Korea has misplaced Spring with Winter.

This year Spring also very weird... doh.gif
SSJBen
post Mar 25 2011, 09:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Haha it was just an odd day yesterday.
Just suddenly snowed.

But still damn cold.. not usual spring weather.
SSJBen
post Mar 26 2011, 12:57 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Mar 25 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hi all,

this thread is really very informative! i will be going to seoul for the first time next week. really looking forward to that. i will be staying for 3 nights at millenium hilton hotel.

i would like to check with you guys what kind of stuff should i buy from korea? i remember someone mention cosmetics? korean ginseng? what else is worth to buy from korea (for malaysian)

btw, i love k-pop music, any website that i can check upcoming concert? (eg any website such as ticketmaster or ticketek)

would be great if i can catch some k-pop concert that featuring grp such as snsd, kara etc smile.gif

thanks!
For concerts, there are no upcoming concerts in Korea atleast... for the next few weeks.
However there is still the usually weekly music shows of Mnet Mcountdown, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core and SBS Inkigayo.

For KBS Music Bank, you will need invitations to get in.. so you'll need to find some connection with the fanbase of an idol/idol group who is performing that day.
As for Mnet Mcountdown (Thursday) and MBC Music Core (Saturday), you can usually just go to the places and then talk to some of the fanbase leaders to let you in.

SBS Inkigayo is quite strict, so you need connections also from the inside to get in. smile.gif

Neither SNSD nor Kara will be performing for atleast the next few weeks.

QUOTE(tiggert @ Mar 25 2011, 11:01 PM)
Hello all,

Just would like to ask your opinions (before travelling to Korea). A friend of mine has asked me to invest with her in a cafe, which she planned to open in Seoul. When I googled for Seoul and cafe, there are many (many) cafes in Seoul, and most of them look really trendy and nice. Just would like to ask you Seoul-lites, do you think opening a cafe in Seoul is a feasible option? Or is it over saturated?

Thank you very much!  rclxms.gif
To be honest, it is over saturated.
Especially in Seould definitely... at almost every corner you're bound to see a cafe.

It all comes down to the concept of the cafe you're trying to open.
Koreans love trying new stuff not from their own country, different concepts from the outside.
So do more research before plunging in. smile.gif

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 26 2011, 12:20 AM)
Wow, it's still snowing? So will sakura blossom during mid april?
Hopefully? haha..
Usually right now it shouldn't be 8c degrees at day time, should be hovering around the 12-15c already and there should be sunlight as well.
SSJBen
post Apr 7 2011, 08:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Theres very very minor radiation detected in the rain showers at Busan today.
It's.. started. People at Busan were quite scared to go out today.

Hope it doesn't get worst.
More rain expected over the next 2 days.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Apr 7 2011, 08:59 PM
SSJBen
post Apr 9 2011, 05:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Apr 9 2011, 04:49 PM)

Ho... any radiation spotted in Seoul on that day? I was at Nami Island and got a lot of rain on me too..

When I was coming back yesterday, weather was getting better and I only need to wear my cardigan. But still, better bring a thick, wind resistant type jacket.

Anyone going back to Msia using AirasiaX, please make sure you ate dinner and bought everything you need before heading for Incheon airport. All the shops in Incheon closed at 9 pm. blink.gif

Can anyone tell me what's the normal working hour for Seoulites? I can't help wondering why there's a lot of people heading to work at 10 am and by 4.30 pm all office guy and lady were all over the street. I thought Koreans are one of the nations that have the longest working hour.  hmm.gif
Nope, no radiation spotted in the rain at Seoul or Nami Island for that matter.
And no Koreans were reported to have any radiation effects either.

As for working hours in Seoul, it's a common misunderstanding.
The LONG working horus are at the factories and the entertainment businesses, others... they're just pretty much like Malaysia.
SSJBen
post Apr 10 2011, 06:28 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Apr 9 2011, 11:27 PM)
Really?no radiation?
We are so worry because we will be going to Korea too end of next month,hope everything is okay....
Hopefully it stays that way?
At this point in time, I'd say it's still safe to go to Seoul.

So don't worry too much, just keep an eye out on the news.

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Apr 9 2011, 11:52 PM)
Can spot leng lois?

When I went ther on cny, cant see any leng lois...or even leng zais. All seem not pretty except the few who performed on stage. Msians look way better
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Apr 10 2011, 12:31 AM)
rclxms.gif yeah agree with this. msian leng lui got more. don kena tipu by kdrama/kpop artist.
To be completely honest with you guys, natural beauty wise... Malaysians > Koreans.
Dont be surprised, that's the way it is.

Atleast Malaysian girls if they don't wear make up, still atleast.. they can look decent.
But Koreans? Majority of them if they don't wear make up and dress properly.. they look totally like ghosts. Not kidding, I've seen em'.. I was frightened.

Don't want to sound too harsh either...

The beautiful ones are really beautiful though (wherter or not they went under the knife is another story, don't wanna say anything bout that).
SSJBen
post Apr 11 2011, 12:41 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Apr 11 2011, 12:17 AM)
Is it possible to free and easy without knowing the language? If I need to know the language, what do I need to know?
Can, but obviously it's going to be quite tricky.
If you need to know the language... well to be honest, there are just too much you'd need to know (as in, you're gonna need to put some effort into learning the language) if you want to enjoy going around without issues in Seoul freely alone.
SSJBen
post Apr 11 2011, 11:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Apr 11 2011, 11:17 PM)
During our stay, we were taught to say "chu seyo" when asking for stuff. For example, "pap, chu seyp", "ramen, tu geh, chu seyo". Tu geh = two bowls (correct ah?) and chu seyo is more or less like "give me" in formal, courteous way.

So I guess "chu seyo" can win smiles and open doors to friendship smile.gif
Chuseyo/Juseyo comes from the word Juda (주다), which is "to give".

And "seyo" is a informal polite ending form, it doesn't mean anything on it's own.
But in this case it means "please".

Koreans like it when foreigners use informal polite form endings with them.
It means you respect them and they'll respect you back.

And yea..
Du geh means 2 objects.
Du means 2 and geh is an object counter (like for example 2 'pieces' of paper/ 2 cups of water).

So yep~ spot on, like you said.. "bab du geh juseyo" woud mean give me 2 bows of rice please. smile.gif
SSJBen
post Apr 22 2011, 10:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Haha yea you're limited by your LAN.
1Gbps already in testing at certain areas in Seoul (gangnam-gu basically).

It's so ridiculously fast it's not funny.
You can just keep your files in a cloud server and stream it off them, it'll be as fast as opening them from your HDD (heck even faster technically).
SSJBen
post Apr 24 2011, 03:02 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Jeju Island is in the voting for being recognised as the "New 7 Wonders of Nature" of the world.

For those who has went to Jeju Island before and liked it there, you can help vote for it to be one:
http://www.new7wonders.com/community/en/ne...f_nature/voting

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Apr 24 2011, 07:06 PM

0.0515sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:27 PM