MvC3/Fighting Gaming Tournament Ideas, Building up the Console Gaming Community

TStanlouis
post Mar 4 2011, 08:55 PM, updated 15y ago

MvC3 is turning heads all around the world, and competitive console gaming has been given another breath of life in Japan and the US, who are now having competitions every week.

I've had experience with the fighting gaming community in the US, and I plan to bring it here.

I want to start it localized, Kuala Lumpur with bi-weekly tournaments of 5-10 ringgit entrance fees. The prize money goes as:

1st Place - 65% of pot
2nd Place - 15% of pot
3rd Place - 5% of pot

As such, if there were 100 entrants ($1000), the prize money would be:

1st Place - $650
2nd Place - $150
3rd Place - $50

The remainder of the $150 will be held for either rental of venue, or kept for a nationwide tournament to increase the size of that pot. More money can be raised via selling merchandise, snacks, sponsorship, and it will go back into the "community," which I intend to keep transparent. I will develop a website that keeps the community up-to-date with events, as well as the expenditure of the funds.

Please note that I don't intend to build this idea to make money for myself or as a business, rather I want to build a community of gamers that will allow us to one day compete with the levels they have in the U.S/Japan. With the mediums available to us today (Internet/Facebook/Twitter/Forums), getting word out about competitive console gaming and getting people involved is not going to be as difficult as it once was.

I want to hear any kind of criticisms or ideas you people may have, so long as they are constructive. Lets make this happen.
Auricom
post Mar 4 2011, 09:53 PM

51 posts

Sup Godslayer. Good luck and all the best with this xD

If you want to know about the so called current state of esports in Malaysia, we should meet up one of these days.
yagami05
post Mar 4 2011, 10:46 PM

122 posts

cool! cant wait for it!
TStanlouis
post Mar 5 2011, 03:18 AM

QUOTE(Auricom @ Mar 4 2011, 09:53 PM)
Sup Godslayer. Good luck and all the best with this xD

If you want to know about the so called current state of esports in Malaysia, we should meet up one of these days.
Lol Douglass! It's been a friggin while. I actually thought of you recently to be honest. The world is just too small. You play console games too? What're you up to now?

I'd like to know who would be interested in playing an MvC3 tournament say, 2-3 weeks from now. If we can gather at least 20 players, its a definite go. I'm sure we can get a shop to host the event in Mid Valley or someplace we can vote on
leongteng5
post Mar 6 2011, 01:08 AM

27 posts

Dude go for it man!

I mean look at the MVC3 forums, there's lots of activity there. Obviously there's a good MVC3 fanbase in KL

Not to plug anything, but we have a healthy local fighting community and they have a forum: http://forum.insert-coin.my/ You might also want to ask there for ideas and/or get them involved in some way, though they are more of a street fighter fanbase.

This post has been edited by leongteng5: Mar 6 2011, 01:10 AM
RENEGADEZERG
post Mar 6 2011, 12:35 PM

23 posts

Host a MvC2 tourney while you're at it too please T_T
TStanlouis
post Mar 7 2011, 02:05 AM

QUOTE(leongteng5 @ Mar 6 2011, 01:08 AM)
Dude go for it man!

I mean look at the MVC3 forums, there's lots of activity there. Obviously there's a good MVC3 fanbase in KL

Not to plug anything, but we have a healthy local fighting community and they have a forum: http://forum.insert-coin.my/ You might also want to ask there for ideas and/or get them involved in some way, though they are more of a street fighter fanbase.
That's good to hear. I'll go speak to a few places soon as to whether they'd be willing to host a console gaming competition and we'll move forward from there. Does the competition layout look good though? The prize money distribution?

For the MvC2 request....i think its best for us to go for MvC3 for now while the hype is still crazy smile.gif Once we build a good community, we can get a few more games in. We can have casuals tho!

True Parallels
post Mar 8 2011, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(tanlouis @ Mar 7 2011, 02:05 AM)
That's good to hear. I'll go speak to a few places soon as to whether they'd be willing to host a console gaming competition and we'll move forward from there. Does the competition layout look good though? The prize money distribution?

For the MvC2 request....i think its best for us to go for MvC3 for now while the hype is still crazy smile.gif Once we build a good community, we can get a few more games in. We can have casuals tho!
Another vote for both MvC2 n MvC3
kileak
post Mar 8 2011, 02:37 PM

14 posts

You got PM tanlouis smile.gif
TPK
post Mar 8 2011, 05:45 PM

I would advise you to consult Alan Mark since he's experienced in conducting fighting tournies
TStanlouis
post Mar 8 2011, 08:58 PM

QUOTE(TPK @ Mar 8 2011, 05:45 PM)
I would advise you to consult Alan Mark since he's experienced in conducting fighting tournies
Shoutout to insert-coin.com.my for reaching out to me. Things are coming together faster than I expected, maybe we can have dates soon smile.gif

Who is Alan Mark? How do I get in contact with him? Thanks for all your input
TPK
post Mar 9 2011, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(tanlouis @ Mar 8 2011, 08:58 PM)
Shoutout to insert-coin.com.my for reaching out to me. Things are coming together faster than I expected, maybe we can have dates soon smile.gif

Who is Alan Mark? How do I get in contact with him? Thanks for all your input
His id in LYN is alanmukkl
axii
post Apr 28 2011, 05:10 PM

75 posts

This thread needs more input. I'm all in for weekly ranbats, and would love to see some hidden talents in Malaysia rise and maybe represent us in Evo next time smile.gif
Darkstalker
post Apr 29 2011, 11:50 AM

214 posts

Alan was the guy that did a few of the SF4 tournaments a while back. smile.gif

Anyway, MvC3 tourney is a good idea... wink.gif
TStanlouis
post Apr 29 2011, 02:45 PM

http://www.insert-coin.my/insert-coin-my-p...0th-april-2011/

SSF4 + MvC3 Tournament happening tomorrow.

I'm sorry for the lack of updates, but I only found out about this yesterday. Malaysian side is still lacking 3 players, get in contact ASAP!

Also, if you want to get involved in the news, join the following groups:

MvC3: http://www.facebook.com/pages/MvC3-Malaysia/221984554485412
Insert-Coin: http://www.facebook.com/insertcoin.my

Lets get some hype going!
Darkstalker
post Apr 29 2011, 02:53 PM

214 posts

Thanks for promoting man. Looking forward to meeting you tomorrow. wink.gif
TStanlouis
post May 1 2011, 03:57 PM

Great news everyone.

Things are in motion for a corporate sponsor for competitive console gaming, so long as it builds their brand and they might have me lead the project. Still too early for specific details, but its 90% going to go through. Once we get a corporate sponsor, we can really build some interest and reason for people to start playing this game, and leveling themselves up!

For now, what you people can do for me is think about ideas on how we can build hype and outreach.

Also, this is a GREAT opportunity for someone to start learning how to make live streams, as well as commentary. Currently there is no one in Malaysia that does it, and a good player/speaker would really help.

If you'd like to dedicate your time and be in the front line of the next big thing, let me know smile.gif
axii
post May 2 2011, 08:19 PM

75 posts

Keep up the good stuff bro, i'm grabbing and recruiting as many players as I can in the Subang area.
guardioo
post May 3 2011, 12:27 AM

360 posts

For commentary stream, mumble server are ready smile.gif
Darkstalker
post May 3 2011, 01:09 PM

214 posts

Mumble server?

EDIT: I looked it up, it's a gaming voice chat. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: May 3 2011, 01:21 PM