Travel South Korea V2

eksk86
post Sep 27 2011, 09:09 AM

421 posts

hey guys, is rm615 cheap for a return flight ticket to seoul? This is airfare+airport tax. If including luggage and meal it will go up to rm700
eksk86
post Sep 27 2011, 01:01 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Sep 27 2011, 10:18 AM)
is it the current promotion? RM279+-? thats the lowest i've seen so far for several months..of coz cant compare when AA 1st introduce Seoul route.
go for it!  smile.gif
Yeah...it's the current rm279 promo...actually the previous promo, that 'whale of a sale' is slightly cheaper. It was RM555 for return tickets back then...but its only rm60 difference and if i were to wait for the next promo, it might be early next yr and i have to travel early 2013...i'm still considering but most prob i'll go for it. smile.gif
eksk86
post Sep 28 2011, 09:05 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(yeahbaby @ Sep 27 2011, 08:40 PM)
I book last Thursday 3 days before the sales. It was RM254. 2 person + luggage + tax for RM 1,470 on 2012 sept.
It's exactly the same with the current price i'm looking at. the fare i see now is also rm254.whenever airasia says 279 one way, it means fare+tax, so urs is not cheaper, just the same. I believe they already reduced the price when they announce AA promo. After AA promo period ended, they announce AAX promo. Probably, they reduced all the prices at the same time, just the announcement on dif date since i think they dun wanna overlap both promo period.
eksk86
post Oct 7 2011, 10:00 AM

421 posts

Guys, is it really that hot in mid sept? Or better than msia?
eksk86
post Nov 21 2011, 11:12 AM

421 posts

Can anyone provide me your real life example on the claims that changing MYR-> USD -> KRW is better than MYR -> KRW?

Lets take current exchange rate as example. From xe.com, MYR1 is roughly = KRW359, USD1 is roughly = KRW1138, USD is roughly = MYR3.17

So, what you guys trying to say is that the losses from changing to USD and then to KRW is less than the losses we bear when changing from MYR to KRW directly?

This post has been edited by eksk86: Nov 21 2011, 11:12 AM
eksk86
post Nov 21 2011, 12:54 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 21 2011, 11:29 AM)
You compare this to the case you convert direct from RM to won in KL for 2.89 of 289,000won.. Ypu gain xtra 71000 won wor...haha..probably The US$ qouted at Seoul not so good lah haha
I think you got the calculation for the bolded part wrong. Exchange rate of 2.89 means 346k won which means 14k won extra which is also equivalent to roughly rm40. That is with your assumption that USD -> KRW is USD1 to 1.1k won.

So the big question here is what is the exchange rate of USD -> KRW in Korea?

This post has been edited by eksk86: Nov 21 2011, 12:55 PM
eksk86
post Nov 21 2011, 02:59 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 21 2011, 02:28 PM)
You can buy KRW here in Kota Kinabalu for just RM2.85 today  biggrin.gif

Anyway, you can get an unbeatable rate at Hana Bank if you can show them an Asiana Airlines boarding pass. Bring MYR to Seoul and you can sell them the MYR directly. There is absolutely no need to change into USD here in Malaysia. I bought my KRW from Hana Bank using MYR for just KRW1000 = RM2.76  thumbup.gif
Hmm..why is that? Are they both affiliates of what?

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 21 2011, 02:45 PM)
Haha tnx for the correction paiseh..no wonder I also think kenot be so much diff wan..but on avg, ppl changing this way will get RM30=RM50 saving lor.. The US$ traded in Seoul airport is not bad. Anyway, lotsa ppl also dunwan all the hassle just to gt the RM30-RM50 saving.

I also having bad experience there when I wanna try & change in Namdaemun/Dongdaemun areas instead of airport but too bad, it was Sunday and most money changers there closed and I hv no choice by changing at the only monet change rinside Dota dongdaemun..and teh rate is actually higher than Incheon airport & after checking the rate if I change all in KL ..is actaully almost the same..  cry.gif
So, in general, where can I get the best exchange rate in Korea? Airport? Banks? When u say Namdaemun/Dongdaemun, are u referring to the roadside money changers?

Doota is a shopping complex rite? So I guess I shd avoid money changers there.

eksk86
post Nov 24 2011, 12:14 AM

421 posts

Just out of curiosity, for those who went to korea before or been there a few times with AirAsiaX, what was the worst delay you've experienced? I'm really afraid the delay will spoil my plan. (for example, accomodation). In average wats the delay like?
eksk86
post Dec 9 2011, 10:47 AM

421 posts

To those who went to Everland, did you guys go to the Carribean Bay as well? If yes, how was it?

If I were to go to both Everland and Carribean Bay (spending whole day there), will there be enough time to enjoy most of the attractions?
eksk86
post Jan 7 2012, 02:33 PM

421 posts

I know that Eastar have 15kg allowance for check-in luggage.

How about Jeju Air? From what I read at their website, it seems they only allow hand carry luggage. Is that true? Or they do have allowance for check-in luggage as well?
eksk86
post Feb 1 2012, 11:15 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Jan 31 2012, 03:10 PM)
Settle already. I booked return tkt for 4pax going on 22/4/12 at 0705hrs and return on 24/04/12 at 1305hrs. Their domestic airline website not really user friendly.
How did you manage to book it in the end? The alien registration number is not needed?

0.0230sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:20 PM