Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V6, Nikon announcement on Mar/Apr ?!

jchue73
post Mar 6 2011, 03:25 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 5 2011, 04:38 PM)
Guys if you have about RM3k, would you get the 80-200 two touch? Mainly for outdoor and potraits hmm.gif

Sometimes for sports and racing cars smile.gif
I've not seen how the new Sigma 70-200 performs but the 80-200mm f/2.8 two touch is a legend. It's a nice price if it's a good copy.

Then when your budget is more, you'd still be able to sell the two touch and get the same price you paid for.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 5 2011, 11:39 PM)
Really? Can't afford lor, max budget already sad.gif

Saw reviews saying it's nearly as sharp as the Nikkor 70-200 VR at 2.8. And it has the best body. You tried the two touch?
I have the heavier 5 ED glass AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8 and I'm very satisfied with it. I'm told the pics are quite comparable to the two touch.

Anyway, speaking about the 80-200, I almost forgot that I had 2 sample photos used on the MIR website to show as samples...

http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/compa...00mm/index4.htm

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Mar 6 2011, 01:13 AM)
User feedback on these 3 lens? Coz Sigma70-200 n nikkor 80-200 have no OS/VR, but is fast 2.8 lens, den the cheaper nikkor 70-300 has VR but not a 2.8 lens, which 1 wins shooting handheld low light? and also color outcome in daylight?
Depends on what type of subject you shoot in low light... Static subjects in low light, the VR will be fine but if it's fast moving like capturing indoor basketball or gymnastics, you want big aperture for higher shutter speed to freeze motion. The VR would give you slow shutter speed, sharp backgrounds but the subject will be blurred due to motion.
jchue73
post Mar 7 2011, 12:04 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 6 2011, 08:16 AM)
I was one of the 2 touch user before, upgraded to VR2 after 3 weeks.... It won't match even the VR one in terms of image quality, u get what u paid for, however the Sigma 70-200 OS is pretty much better than the 80-200 in everything, trust me u need OS on heavy telephoto lens  shocking.gif
The 80-200mm or 70-200mm is considered moderate telephoto with moderate weight. With proper technique, you should be able to get sharp shots. Heck, I was using D70 with the 80-200mm f/2.8 and never felt the need to get the latest and greatest 70-200mm f/2.8 VR. With better high ISO Nikon cameras nowdays, it should not even be a problem. Of course if you have the means, no problem getting the best but it's not always necessary.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 6 2011, 09:15 AM)
only thing the 70-300VR loses out is of cos if u need high shutter speeds of at least 1/125 etc in low light...then u need to boost iso...which then will reduce image sharpness...even tho the image will look somewhat clean.
Where did you hear this? The fact that you need to use higher than 1/125 shutter speed (even for VR ??) tells me that it's a user problem than the lens itself despite the fact that super zooms are never good at their most tele end.

High ISO is always at the expense of reduced colour contrast and dynamic range. Of course that effect is greatly reduced when the sensor is from the D700/D3/D3s.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 6 2011, 11:41 AM)
I see. I guess i'll try to use it for a while, getting a monopod to pair with the lens. Let's see how it goes. My friend is using a Canon 70-200 f2.8 without IS, he said he needed to get use to the lens first, then it's gonna be fine. Well hopefully it'll be fine for me too.

I really expect a lot from this lens, it's gonna arrive this thursday smile.gif
Good luck. Yeah, with some discipline, you can make it work. Speaking of monopods, I've been to fashion shows and people with 70-200mm VR and IS lenses still use the monopod. Why? Because is heavy especially if you're using external flash.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 6 2011, 12:03 PM)
I hope u won't end up selling the 80-200 like I do  tongue.gif
Nothing wrong with selling. It's called progression. Sometimes one does not need to sell to get the latest and greatest.

Besides, you're talking about Nikon glass. Not Sigma / Tamron.

QUOTE(gnome @ Mar 6 2011, 04:33 PM)
Wooo im looking to buy 80200 two touch aswell but if cant find any good deal probably gonna go with sigma 70-200 II smile.gif
Desmond at Pudu should have the two touch, no?

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Mar 6 2011, 04:57 PM)
Hey guys, I just got myself a second hand Nikon D300 body for ~RM2600. Was it a good buy? Everything is in good condition and the shutter count is about 10k now. I'm still waiting for the seller to send it to me

Well, I'm treating this as a upgrade for my D40 smile.gif
Congrats. Good price. rclxms.gif It's a very nice bump from D40 surely. The first thing to notice is the focus and camera response snappier.

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Mar 6 2011, 05:12 PM)
Hehe... Yeah, how much was the D300 body only when it was new? I think I'll keep this D300 now smile.gif
I remember buying mine at 5k if I'm not wrong. I guess I too will stick with it and use it as a back up.

jchue73
post Mar 7 2011, 12:42 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Mar 7 2011, 12:20 AM)
just try clean with alcohol...
and clean the rust on the hotshoe with sharp metal...
I believe it's a known common problem. The hot shoe becomes loose over time.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 7 2011, 12:26 AM)
looks like u didnt or cant read properly, i said "if u need high shutter speeds of at least 1/125 etc in low light", with respect to shooting events like dances / concerts etc where ppl obviously do not stay still...whereas if i had a constant 2.8 i can get 2 stops of ISO.
Your original message was too concise. Now I understand.
jchue73
post Mar 7 2011, 11:44 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(dyth @ Mar 7 2011, 10:05 AM)
1) 10mins movies, the original memory can be support? (Because I read somewhere else mention the memory have different class such as class 2, class 4 and class 6, what is the different on this?)
I may be wrong but I thought the 10 minute limitation is to prevent the sensor from overheating.

2) From research Nikon D31000 body is build in with motor? What the different body with motor or lens with motor? Is there any pros and cons?
If you have the motor on the body, you can use AF-S (with built-in motor) and the older AF (without motor) lenses. There's still quite a lot of the older AF lenses that you can use but nowadays, Nikon has updated most of their lenses to AF-S type.

3) Since I'm newbie here I plan bought camera for vacation use, as the website said it can last for 550 picture (so this cases I need bring space battery, can the normal rechargeable battery can be use?)
Nope. Usually the built-in Nikon batteries are very reliable. Bring charger and charge it overnight. Anyway, are you expecting to take more than 550 photos in one day of your vacation? 550 photos is a lot. If yes, than buy a second battery. You also need to factor in the times you take video on the D3100. It would use up more battery of course.
jchue73
post Mar 8 2011, 02:12 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 8 2011, 01:31 AM)
new toy = 85 1.4D tongue.gif
Nice. Congrats. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Mar 8 2011, 02:16 AM)
sifus... what is the setting probably for this?

f10?
1/60?

the photo capture all of the items like the mountain, ship sharply, but at the same time the wave is kinda blury??

learning....
It's all about the right shutter speed. Not too slow, not too fast. I'm guessing something like 1/10 or 1/5? Just enough to get the movement of the wave.

Oh, mountains don't move and ships at that distance would not seen to be moving especially from that distance. If you put like a 5 or 10 second shutter, you might catch the ship moving.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 8 2011, 10:53 AM)
the dark side laugh.gif
Nice one. LOL

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 8 2011, 01:40 PM)
Yeah been thinking about that, if anything similar to 70-200vr2 then I am sold, wanna try macro lens  laugh.gif
DXOMark rates it the highest quality Nikon lens.
jchue73
post Mar 9 2011, 02:32 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 8 2011, 06:38 PM)
that luxury cleaner?
I also aim one biggrin.gif ... but what the difference we use betweem that liquid and normal water? hmm.gif
What about saliva? drool.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 8 2011, 07:47 PM)
btw, i just saw a used AF-S 300mm f/4...rm3k.
It's one of my favourite sporting lens.

I remember using it once for fashion show. Kind of...

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 8 2011, 08:15 PM)
what kind of technique to make the "star"/ lens flare? hmm.gif
Stopping down the lens (small aperture) will give you same effect. But in this case, it could just be photoshop or the effects you get using the Stars Cokin filters.

QUOTE(loverjinx @ Mar 8 2011, 07:48 PM)
I just saw the review of 200m f/2. So damn freaking nice !
Yes, this is one lens I would not mind breaking the bank. I've seen shops like Keycolour in Mid Valley having the 300mm f/2.8 in stock but has anybody seen shops actually having the 200mm f/2.0 VR in stock?

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 8 2011, 09:31 PM)
if he dont want to share, let me share with u when i met 5Dmk2 + 70200 non IS lol
In my opinion, too much skin softening. Skin looks like plastic.

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:50 PM)
Picture spam ...

Shot @ Lake View Villa ...
Just some feedback. When I was learning, I remembered somebody commented that you should not put the horizon smack in the middle of the frame. Shift the horizon below.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 8 2011, 10:24 PM)
Will a monopod help me a lot while using 80-200 two touch? hmm.gif
Of course it helps to ease the weight off my arms. It helps especially if you're shooting fashion show and standing in one position only. If you have to move about, still possible. But like somebody mentioned, if outdoor you usually get higher shutter speeds.

Look at how people do birding with long lenses (with bigger tripods and gimbal heads) and AFP/Reuters photogs using monopods shooting football, tennis and F1.

Oh, does not mean that you put your lens on monopod you will get sharp pictures. You still need proper technique with monopod.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 9 2011, 12:03 AM)
I see, I'm getting the lens this friday, planning to get one. Does it help when we're panning cars? hmm.gif
Panning cars? It helps that your arms and torso can move freely. Having the monopod is useful if you do not need to move the camera / lens.

jchue73
post Mar 9 2011, 05:06 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Mar 9 2011, 03:59 PM)
The one i'm using does not magnify. Those consist of 3 item; a DK-3 rubber eyecup, a DK-22 eyepiece adapter and a Finder Eyepiece for FM/FE/FA series camera..the one with magnifier is DK-21M, which is this one:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/4073...g_Eyepiece.html
I have a similar rubber cup. Was using it on the D2Hs but just last week I transferred it to the D700. Not cheap. cry.gif

Oh, mine's the DK-19 rubber cup (similar to DK-3) and the DK-17M magnifier.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 9 2011, 05:11 PM
jchue73
post Mar 11 2011, 04:38 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 9 2011, 06:11 PM)
Can it be used on D7000 or there's one similar for D7000? unsure.gif
If I'm not wrong, you just need to add the DK-22 eyepiece adapter.

QUOTE(faareast @ Mar 9 2011, 06:12 PM)
will the magnifier reduce the percentage view cover?
A magnifier is suppose to increase. Not reduce !

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 10 2011, 05:34 PM)
Hopefully better than that. D3s ISO is only better than D700 by small margin(1~2 stops) sad.gif
1 stop difference means ISO 6400 on the D700 looks like ISO 12800 on the D3s (which is the case). That's not small. That's huge.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 10 2011, 05:54 PM)
D700 is basically smaller ver of D3, without the built in battery grip, 9fps and dual CF slot. ISO performance is very similar.
Yup. ISO performance of D3 = D700.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 10 2011, 05:54 PM)
D800 is to replace D700 only, not D3s, but don't be surprised if D800 performance is better than D3s because different generation model already mah, just like how D7000 surpass D300s performance. smile.gif
In terms of image quality (noise / MP), yes. In terms of focus and ergonomics, no. The D300/D300s is still miles better.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 10 2011, 06:16 PM)
If he said D90 beats D7000 ISO performance, that's considered downgrading and your friend is bullshitting up himself. Just like the case where people consider to swap D3100 body to D90, that's not totally an upgrade because D3100 ISO performance out beat D90.
Errr... Like what Everdying said, it depends what is important to the photographer. The D90 would be able to use AF type lenses without built-in motor. The 3" LCD screen is also gorgeous like the D700/D300/D300s. But of course like a newer product, it should be better. If the photographer does not care for continuous AF in 1080p video, the D90 is fine.

List of summary differences;

Sensor - D3100 14.2 MP vs D90 12.3 MP (debatable)
HD Movie Mode - D3100 1080p with full-time AF vs D90 720p (no full-time AF)
Compatible Lenses - D3100 only AF-S type lenses vs D90 AF with all Nikkor AF lenses (i.e. AF plus AF-S)
ISO - D3100 ISO range from 100 - 12,800 at 1 EV steps vs D90 ISO range from 100 to 6,400 at 1/3, 1/2, or 1 EV steps (1 stop better higher ISO performance also)
Monitor - D3100 3" 230,000 dots vs D90 3" 921,000 dots

In terms of similarities, they are as follows;

Metering - 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Auto Focus - 11 point AF system

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 10 2011, 07:43 PM)
D3s really not as great as you imagine lah. I use people's D700 and my dad's old D3 also, normal usage compare to D3s really not much differences to me.
For a casual shooter, it's overkill. D700 can do the job. For PJs and sports shooters, they are fantastic.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 10 2011, 07:43 PM)
D3s damn heavy, don't like wink.gif
doh.gif There is a reason why a body is constructed like that. The ergonomics is almost perfect. I like it very much and don't mind the weight actually.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 11 2011, 10:02 AM)
chanhin got 200/2 ? Last known was with 85/1.2L, 135L
Not too familiar with L lenses but thought it was an old one. I saw him using it during the KLIMS show.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 11 2011, 10:16 AM)
Wahlaueh the 200mm F/2 i don't know can handheld or not, seems really heavy  sweat.gif
Some people handhold 300mm f/2.8 before. So 200mm f/2.0 is possible.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
nikon is joining the party now .lol. cannot wait to see how them perform, good iso, dial. good enough liao,hahaha
Don't know about everyone else but I find mirrorless unsexy. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 11 2011, 11:01 AM)
Get MacBook Pro? Hehe
Curious. What can a Mac do that a normal PC cannot when it comes to photo editing? hmm.gif

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Mar 11 2011, 03:56 PM)
d700 kit lens is which one ar?
D700 where got kit lens? hmm.gif

Most people use the 24-70mm f/2.8 as a walkabout lens. Not really kit lens type of quality and price. laugh.gif
jchue73
post Mar 11 2011, 05:51 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 11 2011, 04:48 PM)
smoother? OS easier to control? more awesome when editing photo in starbucks? looks profesional when meeting client?
*had to admit that when own MBP, the client will think " oh now that is pro designer/ photographer/ editor."  hmm.gif   whistling.gif
In the days of Windows 98 and Windows XP, you are right. But not anymore. You got a point on the last one though. But to me, it'll be the opposite. I don't think highly of people with Macs.

Added on March 11, 2011, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Mar 11 2011, 05:35 PM)
and watching a movie in a laptop where like everyone moving around... maybe it is just me with home theater and whatnot... home is just what people call "privacy" and comfort.
I don't know if this trend has already caught on here but people down south in Singapore watch movies on their mobile on the MRT. doh.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 11 2011, 05:54 PM
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 11:51 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 11 2011, 07:31 PM)
While waiting my 24/1.4G back, suddenly this appear in my bag sweat.gif
Wah... Congrats. How is it compared tot he 24mm f/1.4?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 11 2011, 09:08 PM)
Sian, my VR2 still at hospital -.- wonder they started working on it already or not.
Did Nikon say they already have the spare parts in stock? With the earthquake, it would probably be longer wait if the spare part needs to come from Japan.

QUOTE(SeanLee85 @ Mar 11 2011, 10:04 PM)
Is starter kit, consist of 0.6 GND and 0.6 solid ND. Total plus 2 ring adapter not more than 1200
Whoa... Congrats. rclxms.gif Where did you get it from?

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 12 2011, 12:36 AM)
How's the quality of Kenko MC filter? Got it with the 80-200 smile.gif
Junk it. Best filter is without a filter. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 12 2011, 01:01 AM)
hey guys, any1 own a 80-200 f2.8? wats u guys exp on it? how is the performance compare to 70-200 f2.8?

planning to get either 1 of it soon.
Are you looking at the two touch version of the 80-200mm f/2.8? If you have the budget and you're shooting low light and fast action sports, the 70-200mm f/2.8 VR II is best.

QUOTE(@meno @ Mar 12 2011, 10:17 AM)
The VR II is superior when compared to the 80-200, however having used them both, here are my findings.
-The 80-200 produces at warmer colour tone while the VR II is slightly pale.
-The VR II focusses much faster due to the AF-S motor.
-In terms of sharpness, my untrained eyes sees no difference...tongue.gif
-Built, i love my 80-200 solid built better.
-But the killer point is the VR II, 4 stops is a lot when it comes to low light photography.
So end of the day if one has the cash to spend, i'd say go for the VR II as well. I'm saving up for one myself... laugh.gif
Your observations are spot on.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 12 2011, 10:21 AM)
I have used the 80-200 for 3 weeks before upgrading to VR2, the sharpness, colour is just way better.. 80-200 has this washed out colour compared to any of the modern N coat lens  doh.gif
Something very wrong with your copy then. Most people use the two touch without problem.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 12 2011, 10:55 AM)
Trying backlit style, my focus was hunting -.-|||.
One thing good about the AF-S type lenses is the full time manual override. If your lens is hunting, just twist the focus ring on the lens and focus manually using your eyes while your right index finger is half-pressed on the shutter button.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 12 2011, 02:28 PM)
Should be, sharper wide open, but VR1 is already quite sharp
If you're talking about performance wide open on DX sensor, yes. But the 80-200mm f/2.8 is better than the VR1 on FX sensor.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 12 2011, 05:06 PM)
Are the Nikon editing softwares recommended for .NEF files?
Yes, they still produce the best NEF to TIFF or NEF to JPG conversion.

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Mar 12 2011, 05:48 PM)
maybe its time for KTCY to jump ship for leica s2 system
What can the Leica do that you cannot on the current system? whistling.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 12 2011, 07:21 PM)
ya j-one got, iirc rm130 for the whole set.
RM 130 including the DK-17M?

jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 12:54 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 12 2011, 11:48 PM)
i assume nikon is 1 step behind canon...?
You sure? biggrin.gif Why are Canon photographers putting Nikon lenses on their full-frame bodies for wide angles?

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 12 2011, 11:50 PM)
The even have the 50mm f1.0 L meh 
What's the point? Is that lens as much coveted like the 58mm f/1.2 Noct? It's not about how big the aperture can go. It's about the quality of picture that the glass produces that matters.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 13 2011, 12:25 AM)
So far no regret dumping 24-70 for 16-35, i have my 85 1.4g and 70-200vr2 for longer range
You dump a Sigma 24-70. Not a Nikkor 24-70. I bet you would not dump a Nikkor 24-70 if you had one. smile.gif

QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 13 2011, 04:09 PM)
ah any brand recommended? plan to get it...its really hard to use the speedlight with the pop up flash... the image tends to be unnatural...
Unnatural? Don't hit the flash directly. Bounce if possible. Reduce flash compensation to reduce flash power.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 13 2011, 08:16 PM)
if not mistaken the right side "ang mo" is codemaster staff right?
That ang mao kacau the pic only. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 13 2011, 10:17 PM)
Must be that stupid guy thinks the f/1.4D focus better tongue.gif. Later sure cry like shit.
The other reason I can think of is the person wants to use the lens on his film camera. You need the aperture ring of the D lens which the G does not provide.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 13 2011, 10:46 PM)
G lens all the way, D lens is prone to missfocus everynow and then  laugh.gif .. U can't use AFC mode with the D, so damn sux with it  doh.gif
Which D lens did you try? 85mm f/1.4D ?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 14 2011, 12:35 AM)
lol.
the other day i tested a AF-S 300mm f/4.
can feel the motor focusing, the guy said it was old AF-S.
someone else who tried it before said the motor got problem.

never tried it brand new, so i dunno tongue.gif
The focusing on the AF-S 300mm f/4 is not the fastest. Still ok though.

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Mar 14 2011, 08:04 AM)
If shooting a dark scene with a f/2.8 needs iso 1600 to achieve 1/10s, by using f/4, how much iso i need to compensate to achieve same shutter speed of 1/10? Sorry I hav no knowledge in counting these....
ISO 3200.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2011, 08:32 AM)
f/2.8 to f/4 is 1 stop (or is it 2/3 stop), so worse case condition is 1/5s. Piece of cake for 1635 VR.
F/2.8 to f/4 is 1 stop. ISO 1600 to ISO 3200 is 1 stop.

If the op was asking for shutter speed, yeah 1/5 s but he was asking for ISO.

1/5 s on 70-200 with VR II would need very steady hands.

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Mar 14 2011, 08:39 AM)
70-200VRII get in HK icon_rolleyes.gif
How much cheaper is it? Make sure you get international warranty and warranty for mainland China only.

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 14 2011, 11:27 AM)
its already f5 @ 1/250 zooming at 300mm. xD
Smaller aperture and increase ISO for same shutter speed.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2011, 11:56 AM)
f/5 at 300mm is insufficient la... People is going f/11-f/22 even on 105mm.
I believe that would be on tripod and with a speedlight at f/22.
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 01:15 PM

2,496 posts

Don't know if anybody has seen this but he's the official announment by Nikon on the plant in Sendai.

http://www.nikon.com/about/news/2011/0314_01.htm

jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 01:34 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 14 2011, 12:56 PM)
nope, just the 3 pcs previously mentioned.
Ok. Because the time when I got my DK-17M, it was close to RM 200 already.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 14 2011, 01:16 PM)
haha i was sharing previous 2 posts before  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
Yup. Did not notice it.
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 03:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(loverjinx @ Mar 14 2011, 02:17 PM)
still deciding on whether to get the nikkor 24-70 or 16-35 for the wider angle... not very happy with my sigma 24-70 but still acceptable for the time being.
Are you on DX or FX? The thing is what is the preferred focal length? What type of photography interest you? 24-70 is pretty nice on FX for most type of general photography but I find a little limiting on DX. Most of the time the 24mm on DX is not wide enough. The 16-35 should be nice on DX but depending on your preference, it may be a little wide on FX.

But if you're specifically looking for 24-70, the Nikkor is the better one.

Added on March 14, 2011, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 14 2011, 02:35 PM)
D7k body only cost RM 3.6k there. Not much diff right?
Even if it's different, I would still pay a little more since DSLR bodies bought outside of Malaysia will not be warrantied.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 14 2011, 03:09 PM
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 03:19 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2011, 03:01 PM)
Ahh, ask your friend see if can get the HB-55 lens hood? biggrin.gif. I don't really mind the price now LOL. I just want the item.
Desperate? Shashinki?

http://shashinki.com/shop/nikon-hb55-bayon...facturers_id=11
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 04:26 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 14 2011, 03:39 PM)
my hood metal hard2 wan break one laugh.gif
Yup. The metal hood on the 85mm f/1.4D is very sturdy and macho but can bengkok and not return to it's original shape. Be careful.

QUOTE(loverjinx @ Mar 14 2011, 03:40 PM)
im a FX user , using D700 at the moment. landscape, portraits and street photography are what interests me. i like the 24-70 range but i do not have anything wider than the 24mm now. am thinking whether or not to sell the sigma 24-70 and my 80-200mm two touch and just get the 24-70 nikon lens.
The 24-70 is wide on FX but not too wide. Not that you cannot do landscape on it. 24mm is fine. It has excellent range for portraits to street photography. If you're fine with the range of the Sigma 24-70, you'll be fine with the Nikkor 24-70.

If you have extra funds, then perhaps go with the 16-35 for wide angle.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 03:42 PM)
Sell the sigma and get nikkor 16-35, just like what i did
If a person says he wants the 24-70 range, how can you recommend the 16-35? rclxub.gif

I think in terms of priority, the 16-35 can come later after the 24-70.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 03:51 PM)
Doesnt seem to be a problem with me, one tick at lightroom solves all the problem  smile.gif
Yes you can. At the expense of less resolution.

QUOTE(cik_tak @ Mar 14 2011, 03:52 PM)
shooting wedding at garden Cafe Sunway pyramid yesterday ... manage to shoot most of the pictures using 50mm f1.8 and i love it !!!
No people? If you say it's a wedding photography, then you should have people, right?

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 03:58 PM)
If u want minimal distortion by all means spend a lot of cash on a wideangle prime
Not necessary. The 14-24mm f/2.8 zoom has relatively better distortion compared with the primes.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 14 2011, 04:12 PM)
+1 to that. if not, get the sigma 12-24. will be really wide on FX. very less distortion, but strong vignetting, and will be not as sharp as 16-35 laugh.gif
I notice a lot of people side-step the 14-24mm f/2.8. If you're talking about wide angles, nothing on the 35mm format beats it. Not even Canon.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 04:21 PM)
You failed to mention one very important thing for the sigma, the AF of the sigma lens is always better than the equivalent tamron lens, tamron is always slow and hunting badly during lowlight  doh.gif
That's correct. On a wide angle that is not so important. But if you're using a lens for sports like the 70-200, the Tamron version is dog slow.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 14 2011, 04:26 PM
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 05:18 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(cik_tak @ Mar 14 2011, 04:34 PM)
of course there are lot of people there, but i have the right to port whatever picture that i want right ??
who the hell are u to tell me what pics i should post ??
u only shoot people on their wedding day ka ??? how bout the wedding setup / details etc ..
Relaks man. I never said which you should and should not post. I'm fine if you client does not like you posting photos of themselves. Don't have to resort to caustic words. Just curious why no photos of people when it is suppose to be a wedding shoot.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 14 2011, 04:38 PM)
maybe its the price factor that makes lots of people dodging that lens. but that's true. it beats canon. but nothing can beat it, that's not true i think. the leica 21mm f2.8 asph and the zeiss 21mm ZE is better.
You got me there. Indeed those manual focus lenses are better.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 04:53 PM)
I choose the 16-35 over the 14-24 not because of budget, because of the following reason

1. 16-35 has a more useful range to me, can stay on camera longer
2. can use filter
3. lighter+VR

Never regret not getting the 14-24
Those are very valid reasons. Different people have different requirements.

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 14 2011, 05:05 PM)
coz after you have corrected the fish eye like distortion, you have to crop the side of the photo. hence, less resolution.
i see it as tighter composition. i won't get 16mm angle anymore, it's more like 18mm or 20mm. so for what i am doing, the 16-35 is basically useless.
Thanks for the input. Saved me some time typing. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Mar 14 2011, 05:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 14 2011, 05:18 PM)
Thanx for the info, learn something new today yeah different lenses for different needs... 16-35 is a fine lens for what i shoot
If a person shoots landscapes, then distortion is not so obvious. Distortion is obvious if you're shooting building interiors / exteriors and perhaps if you shoot people, they look funny at the wide end.

Distortion is not only limited to just the 16-35 but it's on all UWA. It's either less or more but it's still there.

Added on March 14, 2011, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(wp188 @ Mar 14 2011, 05:22 PM)
Hi to all,is that reasonable to get a 2nd hand SB600 now? for wedding function or exhibition
Depends on how much you can get it for...

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 14 2011, 05:28 PM
jchue73
post Mar 15 2011, 04:39 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 14 2011, 07:13 PM)
True enough but Lee filters already come out the holding for 14-24
ifer notworthy.gif
Seldom see you back in here. Mostly at PM tongue.gif
They cost a BOMB ! rclxub.gif I'm thinking of modding myself with the Cokin holder.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 14 2011, 10:32 PM)
so many people keep saying D70s is good machine

6 years ago, it was indeed a good machine. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 14 2011, 10:54 PM)
17-35 already very good in term of IQ
Between the 16-35mm f/4 VR and 17-35mm f/2.8, I'll take the 16-35mm f/4 VR. If you must know, the 17-35mm f/2.8 isn't great at f/2.8.

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 14 2011, 11:47 PM)
Just bought this. smile.gif Now waiting for my friend to come back from HK to pass to me.
Congrats. What's the damage again? RM 5.3k?

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 14 2011, 11:48 PM)
hmm....17-35 f2.8 + 35-70 f2.8 combination or 14-24 + 24-70 better?
Of course the latter combination ! Anyway, I still have the AF-D 35-70mm f/2.8 with me but does not get used a lot. It's suppose to be one of the better lenses back in those days before the humongous AF-S 28-70mm f/2.8 came out (now superseded by AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8). I also have the AF-D 20-35mm f/2.8 that is superseded by the AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8. I use the 20-35mm f/2.8 as my walkabout lens on the D700 but now the 24-70 gets more time.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 15 2011, 12:04 AM)
who said dont have la.
browse thru ftz, this month already can already see 3 different sellers selling 35-70 f/2.8...2 of them at rm1.4k used...another dunno.
Perhaps I should off-load mine. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 15 2011, 12:09 AM)
instead of getting that, y not get the Nikon 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G AF-S DX NIKKOR ED VR Zoom Lens ? its within yor budget range and also zoom range. or u can stake out 1k extra can get Nikon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S NIKKOR ED VR Zoom Lens?
Samples from the 28-300mm VR seems to be very good actually.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Mar 15 2011, 12:15 AM)
Anyone has experience with Sigma 30mm f1.4? Might look for that instead of the Nikkor 35mm f2 hmm.gif
I took a lot of baby photos of my daughter when she was just born. Was quite satisfied with it. Most of the time I shot wide open. At that time I paired the Sigma with the D40x as I wanted something compact to move about.

When I got the Sigma, I also made a lot of comparisons with the Nikkor 35mm f/2. From what I read, it was a toss up in terms of sharpness. Both are about equal. That is if you get a good copy of the Sigma. The colour from the Sigma tends to be on the warm side. I took the gamble and the f/1.4 of the Sigma won as I wanted to shoot in low light. I was lucky as my copy was spot on. I was warned that the QC on the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 needs to be checked as you may get a copy that front / back focuses. When that happens, people will complain that it's soft.

jchue73
post Mar 15 2011, 09:50 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 15 2011, 05:21 AM)
What is great to you? Enlighten me with photos notworthy.gif
I neither have the 16-35 nor the 17-35. I'm currently looking at the 14-24 though for UWA on the FX. From the examples I have seen, the newer 16-35 is sharper across the plane at the same apertures with better CA and flare control compared to the 17-35. The 17-35 is not stellar at wide open at f/2.8. Not to say that it's unusable but it's probably the same like my 20-35mm f/2.8. I see you have one. Why not shoot and post one up for us to check out?

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 15 2011, 07:49 AM)
wan to sell yors?  brows.gif  although its gonna be MF in my d5000 body xD
Send me a PM. I'll consider.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 15 2011, 09:38 AM)
why u laughing bro? and btw, as for me, i would go with the 16-35mm. surely going to be my next purchase. only not sure when its going to be. hopefully next month, or when i finally decide to sell of my 5D2 and straight jump all the way to nikon perhaps? laugh.gif
Just curious. What is pulling you to Nikon? From what I see and hear, what the 5DMkII can resolve at 21Mp is very addictive. The people I know using it does not seem to want to move from Canon's offering.

0.0238sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:41 AM