-Charged by the airtime used
USA - 720 won (0.59 USD)/min
China - 960 won (0.78 USD)/min
Japan - 864 won (0.70 USD)/min
Calling Malaysia number should be <1000 won/min

The most cost efficient way for 4 person is

Rent 2 sets of call forwarding DID and 2 sets of Korea number. ie
Two person share one set each.

With this arrangement, you can split to two groups during shopping in complex without fear of missing. Korea to Korea domestic call is 90won/10sec.

anyone rent a phone from Incheon lately? i checked online stated the local call per min is 600won! kind of expensive rite?

what the RM/min for IDD calling card ?? thanks!

This post has been edited by davinci_maggie: Sep 8 2011, 05:57 PM
davinci_maggie
post Sep 29 2011, 10:48 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ Sep 21 2011, 09:38 AM)
A passenger shared his/her experience during a 10-hr delay flight to Incheon:

http://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimo...150322678509658

sweat.gif
i had encountered a 7-8hrs delay flight to london also (tis is d worst..others only like 1-2hrs).. tat time i got booked connected overnite transport to manchester.. so i have to take d trouble to make an overseas call to change my bus ticket & later me & hb stranded at london airport for than 6hrs for the next bus. doh.gif

yet my hb still prefer to book AA, since cheap mah. rm1.1k to korea for 2 person.
can save at least rm2k+ for shopping wub.gif

in btw. it is wiser to change to USD$ here & exchange it to Won at korea?
thanks! tongue.gif

davinci_maggie
post Sep 29 2011, 11:50 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 29 2011, 11:47 AM)
yes. its advisable to exchange to USD here and to KRW later when in Korea. rates over there are much better. smile.gif
hello teik wing smile.gif
ohh okok. duly noted. TQ
davinci_maggie
post Sep 29 2011, 08:50 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Sep 29 2011, 07:39 PM)
how big is the difference? if change all to WON directly or change some into USD then WON? RM50-RM100 difference? if let say im changing RM3k.
hmmm I dunno where my friend check, but she told me if change rm5k, diff will be rm300++.
mid yr we already change rm2k @ 2.85.
So now cc how accurate my friend said b4 hb decided to change another rm5k to usd or won....
rm300 woh. Can use it to makan seafood at busan or sokcho.. Hmmm ask ask makan raw seafood will be best at sokcho or busan?? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by davinci_maggie: Sep 29 2011, 08:52 PM
davinci_maggie
post Oct 7 2011, 10:49 AM

29 posts

guys..i'm so sad.

i'll be leaving soon to SK, all done except i still dint manage to secure a stay at Naejangsan. i tried to get a night at naejangdong..but all d motels/inn require phone booking tat none of them can speak english.. i search high & low till i found a korean to call for me ( friend's friend). but sadly d price per night hike up to 150,000 won. she help me to call fews ..but all same. then one of my "stay" owner offer to help me (more like i was begging him to help me to find some cheap accomodation)
he told me he managed to find a minbak for 60k won, timji later only found out mistaken date & fews he called all already fully booked but then price is double ..

really frustrated ler. i dont want to pay rm300+ for a nite..seem abit stupid for a no star accomodation..but now even how stupid also..almost all already fully booked for early nov. (seem like it is super peak season for d locals)

initially i wan to stay at Jeonju & travel to neajangsan. but friend advised said too troublesome..since i'm only staying there for a night..y spend hours on traveling between the city (2hr each). but even now, d beautiful hanok i wan to stay also fullybooked jor.

arrrrr...so ended up now i just plan to simply book a night at a hotel at jeonju. at least they have online reservation that do not need a phone booking or korean speaking helper. sad.gif
davinci_maggie
post Oct 8 2011, 09:29 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 7 2011, 02:03 PM)
Have you try the innostel website of pg 1? Those are budget hotels list..Normal budget hotels are not expensive. Avg 40,000 to 50,000 won only
Err tat one for Seoul only rite??? I tried searching, but no result. Even agoda full jor for jeonju. Hahaha siun la. I just tell my hb cincai sleep 1 nite n travel to naejangsan for few hours on hiking (eventhough we might stuck at d highway for > 5hrs to n fro) ... I'm too frustrated to reserve an Hanok stay jor.

Hmm ask ask, now only I c d link for d Korean won exchange at Korea on page1. Will d forex shop rate better than bank???
If I use RM3,145 (USD1000) to exchange it to won at Korea, d extra will be RM86+++ compare to change it at wawasan?(rate as at today la).
Ngam mah??
davinci_maggie
post Oct 13 2011, 05:02 PM

29 posts

hi, i still dilli delli on which phone provider i should use at korea.

anyway found out a new infor..hehe dunno here got stated b4 or not. but just provide to u all for extra infor :-

http://asiaenglish.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/AK/AK_EN_1_5_7.jsp
beside "rent a phone" service, u can purchase a sim card also. no identity card needed.

i email to kimjin@simcardkorea.com to enquiry tis morning, & by afternoon got a reply jor. here is the extract infor :-

<Rent a Prepaid SIM from "SIMCARD KOREA">-Rental fee: 19,800won
-Korea Local outgoing call: 390won/min.
-Korea International Outgoing call to Malaysia: 390won/min.
-Incoming Call: Free
※Deposit 20,000 won, but it would be refunded when you returned the SIM

<Buy a Prepaid SIM from "SIMCARD KOREA">-59,000won
-10euro initial airtime is included
-Korea Local outgoing call: 270won/min.
-Korea International Outgoing call to Malaysia: 270won/min.
-Incoming Call: Free

※Our SIMcard is kind a Roaming SIM, it works in 166countries without any other registration or activation process.
The rate price is quite cheaper than any other service.
(to the 55countries, the intl call rate is same as Local: 270won/min. only)

Phone>
A) iPhone4 : Need to Cut and Sync with iTunes.

a. Visit our partner store(Location: 1F, Incheon Korea International Ariport)
=> more informations plz look "5)" this below.
b. Ply Buy SIMCARDKOREA's Global Tech SIMCard, or Just "SIMCARDKOREA!" is enough!
c. On that store, we are preparing Micro SIM Cutter for our customers, Freely use it smile.gif
(Insert the SIM as follow the Marks on the cutter > Cut the SIM > Insert the SIM > Power the phone on
> Enter PIN(4digits: printed on the SIM) > Sync with iTunes through a Computer(plz ask the staff again)
d. Now, all Ready to use smile.gif
B) iPhone3 : Need to Sync with iTunes.

C) BlackBerry : 3G/GPRS data is Not available

D) MotoGlam : May not Available(by the phone own software problem: Unlocked & Upgrade needed)

E) Others : Have to sure it's Unlocked 3G, that's enough.

3) Can i surf internet using this Prepaid SIM Card ?(3G/GPRS DATA: for "BUY"SIM User only)
=> This is prepaid SIMCARD, but we are providing DATA service, also
Wifi is Free, but you need to use 3G(GPRS) Data: it start from 1Euro/100KB (The rate is different as the countries where you are in and in korea it's 3Euro/100KB) To use 3G data you have to keep the call balance over 50 euros.
(plz see the manual included: we are providing Korean/ Enlish manual both)
but..just..If your phone support wifi function and if there's any limits to use, it's free.
and Usually in korea using wifi data service is really easy (coffee shops, fast food restaurant, and lots spots support wifi)

brows.gif
davinci_maggie
post Oct 31 2011, 09:10 PM

29 posts

Botak?? Hmm I just left nami n sorak last few days ... Seriously only 50% changed to yellow n fews red.
Currently at Gyeongju, just went to Golgulsa temple ytd, along d way, mostly d mountain still cover with green. Heading to Neajangsan in 5 days.... Hopefully d tree has completely turn colour.

& about d weather ... Aiks. I think it is really unpredictable. But for those going for hiking alot, just bring a windbreaker... No need thick winter jacket. I basically wearing a thin tshirt hike up to Ulsanbawi Rock. But night is pretty much very cold. Been raining for few days when I was at Sokcho & Gangneung. So do bring an umbrella. Cos 7-11/ family mart at Seoul sell it at 10,000won

This post has been edited by davinci_maggie: Oct 31 2011, 09:18 PM
davinci_maggie
post Nov 4 2011, 06:15 PM

29 posts

Currently at Busan. Seriously dont bother to wear jacket. A tshirt is enough! Here hot hot hot!
davinci_maggie
post Nov 5 2011, 05:43 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 4 2011, 11:26 PM)
Asking from directions from locals? On a kind note if that Korean needs to take out his GPS to point you in the right direction then you should probably not take his or her advise. shakehead.gif
Haha we got lotsa locals (presumed from other towns) asked us for direction! Then Hb keep on said "we r not Korean!!" .
Just get d map (in English & Korean) n get d direction either from Tourist information counter or Hotel staff b4 u off is ok jor.
Just don't expect locals to know English (especially other towns) ... But they will try to tell u in Korean if u do understand them. For asking d price around, just push ur calculator to them.
For bus ride. Point d destination u want (in Korean la), d bus driver very nice n patience to let u know ur stop. I did pre-printed all d destination I want in korean words n in huge fonts. Scare d uncle bus driver can't c d tiny words on d map. Hehe
I did try to listen to d destination calling, but d words just too foreign to me, so ended up we just rely on d driver. Sokcho n gangneung's bus rate increase jor wef 15/10.
We off to Jeonju today. Hehe hb might want to plan another trip to Busan very soon, since we love Busan so much! May not be so happening as Seoul, but everything seem so much cheaper! Shopping n seafood!

Added on November 5, 2011, 5:53 amOhhh just want to add, their Tourist Information counter is super helpful n friendly!! Try to make a stop at every towns b4 u off to ur hotel. Get d map n confirm d direction of bus station u should take.
Well except gyeonju's .. Abit lcly. But Bulgalsa is super nice.
We dint need any helps at Seoul .. Well only once when we shop till too late n lost at Nandaemun, we tried to search for nearest metro. At 12am! But then I still find their English std Abit low.
Ohhh lotsa Korean know how to speak Mandarin!

This post has been edited by davinci_maggie: Nov 5 2011, 05:53 AM
davinci_maggie
post Nov 20 2011, 09:43 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Nov 19 2011, 10:37 AM)
i plan to stay in namsan guest house 3, any one try thr before? any commend?
hi, i stayed at namsan II (d other brown building).. but saw namsan III located just beside namsan II.
very new. dunno inside. but can truly say namsan guesthouse not bad lor. (namsan I is further inside...very long walk from metro)
short walk from metro..opposite metro is myeongdong market...so very convinience.
d girl at d checkin counter can speak chinese ler..but all of their english are quite ok.
breakfast..simple bread+jam & coffee/tea + cup mee - very sufficient for morning. nod.gif

got family mart nearby.
seriously should try kimbab from family mart. 1200won per roll. not bad ler. i even bought 2pcs back to msia. after 2 days my colle still said very yummy. tongue.gif

Added on November 20, 2011, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2011, 02:52 PM)
Those intended to use combination of AREX & Subway, try to travel light & use backpack instead or roller luggage.

I used roller luggage to Seoul and learnt a lesson there especially switching subway lines..well..some of underground walkway from one line to another is not near to each other.. furthermore not all with excalator.. so imagine carrying an almost 17kg luggage up & down many subway stations starircase..phewww....My recent Beijing trip, I used backpack instead & travel superlight & only bring few clothing wth me after my previos Seoul winter trip. & I bought additional backpack in Bijing to accomodate more souvenirs & purchases back to m'sa haha.

BTW, those travel during winter, dun bring too many cloths...just change one in 2-3 days can dy. you will not get sweat even walking 10km till your leg cramp haha.
from airport to seoul..we used railway+metro to myeongdong. so 3700won+900won is consider the cheapest option.
me & hb - backpack. metro mah..already understood alot of staircase & longwalk between transfer.
d rest of gang..err especially d one with child trolley were really scare of d seeing staircase jor. lol

but when back time, me & hb too tired jor..since got extra carrying luggages..all d souvinier & extra clothes we bought..so hb dont bother & took airport bus from Itaewon to airport - 15,000won per person.. aiks. we even took taxi from our rented apartment to airport bus station. tongue.gif
after 2 weeks+ at S.korea. we too lazy to walk jor..so paid alot of taxi fee. hahaha (but short trip la)

honestly this is our first trip to s.korea. we never expected seoul could be so expensive. even d souvinier also very expensive ler.
those magnet & keychain. even postcard also cost 1000won per pc. 1 set of postcard is 4000won..but not really nice.
we dint buy any mineral water..since mostly guesthouse got d water dispenser or free mineral water from hotels.
but eat...hmm snack min 1000won. noodle 4000-5000won? coffee at cafe around 4000-5000won.
we dint even eat at fancy restaurant..but mostly our dinner cost us 20000-30000won for 2
BBQ min 20000won for 2. (beside sokcho - 9500won per person but is buffet!! meat + seafood ..very worth it)
haha but d cheapest thing in s.korea is cup mee!! from 700won to 1500won. way cheaper than msia.

since me & hb not really keen on pub or nite life..so hb said next round..no more seoul. we planning 2nd trip back to busan.
way cheaper. (imho)

This post has been edited by davinci_maggie: Nov 20 2011, 10:05 PM
davinci_maggie
post Nov 20 2011, 10:33 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mych @ Nov 20 2011, 10:23 PM)
living standards are high
ya. i do agree..tat y at d same time i was wondering how much is a uni grad's pay. tongue.gif

but beside seoul..d rest of d s.korea is so much cheaper. we ate d same dish (bibimbap) at a same cafe (d yellow signboard 24hrs korean rest), d price diff 1000won.

0.0376sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:09 PM