Samsung Wave S8500 Official Thread V3, Latest FW KF1

evtansk
post Jun 10 2011, 03:55 PM

355 posts

Dear all, 1st of all, nice to meet u all and i'm glad to be part of the S8500 user and glad to found this thread. Anyway just got myself a used unit and yeah it was as superb as reviews claimed to be.

I'm not sure whether my Qs is proper for this thread but here is my Qs, i plugged in my phone to my desktop (vista) and it seems like failed on 1 part, MTP USB Driver. Where can i get this driver? anyone of u care to provide link or the file? I've tried NPC and Kies but failed to connect my phone to PC. Appreciate your helps smile.gif Thanks and cheers!
evtansk
post Jun 11 2011, 02:25 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jun 10 2011, 05:32 PM)
uninstall the old KIES... run a clean install from this website
http://www.samsungapps.com/about/onPc.as
hi Kevin,

Thanks for the link. Will try it. Anything will update here smile.gif thanks once again smile.gif
evtansk
post Jun 12 2011, 12:20 AM

355 posts

hi guys...ssiigghh...seems like no luck for my PC to detect Wave eventhough i've installed the latest Kies. MTP Function still persist and failed to detect/connect my phone doh.gif icon_question.gif rclxub.gif

wonder what should i do next....factory reset/hard reset my phone? or is it something is wrong with my unit? btw got it for 2nd hand so donno whether it is in stock ori ROM or has been modified or watsoever... rclxub.gif
evtansk
post Jun 12 2011, 12:24 PM

355 posts

hi guys, thanks for the guidelines, truly appreciate them smile.gif will try all the ways and methods u guys provide here. Wish me luck! once again, thanks!

notworthy.gif
evtansk
post Jun 13 2011, 04:57 PM

355 posts

Hi all,

How u guys get ur firmware updated? mine still with bada 1.0 and i've seen alot of firmware multiloader out there from other forum. is it advisable to do so? i dont mind bcoz my set is a 2nd hand set. but just wanted and curious to know that, is it ok to do so by flashing a ROM by ourself? example now the most recommended ROM is S8500XXJID. What'd u all think? coz i've tried many ways n method it seems like both my desktop n my macbook unable to get connected with the phone. it says MTP Function error. so think of flashing off the phone vmad.gif damn bengang LOL

cheers! sweat.gif
evtansk
post Jun 13 2011, 06:39 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jun 13 2011, 05:23 PM)
if u know how to do it ... then fine... but dun brick your phone lol...
XXJID if not mistaken is not Malaysia firmware... India i guess...
and the latest one should be JL3 not JID
aahh ic...so anywhere that i can download a Malaysian's firmware? latest? any suggested site? hehehehehe okay okay, will try my best follow instruction not to brick the unit LOL if i bricked it...tai sei blame my own LOL nod.gif

anyway thanks for all the guidelines and knowledge sharing, truly appreciate smile.gif

so anyone of u here using or running a custom/non-local ROMS?
evtansk
post Jun 13 2011, 10:20 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(shahrul_sama @ Jun 13 2011, 08:22 PM)
samfirmware.com got a lot custom firmware...but i guest u better use asian firmware..because some other firmware does not support shp..btw im using dxjl3 vietnam vers..
howdy bro

thanks for the info. alright checked d it's the DX is for Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam. Gonna try this smile.gif

truly bring back memory. i still remember how many times i flashed my previous Omnia II. This is truly bringing back memory smile.gif

once again, thanks man. will try out smile.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
evtansk
post Jun 13 2011, 11:12 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(paulmalaysia @ Jun 13 2011, 10:47 PM)
Fiddling with Kies and messed up my phone over the weekend. Sent it to the service centre next to Federal Highway in PJ this morning and came back with DXJL3 (bada 1.2)....Woohooo!!!!!!! .. I tried opening 6 widgets and 8 apps and no "Not enough memory" issue. Only took an hour at the service centre. Got Dophin 2.2 too, and also no issue with page being too large. Remember to backup data first.

I like my Wave except for the "Not enough memory" problem. Looks like it's now solved!!! I am so happy!!!!
hey there! sounds cool and glad to hear ur phone newer OS news! So, meaning to say, once we're on 1.2, most previous issues will be solved already huh?

by the way, do u use navigation apps like for example Route 66 or Papago on ur S8500 before? if yes, how was it? fast? acceptable? or...?

Added on June 14, 2011, 1:03 amfinally! ive managed to update to 1.2!! but i noticed that the camera is abit "weaker" and not so sharp compare to the 1.0? don't know but tats wat i felt. any commend? cheers!

This post has been edited by evtansk: Jun 14 2011, 01:03 AM
evtansk
post Jun 14 2011, 10:39 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(kenpachi @ Jun 14 2011, 05:44 PM)
Look at this ....
I snapped

Added on June 14, 2011, 7:44 pmBefore update...1.0
how was my skill??? haha tongue.gif
hey, ok wat. so this is with 1.0 right? quite nice, pretty detail as the noise control still alright although saturation abit wash off lah but overall useable for me smile.gif nod.gif

thanks for the sample shot anyway thumbup.gif
evtansk
post Jun 15 2011, 12:00 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(kenpachi @ Jun 14 2011, 11:24 PM)
after update..sorry typo error... later I upload one before de... now internet so damn slow

Added on June 14, 2011, 11:25 pmbtw  ...guess where is it??
hahahaha no idea leh...either in malaysia else singapore lor lol

oic, yeah sure. don mind waiting to see the 1.0 vs 1.2 punya difference. donno lah, tats wat i felt lah after updating to S8500XXJID 1.2. before, i forgot to check wat version was it. i was so exciting to update to 1.2. so far so good i should say hahahaha but so far i cannot notice any major difference yet.

by the way, according to several forums, 1.2 cannot do "spoofing" is it?

and yeah, according to PaulMalaysia, is it so bad the GPS lock very slow? and by the way, where did u found the spoofed papago? hehe mind to PM me ?? hee hee sweat.gif sweat.gif
evtansk
post Jun 15 2011, 12:41 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(kenpachi @ Jun 15 2011, 12:26 AM)
gps damn slow...spoofing will work if you update to the first 1.2 then can spoof....hmmm haha this is at universiti teknologi petronas....got air-cond...made from pure mable...although I'm not a malay but really impress with this beautiful artwork
hey man howdy? tats cool man. the design of the building is indeed impressive. for me, i admire all the mosque designs around the world, they carried alot of historical value with it. not only mosque, churchs, temples around the world all are wonders. their architecture damn power siot hahahaha memang wonders

aaaahh ic ic, how slow is ur slow? u mean during the navigation tat time slow? or during gps locking? i dont mind if the gps locking is from 1 to 5 mins. last time i was using Omnia 2 tat time, sometimes it was as slow as from 5-10mins baru dapat gps locked. hahahaha janji ada gps enuff d when i go outstation wont sesat is enuff d LOL

anyway, care to PM me some guides or URL for the spoofed papago and etc? truly appreciate it smile.gif thanks and cheers!
evtansk
post Jun 16 2011, 01:46 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jun 16 2011, 12:13 AM)
haha... Not only that... they also give u uncountable 'sorry'... they more likely support their local band, Super Junior... sorry sorry sorry... LOL  laugh.gif

see... mid of June already.... where is bada 1.2?
howdy and good day bro! so, meaning to say, the ROM S8500DXJL3 is not official? hhmmmmmmmmm tats really sad sad.gif shakehead.gif
evtansk
post Jun 16 2011, 07:07 PM

355 posts

by the way, which Firmware u all use? and which version u all think is alright ? i mean in term of overall performances like batt life, movie watching, gaming and etc.

hahaha sorry guys for my such Qs bcoz i'm still very new to bada OS smile.gif and would love to learn and know more of it smile.gif

Thanks and cheers! thumbup.gif
evtansk
post Jun 18 2011, 01:22 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(limmengsi @ Jun 18 2011, 11:10 AM)
i just come back from NS camp...sad to heard tat still no bada 1.2....
self flash it to 1.2 lor smile.gif i'm currently using the european's rom S8500XXJID. so far so good smile.gif i got it all from samfirmware.com. everything is unbelievable easy according to the guide provided.

but 1 think i need to reconfirm with u all, so far, i enter the SamsungApps store, the Papago M7 is only for Bada 1.0? hhmmmmmmmmmm if yes, then i think i'll need to flash back to 1.0 rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif

bcoz for the price of RM50 and then can get Papago is truly worth it thumbup.gif

thanks all and happy weekend! cheers!
evtansk
post Jun 20 2011, 12:51 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(tankc89 @ Jun 19 2011, 12:38 AM)
using euro f/w still have the asia language like chinese english malay?
Hello there howdy?

Nope, too bad. Only European's languages. Cos the rom is S8500 "XX" aka "Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom"

Unless it is from Rom stated with "DX" , those are our region punya Rom smile.gif

seems like so far so good this 1.2. gonna stick with it for a while since i dont receive chinese text tat much and eventhough i receive 'em, i'll ask my gf to translate for me coz i study malay high skool so tak reti read chinese LOL

but if u need chinese, flash ur unit with the country code stated with "DX" then it'll have all the languages u enquired smile.gif thumbup.gif
evtansk
post Jun 20 2011, 08:29 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(tankc89 @ Jun 20 2011, 08:37 AM)
oo... then too bad. coz i need  type chinese word.. then i have to find the dx version only can flash
yeah man smile.gif all the best man smile.gif infact u can find most of them at samfirmware.com smile.gif i got all my rom over there smile.gif

0.0354sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:38 AM