3-4 hours? any comments are appreciated..thank you! =)

This post has been edited by tulip3: May 14 2011, 11:11 AM
tulip3
post May 14 2011, 03:44 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 14 2011, 02:52 PM)
i think too pack d .

btw i m going on next week too , 23may
too packed ya...any suggestion on the arrangement? thanks!
tulip3
post Jun 1 2011, 09:04 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Jun 1 2011, 12:23 AM)
hye all sifus...kindly check and feedback my itinerary below

Day 01(Wednesday)
Arrive Seoul at 0925hrs. After check out straight go buy t-money and ride AREX. Check in at Seokyo Hotel, Hongik.

Day 02(Thursday)
9am-12pm :Hongik, Sinchon and Ewha Tour(shopping and visit Coffee Prince's cafe)
12-1pm :Brunch at Mr Kebab Hongik
1pm-4pm : 63 building
4-6pm : Gwanghamun tour (Donghwa duty free, King Sejong Statue)
7pm : Check in Doulous Hotel at Insadong via Jongno 3 ga subway and dinner
8-10pm : Sachoom

Day 03(Friday)
8-12pm : Jongno 3 ga, Anguk and Gyeongbokgung tour(Bukcheon hanok Village. tteok museum, insadong, gyeongbokgung palace, national palace museum, blue house)
1-6pm : Myeongdong and Chungmuro tour(Silloam sauna, cosmetic shopping, hanbok at KTO M plaza, Namsan Hanok Village, Namsan Park)
7-9pm-Namsan cable car, namsan tower observatory and Teddy bear museum)
9-12am : Doota and night market at Dongdaemun. then check in back at Doulos

Day 04(Saturday)
8am-6pm :Myeongdong shopping, Namdaemun market, Lotte Young Plaza, Yongsan Electronics market, Noryangjin fish market, Yueido Park, KBS n MBC tour
7-8pm: Hang river cruise from Yueido to Jamsil
8pm : check in at Lotte World Hotel

Day 05(Sunday)
8-12pm : Lotte world
1-6: COEX mall, Gangnam, Express bus terminal, Apjugeong, Itaewon
8pm: check in at Doulos

Day 06(Monday)
8-12pm: Gwangjang market, Nami island
1-4pm : last minute shopping at Myeongdong
5pm : Go to Incheon
Departure back to Kuala Lumpur
Hi there! just so u know that the T-money can't be used on the AREX Express train (non-stop from Incheon airport to Seoul Station)..u can use T-money on the AREX commuter train only which the train stops at a few big stations including Hongik Uni station if i'm not mistaken..
tulip3
post Jun 2 2011, 09:17 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Jun 1 2011, 02:32 PM)
I travel the subways cash only. It's easier for me because the iphone metro app plots my course nicely. But for you travelers who just want to go with the flow, just pay for 1 stop and do a fare adjustment at the exit. It's same like the subways in tokyo.

But I read in the K-Rail booklet that if you use them, you get like 10% discount per trip. Furthermore the K-Rail pass has specific discounts for tourist, mostly for attractions and theme parks. I didn't bother with it since I already got the coupon book. But this option might suit you more. Get the K-Rail booklet guidebook from Korea Plaza.
it's abit troublesome to buy single trip ticket with cash as it involves refund of 500won deposit when you return the ticket..just like Singapore's MRT..with T-Money card, you will get 100won off (10%) from the base fare meaning 1000won if u buy single trip ticket, 900won if you use T-Money card..it's really easy to just use the T-Money card..just like our touch & go card..u can even use it for bus and convenience store...the card cost 3000won without any value in it...just remember not to load too much value into it..any amount below 20,000won is good as you can refund the balance easily in any convenience store..anything above 20,000won u have to get the refund from T-Money HQ in Seoul City Tower..just my 2 cents smile.gif

Added on June 2, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(wiLzz @ Jun 2 2011, 12:46 AM)
hi guys,

I will be in Seoul on next tuesday till friday. it's an all expenses paid trip by my distributor, as a reward for my company's achievement. I've been selected for this incentive this time around.

My itinerary is pretty much arranged, but i do have option to go on my own ways. My prearranged itinerary is as below:

Tuesday
- arrive at incheon airport, 7 am
- airport transfer to hotel, checkin
- cyberwar, 2pm - apparently its some network game, warcraft, playing against participants from other countries around ASIA.
- this so called tournament will go on till 7pm, then buffet dinner will be served.
- then call it a day.

Wednesday
- 2 options to choose, play golf whole day, or
- Everland amusement park, whole day.
- I choose everland of coz, which includes bus transfer to the park and back, and dinner at Sam Cheong Gak

Thursday
- City tour at 6 places
a. Jogyesa Buddhist Temple
b. Gyeongbok Palace
c. National Folk Museum
d. CheongGyeCheon
e. Isadong
f. NamDaeMun Market

Friday
- fly back home, early in the morning.

I will be staying at Hilton, Seoul. As i'm not a Warcraft fan, I intended to skip the Tuesday programs and go on my own. Any recommendations of where i can go and spend a day, without wondering off too far from where i stay? Also, notice that the day will end at 8pm mostly, which i think its quite early. What places i can visit say after 8pm? Any interesting night markets, bars to hang out? What are the cheap stuff or must buy thingy to look out for in seoul?

Appreciate all sifu's recommendations and advice

thanks.
not sure which Hilton u are staying at..anyway it's really easy to get around in Seoul with its subway..i think u can consider going to N Seoul Tower which is located in Namsan Park (Myeongdong Station)..the view up there is gorgeous! recommend to go in the late evening to catch the night view..you can either take bus or cable car up there...you may also consider walking around the Bukchon area near near Anguk Station exit #2..basically nothing much you can do or visit after 8pm except for shopping area like Myeongdong mostly for ladies stuff (shops close at 10pm), Dongdaemun (some shopping malls open til 5am)..you may consider going to Hongik University area for its night life...very happening at nite..

This post has been edited by tulip3: Jun 2 2011, 09:38 AM

0.0189sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:49 PM