Mitsubishi has pulled out the Evolution, Lancer Evo X would be the last...for now

TSalpha0201
post Mar 3 2011, 08:27 AM, updated 15y ago

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

The Mitsubishi Evo is no more

I’ve just spent an engaging half-hour in the company of Gayu Eusegi, Mitsubishi’s global product director.

Mostly we talked about the new Global Small Concept, which will be built in Thailand and sized somewhere between a Toyota Aygo and the Colt supermini. It’ll go on UK sale in 2012, effectively replacing the Colt in the line-up.

But also he told me some news, which seemed to surprise a few Mitsubishi Europe bods as much as it did me.

The Lancer Evolution X, Eusegi told me, will be the last Evo. “There is still a demand [for the car],” he said, “but we must stop.” Eyebrow up.

“Our influence now is EV technology,” Eusegi said, adding that the decision was a “policy change”.

It seems Mitsubishi, which is going to introduce eight full electric or hybrid cars by 2015, has decided its image is about lowering CO2, not making lurid replicas of rally cars that don’t go top-level rallying any more.

Eusegi said that customers would find it “easier to understand” what Mitsubishi was about if it was no longer in this motorsport-inspired market.

He seemed to put the rumoured diesel hybrid Evo replacement to bed, too. So the X will be the last Evolution model? “Yes. Maybe the world can change, and maybe someday we can do a motor race by electric vehicles,” said Eusegi. “Maybe then we can enter the market again.”

Until then, prepare yourselves for the end of an era.

SoS
JonSpark
post Mar 3 2011, 08:32 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

R.I.P. Evo

There's only STi now.
Ziehl-Abegg
post Mar 3 2011, 08:39 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Mar 3 2011, 08:27 AM)

Omg! Did that Kenari really bang that Evo?
KeV
post Mar 3 2011, 08:39 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

RIP Evo, well, now Evo prices will be sky high then, heh!
TSalpha0201
post Mar 3 2011, 08:40 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

It's not suprising move since MMC net profit has drop 75% in the last few months.

Added on March 3, 2011, 8:41 am
QUOTE(Ziehl-Abegg @ Mar 3 2011, 08:39 AM)
Omg! Did that Kenari really bang that Evo?
Yeah last year when PDRM perform demo...but failed.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Mar 3 2011, 08:41 AM
amir_tengkorak
post Mar 3 2011, 08:42 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

so..no evo 11...

hanifw
post Mar 3 2011, 09:16 AM

389 posts

Mitsu afraid of Inspira~ LOL~
ericmaxman
post Mar 3 2011, 09:16 AM

-
7,951 posts

ok.
SUSkyheng
post Mar 3 2011, 09:23 AM

888 posts

Well, if the sales volume are low, better for them to drop EVOs... Else they will suffer more lost....
Fadly
post Mar 3 2011, 09:30 AM

368 posts

With the hike in the petrol price, few people are willing to spend on high fuel consumption vehicle like EVO. if you notice, sales on other gas-guzzler vehicles also drop significantly.
gtoforce
post Mar 3 2011, 09:31 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

maybe mitsubishi should, now that their high end rally sports car is out, focus more on their used to shine SUV dominance in its respective market

acbc
post Mar 3 2011, 09:32 AM

9,048 posts

I'm interested to see Evo diesel or diesel hybrid.
sleepwalker
post Mar 3 2011, 09:35 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

The end of an era? The Mitsu dude is 10 years too late. The EVO era ended with the last of the EVO 6 Tommi Makinen Edition aka EVO 6.5 after Tommi won the last WRC for Mitsu in 1999. Anything after that was just a joke. With the change in WRC rules, none of the EVOs manage to win any WRC since (at least Subaru managed one with the new age Ver 7 Bugeye).
KeV
post Mar 3 2011, 09:39 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

well sleepwalker has been a good 20 years now since the galant vr-4 till now, least its complete its saga. all good things must come to an end

lets hope toyota wont bastardise subaru in the end of the day
TSalpha0201
post Mar 3 2011, 09:45 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

Pity that WRC now is pretty much become Ford VS Citroen Rally Championship now with few lonely Minis...
CooShyRee
post Mar 3 2011, 09:59 AM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

this really is a sad news.. n im not kidding, im really saddened by this.. the evo is a legend, n 2 think that theres not gonna be more of em is disappointing.. sad.gif
acam2812
post Mar 3 2011, 10:24 AM

50 posts

Got inspiralution, wiralution, wajalution and sagalution. We have our own backyard junkies in BolehLand mah.
SUSkyheng
post Mar 3 2011, 10:29 AM

888 posts

^True true.....
turbocharged
post Mar 3 2011, 10:30 AM

250 posts

darn....well, not that we can afford it anyway.

lets start buying hybrid cars.
netmatrix2
post Mar 3 2011, 10:40 AM

481 posts

No wonder they willingly sell the Lancer badge platform to Proton. They must have gotten a very good deal from a laid off brand.
travis_ckf
post Mar 3 2011, 10:52 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Its the end of 2 litter turbocharged 4WD saloons. Even in WRC it is using turbocharged 1.6 litter superminis and that should set the trend for smaller performance cars.

The only next possible thing is a hybrid performance like Porsche's own 918 Spyder but it will take years before other manufacturers adopt it.

RIP evo, u will be missed.
sleepwalker
post Mar 3 2011, 10:54 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix2 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:40 AM)
No wonder they willingly sell the Lancer badge platform to Proton. They must have gotten a very good deal from a laid off brand.
The Lancer and Lancer Evolution are 2 separate platforms. They are stopping the Lancer Evolution, not the Lancer.

Added on March 3, 2011, 11:00 am
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Mar 3 2011, 10:52 AM)
Its the end of 2 litter turbocharged 4WD saloons. Even in WRC it is using turbocharged 1.6 litter superminis and that should set the trend for smaller performance cars.

The only next possible thing is a hybrid performance like Porsche's own 918 Spyder but it will take years before other manufacturers adopt it.

RIP evo, u will be missed.
That's because of the change in rules. Before year 2000 you have to produce the cars for sale before you can put it into WRC. Hence you have the Lancer Evolution and the Subaru Impreza STis. They have to make it and sell it before homologation for WRC can take place. Nobody else dared to challenge Mitsu and Subaru because they can't put a turbo in a small car and expect to sell it at that time.

After year 2000, you can just make 10 prototypes and enter WRC. Hence you get cars like Peugeot 206 turbo and Citroen Xsara/C4 turbo which you do not see on the road. Anyway, since the change of rules, there has only been 3 manufacturers that took the WRC title, Peugeot, Subaru and Citroen.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Mar 3 2011, 11:01 AM
mADmAN
post Mar 3 2011, 12:44 PM

10,530 posts

BLEH....

ill believe it when i see it....

a long time ago they said the EVO 9 was gonna be the last EVO......and yet we still have an EVO 10...

again...

BLEH....
SUSkyheng
post Mar 3 2011, 01:34 PM

888 posts

Taking part on motor sports usually are burning money.... How many people will buy a rm300k car?
FrostLance
post Mar 3 2011, 02:27 PM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

dont worry..there will be next gen inspira r3 lolol
XionCity
post Mar 3 2011, 02:39 PM

171 posts

dun wry....
http://www.proton.com/Models/Our-Model-Lin...ncept-Cars.aspx
Jebat is coming up.....so called 'proton inspira evo'....
xshiro
post Mar 3 2011, 02:51 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Mar 3 2011, 02:39 PM)
dun wry....
http://www.proton.com/Models/Our-Model-Lin...ncept-Cars.aspx
Jebat is coming up.....so called 'proton inspira evo'....
nice man, for real?
skylinelover
post Mar 3 2011, 03:37 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

RIP evo...i vow 2 buy evo 6.5 after hearing this bad news hahaha
SUSLiLFreaK
post Mar 3 2011, 04:08 PM

374 posts

did anyone remember last time mitsubishi said evo 9 is the last evo

then come evo x tongue.gif
b48753
post Mar 3 2011, 04:16 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 3 2011, 10:54 AM)
The Lancer and Lancer Evolution are 2 separate platforms. They are stopping the Lancer Evolution, not the Lancer.
Yeah it's totally different platform, but I was enligthen by my relative at P2, somehow Inspira was abeit smaller than Lancer GT, and the dimension of Inspira is exactly as Lancer Evo..so I also do think P1 got best deals on Evo 10 platform.. tongue.gif ....just my 2 cents..
TSalpha0201
post Mar 3 2011, 04:17 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 3 2011, 12:44 PM)
BLEH....

ill believe it when i see it....

a long time ago they said the EVO 9 was gonna be the last EVO......and yet we still have an EVO 10...

again...

BLEH....
I don't recall the news about Evo 9 being the last, but I remembered Evo 9 was the last one to run on 4G63 engine.

Besides, it was used to be their routine to produce new chassis & major mechanical revamp for every 3 Evos with upgrades along the way for each Evo until the next revamp. (ie Evo 1 -3, Evo 4 - 6, & Evo 7 - 9)
acbc
post Mar 3 2011, 04:17 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 3 2011, 03:37 PM)
RIP evo...i vow 2 buy evo 6.5 after hearing this bad news hahaha
And keep it lock up as thieves always target limited edition for parts.
skylinelover
post Mar 3 2011, 04:56 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

haha yeah i will...been hearing a lot of stolen evos lately in the city dangit doh.gif shakehead.gif
sleepwalker
post Mar 3 2011, 05:16 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Mar 3 2011, 04:16 PM)
Yeah it's totally different platform, but I was enligthen by my relative at P2, somehow Inspira was abeit smaller than Lancer GT, and the dimension of Inspira is exactly as Lancer Evo..so I also do think P1 got best deals on Evo 10 platform.. tongue.gif ....just my 2 cents..
Your relative at P2 might need to check the facts again. AFAIK, both the Lancer GT and Inspira has the same wheelbase, 2635mm whereas the Lancer EVO has a slightly smaller 2625mm wheelbase. I don't know how your relative says that the Inspira is smaller than the Lancer GT.

Anyway, size does not make the platform. It's what they do to the basic platform that makes it an Evolution. Additional reveting and spot-welds are usually found on EVO chassis that does not exist in the basic Lancer chassis. In order to get this done, you'd need a separate assembly platform to assemble the chassis. Of course you can do it Proton style like what they did the R3 by rolling out the standard GTi chassis to the back of the assembly plant and spot-weld it by hand. Don't think the Japs would do that to their EVOs.
e30
post Mar 3 2011, 05:59 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 3 2011, 09:35 AM)
The end of an era? The Mitsu dude is 10 years too late. The EVO era ended with the last of the EVO 6 Tommi Makinen Edition aka EVO 6.5 after Tommi won the last WRC for Mitsu in 1999. Anything after that was just a joke. With the change in WRC rules, none of the EVOs manage to win any WRC since (at least Subaru managed one with the new age Ver 7 Bugeye).
agreed. and ya the Version 8 impreza was a championship winning car too with Solberg. whats your take on the WRX era? in my mind they've lost it too with the Version 9 being the last of the 'raw' ones
ayanami_tard
post Mar 3 2011, 06:11 PM

40 posts

and subaru will reign supreme?FFFFF....
masz94
post Mar 3 2011, 11:02 PM

Will Honda & Toyota enter WRC.
I'll be surprised if Hyundai/Kia enter WRC. So far only Ford challenge them.

(Is Scooby still in WRC) laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Mar 4 2011, 01:16 AM

888 posts

Toyota and Honda already burn once on F1, doubt they will burn money on this.....
By putting more efforts on going green will make more profit....
XionCity
post Mar 4 2011, 02:15 AM

171 posts

Hopefully Forte Koup US/Euro market, can put it in WRC...the Koup Concept R...damn nice!!!
SUSkyheng
post Mar 4 2011, 02:39 AM

888 posts

Well, going for a better world..... But no matter how we do, a war in Middle East are good enough to destroy the sick earth more....
SUSjaymansion
post Mar 4 2011, 10:00 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Mar 4 2011, 02:15 AM)
Hopefully Forte Koup US/Euro market, can put it in WRC...the Koup Concept R...damn nice!!!
what for popping out with Forte Koup so sudden in this topic? rclxms.gif
popshuvit5
post Mar 5 2011, 07:05 PM

85 posts

If its a Proton surely wil sell evo x for another 20 years to break even broke to 100times!! even wira stayed more than 15years,
noprob
post Mar 5 2011, 07:08 PM

1,982 posts

no more Evo. no more Type R. Whats next? Subaru?
mutt
post Mar 5 2011, 07:12 PM

please pronounce my nick as 'mood/mut' not 'mud/mat
1,288 posts

automotive world has no fun anymore...

amduser
post Mar 5 2011, 07:16 PM

5,542 posts

maybe mitsu will change from evolution to ecolution and start the sport car lineup with electric motor rclxms.gif
SUSkyheng
post Mar 5 2011, 07:44 PM

888 posts

Well, they want to gain "green" reputation, since a some people are against motor sports. By going green like hybrid engines, even it is still releasing all sort of posion gases, people still will say it is good....
Just make an example, you release a new EVO, you got only 1% penetration rate. But by releasing hybrid models, you are getting 10% penetration rate. So, as a businessman point of view, what will you do?
turbocharged
post Mar 5 2011, 07:46 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Mar 5 2011, 07:44 PM)
Well, they want to gain "green" reputation, since a some people are against motor sports. By going green like hybrid engines, even it is still releasing all sort of posion gases, people still will say it is good....
Just make an example, you release a new EVO, you got only 1% penetration rate. But by releasing hybrid models, you are getting 10% penetration rate. So, as a businessman point of view, what will you do?
i'll release EVO Hybrid ^^
SUSkyheng
post Mar 5 2011, 07:50 PM

888 posts

^^^I'll be your last supportor, haha....
Mavik
post Mar 5 2011, 08:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Mitsubishi has refuted these rumours already

http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/Don-t-l...Mitsubishi.aspx
e30
post Mar 5 2011, 09:18 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 5 2011, 07:16 PM)
maybe mitsu will change from evolution to ecolution and start the sport car lineup with electric motor rclxms.gif
hahaha, thats actually quite catchy.

here's to the new Mitsubishi Lancer Eco I

0.0272sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:50 PM