BIOMEDICAL SCIENCE OR BIOTECHONOLOGY, which is better?

TSvin39
post Mar 5 2011, 03:21 PM, updated 15y ago

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

my girlfriend is still stuck between these two courses.and she has a very limited tme to choose it cause her foundation is coming to an end.can u guys help me by giving me more facts bot these two subs and how 1 is better thn the other?
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 5 2011, 04:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 5 2011, 03:21 PM)
my girlfriend is still stuck between these two courses.and she has a very limited tme to choose it cause her foundation is coming to an end.can u guys help me by giving me more facts bot these two subs and how 1 is better thn the other?
Which one is better depends on the applicant's interests? laugh.gif
Anyway, Biotechnology is more general compared to biomedical science since it is more or less associated with all the other bio courses... Unless your gf is interested in Biomedical sciences, it will be good to choose Biotechnology 1st and then decide later on what she wants and likes hmm.gif
TSvin39
post Mar 5 2011, 05:19 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 5 2011, 04:54 PM)
Which one is better depends on the applicant's interests?  laugh.gif
Anyway, Biotechnology is more general compared to biomedical science since it is more or less associated with all the other bio courses... Unless your gf is interested in Biomedical sciences, it will be good to choose Biotechnology 1st and then decide later on what she wants and likes hmm.gif
erm..that is the prob.once u choose biotech,u cnt change it back to biomedic.and she likes bio.and both is bio related!what will be the scope of job like?what a biomedic grad and biotech grad would do?
CyberSetan
post Mar 5 2011, 05:38 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 5 2011, 05:19 PM)
erm..that is the prob.once u choose biotech,u cnt change it back to biomedic.and she likes bio.and both is bio related!what will be the scope of job like?what a biomedic grad and biotech grad would do?
If she loves bio so much - try becoming a biology teacher instead.
Ask to take Bachelors of Education in Science (Biology) from IPTAs offering this program.

She won't have to worry about job market later on, she will be employed by the government and have a stable occupation and income...
Besides... sooner or later she will get married... teaching offers a stable work hours...
TSvin39
post Mar 5 2011, 06:33 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 5 2011, 05:38 PM)
If she loves bio so much - try becoming a biology teacher instead.
Ask to take Bachelors of Education in Science (Biology) from IPTAs offering this program.

She won't have to worry about job market later on, she will be employed by the government and have a stable occupation and income...
Besides... sooner or later she will get married... teaching offers a stable work hours...
thanks for ur time but that is not what i wna hear bro.doesn mean if she likes bio she shud bcome a teacher.and plus shes finishin her foundation in a couple of months time.he degree is in may.so i am just askin an opinion here to help her to have a wider view.

This post has been edited by vin39: Mar 5 2011, 06:34 PM
CyberSetan
post Mar 5 2011, 06:42 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 5 2011, 06:33 PM)
thanks for ur time but that is not what i wna hear bro.doesn mean if she likes bio she shud bcome a teacher.and plus shes finishin her foundation in a couple of months time.he degree is in may.so i am just askin an opinion here to help her to have a wider view.
Type in proper intellegible English please. You are in Education Essentials forum after all.

If you want a wider view/options - you shouldn't limit her options to just these two bio-related programs (biotechnology and biomedical science), there are so many other bio-related programs available.

...and if you wondering weather I am qualified to give you advice on this... I am more than qualified to give you advice on Biomedical program...

I am Biomedical Degree Holder and have graduated years ago....

Have you asked her - what are her aims?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 5 2011, 06:47 PM
TSvin39
post Mar 6 2011, 05:09 AM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 5 2011, 06:42 PM)
Type in proper intellegible English please. You are in Education Essentials forum after all.

If you want a wider view/options - you shouldn't limit her options to just these two bio-related programs (biotechnology and biomedical science), there are so many other bio-related programs available.

...and if you wondering weather I am qualified to give you advice on this... I am more than qualified to give you advice on Biomedical program...

I am Biomedical Degree Holder and have graduated years ago....

Have you asked her - what are her aims?
i am very sorry.forgive me.well,actually in my uni they offer only biotech,biomedic and microbiology.she is intrested in this researching about dna and stuff.did not really ask her.but basically these are her two options which she is stuck in between.so i will be more than glad if you can tell me the scope for this two field.then she might have a rough idea of what these two is about.from there,mayb she can decide.just trying to help her.i am sorry if i offended you in any way. sad.gif
CyberSetan
post Mar 6 2011, 05:21 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 6 2011, 05:09 AM)
i am very sorry.forgive me.well,actually in my uni they offer only biotech,biomedic and microbiology.she is intrested in this researching about dna and stuff.did not really ask her.but basically these are her two options which she is stuck in between.so i will be more than glad if you can tell me the scope for this two field.then she might have a rough idea of what these two is about.from there,mayb she can decide.just trying to help her.i am sorry if i offended you in any way. sad.gif
Very well...

She can start reading the following topic, if she has any specific question about biomedical science, she can post it there and we will answer:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry22709528

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=706151&hl=

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 6 2011, 05:25 AM
TSvin39
post Mar 6 2011, 07:20 AM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 6 2011, 05:21 AM)
Very well...

She can start reading the following topic, if she has any specific question about biomedical science, she can post it there and we will answer:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry22709528

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=706151&hl=
how about biotech?and from your personal point of view,what would u suggest ?and why?
CyberSetan
post Mar 6 2011, 01:57 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 6 2011, 07:20 AM)
how about biotech?and from your personal point of view,what would u suggest ?and why?
As I mentioned in the links given... Biotech and Biomed have different focus and different subjects...
Here are some examples of Biotech's branches:

- General Biotechnology
- Plant / agricultural Biotechnology (offered by Nottingham University Malaysia)
- Animal Biotechnology
- Medical Biotechnology

etc etc...

We biomedical students do not study what the biotech students study - for example, a friend of mine was studying Biotechnology in UMS sabah.

Among his subjects include "Fermentation Process" and "Enzyme Technology". We do not study those subjects but they don't study our subjects either such as Hematology and Medical Parasitology.

Even if we share a subject - for example - microbiology - the focus of that subject will be different. We will focus on disease-causing microbes and methods of isolating and identifying them, whereas biotechnology student may study broadly or focus on useful microbes (eg for bioprocessing, fermentation, etc)

We primarily deal with human health and health laboratory methods... Biotechnologist don't.

... I cant suggest between these two programs for your girlfriend - it is up to her to decide.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 6 2011, 02:33 PM
TSvin39
post Mar 6 2011, 08:17 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 6 2011, 01:57 PM)
As I mentioned in the links given... Biotech and Biomed have different focus and different subjects...
Here are some examples of Biotech's branches:

- General Biotechnology
- Plant / agricultural Biotechnology (offered by Nottingham University Malaysia)
- Animal Biotechnology
- Medical Biotechnology

etc etc...

We biomedical students do not study what the biotech students study - for example, a friend of mine was studying Biotechnology in UMS sabah.

Among his subjects include "Fermentation Process" and "Enzyme Technology". We do not study those subjects but they don't study our subjects either such as Hematology and Medical Parasitology.

Even if we share a subject - for example - microbiology - the focus of that subject will be different. We will focus on disease-causing microbes and methods of isolating and identifying them, whereas biotechnology student may study broadly or focus on useful microbes (eg for bioprocessing, fermentation, etc)

We primarily deal with human health and health laboratory methods... Biotechnologist don't.
... I cant suggest between these two programs for your girlfriend - it is up to her to decide.
what made you choose biomedic dude? biggrin.gif
CyberSetan
post Mar 7 2011, 02:05 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 6 2011, 08:17 PM)
what made you choose biomedic dude? biggrin.gif
I have my reasons~
TSvin39
post Mar 7 2011, 01:40 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 7 2011, 02:05 AM)
I have my reasons~
mind to share?
CyberSetan
post Mar 7 2011, 02:19 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 7 2011, 01:40 PM)
mind to share?

- I like medical laboratory work and medical laboratory sciences - so much so - I have a mini 'lab' in my house for me to practice....

I have stated my other reasons before - you will have to find it in this forum~ wink.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 7 2011, 02:20 PM
TSvin39
post Mar 7 2011, 02:49 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

alright bro.thanks for the feedback.anybody else have anything to share?
VengenZ
post Mar 7 2011, 03:39 PM

La la la~
608 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 7 2011, 02:19 PM)

- I like medical laboratory work and medical laboratory sciences - so much so - I have a mini 'lab' in my house for me to practice....

I have stated my other reasons before - you will have to find it in this forum~  wink.gif
i see mbbs, r u a doctor + biomedical graduate hmm.gif
CyberSetan
post Mar 7 2011, 03:44 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(VengenZ @ Mar 7 2011, 03:39 PM)
i see mbbs, r u a doctor + biomedical graduate hmm.gif
what you saw is 'U.G MBBS' - Undergraduate MBBS.

I'm not a medical doctor (yet), I am a biomedical graduate, the following will explain further:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=22736445

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 7 2011, 03:47 PM
TSvin39
post Mar 7 2011, 06:46 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 7 2011, 03:44 PM)
what you saw is 'U.G MBBS' - Undergraduate MBBS.

I'm not a medical doctor (yet), I am a biomedical graduate, the following will explain further:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=22736445
lolz.i ws confused at 1st also.
exquisite_markas
post Mar 18 2011, 10:47 PM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

bro..

if can.. ask her to go for biomedical electronics engineering..

ya.. its engineering.. but many gals like dis course..

prospect oso vv good..
TSvin39
post Mar 18 2011, 11:49 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Mar 18 2011, 10:47 PM)
bro..

if can.. ask her to go for biomedical electronics engineering..

ya.. its engineering.. but many gals like dis course..

prospect oso vv good..
but she hates physics bro..sad.gif
dentalfloss
post Mar 19 2011, 10:24 AM

389 posts

biomed engineering gt prospects in msia?From what I heard,the prospects is still like biotech in Msia.However,the prospects for biomedic graduates are very good in Sigapore.
TSvin39
post Mar 19 2011, 11:54 AM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(dentalfloss @ Mar 19 2011, 10:24 AM)
biomed engineering gt prospects in msia?From what I heard,the prospects is still like biotech in Msia.However,the prospects for biomedic graduates are very good in Sigapore.
its about biomedical science bro. smile.gif
exquisite_markas
post Mar 19 2011, 01:26 PM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 18 2011, 11:49 PM)
but she hates physics bro..sad.gif
bro..

dis course has v minimal amount of phys only..

mostly on bio knowledge..
TSvin39
post Mar 20 2011, 11:36 PM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Mar 19 2011, 01:26 PM)
bro..

dis course has v minimal amount of phys only..

mostly on bio knowledge..
can you explain more about this course?

0.0238sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:49 PM