Travel South Korea V2

tiketbas
post Mar 7 2011, 11:25 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(smallp0tat0 @ Mar 7 2011, 03:19 PM)

I'll be going to korea from 12/4 - 17/4.
I'm thinking to take up ground tour package as i wanted to go to Mt. Sorak. I google many info about this place and find it difficult to reach if self tour. And local ground tour to Mt. Sorak is very expensive......

well, i'm going to korea from 1/4 to 9/4 and Mt. Sorak is on our itinerary. Me and my frens are planning to take the bus to Sokcho town, spend a night there and go up Mt. Sorak the next day. Since you are only leaving on 12/4, perhaps you can check back on this thread for my postings and perhaps my trip there can help you.
tiketbas
post Mar 30 2011, 01:38 PM

80 posts

hey guys, i will be goin to seoul this friday on AA. Anyone on the same flight? smile.gif

tiketbas
post Apr 11 2011, 06:01 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(laily enelya @ Apr 11 2011, 05:57 PM)
From Seoul,it takes 3 hours to reach Sokcho,a small town just outside Mount Sorak. I don't know about you,but I think rugi if you don't go there. But when I went there,still got snow.
Actually now it only takes 2 hours 10 minutes to Sokcho with one stop. I bought the bus tickets at Dong Seoul Bus Terminal (get off at Gambyeon MRT station of the Green Line) and the intervals are like every 46 minutes. Sokcho is worth going for the Mt. Sorak.
tiketbas
post Apr 11 2011, 09:19 PM

80 posts

I'm not sure about skiing but traditionally ppl go visit Mt. Sorak for its blossoming flowers but as of last Friday, its gonna be late this year. Even without snow, its nevertheless a breathtaking view of the Taebaek mountain range. If you want to ski, i reckon december or january will be a much better time.
tiketbas
post Apr 17 2011, 11:10 PM

80 posts

Hi guys,

I got back from Korea about a week ago on a free and east trip and here was my itinerary:

Day 0: Arrived at Incheon airport and because i went and collect my rented iphone and had my dinner, i missed both the last bus to my hostel as well as the subway which one GS25 staff told me closes at 11pm. So because of that, me and my friends had to take a cab which costs us 83,000 won. But we called for an international cab instead of the airport one as it was much more safer (from kena sembelih). Many thanks has to go out to the airport information counter lady who helped call the cab for us. Moral of the story, be prepared to miss the bus and train financially.

Day 1: Visited Myeongdong Cathedral first as we stayed in Myeongdong. Then we spent the whole day visiting Gwanghamun square and Gyeongbokgung palace. The square is really big and Gyeongbukgung has a really huge compound. On the evening we went to Insadong and spent time walking and checking things out. We end up buying some souvenirs there.

Day 2: Checked out Cheong Gye Cheon stream, Deosukgung palace, watched Nanta cooking show and lazed around in some cafe till dinner. After dinner we went to N Tower in Namsan.

Day 3: Went to Sokcho by bus and spend the day exploring the town.

Day 4: Checked out Seoraksan and went back to Seoul later that evening

Day 5: Went shopping at Myeondong and flew back on the same night.

I will post the pics later but 5 days is definitely too short. Will be back again someday.

tiketbas
post Apr 19 2011, 12:06 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(carindale @ Apr 18 2011, 12:12 AM)
i think you should hv done your research to check out the last bus timing at about 1040pm and should not hv gotten dinner at airport.
I had time to rent 2 phones , proceed to MyeongDong for dinner where i was staying.

day1 :arrival
day2: Sokcho, Hanwha resort checkin, Seoraksan, Hanwha Waterpia@evening, dinner at Sokcho
Day3: Hanwha cinerama, Sokcho abai village, back to Seoul,
day4: Seoul -> Jinhae  ->Seoul
day5: Namsam tower, teddybear musuem,Insadong,dongdaemun
day6: Lotte Mart Seoul station, Hongik Flea Mart, MyeongDong
day7: Gwanghuamun, Namdemun
yea man, failed on the r& d part sweat.gif
tiketbas
post May 18 2011, 09:03 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ May 14 2011, 02:28 AM)
Hi guys

Ill be going on a backpacker trip alone to Korea this mid July;
Need some info while I'm in the process of planning my itinerary

2. I have 6 days: shud I head out of Seoul to other towns? If so, which town would u highly recommend?

Cheers
you can try to visit Sokcho town which is 2 hours away by bus from East Seoul Bus Station (Gambyeon station in Seoul Metro). Sokcho is a nice town and you can visit Mt.Sorak which is nearby the town as well.
tiketbas
post May 19 2011, 09:10 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ May 19 2011, 02:14 AM)
Hi

i am currently in Seoul. was wondering if withdrawing cash directly from Citibank ATM using my Malaysian Citibank ATM card a good idea?
Will it give me the best exchange rate? Also, is there any transaction/service fee ? As the citibank website does not state much information on this.

Thanks!
Hi Turion64,

There is a charge if you withdraw money from a foreign ATM using a Malaysian card. If not mistaken the charge is Rm30 (correct me if i'm wrong as i got charged this amount before) and no, you dont get good rates. Would suggest you email to Citibank customer service to get a clearer detail.
tiketbas
post May 19 2011, 05:01 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 19 2011, 04:40 PM)
i tried swipe my citibank card at the machine but it asked for PIN numbers.
It is not the CCV number.
err..its not advisable to swipe your credit card at the ATM as this is considered a cash advance and the interest on this is calculated on daily basis. If you dont pay up when you get back to KL, the bill will shock you. As for PIN, your credit card will have its own PIN number too. If you dont get it with your card, you can always ring them up and request.

Added on May 19, 2011, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(kc182 @ May 19 2011, 01:56 PM)
Hi im travelling to seoul next week with my family.
We did not book a tour. Just wanted to go free and easy.
My concern is language / sign boards / transport.

I heard that there are limited english signs and most koreans do not know english. we only know mandarin and english. any advise on travelling, ordering food and bargaining during shopping .etc ?? how do 1 overcome the language barrier....
On top of Stimix's advice, you can also go to Borders and get the Lonely Planet Korean Phrasebook. It'll save your ass at times you need it. Only Rm30 like dat nia.

This post has been edited by tiketbas: May 19 2011, 05:03 PM
tiketbas
post May 20 2011, 09:15 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(blue blue @ May 20 2011, 08:41 AM)
No one can answer me? tongue.gif
a windbreaker will do...the wind is the enemy actually. tongue.gif

0.0195sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:38 AM