Travel South Korea V2

nobunee
post Feb 14 2012, 11:40 AM

54 posts

Need to ask opinion from all sifu in here. I am planning to go to South Korea with a travel agency during this coming Spring. But instead of sticking to the travel group, I will delay my flight back to KL by four days.

What I planned to do during the four days is:

1) to see Baeknok Lake on Mt. Halla
2) to wander around Seongsan Ilchulbong area
3) to go to DMZ (not a must)

But what I worry is:
a) Since I plan to summit Mt Halla and go to Illchulbong area, is it advisable to have accommodation in Illchulbong instead of Jeju city?

b) for plan (1), I planned to hike the summit of Mt Halla via Seongpanak trail and hike down via Gwaneumsa trail. But supposedly there are no bus/taxi at Gwaneumsa trail. Any thought on this one?
nobunee
post Feb 15 2012, 07:28 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(ashcrimson @ Feb 14 2012, 09:37 PM)
why dont you register for those hiking packages? at least the transportation is guaranteed
Yes I would be more than willing to shelf out a few $$$ for a lil bit peace of mind. But the agency that I am going with do not have such offer. I could however hunt for whatever brochure/addvert their local hiking packages that they have but if I couldn't find any, I'm pretty much screwed up.
nobunee
post Feb 15 2012, 09:14 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Feb 15 2012, 09:02 AM)
Bro, why don't u rent a car??
Trying to keep the budget down if at all possible. From what I read, renting a car for a day could cost Rm200 per day.
nobunee
post Feb 15 2012, 10:34 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 15 2012, 10:28 AM)
go by agency is cheaper thn free n easy?? yea lo.. i can't think of anywhere to go in korea.. cz first time to step into there.. n i probably go 7-8 days only.. so dun wanna end up goin the wrong way n waste time.. bt definitely free n easy is more flexible.. sigh.. really in dilemma
I was in the same dilemma as yours when I decide how to go. But considering that they don't really speak English well, and the signboard are not entirely in english I'd rather be safe than sorry and mix my travel both from agency then extend a few days for semi free-and-easy (I have the agency help me with a little bit of ground arrangement for extra fees)
nobunee
post Feb 15 2012, 12:15 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 15 2012, 10:54 AM)
ic.. tis is wat i tot as well.. rather safe thn sorry.. haha.. cz my sis jz back from co trip, she told me tat mostly dunno hw to converse in english.. even worst thn bangkok.. wat agency u took? so u recommend full travel package directly from agency or buy own flight plus ground arrangement from agency? i notice ground arrangement their travel schedule is fix n if i buy promo flight from AA, it doesn't fix the time  doh.gif  oh btw, travel to korea by AA ok or nt? neva try b4 AA to long journey.. lolz
I went to the Shah Alam matta fair last week. After considering a number of more well known travel agency (Apple travel, reliance) I opt for cheaper unknown one. The one I opt for was called safirgotravel.com I think I saw their office somewhere in Bangi.

As for what I recommend, I really cant say anything. First time go to Korea oso. I guess it all comes down to what you want. Like myself, I want my visit to be 'Nature' themed, see places that is very different from Mysia. So i was pretty disappointed since most (if not all) agencies itinerary will go to musuem, shops and other non-related place. That was why i extend my trip to fill in the gap smile.gif

As for flight, in my case at least, it is safer to have the agency to arrange my flight because it is possible that they will delay or even cancel their trip. Since my trip to jeju mean taking a local flight to the island, if they delay the trip they will take responsibility and rearrange my Jeju flight as well.

So as for the AA flight and ground arrangement, I would say it is quite risky. But I suppose you can make emergency last minute adjustment to the ground arrangement with penalty imposed.

Choosing which airline between Korea or AA, I would say, go for Korea. When else will you have the opportunity to do so XD
nobunee
post Feb 15 2012, 12:38 PM

54 posts

no biggie....will share my experience after my trip in April smile.gif

0.0247sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:42 AM